Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater

A feminine version of his favorite cardigan, our oh-so-soft heathered button-front sweater is accented with plush velvet elbow patches and a hidden-snap placket. V-neck. Back yoke. Welt pockets. In heathered gray. Wool/nylon/rayon/angora. Hand wash. Imported. Sizes XS(4), S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 30" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Review 1 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad Choice,
April 6, 2014
By: EffieH
from Washington D.C.
"The photo looks like the perfect cardigan but after wearing it for a few hours, it pilled so badly it looked as if I had worn it for decades.
My family has been Orvis fans for decades. It does appear that the quality of the women's wear has diminished lately. The prices do not reflect the high standard that Orvis has based its reputation on."
Review 2 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fit,
March 7, 2014
By: Cathy1962
from Ellsworth, Me
"I got the small which is plenty roomy with a turtleneck and looks great with grey black leggings. It's very warm and looks great but it pills very, very quickly."
Review 3 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfortable,
February 24, 2014
By: Nessie2
from Arlington, TX
"This sweater is very smart looking with casual pants or jeans. Also warm and just loose enough to wear over a T-shirt. Great everyday sweater."
Review 4 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this sweater,
February 12, 2014
By: fewyofHB
from Huntington Beach, CA
"Very comfortable and warm. I love boyfriend styles for work due to versatility and comfort. My office gets freezing and this is a good weight. I will say that it tends to pill. I am not bothered by that, but some may find this aspect of a wool blend sweater not to their liking; just be aware of that fact. Anyway, my only wish would be there were more color choices of this style. Size is very roomy another plus in my book."
Review 5 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
If "pilling" were a swear word…..,
January 17, 2014
By: MaxiMom
from Portland, OR
"I just swore at Orvis. This is only my first bad purchase I have ever made from your company.
The size, color and finishing of this "Boyfriend sweater" were all ok, but boy, does it pill! I won't return it, though, too much hassle but wear it to go to the mailbox only :-D."
Review 6 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Choice,
January 13, 2014
By: LoverofOrvis
from Warwick, RI
"This Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater was a good choice. I ordered in a large and the fit was fine. Long and roomy so I can put a turtleneck under it. I did not find the snaps a problem as some the other ratings mentioned. What I have forgotten, however, is how much sheeding the rabbit does. Just trying it on over a black turtleneck, left the turtle neck covered. In cleaning out my closet to make room for this new item, I found a number of very warm, heavy sweaters - that don't shead. Though a good style sweater, it leaves it mark on every thing it touches. Given the cost of this sweater/having to dry clean only/& how it sheads on everything, this item may be gooing back (sadly)"
Review 7 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sheds,
January 2, 2014
By: SBMcS
"While the styling of this sweater is nice if somewhat boxy, it sheds all over everything. You certainly can't wear it with black unless you bring a clothes brush along."
Review 8 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cardigan,
November 14, 2013
By: Basket
"This cardigan is very warm and looks good. I am not keen on the popper fastening as undoing them puts a lot of stress on the knitted fabric however carefully pulled."
Review 9 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Roomy and warm,
October 21, 2013
By: AMouB
from Columbus, OH
"The sweater is well named. It's not form fitting, like a man's sweater would be on a woman. As usual, the design is well-structured and materials are from premium yarns. A bit itchy if warn against the skin (like most wools), but otherwise delightful for moist, cool weather."
Review 10 for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Extremely Dissapointed,
October 13, 2013
By: Lil1
from RI
"The Cardigan pilled on the 1st wearing, 2nd wearing, it appears shabby, worn and unkept. Embarrassing to be seen. Inferior quality to pill to the degree it has"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Heathered-Gray Boyfriend Cardigan Sweater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1