Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School

Hosted by Mad River Outfitters of Columbus, the Orvis Ohio Fly Fishing School is held at beautiful Sunnybrook Trout Club & Conference Center in Sandusky. The club is situated on 130 acres of woodlands and picturesque meadows with two miles of Ohio's legendary Cold Creek stream running through the property. Cold Creek, first stocked in 1873, contains a healthy population of rainbow, brook, and brown trout making this the perfect setting for a fly fishing school. The two-day school covers everything from fly casting, choosing the right tackle, leaders and knots, to fly selection, and how to safely release fish.
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Review 1 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best class ever,
July 9, 2014
By: Flying57
from Sandusky, Ohio
"My only regret is not taking this course 4 years ago when I took up fly fishing. Location and instructors were top notch. Both have many years as fly fisherman and guides.
I had the pleasure of learning from Graham and Jerry ( Check out Jerry's book on amazon fly fishing the Inland Oceans ) Jerry Darkes
Needless to say the information on casting , fly selection , hatch information , reading the stream. Information on how to approach a "spot", knot tying , and choice of equipment for various types of conditions and fish. This review is long however what i learned form an Orvis sponsored event is they are first class. This course is helpful to the experienced fly fisherman. I highly recommend this to anyone who is passionate for this sport.
"
Review 2 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience,
June 3, 2014
By: Lefty23
from North Ridgeville, OH
"I went into this class with minimal knowledge of casting, equipment selection, types of fly patterns and so on. After taking this course I'm able to really study the water and conditions to make better choices on approaching and catching fish.
The instructors are top notch and really know this sport. They enjoy their jobs and helping people succeed which makes learning that much easier and worth while.
If you're on the fence about taking this class, I say DO IT!
"
Review 3 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Class and Highly Recommended!,
May 16, 2014
By: Mainenerd
from Bay Village, Ohio
"Best Fly Fishing class around. The instructors were knowledgeable and friendly and great teachers. Lots and lots covered in just two days. Everyone in the class landed trout on the second day. Sunnybrook Trout Club near Sandusky, Ohio is a beautiful setting on a premier trout stream."
Review 4 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent in every way!,
October 27, 2013
By: cb740
from Sandusky, Ohio
"My wife and I took the class in October. We both felt very comfortable, great location, great group taking the class and the instructor, Graham, was excellent.
Would highly recommend it to any one no matter what skill level. Really good class presentation and hands on practice. We even caught fish before we departed.
Only wish they had another class to step up to after completing this one.
HIGHLY SATISFIED!!!!!
"
Review 5 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
time and money well spent,
October 17, 2013
By: wifeperspective
from Sandusky OH
"Go As A Couple, With A Friend Or Single. Our Class Had Each And ALL Were Comfortable. Instructor & Instruction Were Excellent.
My Husband Asked Me To Attend. Glad I Agreed. All Levels Of Interest And Ability Work.
Sunnybrook Trout Club . Just
Go There. I Photographed It As Much As I Fished!! Its That Special.
crystal "Trout -Everywhere " Streams, Massive Willow Trees, Historic Southern B & B
I Was Fly Casting As Well As The Men In Equal Time.
Relax. EVERYone Can Do It.
"
Review 6 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learned so much!,
September 12, 2013
By: Sharon1947
from Sandusky, OH
"Didn't know there was so much involved in fly fishing! The classes were excellent and the way each day was set up made it fun. Not one dull moment. I know there is much more I want to learn and now I know where to go to get the instruction."
Review 7 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only way to fly,
September 11, 2013
By: JayV
from Port Clinton, Ohio
"You anticipate hours of classroom work before you have some fun, but Brian and Graham make each section so condensed and lively that the next thing you know your practicing casting. Just a great class. Afterwards, plan on dreaming about fly fishing for a couple of days."
Review 8 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
September 11, 2013
By: CRWCPA
from Vandalia, ohio
"What a wonderful way to clear your mind of all the clutter."
Review 9 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
September 11, 2013
By: byropat
"The fly fishing school at Sandusky was excellent. Both instructors were excellent. They provided personal instruction that was very helpful for me a well as very useful information on how to approach trout fishing. I wish I had this years ago."
Review 10 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time well spent,
September 11, 2013
By: Jeepman
from Sandusky Ohio
"An outstanding expierence. Brian and Graham have a deep understanding and love of fly fishing. Thier organized approach and excellent teaching methods provided us with a great foundation and skill set.
Sunny Brook trout club is an excellent venue and I would reccomend this school and team to everyone.
"
Review 11 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ohio Orvis FF School,
August 18, 2013
By: Oncorhyncus
from Upper Arlington, OH
"I recently attended the Orvis FF school at Sunny Brook in Sandusky, OH with my 11 year old son.
It was a premier experience and if you ask my son, you better have spare time to hear his rendition.
Orvis is privileged to have Brian Flechsig and Graham Stokes as instructors.
"
Review 12 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience,
August 12, 2013
By: OhioProf
"This was an excellent experience. I learned so much about fly fishing; I really enjoyed the entire program.
There was a great balance of serious instruction and casual conversation. Brian and Graham took the time to answer all of our questions, too.
Overall, the course has opened up a new world of angling to me, and for that I am very grateful."
Review 13 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Class,
August 10, 2013
By: schwammi07
from NE Ohio
"Between my time in the military and law enforcement I’ve been to a lot of training courses and have a good feel for quality instruction vs. waste of time when I see it. With that being said this course, in just two days, gives you a tremendous amount of information and hands on training but in an easy going and fun manner. I was apprehensive about trying to learn how to fly fish because I just didn’t know where to start but Brian and Graham did a great job of breaking it down into simple blocks so that I walked away with some confidence and a great foundation. Don’t get me wrong, they do not turn you into an expert but this was a big first step in learning and developing my fly fishing skills.
Bottom-line: I was extremely happy with this class and went from never fly fishing to feeling comfortable going out by myself in the near future. If you are thinking about learning how to fly fish I would highly recommend taking this course."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great class!,
August 10, 2013
By: FlyingforMuskie
from Avon, Oh
"I recently took up fly fishing after many years of traditional fresh a saltwater fishing. Quickly realized I had a lot to learn.
At the Orvis 2 day school Brian Flechsig and Graham Stokes delivered an outstanding educational experience. There was a great combination of classroom and outdoor sessions.
I plan to send my boys to this class and would recommend it to anyone just getting started or needing to solidify their fundamentals.
I also plan to take advantage of the killer guided trips they offer through Mad River Outfitters in Columbus, Ohio.
Thank you Brian and Graham!"
Review 15 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm at a new level,
July 19, 2013
By: Buckeyeflyguy
from Sandusky, OH
"I've dabbled in fly fishing on and off for a number of years. A friend got me interested but most of my instruction came from the Orvis video (VHS version). Orvis finally came to my neighborhood and I took the plunge and I'm very glad I did. The school was worth every penny. The instructor geared the lessons to the ability and needs of each of the students.
My greatest frustration coming in was knot tying. Now it is a snap. I've been practicing and am confident that I'm ready to tie knots stream side.
My entire game has a long way to go but thanks to Graham and the Orvis school I'm well on my way to really enjoying a great hobby."
Review 16 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
June 28, 2013
By: lefty1dad
from Sandusky, Ohio
"I had a great time last weekend learning about fly fishing. I was one of those guys that thought you throw a line in the water and wait for the fish to jump on the hook, this is not the case. When you learn the fishing techniques, the fish environment, it creates interest to learn more. Brian, you and your team did an excellent job in your presentation on fly fishing. You created that interest, thank you. I would invite anyone with any interst level to contact Orvis/ Mad River Outfitters to attend one of your classes"
Review 17 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
REALLY FUN & BENEFICIAL,
June 27, 2013
By: BunnyboyFLOH
from MRO-Orvis 2day Sandusky, OH
"5 star for Orvis School!
Received this as a Christmas gift. Have Fly Fished previously, but without any instruction other than observation and some assistance when with guide. Brian and Graham were terrific! Their enthusiasm really helps to set the tone of the school from the outset. The instruction was very non-judgmental, and I did not observe any negativity, just constant helpful tips and hints. The hands on instruction was never rushed and both took their time and observations to provide the helpful tips and corrections. The time spent in the classroom with basics and particularly the knot tying very helpful. While I may continue to struggle it won't be because I no longer know how to tie the tippet and the fly.
Now if they could just teach me patience......
I would be remiss if I did not mention the beautiful historic Farrell House B&B at the Sunnybrook Trout Club. The bed was very comfortable, and the facility immaculately clean and well kept. The food provided was ok, nothing to write home about....except the Perch dinner. . Overall on a scale of 5, I would give Farrell House a 3.
"
Review 18 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fun,
June 26, 2013
By: Berettashooter
"My son and I attended the school in Sandusky. We had a great time. Brian and Graham were super instructors and we would absolutely recommend it."
Review 19 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
June 12, 2013
By: mikev
from northwood, ohio
"i'd "started" fly fishing about a year ago and thought i'd take this class to learn more. i'm glad i did. i didn't think i could learn so much in 2 days. from casting to rigging, fly selection and fishing it was well worth it. the instructors, brian and graham, are highly knowledgable and fun to work with. if your thinking of getting into fly-fishing this is agood place to start. i highly reccomend it."
Review 20 for Sandusky, Ohio 2-Day Fly Fishing School
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Really Good Time,
June 12, 2013
By: Streamer65
from Columbus, OH
"It was a great two days. Brian and Graham, from Mad River Outfitters, were great. They were excellent teachers. I learned a lot. The Sunnybrook Trout Club was a wonderful location, lots of fish, really nice rooms, good food, and wonderful staff. I would highly recommend this class to anyone, especially at Sunnybrook."