Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat

Crafted by hand in northern Michigan, Croff Craft driftboats are testaments to the art of woodworking and the sport of fly fishing. Each boat is designed and built one at a time by master craftsman Phil Croff, a woodworking enthusiast, avid fly fisherman, and working guide. This exclusive Orvis-Edition Croff Craft features a hull of Michigan white cedar and fiberglass, with a tough Kevlar-enhanced polyurethane top coating. Highlighted by a pair of walnut seats and clear vertical-grain red cedar front dome, these drift boats have very striking features. Gunnel decks and dry storage box tops are Michigan white cedar with clear vertical-grain red cedar inlays. Measuring in at just over 12' in length, and weighing approximately 200 lbs. complete, this handsome boat also includes custom-built Croff oars, and a custom-built Orvis green polyurethane-coated trailer. Front casting brace is 26" high, oar lock height is 22", and the boat has a 60" wide bottom, creating unsurpassed stability. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Review 1 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic small stream boat,
July 25, 2013
By: Northfisher
from Northern Michigan
"I have fished with Phil numerous times out of his boats and have spent many hours rowing them. They are by far the lightest, most maneuverable boats I've ever been in. Phil's craftsmanship is second to none and he stands behind his boats. His innovations are too numerous to list here but include extremely comfortable seats and that beautiful domed front. They are river and roadworthy, works of art and hardworking river craft."
Review 2 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When only the best will do,
July 20, 2013
By: GoodClient
from Great Lakes
"I have had the opportunity to fish out of this boat several times and all i can say is WOW! It is the most stable, well made boat i have ever had the pleasure of setting foot in! Way to go Orvis for offering what may be the best river boat ever devised!"
Review 3 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best boat ever,
January 10, 2013
By: oiltycoon
from Wellington, CO
"This is by far the finest boat I have ever floated in. Fished out of it after dark for browns and it handled perfectly. (and I caught my biggest brown ever) It is absolutely beautifully made and no commercially made fiberglass compares!! It is a georgeous boat that you can tell is truly made by a real craftsman"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Float,
January 1, 2013
By: nitefly
from St. Louis Mo.
"I have had the opportunity to fish out of this boat and I was very pleased. In fact I threw streamers for several hours catching browns and it was the highlight of my day. The stability I had casting off the front end of the boat was amazing ! The extra room through the mid section of the boat is a big bonus. It drifts through shallow water like no other."
Review 5 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Boat,
December 27, 2012
By: jcvistait
from Fulton, MO
"I have had the pleasure of floating in these boats for a few years. Alot of workmanship and time goes into these watercraft. They are a dream to float in. They handle great in all water conditions. I even had my hands on the sticks for a while."
Review 6 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pure Pleasure,
December 15, 2012
By: flygirl51
from Michigan
"I've been fishing numerous times in these boats, and am constantly amazed at how little water it drafts, and the small rivers that it can easily travel on. Just when you're sure that you will hit an upcoming rock that is just below the surface, you float right over the top of it. Also, the boat is wide and roomy. I feel safe and steady while standing and casting."
Review 7 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Float,
December 14, 2012
By: rippinlip
from Traverse City, MI
"I have floated in this hand-crafted beauty on a couple different occasions. It is an incredible experience to fish stretches of smaller, un-touched water without the miles of walking. Even fully loaded for the day we didn't scrape bottom in 3" of water! And with the comfort of the rope seats my back felt good even after floating all day. I highly recommend this drift boat to anyone who is truly serious about fly-fishing. It is a pleasure to float or fish with and it is a piece of artwork when on the trailer!"
Review 8 for Orvis-Edition Croff Craft Driftboat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful hard working boats,
December 13, 2012
By: BadClient
from Tip of the mitt, MI
"I've had the pleasure to take a few floats in one of these boats. It is an exceptionally good fishing boat and a pleasure to look at. just add a cup holder and it will be perfect!"