Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Soft Shell Foldover Glove

Constructed of a windproof, highly water resistant nylon softshell exterior designed to protect you from the elements. The inside of the gloves are lined with 100% polyester fleece that helps to wick moisture away from your hands while providing insualtion from the cold. Printed silicon pattern on the palm offers a solid grip even when wet. Flip-over mitten protects finger tips from extreme conditions, while allowing quick access to fingers when needed. In black. 82% nylon/18% Lycra. Washable. Imported. Sizes S(63/4-71/4), M(71/2-8), L(81/4-9), XL(91/4-10). Measure one hand around the knuckles with hand laid flat. Do not measure thumb, and hold the fingers together.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Review 1 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not for heavy use,
April 8, 2015
By: MarkAlan
from Cold and snowy Michigan
"My wife got me these for xmas..as I do alot of spring steelhead fishing in march/april in Michigan....yes...these are great for light duty use...but when handling 14lb steelhead...the 3 legged stars fell off the glove where the rod is held...after 3 fishing trips...
about 20 of these stars have fallen off my right hand glove...
hmmmmmm..they dont seem up to rubbing against any cork handle...so if you are going to fish hard with these....you will lose your stars!
"
Review 2 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic purchase,
March 31, 2015
By: Kaspar246
from PA
"As expected, well made, quality product. Very happy with my purchase!"
Review 3 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good gloves - bad silicone,
March 13, 2015
By: Dwolfson
from Oregon
"Love the slim profile and the fleece lining. These do keep your hands warm on cold days and it is easy to cast and tie knots when needed.
However, the silicone started falling off after only one use. Who knows if this will even matter down the line (with rod-slippage), but I don't like the idea of dropping little pieces of silicone into the water while I'm fishing.
We champion protecting the environments we fish in by being careful with our leader material -- so if we're concerned about something with that little mass, then I'm also concerned with this silicone.
It isn't a reason not to buy this great product -- but I think Orvis should either do away with the silicone or perhaps find a new way of attaching it so it doesn't wear out as easily."
Review 4 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
March 10, 2015
By: Elvis2Fish
from Philadelphia, PA
"Totally enjoyed using these. Cover for your fingers when You need it. Also really easy removal for tying a new fly on."
Review 5 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smitten Mitten,
January 27, 2015
By: LUGS16
"Mittens great for staying both warm and dry. Great combo for when you need to take photos in wet/cold conditions."
Review 6 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Purchase,
January 6, 2015
By: FlyFishJusty
from Roanoke, VA
"Perfect purchase for my Virginia Fly Fishing. The fleece keeps my hands warm and snug while handling my pole and line. The soft shell breaks the cold wind leaving my hands and fingers functional. Great product."
Review 7 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep-your-hands-warm-and-still-fish gloves,
December 15, 2014
By: Katrin28
"These gloves are awesome! Lightweight and flexible -- easy to tie on flies and cast while wearing them -- unlike other thick and clumsy gloves. Also like the flip-over covers that keep your fingertips warm while you're floating or walking to the perfect fishing hole."
Review 8 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superfast,
December 28, 2013
By: 1Jim
from Aurora, Colorado
"I received the gloves in three days and their perfect. Thank You!"
Review 9 for Soft Shell Foldover Glove
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but quality issue,
December 8, 2013
By: KingstonOntario
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought two pairs to go steelhead fishing end of November. Good fleece for keeping out wind when wet. Hand warmers inserted in palm added the warmth. QUALITY ISSUE: one pair arrived with the finger cover sewn on backwards, i.e. the printed silicon pattern on wrong side and on both pairs the silicone pattern peels off on both pairs with first use. Doesn't take away from the windproof and functionality of the mitts but really doesn't meet the standards I'm used to with Orvis products."