Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled Wool Overshirt

Whether worn as a layering piece in winter, or in lieu of a jacket on a frosty fall morning, our wool overshirt is a worthy addition to your winter wardrobe. Crafted from boiled wool, legendary for its insulating properties, it's cut like a shirt while offering the cold-fighting features of traditional outerwear. Spread collar, button-through patch pocket, two-button adjustable cuffs. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Review 1 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Styling,
December 3, 2014
By: TarheelRuss
from Short Pump, VA
"This is my first Orvis purchase and it won't be my last. WOW! This sweater overshirt is wonderful. The XL fits nicely and allows room for layering. I especially enjoy the fact it has a classic collar and the button front along with a front pocket.
I hope Orvis will make this again with a shawl collar and also make it available in a deep maroon color. I am buying one for my dad for Christmas because he admired mine during Thanksgiving."
Review 2 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boiled wool is a unique fabric....,
October 16, 2014
By: 1WoolAficionado
from Denver
"Because even though it is boiled, it can still shrink and change shape in unexpected ways. The salesperson told me the shirt was pre-shrunk (wash it, no problem) but the word from corporate is dry clean. I disagree with both suggestions. Spot clean if necessary with shampoo and save the money. Wool's beauty is it's antimicrobial, and boiled wool's specifically stellar feature is its lightweight but very insulative (i.e., warm with or without a wool undershirt). I purchased the DARK olive in medium. I am 6'2" and 180, smaller in the shoulders, but a barrel chest and flat stomach. This is the best designed Orvis shirt I have ever owned because it is cut slimmer for a more athletic fit. Shirts should fit at the shoulder and this one does. The sleeve length on the medium is 34" but can be reduced to 33" if you use the second button. Finally, thankfully, this shirt does not have all the unnecessary fabric below the shoulders. It's meant to be worn like a "jacket" but it can be tucked in without appearing blousy."
Review 3 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good overshirt, with caveat..,
April 28, 2014
By: delrew
from Halifax, NS, Canada
"Nice shirt - as described. I waited with my review after I had it cleaned, gently in cold water, and air dried. The boiled wool handled it reasonably well, BUT there was a noticeable (and perhaps to be expected) amount of shrinkage. So, beware of that fact. The fabric is forgiving enough to be stretched back into shape / size, but not entirely so. You may want to order one size up. Otherwise a lovely overshirt and fabulous fabric that certainly needs a bit more TLC than usual if you want to avoid running to the dry cleaner again and again."
Review 4 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A keeper.,
March 11, 2014
By: Alfrednorris
from Golden, CO
"I am 5'10" tall and 160lbs. I ordered the medium and found it too tight in the shoulders so I exchanged it for a large and am happy with the fit. 99% of the time I wear it over a flannel shirt as an extra layer and it works very well. I did expect the material to be of heavier weight for the price but I won't be returning it."
Review 5 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
soft chill fighter,
March 5, 2014
By: doctorwoody
from SoCal
"A delightful over shirt cut with modern style and a timeless fabric that is warm and soft. This a perfect cover for a mild climate. Versatile and elegant."
Review 6 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonder of Wonders,
January 16, 2014
By: luaulou
from AZ
"1 catalogue, 1 credit card, 1 gift box= 1 DELIRIOUSLY HAPPY HUSBAND!!!!!!!!!! As far as he's concerned, it's the best thing since sliced bread."
Review 7 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable shirt,
January 15, 2014
By: Katnan
from Georgia
"Was a gift for my son and he is very pleased. Had to order a larger size than usual but it is now fine. The fabric is breathable and comfortable."
Review 8 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite shirt,
December 6, 2013
By: Cotty
from Minneapolis, MN
"Most shirts which are really warm don't look so hot, well, here's a great combination of style and wool warmth! I can put it with cords to look quite dressy for casual business or let it hang out with jeans -- a hard combination to find, but this shirt works wonderfully in lots of situations for our Minnesota winter weather."
Review 9 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great shirt,
November 14, 2013
By: BobRod
from Lancaster Pa
"I like the shirt.This is the second one I purchased there comfortable and warm."
Review 10 for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good fit,
October 30, 2013
By: BobRod
from Lancaster Pa
"Good looking shirt jacket Great for cool fall days and my wife loves it"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Boiled Wool Overshirt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1