Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater

Layered under a sport coat or paired with jeans, our Donegal turtleneck is destined to be at the top of your list of favorite winter sweaters. Luxurious cashmere, flecked with signature colorful slubs, is knitted in a jersey stitch and finished with rib trim at the collar, cuffs, and hem. In oatmeal, olive, heather gray. Pure cashmere. Dry clean. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Review 1 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expectations Were Exceeded,
April 2, 2014
By: CINCSAC
from San Francisco Bay Area
"Already high expectations were exceeded. The feel and fit of the sweater are exceptional. It can be
worn next to the skin without any irritation...no doubt due to the combination of materials from which it was constructed. It is acceptable in California's late winter/early spring, without being too warm or
inadequately cool when exposed to the outdoor elements.
Would buy again; so I did.
Highly Recommended.
"
Review 2 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfy Cashmere,
March 22, 2014
By: DLOB
from Findlay, Ohio
"A very comfortable good looking turtleneck sweater.....the color goes with everything"
Review 3 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought both colors,
March 21, 2014
By: pilgrim
from Colorado Rocky Mountain streams
"Feels nice, looks good and isn't too warm to wear indoors."
Review 4 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft, but tweedy,
March 20, 2014
By: Samskara
from Long Island NY
"Cashmere -- good cashmere anyway, and this is very good cashmere, is very soft. The sweater is well made and is true to size.
The only caveat I would offer is that instead of bring completely smooth, this sweater has bits of black and white running through it that show uup more clearly than they do in the picture (look closely). I'm not certain I would wear it with a tweed jacket."
Review 5 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
March 10, 2014
By: borgy
"The sweater looks, feels and fits great. I have tons of compliments when I wear it. Looks great with jeans and a sport coat.
You need to wear an undershirt because it is itchy.
I bought it while it was on sale which makes it a 5 out of 5"
Review 6 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful quality,
February 22, 2014
By: Magdalena
from Ontario, Canada
"Superbly soft and luxurious feeling. Beautiful colour and great quality. I actually purchased a second one in a different colour."
Review 7 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice, but...,
February 19, 2014
By: Sparkster
from Pacific NW
"This sweater is nice. I bought the "olive" and the color is a great loden green, the subtle flecking makes it different than what you normally see, and the neck is quite tall so folding it over gives you plenty or warmth and protection.
That said, I was surprised at how thin the wool was - it is much more on the scale of a merino sweater than a substantial cashmere. The word "luxurious" in the copy is probably a tad ambitious and I doubt it will be your reaction when you pull it out of the bag.
To be fan to Orvis' claims, if you are wearing this under a sports coat or a jacket, it'll probably be okay, but it is not an outer or even a mid-layer piece.
Sizing is a bit generous. I am an athletic 42 and got a large but wish I had bought a medium - body and sleeves are baggy and I will have them taken in.
Maybe the Donegal version of this is beefier, but I got it for 1/2 price so I can't complain."
Review 8 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I expected.,
February 11, 2014
By: techtlcb
from Ozark Mountains
"I was very excited when my turtleneck came in. This was my first cashmere sweater. Imagine my dismay when I tried it on and the neck looked out of proportion to the rest of the sweater. This is the first Orvis item I have had to return."
Review 9 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plush,
December 24, 2013
By: SevenSeas
from Cambridge, MA
"Remarkably soft, almost plush, the Donegal cashmere turtleneck sweater is both textured--like rougher weaves of wool--and luxurious as only can only be found in a cashmere blend. Compared to other turtleneck sweaters, the Donegal turtleneck is especially warm. I ordered a second one in a different color."
Review 10 for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A timely purchase,
December 20, 2013
By: Quiethut1323
from Portland, Oregon
"I react strongly to the winter
temperature in almost all regions in this country, except in southern California and Florida. Having been
in Portland, OR, for three years with
increasing number of cold days this year, I thought I needed a warmer turtleneck; I spotted it online. It was
a good and timely decision and equally timely purchase. I am wearing it now.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Donegal Cashmere Turtleneck Sweater
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3