Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Abel Nipper and Lanyard

The last pair of nippers you'll ever buy. Designed, manufactured, and assembled in the US by Abel, these anodized aluminum nippers feature stainless steel jaws, are saltwater resistant, and can even cut through 100-lb. braided line. Comes with a nearly indestructible lanyard made out of lightweight nylon parachute cord. Available without the lanyard. In green with trout logo, blue with tarpon logo. Weighs 0.7 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.949 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Review 1 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money!,
April 10, 2014
By: Sculpin
from Memphis TN.
"A little pricey, but worth the money. Lifetime warranty!"
Review 2 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nipper Ever!,
April 7, 2014
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I've used many nippers over the years, and I have to say these are by far the best. The cutters stay sharp and the eye cleaner doesn't bend out of shape or stick me unexpectedly. They are also very light to carry on your zinger."
Review 3 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best by far,
March 24, 2014
By: Hwkrplt
from St Albert, AB, Canada
"The nipper is the most capable nipper I have used in 50 years of fishing. It is always sharp, small and unobtrusive, rust-free and effective with all types of line. Love it,"
Review 4 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razor Sharp,
March 19, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I hesitated at the price of this item, but it is absolutely the best nipper ever. Razor sharp and light as a feather. Also love the fact that the blades are replaceable"
Review 5 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's gift,
February 12, 2014
By: PAlady
from Greensburg, PA
"I bought the Abel Nipper at my husband's request. He said this device is the greatest thing since sliced bread! Can't dispute that, as I've never used it myself. He's trustworthy, though! Really!"
Review 6 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nippers Ever, Period!,
February 10, 2014
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"They are by far the best nippers I have ever owned. They are sharp (and STAY sharp). They're backed by a solid warranty, and every nuance of the nipper has been designed to maximize efficiency and ease of use. Even the little spring that gives force feedback while depressing the nipper is a nice touch, especially on those cold days when your fingers are a little numbed. It's worth the extra money and as they say, you won't ever need to buy another pair of nippers again. And they're made in USA!"
Review 7 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great design!,
January 16, 2014
By: Georgiaduchess
from Rome, GA
"This is a great product that will last a lifetime. I especially like that the needle point to clean out the hook eye is inside the nippers. This way it is easily accessible, but not where it is prone to snag or poke a hole in your waders. It's the small details like this that really set these nippers apart. Plus when you get two quality companies like Abel and Orvis together, what's not to love?"
Review 8 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but pricey,
January 15, 2014
By: SEBFish
"Very nice high quality nippers. But, you pay mightily for the manufacturer's name."
Review 9 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Machined Excellence,
January 14, 2014
By: Newk
from Greensboro, NC
"Beats all the other nipper types and brands I have used over the years. Perfect size, cuts like a champ and the precision machining is obvious."
Review 10 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razor Sharp,
December 27, 2013
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I know this is on the pricey side, but this nipper cuts line like butter. If you can find your way to shell out $50, it is totally worth is."
Review 11 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Nippers,
December 21, 2013
By: K1200kev
from Bedminster, Pa
"These are by far the best nippers that you can buy. If you don't lose them, you'll never need to buy another!"
Review 12 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate lightweight grooming tool,
December 19, 2013
By: Georgiaduchess
from Rome, GA
"Precise trim, feels almost weightless. One of those things that you will keep forever and wonder why you didn't get one sooner."
Review 13 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Worth It,
December 4, 2013
By: AaronF
from Woodlands, TX
"I was hesitant to buy the Abel Nippers but once another pair of $8 nippers wore out, I decided to pull the trigger. I ended up using the Orvis $25 off $50 coupon so they came in at $27.xx after tax. Well worth that investment and I think even at full price, I would have been happy with my decision to buy these nippers. Buy them now because when you eventually do buy them, you'll be mad you didn't buy them sooner."
Review 14 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
November 12, 2013
By: FlyTech
"The Abel Nipper and Lanyard are very nice and do the job."
Review 15 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abel Nippers,
November 10, 2013
By: DonC
from Plano, Texas
"I have purchased many nippers over the years, very few have the ability to cleaning clip tippet or leaders, without some effort on my part. I was hesitant to purchase the Abel due to the price, but I have one of their Super 10 reels and it is true craftsmanship, so I decided on their nippers. These are the best nippers I have ever purchased. The cutters come with a 2 year warranty and can be replaced if damaged after the warranty. Truly worth the investment."
Review 16 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cream of the crop,
October 28, 2013
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"There are some things made to last and there are some things meant to be disposable- you decided which these are. Does everyone need these nippers- maybe not but there those who except more and demand the best and when you buys these you fall into that category."
Review 17 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good,
October 21, 2013
By: Bori
"I recently bought this product during a fishing trip out west. My husband & I are very pleased with the performance of this product. I bought a 2nd one for my husband bday. He loves it!"
Review 18 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best nippers ever,
October 7, 2013
By: brookieglass
from VA
"These are some great nippers. I have owned many others, and they were all a waste of money compared to these. I already owned one set of abel nippers, but was tired of moving them between the different packs I fish with, so I just bought another pair. Not sure if they will ever wear out, but abel states they come with 2year blade replacement, so I guess it's covered pretty well. They are great! you can't go wrong with them."
Review 19 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth it!,
September 17, 2013
By: DMILLER
from Sweet Home, OR
"I am getting older and less stable it fast water. I need all the help I can get. These nippers line up and cut quickly and surely. To me they are worth the cost."
Review 20 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suburb Abel Nippers,
August 3, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"This is my first Abel purchase; it was a good decision. Having recently added UL spinning gear to my kit I needed a good pair of nippers to cut fused lines cleanly; the Abel was up to the task. About the size of a coach’s whistle; beautifully machined with replaceable cutting surfaces. Nippers and lanyard incorporate clever flex and swivel joints for unrestricted positioning. I own several inferior nippers that together cost more than the Abel; these are expensive but a good value considering that they will be the last I need to purchase. Abel provides a lifetime warranty on this superb American-made product. Way to go Abel and thanks to Orvis for establishing this partnership and offering the unique finishes. Highly recommended."