Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Abel Nipper and Lanyard

The last pair of nippers you'll ever buy. Designed, manufactured, and assembled in the US by Abel, these anodized aluminum nippers feature stainless steel jaws, are saltwater resistant, and can even cut through 100-lb. braided line. Comes with a nearly indestructible lanyard made out of lightweight nylon parachute cord. Available without the lanyard. In olive with trout logo. Weighs 0.7 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.897 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
58 of 58(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Review 1 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best nippers you can buy!,
May 17, 2015
By: Brentpr
from Craig, MT.
"I spend a lot of time on the water so having a pair of nippers that work well is important. Having a clean cut when you need to thread a size 20 flies is a must. I have used dozens of different kinds of nippers and no other pair of nippers on the market work as good as these."
Review 2 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
For the price? Maybe...,
May 13, 2015
By: getaalong
from Boone, NC
"Been using this product for a few weeks now and it works great at trimming tippet, but the first time I used the poker to clean out an eye it bent. Maybe I used it incorrectly but I feel like for the price these nippers should be indestructible."
Review 3 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last nippers I will need to buy,
March 10, 2015
By: fphp
from Memphis Tn
"Great product recommended by a guide. Replaceable blades make this the last pair of nippers i'll buy...as long I don't drop them in the River! Matching lanyard a must!! Thanks for adding these to the product offering..."
Review 4 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Abel Nipper Laymard,
February 10, 2015
By: Shilohfarm
from Winchester VA
"Great deal on a very well made product! Orvis fish logo is a bonus"
Review 5 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
February 6, 2015
By: scout76
from Fort Collins, Colorado
"I recently purchased the Abel Nippers. Extremely sharp jaws, that do a really nice job cutting. Best nippers I have ever bought. I would recommend buying the lanyard, that goes with the nippers."
Review 6 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 15, 2014
By: Baboo01
from Carmel IN
"Easy, clean cuts on the water allows for easy change of flies and knots."
Review 7 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Nippers,
July 1, 2014
By: dlaywot
from Golden CO
"I would expect no less from Able & Orvis. The product is everything that it was reported to be and Orvis delivered on their end of the deal"
Review 8 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid purchase,
June 30, 2014
By: Falsecast
"I have been using the Abel nippers for a good amount of time and would like to share my opinion of them.
I fish freshwater and salt, inshore, offshore, and on shore. I am not a fly fishing purist, I utilize a variety of techniques.
I have used the Abel nippers to cut mono from 2 lb test to 80 without an issue. While cutting mono is not much of a test, my Abel nippers have seen a lot of use around the salt and still produce nice clean cuts. Other nippers I have used under the same conditions have been reclaimed by Earth.
The Abel nippers are not perfect though. The nippers do not cut braided line as easily as I would like. I know this is not much of an issue when fly fishing. But, being a filthy gear fisherman, I use a lot of braided fishing line. Also, the jaws have started to discolor a little.
These nippers are nicely built and should last a very long time."
Review 9 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nippers made in USA,
June 28, 2014
By: mdlewisGa
from Covington, Georgia
"Abel Nippers are well made and with replaceable cutters and a lifetime warranty it should be the last ones you will ever purchase. They are aggressive enough to cut through tough knots and varying sizes of fishing line. Due to their small size, they are perfect for a zinger on an Orvis sling pack. Did I mention they are made in the USA!"
Review 10 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Able nippers,,WOW !,
June 28, 2014
By: flyguy12955
"These are the ultimate nippers. Beyond belief in quality and craftsmanship. You can't go wrong with these."
Review 11 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy duty nippers,
May 28, 2014
By: ChromeonaFly
from Salem Oregon
"I am buying several of these for stocking stuffers"
Review 12 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nippers,
May 21, 2014
By: Westernmassman
from western MA
"These Abel nippers are very sharp allowing precise cutting of tippets and other mono. Best of all they are great in cinching up tippet rings in my Euro leaders. Nothing comes close!"
Review 13 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have item,
May 19, 2014
By: FirstSgtE8
from Vernon, VT
"This is the real deal when it comes to nips. Easy to use. It's almost as if these nips have mechanical leverage. Slices through leaders and tippets like cutting through butter with a hot knife. Slightly pricey but well worth the cost."
Review 14 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
May 19, 2014
By: OnTheRiseFlyFishing
from Southeast PA
"First, they are expensive. Now that we have that out of the way...these are the best nippers I have ever used. If treated right, they will outlast 5-6 pairs of the cheaper nippers; at least they did for me. Picked up a second pair of Abel nippers because I lost my first pair; I need to find a more reliable zinger because it hurts the psyche and the wallet to lose such a nice/expensive tool. Get these nippers...you won't be dissapointed! Plus, MADE IN USA"
Review 15 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nipper!,
May 6, 2014
By: RobbC
from San Antonio, TX
"This is my second Abel nipper. I loved the first one for freshwater, so I decided to get another to put on my kayak PFD. Strong, sturdy, and remarkable craftsmanship. Can't recommend it more!"
Review 16 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nippers ever,
May 3, 2014
By: BTBill
from Denver, CO
"Never have to buy another pair of nippers. Quality and warranty of these nippers is outstanding"
Review 17 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nippers ever,
May 3, 2014
By: BTBill
from Denver, CO
"These nippers are worth the investment. with their warranty and quality, you should never need another one!"
Review 18 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money!,
April 10, 2014
By: Sculpin
from Memphis TN.
"A little pricey, but worth the money. Lifetime warranty!"
Review 19 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nipper Ever!,
April 7, 2014
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I've used many nippers over the years, and I have to say these are by far the best. The cutters stay sharp and the eye cleaner doesn't bend out of shape or stick me unexpectedly. They are also very light to carry on your zinger."
Review 20 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best by far,
March 24, 2014
By: Hwkrplt
from St Albert, AB, Canada
"The nipper is the most capable nipper I have used in 50 years of fishing. It is always sharp, small and unobtrusive, rust-free and effective with all types of line. Love it,"