Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Abel Nipper and Lanyard

The last pair of nippers you'll ever buy. Designed, manufactured, and assembled in the US by Abel, these anodized aluminum nippers feature stainless steel jaws, are saltwater resistant, and can even cut through 100-lb. braided line. Comes with a nearly indestructible lanyard made out of lightweight nylon parachute cord. Available without the lanyard. In green with trout logo, blue with tarpon logo. Weighs 0.7 oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.924 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 53(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Review 1 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
July 15, 2014
By: Baboo01
from Carmel IN
"Easy, clean cuts on the water allows for easy change of flies and knots."
Review 2 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Nippers,
July 1, 2014
By: dlaywot
from Golden CO
"I would expect no less from Able & Orvis. The product is everything that it was reported to be and Orvis delivered on their end of the deal"
Review 3 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid purchase,
June 30, 2014
By: Falsecast
"I have been using the Abel nippers for a good amount of time and would like to share my opinion of them.
I fish freshwater and salt, inshore, offshore, and on shore. I am not a fly fishing purist, I utilize a variety of techniques.
I have used the Abel nippers to cut mono from 2 lb test to 80 without an issue. While cutting mono is not much of a test, my Abel nippers have seen a lot of use around the salt and still produce nice clean cuts. Other nippers I have used under the same conditions have been reclaimed by Earth.
The Abel nippers are not perfect though. The nippers do not cut braided line as easily as I would like. I know this is not much of an issue when fly fishing. But, being a filthy gear fisherman, I use a lot of braided fishing line. Also, the jaws have started to discolor a little.
These nippers are nicely built and should last a very long time."
Review 4 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nippers made in USA,
June 28, 2014
By: mdlewisGa
from Covington, Georgia
"Abel Nippers are well made and with replaceable cutters and a lifetime warranty it should be the last ones you will ever purchase. They are aggressive enough to cut through tough knots and varying sizes of fishing line. Due to their small size, they are perfect for a zinger on an Orvis sling pack. Did I mention they are made in the USA!"
Review 5 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Able nippers,,WOW !,
June 28, 2014
By: flyguy12955
"These are the ultimate nippers. Beyond belief in quality and craftsmanship. You can't go wrong with these."
Review 6 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heavy duty nippers,
May 28, 2014
By: ChromeonaFly
from Salem Oregon
"I am buying several of these for stocking stuffers"
Review 7 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best nippers,
May 21, 2014
By: Westernmassman
from western MA
"These Abel nippers are very sharp allowing precise cutting of tippets and other mono. Best of all they are great in cinching up tippet rings in my Euro leaders. Nothing comes close!"
Review 8 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have item,
May 19, 2014
By: FirstSgtE8
from Vernon, VT
"This is the real deal when it comes to nips. Easy to use. It's almost as if these nips have mechanical leverage. Slices through leaders and tippets like cutting through butter with a hot knife. Slightly pricey but well worth the cost."
Review 9 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality,
May 19, 2014
By: OnTheRiseFlyFishing
from Southeast PA
"First, they are expensive. Now that we have that out of the way...these are the best nippers I have ever used. If treated right, they will outlast 5-6 pairs of the cheaper nippers; at least they did for me. Picked up a second pair of Abel nippers because I lost my first pair; I need to find a more reliable zinger because it hurts the psyche and the wallet to lose such a nice/expensive tool. Get these nippers...you won't be dissapointed! Plus, MADE IN USA"
Review 10 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nipper!,
May 6, 2014
By: RobbC
from San Antonio, TX
"This is my second Abel nipper. I loved the first one for freshwater, so I decided to get another to put on my kayak PFD. Strong, sturdy, and remarkable craftsmanship. Can't recommend it more!"
Review 11 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nippers ever,
May 3, 2014
By: BTBill
from Denver, CO
"Never have to buy another pair of nippers. Quality and warranty of these nippers is outstanding"
Review 12 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nippers ever,
May 3, 2014
By: BTBill
from Denver, CO
"These nippers are worth the investment. with their warranty and quality, you should never need another one!"
Review 13 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money!,
April 10, 2014
By: Sculpin
from Memphis TN.
"A little pricey, but worth the money. Lifetime warranty!"
Review 14 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nipper Ever!,
April 7, 2014
By: HarleyFlyFishGuy
from Port Washington, NY
"I've used many nippers over the years, and I have to say these are by far the best. The cutters stay sharp and the eye cleaner doesn't bend out of shape or stick me unexpectedly. They are also very light to carry on your zinger."
Review 15 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best by far,
March 24, 2014
By: Hwkrplt
from St Albert, AB, Canada
"The nipper is the most capable nipper I have used in 50 years of fishing. It is always sharp, small and unobtrusive, rust-free and effective with all types of line. Love it,"
Review 16 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Razor Sharp,
March 19, 2014
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
"I hesitated at the price of this item, but it is absolutely the best nipper ever. Razor sharp and light as a feather. Also love the fact that the blades are replaceable"
Review 17 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband's gift,
February 12, 2014
By: PAlady
from Greensburg, PA
"I bought the Abel Nipper at my husband's request. He said this device is the greatest thing since sliced bread! Can't dispute that, as I've never used it myself. He's trustworthy, though! Really!"
Review 18 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Nippers Ever, Period!,
February 10, 2014
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"They are by far the best nippers I have ever owned. They are sharp (and STAY sharp). They're backed by a solid warranty, and every nuance of the nipper has been designed to maximize efficiency and ease of use. Even the little spring that gives force feedback while depressing the nipper is a nice touch, especially on those cold days when your fingers are a little numbed. It's worth the extra money and as they say, you won't ever need to buy another pair of nippers again. And they're made in USA!"
Review 19 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great design!,
January 16, 2014
By: Georgiaduchess
from Rome, GA
"This is a great product that will last a lifetime. I especially like that the needle point to clean out the hook eye is inside the nippers. This way it is easily accessible, but not where it is prone to snag or poke a hole in your waders. It's the small details like this that really set these nippers apart. Plus when you get two quality companies like Abel and Orvis together, what's not to love?"
Review 20 for Abel Nipper and Lanyard
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice but pricey,
January 15, 2014
By: SEBFish
"Very nice high quality nippers. But, you pay mightily for the manufacturer's name."