Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt

One of our most popular skirts, this best-selling 8-oz. Vintage Denim design is surprisingly slenderizing. Easy-fitting style with a full elastic waist, belt loops, and on-seam pockets. Pure cotton Vintage Denim. Washable. Imported. Regular sizes S(6-8), M(10-12), L(14-16), XL(18-20); about 33" long. Petites also in XS(4); about 29" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.576 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
2
19 of 33(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Review 1 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Denim skirt,
April 21, 2014
By: idontusenicknames
from Indianapolis
"I didn't care for the style / fabric and sent it back. Guess I'll make one."
Review 2 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Comfortable Skirt,
April 9, 2014
By: JLGoetz4
from Hatfield, PA
"Ordered several of these skirts - good fit - great casual wear......"
Review 3 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable Skirt,
March 31, 2014
By: LLCrip
"The material is very comfortable. The stitching is about the best and the skirt is actually petite length."
Review 4 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lightweight,
March 19, 2014
By: Sally1234
from Suffolk, UK
"The material was a little too lightweight for me.
I was expecting a similar weight to my denim housecoat.
"
Review 5 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
too hippy!,
March 17, 2014
By: barnowl2
from Santa Rosa, C
"length good, but not a fit for someone with a little belly but small hips - made me look very wide. Also the fabric is quite stiff. Would be helpful if one could return after washing (with fabric softener)if the denim doesn't break in.
I returned it.
"
Review 6 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
changed style,
March 14, 2014
By: Judde
from MT
"I have two of these skirts from before. This year the style has changed. They are now wider in the waist and narrower in the hips. The quality of the fabric is still great, but I don't like the new fit. Perhaps more women are built for the new style."
Review 7 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great skirt,
March 7, 2014
By: Clydene
from California
"Very versatile and comfortable skirt (great travel skirt!). Love the a-line shape and slash pockets. The elastic waist allows ease of movement and feels good. I rated this 4 stars instead instead of 5 solely due to the fact that the waist has been cut a little narrower than the last one I bought of this type. Still fits great, but I would prefer the cut to be as it once was. Still, it is a great skirt and highly recommended."
Review 8 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this skirt!,
March 3, 2014
By: BleshTX
from Goldthwaite, TX
"I am very pleased with this item. It looks great and fits really well. Nice addition for spring wardrobe!"
Review 9 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality skirt,
March 1, 2014
By: Babs123
from Minnesota
"I've had this skirt for nearly 10 years and it is still going strong, not faded. In winter I wear it once a week.
I do iron it when it comes out of the dryer, but I don't mind. It is very comfortable and flattering.
"
Review 10 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
not as shown,
March 1, 2014
By: jocotswolds
from Cheltenham
"I have purchased many skirts from this company. But this skirtis too tight. It iisn't how it looks in cataloguevor on internet. I am very disappointed and wish I had retuned it.
I may find it difficult to order again.
"
Review 11 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
too stiff,
February 27, 2014
By: siskiyougirl
"I liked the style and quality of the skirt, but the material was heavier and stiffer than I expected. Decided to keep it for home wear, but unless the fabric loosens up with several washings, I won't be wearing it for around town. Like having a pair of heavy work jeans, only in skirt form."
Review 12 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this skirt,
February 27, 2014
By: fromthemidwest
from Cedar Falls, IA
"Glad for a plain jean skirt without buttons, and side pockets too."
Review 13 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not what I expected...,
January 14, 2014
By: mrscanter
"I read all the reviews carefully before finally ordering this skirt. I wear skirts every day, and I am always on the lookout for skirts that are long and full but classic and attractive, sturdy enough for everyday life in the country but elegant too. Thus Orvis is a go-to for me. I had my eye on this for a long time, though I usually avoid denim as a personal preference. I liked that this skirt was offered in colors like black and grey, and wanted the grey to finish off a particular outfit. The reviews about fit and make warned me off for a long time, but I finally tried it. The reviews were right. The idea of this skirt is a good one, and if it was made the way it looks in the pictures it would be all right. However, I really think they didn't update the photo with this year's model. This skirt is not as full as it looks, only barely gathered over an elastic waist that is almost too small to pull up over my hips (I am 5'3", 115 lbs., and ordered the 4P, which is my usual Orvis skirt size). Really, I have to tug to get it on, and I am not full through the hips and rear. Once on, the skirt is not very full, and the waistline is chunky even under a belt. The material is a stiffish denim as expected, and the skirt has pockets (thank you, Orvis!). It was roughly what I needed to wear with a shirt and cardigan, which conceals the waist, so I am keeping it. I do think Orvis could do better on this one by making it fuller. Then I could recommend it like I do all my other Orvis skirts!"
Review 14 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Real Classic,
November 15, 2013
By: Caesare
from Pasadena CA
"The Orvis Denim Skirt is a perfect fit for the active, mature woman. Wears well around the home, on errands, and for travel. The classic style means years of stylish wear."
Review 15 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just missed the mark,
November 12, 2013
By: hikingqueen
from Bend, Or
"This skirt was the usual high quality item that Orvis provides its shoppers, but there was too much fabric in the skirt, and the heavy denim weighed it down too much for my small frame."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor fit; will return,
October 30, 2013
By: Lore
from Southeast
"Way tooth fabric makes for an unflattering fit; would not recommend"
Review 17 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made basic,
October 11, 2013
By: agagirl
from Massachusetts
"Nicely made skirt, heavy material, sturdily stitched seams. May run a bit big, as I bought the small and had plenty of room in it. Feels like it will get better over time with washing and drying.Has pockets too - a boon."
Review 18 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kinda frumpy,
October 9, 2013
By: AngelaD
"Quality construction and good fabric, but the elastic waist made me feel dumpy. Also ran large for the size listed."
Review 19 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 3, 2013
By: LORBP
"In reading other reviews, I too am in agreement that this skirt is narrower in the hips than others I've bought and so had a bit of difficulty when putting it on. Once on, it was fine and fit well and liked the earl grey color. Would like to have given it 5 stars but the cut of this particular skirt needs looking into."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Easy-Fitting Vintage Denim Skirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor fit and quality,
September 30, 2013
By: GlenwoodLI
from Long Island NY
"This skirt has no relationship to the skirt shown in the catalog photo. It is a tight fitting A line skirt with little flare to the skirt. Hip measurement according to Orvis sizing for a size large is 44 inches and this skirt is about 22 inches across in the large so the fit over the hips is very tight. Its tight, its unattractive and its certainly not what is shown in the photo. Looks and feels cheap."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.