Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

K-9 Explorer Dog Collar

Reflect your active lifestyle with this upscale adjustable dog collar featuring polished gunmetal-finish hardware, reflective stitching for nighttime safety, and a convenient side-release buckle. Moveable D-ring, PVC logo patch, separate ID loop, and easy leash attachment. Matching lead sold separately. Adjustable dog collar and lead in berry, orange, fern, sapphire. Lead cannot be personalized. Nylon. Personalize the collar with your dog's name and/or phone number on the buckle. 2 lines with up to 12 characters per line, including spaces. Imported. M(12"-18"), L(18"-26"). 1" wide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
63 of 64(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Review 1 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Collar and Leash,
December 18, 2014
By: FlyFisherMac
from Western Maine Mountains
"Purchased the K-9 Explorer collar and leash for my 9 month old yellow lab and am very pleased with the quality of the product. The metal clasp is solid metal and snaps into place easily and securely. The metal clasp on the leash is easy to snap into place and also very secure. Lots of extra length in the collar so it'll fit her into adulthood. I expect this product to last for years and years."
Review 2 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 17, 2014
By: walkel5353
from aurora
"I like this color. The collar has reflective threads running through it. It does not look like it will flake off like other reflective. I is so attractive I
purchased an orange/brown for my beagle and 2 red/hot pink for my son's lab and my sister's black and white mixed breed dog. All the dogs are rescues.
"
Review 3 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great collar,
December 12, 2014
By: rambleowl
from Quakertown, PA
"Great quality. Looks great, reflective stitching completes this collar. Solves my problem of lost missing identification tags. Wish I had the option of adding micro-chipped to the text."
Review 4 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beau Loves It,
December 9, 2014
By: phishermanphil
from Redlands, CA
"I noticed my six month old Labradoodle has a new swagger in his step since graduating to his K9 Explorer collar. It's easily adjustable and Beau finds it compfortable with room to grow. The latch is sturdily machined and very secure. I like the fact that his collar tags and leash are secured to the collar at different points. The collar is durable, cleans up easily after a romp in the mud and looks very sharp. Beau is impressed that the people at Orvis knew his name and phone number and stamped them handsomely on the collar clasp.
No wonder Beau's walking proud
"
Review 5 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
December 4, 2014
By: Hudson9
"Won't be replacing this collar anytime soon... Great quality."
Review 6 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid buckle,
November 27, 2014
By: firehat
from Houston, TX
"I wanted a buckle for my dog's collar that wouldn't fail with just a single prong breaking. The plastic kind makes me nervous because of that. This buckle appears to fit the bill. If one of the two latches fails I think the other will hold. And it's metal!
But aside from the buckle, the collar itself is very handsome. The two stripes of reflective material really stand out and the separate ring for tags is a nice touch."
Review 7 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good collar, buckle would not come off,
November 24, 2014
By: Lexisdad
from Virginia Beach
"My dog had this collar for about a year, its very lightweight and durable, and the metal buckle is a nice touch. She also swims in the ocean regularly and when I went to take the collar off recently, it was impossible to take off as salt had built up inside of it. Had to cut the collar to take it off of her. So good, collar, just be mindful to clean regularly."
Review 8 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Collar Yet,
October 29, 2014
By: Walkinthewoods
from Fairfield, CT
"I have tried many collars and this by far is the best!!! Everything I have been looking for; secure unbreakable latch- never worry about collar coming undone, handsome good looking choices, dogs name and your cell number right on collar's latch, extra ring for licence tags, easy wash and easy dry. Well done Orvis!"
Review 9 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE My K9 Explorer Collar!,
October 27, 2014
By: Cowgirlsal
from Scotts, Michigan
"Well I just LOVE my new K9 Explorer collar in the pretty "Berry" color! My momma loves the separate, adjustable ring for easy attachment to my leash, as well as the separate side mounting link for my tags, but the VERY best part is the stainless buckle--it clips in effortlessly and smoothly--just cannot say enough good things about this collar--it rates a FIVE STAR rating for sure! Woofs and licks, "Willow Mae" from Scotts, Michigan"
Review 10 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
October 23, 2014
By: GordoVB
from Virginia Beach, VA
"I looked for quite some time for a rugged collar and lead combo for my 105 lb Yellow Lab. Orvis made the last collar, but it got put through the ringer with all the beach time and duck hunting Fenway got to do.
This product was shipped promptly and arrived as advertised. Thick and stylish color choices we're a plus, but the clasp and moveable D ring were unique to this model. Orvis was one of the only sites to engrave the info on the collar-- a nice perk.
Highly recommend this set up. It will last for years. Great service and really happy with this product."
Review 11 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durable for Dog-Play in the Bay,
October 23, 2014
By: LighthouseLeigh
from Bowers Beach, DE
"We needed to replace collars for our two golden retrievers because their metal rings had begun to rust. Not only are these new collars made for that, they also have clasps that fasten and unfasten easily. Because the color helps us distinguish our two dogs, we were happy with the assortment of colors available too."
Review 12 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
top notch quality,
October 20, 2014
By: lablvr27
from Olympia, WA
"Beautiful collar. We get a lot of compliments on this. The multicolored stripes make it visually interesting and unusual and the reflective detailing is a bonus. The heavy duty, but very flexible weave is comfortable to wear. The name and phone number on the buckle are great but very subtle. The gunmetal hardware is another classy and unique detail. I especially like the separate tag and leash rings, it really cuts down on annoying jingling during walks! Finally, I'd just say that the collar stretched out after a couple of weeks and I found it on the kennel floor in the morning. Luckily I was able to readjust the collar smaller, but might be something to think about if your dog is in between sizes."
Review 13 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
October 17, 2014
By: Erin79
from Arkansas
"Collar is a great fit, and appears well made. Colors are great."
Review 14 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy and handsome looking collar,
September 23, 2014
By: Lovemyfurbabe
from Ny, ny
"Extremely satisfied with my purchase. My boston terrier fur baby looks handsome in his blue collar. I love how sturdy it is and I have no fears of the collar breaking in our long walks through nyc. I strongly recommend this collar. It's worth the money."
Review 15 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great quality collar and leash,
September 4, 2014
By: NashvegasNT
from Nashville, Tn
"This is my second Collar, First one was lost. These collars have the best buckles and the sturdiest highest quality. I really liked how they looked and after getting it in the mail and putting the collar on my dog, Blu, i realized how easy to get the collar on and off. the best looking collars i've seen."
Review 16 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect dog collar & leash,
August 21, 2014
By: mickorolow
from NY NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased these for both my small beagle and my large lab-mix. I am impressed that they are light-weight while being super sturdy. They also do not absorb water, be it rain or swimming. They look like they will last for years!"
Review 17 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We all love it,
August 20, 2014
By: Nouveauyork
from NYC
"Both the leash and collar ere excellent: light, sturdy, reflective and attractive. Even our dog walker and vet have commented on the quality."
Review 18 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog collar,
August 14, 2014
By: Grannsheri
from Midwestb
"I have purchased a number of collars from Orvis and they wear very well. Our lab loves to swim and she can be tough on collars but they last for a long time. I also love the variety of colors!"
Review 19 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded expecations,
August 6, 2014
By: cmel
"Collar is a beautiful color and the clasp is very sturdy. Monogram is easy to read but not too large."
Review 20 for K-9 Explorer Dog Collar
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it's just a collar ?,
July 29, 2014
By: tarponhunter
from Northern Virginia
"Maybe, but its the best I've ever put on my Labs.
+Heavy duty construction
+Easy adjustibility that stays put
+Well thought out design:
*Seperate metal rings for id and
leash
*Silicone rubber enclosure that
keeps the leash ring upright.
no more fumbling to attach the
leash
+Substantial metal slide closure
device
"