Orvis Ratings and Reviews

MI6 Chronograph

It's the timepiece you want on your wrist when split-seconds count. Crafted in stainless steel, and sporting a bold racing-green color motif, our chronograph watch features a 1/20-second measurement dial for precision accuracy. The large sweep-second hand measures timed seconds; a standard second-hand dial is at six o'clock, an hour indicator dial is at 9 o'clock. Calendar date window. Subtle perforated leather strap. Case diameter 45mm. Water resistant to 150 feet. 4-year battery. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.417 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 of 12(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MI6 Chronograph
Review 1 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wholly unsuited to purpose,
August 26, 2015
By: Pyewt
from Moreland Hills, Ohio
"Without regard to anything else, the strap is much too short for an adult male. I don't have a large wrist, but the strap barely circles it when fastened in the very last hole.. It will be necessary for most men to buy another watchband entirely.
The luminous figures on the dial, and the luminous hands, are not luminous at all. It is necessary to turn on a light to see the watchface at any time after dusk. Providing real luminous markings is not difficult to do. It might cost an additional 2 cents per watch. This is inexcusable negligence in design at this price.
There is no luminous paint at all on the sweep second hand, or the dials or hands of the other tiny gauges that are used in timing. Thus, the "chronograph" is usable only in broad daylight or bright indoor lighting. Use in an automobile after dusk is impossible. This is another basic design flaw.
The main stem, which controls all adjustments, is much, much too loose in its socket. Rubbing the watch accidentally against something like, e.g., the cuff of a jacket, a napkin, or any sort of rag or towel will cause the stem to pop out. When that happens, of course, the watch stops keeping time and every further tap or joggle causes the main hands or the date to move. The stem of a chronometer should be difficult to pop out in order to make such problems impossible. Even better, it should screw down into the watch case to assure this protection, as well as to insure water resistance. I am very skeptical that the watch really has much real water resistance at all in view of this problem. No chronometer with this problem can be reliable for any purpose.
This is a highly unsatisfactory product for Orvis to sell. Beware."
Review 2 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Watch, Great Size,
July 14, 2015
By: RedDog1234
from Denver, CO
"Couldn't be happier with the elegant look of this watch! Great color combo between the face and the band. NOTE: there is a tiny plastic "nib" between the crown and the body of the watch. The instructions tell you to pull out the crown to set the time and date. It's actually already out and can't be pushed back in till the "nib" is removed. The "nib" is almost invisible, but can be easily removed."
Review 3 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and Expensive Looking,
July 7, 2015
By: srstratt
from Louisville, KY
"This is a very attractive watch. Oversized and well-made with a thick leather strap. It looks much more expensive than it costs. It looks great with both casual and business attire."
Review 4 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
don't buy this watch,
June 5, 2015
By: augangler
from Augusta, Georgia
"The watch is very handsome, but one of the little stems bent when it got caught on my pocket. i've also worn it fishing twice, and though I've not fallen in, it is has collected condensation. Also it stops for no reason at various times--and it began stopping long before I wore it fishing. I just would not recommend it."
Review 5 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not a keeper,
May 16, 2015
By: RBP323
from Purcellville, VA.
"Loved the look but the stem broke off after 4 months. The stem catches almost every time you reach into your pocket. As I now read the reviews I'm hoping Orvis will take this one back."
Review 6 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Surprise!,
December 29, 2014
By: HappyinChucktown123
from Charleston SC
"Great fit with comfortable band that doesn't irritate my wrist...easily readable face...classic in style..."
Review 7 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Looks Good but stem breaks off,
September 11, 2014
By: WannaBeNicelyDressed
"I took a chance on the watch after reading another review that warned about the stem breaking off. I should have listened to the review. The stem broke off after 3 months usage. If you put your hands in your pockets, the stem snags. Eventually, the stem will break off. I am now in the process of exchanging for another watch. Orvis wanted me to have it repaired with their services, but this will not change the fact that I put me hands in my pockets and this will happen again. They agreed to exchange after this discussion."
Review 8 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Chronograph,
July 31, 2014
By: JDII
from Bedford Hills, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Loved the green face and bezel, was hoping it would look good in real life... and it does!
Contrast between the green and silver across the whole - big - face is classic and classy. Adding the light-colored leather racing inspired strap adds to the overall aesthetic for me. Rugged but refined.
Has the look and feel of a much more expensive watch - and the chronograph works just fine in my experience so far. I'm sure I'll be wearing this watch for years to come."
Review 9 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
M16 Chronograph,
June 19, 2014
By: WatchFanToo
from Chicago, IL
"I love watches but all my previous watches seemed to be missing something. The M16 Chronograph is flawless, functional and comfortable. I particularly appreciate how the minute and hour hands jump out at you from the, perfect shade of green, face
WatchFanToo"
Review 10 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Watch Ever!,
May 19, 2014
By: Bartholomew
"The leather band is classic! The watch face is the perfect size. The green face is so reminiscent of the outdoors.
I love it!"
Review 11 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Looked Great,
January 3, 2014
By: frozenintheNorth
from WI.
"Thanks to Orvis honesty they gladly took the watch back, reason for return, the stem came off!! Can not use"
Review 12 for MI6 Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Watch,
October 11, 2013
By: MI52
from cleveland
"I do not were watches often but thought I would give this one a try Seems rugged enough
Large face easy to read, keeps accurate time, for the price it is very stylish and affordable,nice true leather band Comes in a very nice long storage case received several compliments limited illumination on dial But overall I am very satisfied
"