Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill

Paws down, the toughest and softest ToughChew® fabric we've ever created. Our original ToughChew chew-resistant bed was tough. This bed is even tougher. Developed exclusively by Orvis, these beds are constructed with two layers for the ultimate in chew protection, and feature an outer fabric engineered in a full ripstop weave from incredibly tough and durable 1,000-denier nylon. The zipper is constructed of solid brass for added strength and durability. As tough as these beds are, they're also luxuriously soft, with a silky nylon microfiber surface that your dog will love. ToughChew chew-resistant dog beds feature double-layer construction that stands up to even the most persistent chewers. If your dog can chew through one of these durable dog beds, we'll refund your money. No questions asked. Cover is removable and washable. Dimensions are approximate. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
8
14 of 30(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Review 1 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First pet bed to last more than a week!,
February 21, 2013
By: chocoloco
from Anchorage, Alaska
"Picked up a pretty much pure bred chocolate lab (Mason) from the local animal control facility at 10 months. Somehow overlooked the previous owner's comment "...randomly destructive behavior".
Before I arrived at the right combination, Mason had chewed off the back of my back seats, and the back of the passenger side seat cover; halfway through the driver's side seatbelt, a half dozen successively cheaper pet beds (the last one the same day it was purchased), a friend's beach towel, eventually dozens of dog toys, artificial and real bones. The only things that have withstood Mason's chewing has been Kongs and Orvis' Tough Chew Dog's Nest. They (the Kong and the Dog's nest) have done wonders 'taming the savage beast'. Our first one will stay in the Subaru's wayback, and the next one will stay at the house.
If only Orvis could stock enough brown beds!!!
"
Review 2 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Pit Bull,
February 27, 2014
By: BELLAMOOSHU
from BALTIMORE MARYLAND
"I love the outer cover. Looks like I will have to search for a foam insert. Neither of my Pit Bulls wants to step on the bed. The insert has too much give and they are not sure of their footing. Had the same problem 10 years ago when I bought the extra large round bed. At that time the Greyhound would not lay on it until I replaced the inside with sofa cushion foam I had to have custom cut. I would still recommend the outer cover because it is chew proof bu be prepared to replace the insert."
Review 3 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
child with a chewing problem,
February 18, 2014
By: va118
from Virginia
"Just like everyone who tries this bed, my dog likes to "unstuff" beds. We have tried all types of beds, with the last one surviving only 6 hrs total before it was completely destroyed. A friend told us about Orvis and their refund policy. We decided to try it. We were cautious at first, only giving him the bed when we where home. It wasn't until we left it with him while we were gone that the chewing occurred. First it was a small spot by the zipper (which by the way is well crafted). Then the "destuffing" occurred :( Orvis's customer service was AMAZING!!!!! No questions asked, they refunded my money."
Review 4 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wish it were tougher,
January 19, 2014
By: Ownamalinois
from Jupiter, Fl.
". Much stronger than any found to date. When this bed arrived it was great as an open area bed, when we had to leave for several hours and put him in his ten foot open indoor pen he chewed on the corners hard enough to go through on two corners, though not large cuts I'm afraid the next time we leave the corner will be thoroughly chewed through. We own a Malinois that is 3 years old and as you can see has made pulling stuffing from everything we own is his pastime."
Review 5 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Way to go tough chew!,
December 25, 2013
By: Lambsie
from Baltimore, MD
"Tough chew was the fifth bed for our 100 lb golden. After two years he has finally penetrated the fabric. So far we are able to flip it over so he does not "go at it". We have two and I am considering getting a third because he enjoys the bed so much! We could not be happier!"
Review 6 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dont bother if you have a lab!,
December 1, 2013
By: kf83
"I bought this hoping it would live up to the promise, unfortunately after the second day of owning my lab had chewed it up. I ordered this before reading the reviews, had i done so first i wouldnt have bothered and i tried to cancel as soon as i read them but was too late. As i had it delivered i thought id give it a chance but now i have requested my money back. It seems a nice comfortable bed though if your dog doesnt chew! I think Orvis need to seriously reconsider this product."
Review 7 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
wow,
November 30, 2013
By: SHUCKER
from SAUCIER, MS
"OUR DOG, RAMBO, TORE 2 HOLES IN THE ORVIS TOUGHCHEW IN LESS THAN 10 MINUTES. WE WENT ON A 9 DAY TRIP AND WHEN WE GOT BACK HE HAD THE BED IN PIECES AND THE INNER LINER ZIPPER TORE OFF AND STUFFING ALL OVER OUR 2 ACRES. I AM GLAD I RESEARCHED AND FOUND THAT ORVIS HAD A MONEY BACK REFUND WITH NO QUESTIONS ASKED."
Review 8 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
At least they refunded the money!,
November 19, 2013
By: LEDI
from Stroudsburg, Pa
"I posted a review a few days ago about my Lab chewing right through this. The people at Orvis customer service emailed me and refunded my money back. So if you want to try bed for your own little destroyer, give it a go. If they chew through it they do guarantee it! The bed is really well made just not Lab proof."
Review 9 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Lab proof,
November 16, 2013
By: LEDI
from Stroudsburg, Pa
"I have a 1yr old lab. Who's main goal in his Labrador Retriever life is to chew and destroy everything in his sights. Unfortunately , now I can add the "tough chew" dog bed to his victims. It took him all of three hours to chew hole in it! $200 down the drain in three hours! It's a shame because the bed seemed really well made. Probably a great bed for any dog but mine."
Response from Orvis:By Mark S.Customer ServiceNovember 21, 2013
Our ToughChew beds are actually guaranteed against chewing/scratching. If a dog chews/scratches through the cover once, we'll happy replace the cover/bed. If the dog is able to do it a second time, we'll refund the purchase price of the bed (plus applicable tax). Details of this guarantee have been sent to this customer.
Review 10 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
More than just the bed,
November 15, 2013
By: AVphile
from Las Vegas, NV
"First, this is a great-looking dog bed, with excellent workmanship, and the embroidery of our dog's name was finished very nicely. The quality of this ToughChew product is obvious, including the heavy duty zipper.
Unfortunately, our dog chewed through the 1000-denier outer fabric the first night. The second night, she tore apart the zipper and demolished the fabric to which it was adhered. But then she stopped, and has not chewed the bed any further since -- now one month since it arrived.
Consequently, today I took advantage of Orvis' free replacement policy -- and a new bed is being shipped to me, no questions asked!
While I rated the bed as good, I would rate Orvis' customer service practices as outstanding. It is a real treat to order a product from a company that stands behind what it sells. Bravo, Orvis!"
Review 11 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so tough :(,
October 2, 2013
By: DoxieGirl
from Green Bay, WI
"Bought this bed for our beagle mix who has torn up every other type of bedding we've given him. Didn't last an hour :( I was very hopeful for this bed but alas he conquered it way too soon. But with Orvis' outstanding service & their guarantee I was promptly issued a refund. I'd recommend this bed for any dogs who don't chew bedding. Was a really nice bed & seemed comfy!"
Review 12 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not Completely Happy,
September 24, 2013
By: PoodlePoodle
from Arizona
"I just received the dog bed this afternoon and the cover is in the wash already. When I opened the plastic bag to remove the bed I was greeted with an awful, acrid smell. It stunk up the whole room. I'm quite disappointed since I have two other Orvis dog beds and I did not have this initial problem with them. Further, the cover material is something similar to fake velvet which isn't the prettiest material to have on display. I'm stuck with the bed since we are getting a new dog this weekend. This is the first time I have ever been disappointed with an Orvis product."
Review 13 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Zipper problems,
September 10, 2013
By: earthdog
from Buffalo, NY
"My two OES puppies love zippers--they chew on any they can get. This bed lasted the longest because it took them a while to find the zipper under the flap. I had the same trouble as in another review--they didn't unzip it but managed to separate the zipper the entire length. There was no back-zipping on this one! True to their word, Orvis Customer Service said they'd ship out a new bed. I'll try tacking down the flap on the new one and maybe it will last--I'll let you know!"
Review 14 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for chew experts,
August 18, 2013
By: Megs86
"My dog is a certified chew expert, he's chewed though couches, shoes, carpet, and unfortunately this bed. Orvis had great customer service and sent me a replacement bed, but my little Charlie chewed through it as well. Orvis continued with their great customer service and gave me a refund for my purchase. I wish this bed was indestructible but for my dog it fell short."
Review 15 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Didn't stand up to our Great Dane Puppy,
May 1, 2013
By: NOVADane
from Northern Virginia
"Our Great Dane puppy went through about 15 beds in her first year, pulling out stuffing has always been her favorite passtime. We have caught her in the act in the middle of the night, and she tries to get away with it if we leave the room for 5 minutes. These toughchew beds definitely lasted longer than any other brand but she still chewed through the fabric once, and the biggest problem has been the zipper. She is able to pull the zipper apart, not by unzipping it, but actually pulling apart the zipper teeth. It is possible to backtrack the zipper maybe 10 or 15 times, but eventually the zipper teeth bend and you can no longer get it to close. Wish Orvis could improve this issue by stress testing a few more heavy duty types of zippers. Another thing is that inside the bed the stuff is in another zippered case. This case is the thinnest cheapest fabric. We may have spent a little less time cleaning up stuffing if this interior case was made of a higher quality fabric. Don't think these two things are too much to ask when you pay the same amount for a dog bed as a mattress.
All that being said, we have been very happy with the Orvis Customer Service and their guarantee."
Review 16 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty Tough,
April 28, 2013
By: FlyingB
"The bed starts out bulky and stiff, but it breaks in after a few days. Our dogs usually do their best to get underneath whatever beds we put in their kennels, but they actually seem to enjoy lounging on the ToughChew.
The ToughChew is definitely better constructed than many competitors' chew-resistant beds; however, I was surprised that the zipper pulls, which are quite large, don't completely tuck away. One of our dogs quickly realized that pulling back the zipper was the easiest way to the polyester filling. We finally just cut the zipper pulls off, but both beds eventually gave way to the persistence of our chewers. Still, each bed lasted for a month or so (when other beds lasted only minutes). We just ordered two more, and I plan on getting more if/when the new ones give out. As Orvis says, the bed isn't "chew proof," but it seems to last longer than anything else on the market."
Review 17 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good bed,
April 19, 2013
By: LabradorOwner
from Raleigh, NC
"This bed is good in that our youngest lab hasn't been able to chew through it. It washes up very well and our dogs like to lay on it.
My only complaint (and reason for 4 not 5 stars) would be that the insert got flat very quickly, our current model is less than 2 years old and pretty much completely flat - and no amount of fluffing can make it soft again."
Review 18 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not Happy,
April 18, 2013
By: Leeann13
from Charlotte,NC
"So i received my dogs bed about a month ago as soon as i took it out of the box i knew i wasn't going to like it but figured i would let her be the judge. Well it makes lots of noise just like others have mentioned its like an air mattress. She doesn't seem to be able to get comfortable on it she just kinda hangs her head on it and then her rest of her body on the ground, really not the reason i buy a bed. She was also able to chew threw the cover within minutes I've tried to stop her as soon as i catch her so its not that bad - I would not recommend this bed"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
New style is a big downgrade,
January 25, 2013
By: figtree
"This is my Pointer's 2nd tough chew bed. Previously, I had the old herringbone style. It was very attractive, and while my dog did eventually chew some small holes in it, it took him around 8 months. I informed Orvis who true to their word recently replaced the bed with no questions asked.
However, unfortunately this new style of tough chews is a big downgrade from their old ones. Not only did my dog chew numerous holes in the new bed within a few hours, but it also is not as attractive as the old style, and has a strange air mattress like feel to it (rigid plastic that makes crunching noises when the dog tries to settle into it). The texture and noise seem to bother my dog, which is why I think he started chewing on it so quickly.
While Orvis is a great company and I'm really happy at the way they stand behind their products, I probably wouldn't recommend this bed if your dog is any type of chewer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ToughChew® Dog's Nest® with Polyester Fill
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Consider carefully,
January 14, 2013
By: Lovetofishthesouth
"I purchased the first bed last fall. My 11 year old aging lady chewed a hole in it. True to the guarantee, it was replaced. However, the customer service person indicated it would only be replaced one time and remarked that perhaps "he/she would learn that beds are for sleeping, not for chewing." Our old lady has now chewed a very large hole in the replacement. I would only recommend the tough chew for dogs who don't chew at all."