Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®

Orvis large dog beds now feature luxurious upholstery-grade fabric—originally developed for the furniture industry. Our dog beds are built to take a beating, and look great doing it. We use only the highest quality materials in our large dog beds for incredible comfort and long-lasting durability. Choose from polyester fill or bead fill, with or without cedar. Dimensions are approximate. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
3
21 of 30(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Review 1 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog bed,
September 23, 2014
By: Winniebay
"Ordered the large rectangle nesting dog bed and our Labs love it."
Review 2 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog Bed Purchase,
September 23, 2014
By: WillDogOwner
from TN
"I purchased this bed in a medium for my Boykin Spaniel. It fits him perfect because he weighs around 40 lbs. If i were to purchase one for a dog any larger, I would move up to the large size."
Review 3 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Good had to buy 2,
August 15, 2014
By: afriedl
"I bought one of these beds for my older dog, and my younger dog ended up following in love with it as well. They would share it so much that I ended up buying two more."
Review 4 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greyhound Approved,
August 9, 2014
By: houndhomie
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our greyhound loves this bed. We ordered a large for our 65 lb female. Had to remove some of the bead stuffing because it arrives quite full. The Orvis Tartan color is very nice."
Review 5 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great bed,
June 24, 2014
By: PorterCleo
from Atlanta
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We ordered the extra large in herringbone for our chocolate lab and pitt mix. There's enough room for them both to cuddle up on it- they've loved it from day one! The only negative is that the piping got slightly chewed by the Lab, bu I don't think it would look as nice without it."
Review 6 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No Good,
March 30, 2014
By: Headfort
"I decided to treat my Labrador to a quality dog bed but wished I had saved my money as she will not go on it. As soon as she steps onto it it makes the surrounding area go hard (maybe its overfilled) and she is uncomfortable. What a pity."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality bed, but my dog hates it!,
January 31, 2014
By: WrigleyDog
from Austin, TX
"Ordered the XL bed for my Lab dog and have tried everything to get him to lay on it , with no luck. The bed seems to soft and the stuffing displaces when he gets on it, leaving no support for him to lay on and he moves right away to the wood floor. Very disappointing as all the previous Orvis beds I have owns were great."
Review 8 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dog's Review: "Paws Down"!,
January 4, 2014
By: SCShopper
from Greenville, SC
"Our 4 year old chocolate lab says, "Paws Down" to this bed. He didn't want to get on this new bed; with a few attempts, it sunk to the floor, but bunched up on all sides. Not even a treat could coax him to give it another try. He will keep his old Orvis fleece bolster oval bed, but this one is going back.
Not happy, since I paid extra for 3 day delivery of this disaster of a bed :-("
Review 9 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Bed - Great Service,
December 12, 2013
By: ChocLabLover1314
from Baltimore, MD
"Bought two beds for our two chocolate labs. The dogs love the beds but after nearly a year of daily (and nightly) use the filling was worn out. Some places it was nearly gone and other places it had bunched and was hard as a rock. A quick call to Orvis Customer Service to ask if there was a way to restore the comfort of the bed determined that new filler is available for a very reasonable price and, at least this time, they would provide it free of charge. Thank you for standing behind your product and the excellent customer service."
Review 10 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lyra's dream nest,
November 27, 2013
By: MommyofLyra
from Houston, TX
"We have had this bed for a little over a year and have nothing but good things to say. A friend with two dogs said, "Orvis has the best beds!" and I heartily support her assessment.
We adopted our beautiful Lyra from the SPCA and wanted her to have a cozy place to rest her head. From the minute we put the bed out, she knew just what to do.
The fabric (we chose herringbone which is a lovely neutral brown) is incredibly soft and durable. The fill keeps it's shape and conforms well. The cover is easy to wash and dry and seems like it will last forever. I wish we had one in every room of the house!
This is a very reasonably priced dog bed your dog will love, and it won't fall apart!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Dog Bed: FOUND!,
November 19, 2013
By: NomaBear
from Bluffton, South Carolina
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was our first purchase with Orvis, and we couldn't be happier with our first experience!
We bought two of these beds with cedar filling for our dogs, a Weimaraner and a Black and Tan Coonhound. Originally, we had purchased the Medium size (as was suggested by the website), however when the beds came, they were just too small. We did an exchange (which was SUPER easy!), and went with the Large size instead. Our dogs LOVE these beds! They are excellent quality, durable, the bedding inside smells great, and they hold their shape very well, even after the dogs lay on them. Overall, an excellent product, and wonderful customer service experience all the way around."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect,
October 27, 2013
By: jbk87
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We've had a couple of different dog beds before but this is the best; not only in it's features but in how much our dog loves it. It is very easy to clean and doesn't seem to absorb odors like other beds tend to. It has maintained its fluff well in the few months we've had it. Kaki knows when it's bed time and automatically goes to it, finds her perfect spot and settles in for the night."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase,
October 26, 2013
By: NAP11
from New Jersey
"Bought 3 over the course of the year. 2 for our home(bedroom and living room) and 1 to keep at my parents house for when we visit. My German Shepherd instantly fell in love with her beds and what's even better is they look great in our home."
Review 14 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice bed but my dog doesn't like it,
August 29, 2013
By: DTexas
"This seems like a nice bed- sturdy, good looking, and easy to wash and put back together. Unfortunately my dog does not agree so I will exchange it for another one. For some reason she does not like to sit on it."
Review 15 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy puppy,
August 8, 2013
By: DowntownTali
from NYC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We bought a new bed for Tali, our 16 month old Chocolate Lab, as her old bed hadn't lasted the test of time - it wouldn't come clean no matter how much washing, and had lost all its support, so looked messy.
She took a day to get used to the new bed as it's more of a pillow vs with walls, but she quickly took to curling up and making herself comfortable (see picture).
We like it as the material doesn't collect hair (she's a lab!), can easily be wiped down and just as easily washed and is supportive, but isn't too hot for her in the summer months! We also love the tartan colour.
A happy puppy is a happy owner (and I couldn't resist having her name on it!), so I would recommend.
"
Review 16 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hard to make the Filling even,
June 22, 2013
By: Lovemydoggies
from Derby KS
"My dog is only 49 lb, but a solidly packed English bulldog. We love the plaid material, therefore we purchased the medium size for her. But every time she tries to lay down, the filling pushes to the opposite side, & the part she lays down on becomes flat like a pancake, no filling. The only way I can make it work is by sitting on the opposite site, so that when she steps on it, she won't push the filling away."
Review 17 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dogs Love It; I love it too...,
June 8, 2013
By: elsasmom
"My dogs both love working and digging this bed and then nestling down into it. They love all dog beds and of course their Orvis ones most, but the polystyrene beads do seem to give this one special appeal.
Brand new, the bed was really overfilled with beads. I thought it might settle down some, but the dogs wouldn't use it because they kept toppling off. I removed beads in batches till it worked for them. (I've had the bed for quite a while, mine has a zipper on the inner bag for easy bead removal...assuming current model does as well). 4 stars because it would be better to fill each bed less and sell bags of extra beads, so fewer beads go into landfills.
We have this bed in Herringbone which is the velour type material; One dog has shorter spikier fur and the other a finer clingier kind - basically one of them is usually bound to stick tenaciously to ANY type of fabric. Unlike previous reviewers, I find this fabric actually pretty great with shedding, fur clings to it much less than the microfiber and even less it seems than a non-Orvis canvas cover we have. And the herringbone is perfect to camouflage what hair is on it.
Finally, while the bolsters and futons and bagels and all the other shapes of beds are really cuddly and comfy, I am just done with being bothered removing all the padding from all the compartments for washing. This style is the one for me with one easy thing to pop out of the cover and be done. The beads make this even easier than spun polyester."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic Bed,
April 2, 2013
By: darabin
from Houston, TX
"This is a classic dog bed that looks good with any decor, lasts a long time and one that your dog will love. the extra large is big and roomy enough for my large Doberman. We have purchased three beds from Orvis."
Review 19 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not enough support,
March 9, 2013
By: Montanadogmom
"The polyester fill has wonderful loft, however it provides no support when laid upon - my dog sank straight to the floor! If you are hoping to get a bed that will provide a soft, yet supportive cushion, choose another option. I hated to send it back, as the cover was lovely ( I got the light brown) but my dog needs more support!"
Review 20 for Rectangle Orvis Dog's Nest®
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bed hard as a rock,
March 4, 2013
By: Wolfpuppies
from Virginia
"I purchased two of these beds for my aging Irish Wolfhound - one upstairs, one down. She refuses to lay on them. I tried them myself and learned why she dislikes them, they are hard as rocks. Of my remaining dogs, one of the Labs will lay on it but the other lab will not.
Very uncomfortable for dogs"