Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates

Our Zig-Zag indoor wooden dog gates are an easy and great-looking way to protect your dog from dangerous areas in your home. Simply unfold and stand up to create a barrier just about anywhere—no wall attachment required. Double-jointed hinges allow for multiple configurations. Gate features arched tops and is now crafted in the US from American hardwood. Mortise-and-tenon construction. Indoor wooden dog gate in cinnamon, dark cherry. Each two-panel section covers a three-foot span. ¾"-thick panels are 24" wide. Distance between spindles is 1¾". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.801 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
145 of 151(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Review 1 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
June 28, 2015
By: maureen820
from boston, MA
"actually purchased this for my daughter for her anniversary which will be here in July. They recently got a dog and i am hoping it will work for them keeping him out of the living room till he's completely trained. I think it will work fine since they don't want to put holes in the door jam, although it will not be flush but slightly folded. Hope they like it."
Review 2 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Attractive dog barrier,
June 28, 2015
By: Topsi
from Hampshire
"I previously bought the extending dog gate which continually had the extension falling off , so this time went for this folding one. It is attractive & works for the foot of the stairs but although hinged it will not open easily as the bottom is not raised above floor level. So , as with the gate if you want to go through it regularly it is somewhat difficult. Both these are best if left in situ permanently, so not really a gate!!"
Review 3 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Gate,
June 24, 2015
By: TerriA
from Central MA
"This is our second gate that we've purchased from Orvis. Initially we purchased one to keep our new puppy out of certain areas of our house and that gate lasted over two years before it needed to be replaced from constant use. We actually have 4 dogs and we found that cordoning off part of the house from all of the dogs, really made life so much easier, so when the gate needed to be replaced, we knew we wanted another Orvis gate. It's both attractive, sturdy, and easy to live with. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone who needs to keep a pet or little one away from areas you don't want them in."
Review 4 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent t quality and finish,
June 17, 2015
By: Nonninet
from Kansas
"The zig-zag dog gate is perfect for a blockade in any home environment. It is stable, heavy and can be configured to the appropriate space. It looks great with high quality furniture and having two color options is a benefit. I would purchase this again and is worth the price."
Review 5 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous gate,
June 17, 2015
By: HRSSS
"I have had many dog gates over the years from wall mounted gates, to pressure gates to freestanding gates. These are the best freestanding gates on the market. They fold easily for storage, are easy to move around and contain my three small dogs easily. So happy to find them!"
Review 6 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for keeping the dog downstairs!,
May 25, 2015
By: PetMom
from North Carolina
"We wanted to prevent the dog from going up the stairs, and this hinged gate has been just right! Easy to either step over or swing open for people but just the right impediment for our medium sized dog. The gate is sturdy and attractive."
Review 7 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fence for a little poodle,
May 18, 2015
By: Shimon
"We need to keep our toy poodle who is really smart out of the study from time to time.
This attractive fence totally does the job. No mounts, no drilling. Works great."
Review 8 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeping them happy,
May 12, 2015
By: Kate1277
from Kennewick WA
"The purchase of the four-panel gate, though more expensive than I would have liked, has been a blessing. It is very substantial piece of furniture that fits into my decor ans allows my two cotons and one Lhasa to enjoy the sun room and the outside all day without my constantly having to let them in and out. They are able to watch me cook and eat without my worrying about their being tripped over (and spreading their muddy paws from their outdoor excursions). I wax extremely pleased with the quality of the gate."
Review 9 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Choice,
May 11, 2015
By: Lomo
"I wanted a gate for my 3 goldens that did not attach to the walls (the last one ruined the walls). I was afraid that when the doorbell rang they would run right thru these. So I ordered one to test it, so perfect I ordered a second one 4 days later. The gates are gorgeous, well made and packaged wonderfully."
Review 10 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Product,
May 6, 2015
By: MissLady
"This gate is beautifully designed, constructed and finished. It is weighted/free standing and can discourage pets from going into protected areas."
Review 11 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality Build,
April 27, 2015
By: MalinoisMom
"This gate is built solidly and is still easy to maneuver. We've used it for the past month or so to shape confinement areas for our 3 dogs and 4 cats. Of the three other gates we have, and have been using, this is far and away the best."
Review 12 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps Dogs away from Cats,
April 23, 2015
By: DogPound
from Greenwich, CT
"We have 5 dogs and 3 cats. The gate provides for "peace" in the family. Excellent product with great quality."
Review 13 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
April 23, 2015
By: Wildwood1234
from St. Louis, mo
"This gates provide the protection I need for an elderly dog, to protect her from falling down an open staircase. They are finished beautifully and the wood compliments my decor . They don't look like gates."
Review 14 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for small dog,
March 22, 2015
By: DianaDill
from Austin, TX
"This looks great in my home and it keeps my small Chi in my kitchen area while I am away. It is easy to set up and easy to remove. I do recommend it for a small dog but don't know how it would work with a large dog."
Review 15 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Who kept the dog out....,
March 20, 2015
By: ckayser
from Glencoe, IL
"I love this gate! Wish I had found it sooner. I bought the 24", 2-panel. It's made of fine quality wood and nice construction. It's perfect for the bottom of my stairs and in doorways to keep dog out of areas of my home. I would highly recommend!"
Review 16 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dog able to easily move,
March 16, 2015
By: Loves2Labs
"I bought the two-panel 36 inch gate. The gate is good-looking, fairly sturdy and lightweight-all the things I was looking for. The problem is my year old and 18 month old labs could easily push or pull a panel to get through the gate. I tried positioning the gate every possible way to stop them, but they figured out how to move a panel every time. They were too smart-I had to return it."
Review 17 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great dog gate!,
March 10, 2015
By: APNYC
from NYC
"We loved our 3 panel gate and needed something larger so we did not hesitate to purchase the 4 panel version. The only drawback is that it doesn't have the one panel that functions as a hinged door. Ideally, it would have that feature as well. Otherwise, it's very sturdy and looks nice."
Review 18 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gates,
February 28, 2015
By: PAL126
from CT
"I recently purchased another 4 panel wood gate to match a previously purchased one. I have wide doorways and sometimes like to keep my large dogs out of an area. They work very well, and the customer service was excellent. I had originally ordered the wrong color and Orvis provided me with an exchange and made everything very simple for me... Love the gates!! They really fit nicely in my house with the décor and work well with my dogs!!"
Review 19 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 panel Zig Zag Dog Gate,
February 21, 2015
By: Bockajr
"After having to use a conventional dog gate with extension kit to keep our dogs away from the front door this is the best find ever. Our dog gate before was white metal so not attractive and had to be screwed into the wall and skirting boards which has spoilt our hall decor. This gate from Orvis is solid wood and freestanding so more like a piece of furniture than a safety device. And rather than an opening door you just move the panel to walk through. My only regret is not having a 3 panel rather than a 4 as they really are a substantial item and that would of been sufficient."
Review 20 for Panel Zig-Zag Dog Gates
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Portable Doggie Gates,
February 20, 2015
By: Reezer
from Baltimore, MD
"I orginally purchased the spring mounted Doggie Gates and I liked very much; however, we have gotten older and the thought of tripping over the bottom brace and falling would have been a disaster for my husband and I - so, I saw Free Standing Wooden Gates that can be placed alongside the Doorway and leaned against a wall. Therefore the doorway is always open with out any foot interference by me or my husband or even a guest.
If I need to confine my pet (should she be bad or a door has to be opened to let alot of guests, I put the gates up temporarily until the guests are in the house safely and my little puppy won't run out the door. Yes, I know, I haven't trained her to stay in the house if the door is opened for a long while...my fault but these free standing gates are truly helpful and safer than the orther type."