Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door

For the majority of areas in the home that require a gate, a three-panel configuration usually fits the bill. A dog gate of this size works perfectly for doorways and hallways, and the hinged door in the middle provides easy access to the gated-off area. Gate features smooth, arched tops and is crafted from solid hardwood. Mortise-and-tenon construction. Folds flat. Three-panel dog gate covers a five-foot span. ¾"-thick panels are 24"W. Distance between spindles is 1¾". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
58 of 61(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Review 1 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
STYLISH GATE,
November 16, 2014
By: Sugar7
from Essex
"This gate is strong, and an attractive addition to my home. Blends well with my furniture. My small dogs are not able to knock this over, so does its job. Very pleased with it."
Review 2 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
November 16, 2014
By: Weston1234
from Buckinghamshire
"An excellent stair gate which is very good for stopping dogs from going up and down stairs.
Well made and adjustable to various angles. Looks very nice in the quality timber too and unlike cheaper versions."
Review 3 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Finish could be better,
November 13, 2014
By: emsworthboy
from Emsworth, Hampshire
"We purchased the cream painted version to fit in with our hallway however the paint finish was not good. Parts only had the undercoat (white) layer. Given they came from the States we decided to keep and paint ourselves. I am sure the wood/ non-painted versions are fine - its just whoever painted it at the factory must have left early on a Friday afternoon!"
Review 4 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and High Quality Barrier,
November 12, 2014
By: Aggie81
from College Station TX
"This dog gate serves its purpose with furniture-quality appearance.
It is wide enough to cover an over-sized entryway while maintaining balance and securely keeping the dogs in their area. I have had so many gates in the past that were rickety or required two hands to open and close--you can walk through this one with a cup of coffee. No more climbing over the top. Great product. I will buy more like it.
"
Review 5 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dog gate,
November 11, 2014
By: Pickpocket
"The hardware on the gate is very cheap and some of the hinges were bent upon arrival even though the gate was well packed. The gate panels themselves are fine,"
Review 6 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looks good and works well (like my labradors...),
November 7, 2014
By: Sanna
from Cumbria
"This gate is smart in the house, very versatile and well made.Well worth the money!"
Review 7 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dog Gate,
November 4, 2014
By: mrsmoth
"This gate is definitely worth the money. It is very good quality & beautiful too. It was shipped quickly & packaged very well. I love it because I can walk through it easily without taking it down or sliding it to one side."
Review 8 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE,
October 28, 2014
By: LEGOMAN
from OH
"DOGS CAN'T GET THRU THESE GATES WELL BUILT AND LOOK GREAT"
Review 9 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gate,
October 9, 2014
By: MichaelIdaho
from Hailey Idaho
"This gate gives us the flexibility to remove the gate from the doorway when not in use. The selection of color allows for a color you like that will match your room. Quality gate door to open and close with ease.
Worth the price.
"
Review 10 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gate,
September 30, 2014
By: professor12345
from Princeton, NJ
"We have had the gate for several weeks now. It looks great, and works very well. Most gates require holes in the wall. This one is free standing. The height about 36 inches is perfect for keeping our dog in his side of the house and also allows easy opening of the swinging door. My only request is that the manufacturer make slotted supports to attach to the bottom to make it more stable."
Review 11 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Dog Gate,
September 16, 2014
By: ButchC
from Raleigh, NC
"I have purchased many dog gates over the years as I breed dogs. This particular gate is the nicest i have ever purchased. The walk through gate is very handy and easy to use. Wood is furniture grade and its very sturdy for a free standing gate. I highly recommend it."
Review 12 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive gate,
August 25, 2014
By: FlyDogOwner
from NYC area
"I bought this for an opening between 2 rooms where other gates wouldn't fit exactly. The gate is solid and heavy, and the darker color fits the furniture in the room well. I was uncertain about its stability, but it does seem solid enough. Our 6 month old Lab / German Wire-haired pointer doesn't normally stand with her front paws on our gates, but did for the first time today she did when a contractor came into the house. The gate shook slightly, but stayed firm. So far so good. It's easy to use and looks well made."
Review 13 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
August 21, 2014
By: PR111
from Pittsburgh
"This is a well made, quality wooded gate that is both attractive and functional. We have large breed dogs and the gate has been an effective barrier to their passage"
Review 14 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition,
August 11, 2014
By: goldenKidz
from Wisconsin
"Purchased this gate and it looks great and has the look and feel of a piece of furniture that keeps our k-9 away from the livingroom & dining room. Friends that have entered our home have all complimented this gate. The swinging gate is so easy to use with just one hand and makes no difference if you're coming or going as it swings both ways. We would highly recommend this gate to anyone. Matter of minutes from out-of shipping box to room."
Review 15 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
August 4, 2014
By: Nek1
"I have 3 labs and one is 3 yrs I
Old and newly adopted. She gets bored when I leave so got the gate to keep her and the 2 others contained in laundry room. I use this to block entrance. It's good lucking easy access with the gate n good quality.
"
Review 16 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product!!!,
July 28, 2014
By: jhauk
from Chicago, IL
"We were very pleased at the quality of this gate! Very heavy, & sturdy. Coincidentally, it even matched our paint perfectly! Although it is expensive.... due to it's quality, I expect this gate to last a lifetime. I HIGHLY recommend this product."
Review 17 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the gate,
July 15, 2014
By: CBCK
from California
"Looked a long time to find a gate that was freestanding with a pass-through and that would look nice in my dining room. So happy to have found this one. It keeps my dog out of the room and looks nice at the same time."
Review 18 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog gate!,
July 15, 2014
By: Shelties4Ever
from Arlington, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a terrific, sturdy gate that works well at the bottom of my stairs. I appreciate the person gate so that I can get in and out without moving the whole gate. It is a very functional and attractive gate and I even let my dogs jup through the open person gate. One of my dogs is much smarter than I am and with allot of effort can push the whole gate enough to squeeze through, but I've now attached it to the bottom rung of the stair bannister and we are all good and secure. Great product!"
Review 19 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works, thanks to some improvisation,
July 5, 2014
By: Susance
from Orem, UT
"Bottom line: My escape-artist dog is finally contained, thanks in large part to this product. Three less-expensive gates later (that didn't begin to keep this 14- lb. wonder from leaping or knocking over), I have a rather expensive one that almost does the job alone. I say 'almost," because I still had to get creative and place two concrete bricks in strategic locations to keep him from sliding the ends and slipping by to freedom. (The rubber feet do not work, at least not on my hardwood floor.) The bricks do not add to the interior decor of my kitchen/dining room area, but what price peace and containment? This gate is expensive, no doubt about it, but with those bricks in place, something finally does the job."
Review 20 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality as standard,
June 20, 2014
By: savannah2008
from Hayling Island, Hants
"Buying from Orvis is made easy when you know whatever you choose will be the finest quality."