Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door

For the majority of areas in the home that require a gate, a three-panel configuration usually fits the bill. A dog gate of this size works perfectly for doorways and hallways, and the hinged door in the middle provides easy access to the gated-off area. Gate features smooth, arched tops and is crafted from solid hardwood. Mortise-and-tenon construction. Folds flat. Three-panel dog gate covers a five-foot span. ¾"-thick panels are 24"W. Distance between spindles is 1¾". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Review 1 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
April 10, 2014
By: Hawkiz
"This gate is very attractive and keeps our 80 pound puppy out of our basement. It is well made and sturdy. Highly recommend!"
Review 2 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gates,
April 7, 2014
By: Reviewer2014
"This is a very nice gate! Seems well made, solid, and nicely finished!"
Review 3 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog gates,
March 24, 2014
By: rj88
"Looking for a free standing gate to keep dogs to a restricted area. This gate was so good - that I now have given then to my parents and brothers for their dogs. Gate is solid, looks great and has rubber bottoms so easy on hardwood floors"
Review 4 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what we wanted,
March 20, 2014
By: rmmls8
from GA
"The dog gate is just what we needed and looks and works great."
Review 5 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Dog Gate,
March 20, 2014
By: Anniemuppet
from Northern Maryland
"Handsome furniture wooden finish, tall enough to discourage jumping by golden retrievers, no ugly holes in door jamb.
Only negative, it is "tippy" if door is opened towards braced side. I wonder if small feet/supports on bottom would help. My dog jumped up on gate it fell over on him."
Review 6 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
March 17, 2014
By: Jenml23
from St. Louis, MO
"This gate was exactly what I was looking for. It's freestanding, blends in with the decor of my home and is easy for my 5 year old to use. We use it to keep our 65 pound boxer from scratching up our brand new hard wood flooring. This gate is very well-made and was well worth the money. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 7 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this gate!,
February 25, 2014
By: KRKS
from VA
"Gate can be moved from room-to-room or adjusted as needed. Looks elegant and is very sturdy."
Review 8 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 21, 2014
By: EHIGuy
"Gate fits perfect in the opening we have and the door is easy to use and very conveinent."
Review 9 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and Utilitarian,
January 15, 2014
By: drmzp
from Massachusetts
"The 3-panel gate has worked extremely well, allowing my dog to have a larger free area. It keeps her from running to the front door, when opened, and therefore out of harm's way. It is attractive and versatile."
Review 10 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gate,
January 15, 2014
By: dbohnc
from NC
"I have wanted a nice gate to contain our pets to certain areas when needed. I looked at this gate in the Orvis catalog for quite awhile. Our dog needed surgery and wouldn't be able to do steps for a period of time. That is when I decided that it was time for me to buy this gate. I am very happy I did. We love it. It looks very nice and having a swing door is a great feature!"
Review 11 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FOLDING GATE,
January 6, 2014
By: BETTE7
from BARRINGTON ILLINOIS
"GATE IS VERY EASILY MOVED AND IS OF EXCELLENT TOP QUALITY CONSSTRUCTION. VERY NICE APPEARANCE FOR ANY AREA OF HOME."
Review 12 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very pretty,
December 24, 2013
By: superdeb00
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased this so it would blend in with the dark wood I have on my floor for my living room; and it looks great! My puppy has ignored chewing on it for now so I don't know how it will stand up to chewing, but it does its job of keeping her out of the other part of the house."
Review 13 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful and Functional,
December 14, 2013
By: JudithP
from Gainesville, FL
"The gate is heavy enough to keep your dogs where you want them and light enough to move if you went to change the area where you wish your dogs to stay. We got the Cinnamon which looks great with our furniture and woodwork. Actually we first had the Dark Cherry which was also very pretty, but did not blend with our furniture. The packing method and material on both gates was very good and protected the gates during shipping. It was also very easy to re-package the first gate to return it. It was quite inexpensive and fast to return the first gate and get the second. These gates are an excellent product and they are backed up by a very good Orvis support system."
Review 14 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
November 19, 2013
By: MTomli
"Very good purchase, ideal dog gate and fits a variety of our doors and stairs we need to block off. Our dog can see through it which he likes and very quick delivery from the USA.
Makes the home look much better than traditional metal baby gates.
"
Review 15 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate!,
November 12, 2013
By: Weimdad
"This gate exactly matched my needs. Great finish, great construction. I would recommend this gate to anyone!"
Review 16 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classy and good quality,
November 5, 2013
By: Michelle5280
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Really like style and function, door in the middle without having to drill/attach is a huge plus in a brand new home. I think the target audience can figure out that panels hinge and they can move by pushing hard enough but it's a good training tool and sturdy."
Review 17 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Be Very Careful!!,
October 27, 2013
By: LabradorMamma
from Clarks Summit, PA
"If you are the owner of a young dog or a dog that chews please please do not buy this gate or any other wooden gate! I have a Chocolate Lab and she, not being happy with these gates, has chewed them and they now look horrible! She thinks they are her personal chew toys! The wood is so soft that one bite before I catch her to correct her puts a mark in the wood making it look destroyed. I think they should be marketed only for older dogs that do not chew or jump. If she really wanted to, by jumping on this gate, she could easily knock this gate over as myself and my kids have done by accident. Please think before ordering these wooden gates or you will be stuck with a lot of money spent on a procuct that will probably end up in the trash! Hope this helps even one person save a heap of money on an expensive product that now looks like junk!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceOctober 31, 2013
We regret that the gate was damaged by the puppy, but no wooden gate will ever be impervious to a dog that decides to chew it. While our gates are made from substantial solid hardwood, a dog’s teeth and jaw muscles are powerful even as puppies. While a Labrador is considered as a retriever to have a softer mouth, the force of any dog’s jaws and the structure of their teeth are genetically designed to tear and crush. While these gates are of the highest quality, they were never marketed or designed to be chewed.
Review 18 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greatest thing I ever done,
September 24, 2013
By: Buzsaw
from The Ozarks
"These things are great, no longer is the dog digging at a metal gate, he just stands there and waits till I let him through and they add to my Decor in the house."
Review 19 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good gate,
September 18, 2013
By: Kenzie2
from Bismarck, North Dakota
"I should have bought one of these three puppies ago. It is heavy enough to stand in place without worry that it will tip over. It is nice looking and the gate is very easy to operate. I have it at the top of a wider than average staircase, so it was the only solution. The spring adjustable gates would not fit. But it stands nicely, looks good, and does not present difficulties in using the stairs."
Review 20 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect solution,
September 10, 2013
By: JayV
"We purchased this gate for our newly arrived puppy. The three panel arrangement allows us multiple combinations for restricting rooms, hallways and steps. It's ability to free stand (not requiring a doorway or wall for support), gives us more options throughout the house. The gate feature works easily with one hand. One minor varnish flaw kept it from a perfect score."