Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door

For the majority of areas in the home that require a gate, a three-panel configuration usually fits the bill. A dog gate of this size works perfectly for doorways and hallways, and the hinged door in the middle provides easy access to the gated-off area. Gate features smooth, arched tops and is crafted from solid hardwood. Mortise-and-tenon construction. Folds flat. Three-panel dog gate covers a five-foot span. ¾"-thick panels are 24"W. Distance between spindles is 1¾". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 48(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Review 1 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great addition,
August 11, 2014
By: goldenKidz
from Wisconsin
"Purchased this gate and it looks great and has the look and feel of a piece of furniture that keeps our k-9 away from the livingroom & dining room. Friends that have entered our home have all complimented this gate. The swinging gate is so easy to use with just one hand and makes no difference if you're coming or going as it swings both ways. We would highly recommend this gate to anyone. Matter of minutes from out-of shipping box to room."
Review 2 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
August 4, 2014
By: Nek1
"I have 3 labs and one is 3 yrs I
Old and newly adopted. She gets bored when I leave so got the gate to keep her and the 2 others contained in laundry room. I use this to block entrance. It's good lucking easy access with the gate n good quality.
"
Review 3 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product!!!,
July 28, 2014
By: jhauk
from Chicago, IL
"We were very pleased at the quality of this gate! Very heavy, & sturdy. Coincidentally, it even matched our paint perfectly! Although it is expensive.... due to it's quality, I expect this gate to last a lifetime. I HIGHLY recommend this product."
Review 4 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the gate,
July 15, 2014
By: CBCK
from California
"Looked a long time to find a gate that was freestanding with a pass-through and that would look nice in my dining room. So happy to have found this one. It keeps my dog out of the room and looks nice at the same time."
Review 5 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best dog gate!,
July 15, 2014
By: Shelties4Ever
from Arlington, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a terrific, sturdy gate that works well at the bottom of my stairs. I appreciate the person gate so that I can get in and out without moving the whole gate. It is a very functional and attractive gate and I even let my dogs jup through the open person gate. One of my dogs is much smarter than I am and with allot of effort can push the whole gate enough to squeeze through, but I've now attached it to the bottom rung of the stair bannister and we are all good and secure. Great product!"
Review 6 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works, thanks to some improvisation,
July 5, 2014
By: Susance
from Orem, UT
"Bottom line: My escape-artist dog is finally contained, thanks in large part to this product. Three less-expensive gates later (that didn't begin to keep this 14- lb. wonder from leaping or knocking over), I have a rather expensive one that almost does the job alone. I say 'almost," because I still had to get creative and place two concrete bricks in strategic locations to keep him from sliding the ends and slipping by to freedom. (The rubber feet do not work, at least not on my hardwood floor.) The bricks do not add to the interior decor of my kitchen/dining room area, but what price peace and containment? This gate is expensive, no doubt about it, but with those bricks in place, something finally does the job."
Review 7 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality as standard,
June 20, 2014
By: savannah2008
from Hayling Island, Hants
"Buying from Orvis is made easy when you know whatever you choose will be the finest quality."
Review 8 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worlds best gate,
June 13, 2014
By: dolphinetta
from Vancouver, WA
"This gate is exactly as it looks in the catalog! Sets up perfectly and it's fine finish complements our home and furniture. Kona Kai loves the gate opening very much."
Review 9 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Workmanship,
May 12, 2014
By: Yuuki
from Westerville, OH
"The three-panel dog gate with door is just what we needed to protect our living room from our dogs. Actually, it's more a problem with guests' dogs who want to mark territory. The gate is a lifesaver and is extremely attractive. It fits into our décor very nicely. I highly recommend this product to keep dog-friendly homes dog-friendly."
Review 10 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We came back for more,
April 17, 2014
By: HarbourIslandLily
from Tampa, FL
"We've got 12 paws in the house! That's 1 dog and 2 large cats. They coexist nicely but there are times when they appreciate being separated. This gate works so well that we bought another. Its a great solution for making sure our new puppy gets a full nights rest and doesn't get distracted by cats as they roam the house at night. That means we all get a full night's rest. Thank you, Orvis! Also the gate is a great solution to feeding time since puppy's like to eat everything in site. This way every set of paws in the house get a full meal as do our family members and guests."
Review 11 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
April 10, 2014
By: Hawkiz
"This gate is very attractive and keeps our 80 pound puppy out of our basement. It is well made and sturdy. Highly recommend!"
Review 12 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gates,
April 7, 2014
By: Reviewer2014
"This is a very nice gate! Seems well made, solid, and nicely finished!"
Review 13 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great dog gates,
March 24, 2014
By: rj88
"Looking for a free standing gate to keep dogs to a restricted area. This gate was so good - that I now have given then to my parents and brothers for their dogs. Gate is solid, looks great and has rubber bottoms so easy on hardwood floors"
Review 14 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what we wanted,
March 20, 2014
By: rmmls8
from GA
"The dog gate is just what we needed and looks and works great."
Review 15 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Dog Gate,
March 20, 2014
By: Anniemuppet
from Northern Maryland
"Handsome furniture wooden finish, tall enough to discourage jumping by golden retrievers, no ugly holes in door jamb.
Only negative, it is "tippy" if door is opened towards braced side. I wonder if small feet/supports on bottom would help. My dog jumped up on gate it fell over on him."
Review 16 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
March 17, 2014
By: Jenml23
from St. Louis, MO
"This gate was exactly what I was looking for. It's freestanding, blends in with the decor of my home and is easy for my 5 year old to use. We use it to keep our 65 pound boxer from scratching up our brand new hard wood flooring. This gate is very well-made and was well worth the money. I would recommend it to anyone."
Review 17 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this gate!,
February 25, 2014
By: KRKS
from VA
"Gate can be moved from room-to-room or adjusted as needed. Looks elegant and is very sturdy."
Review 18 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 21, 2014
By: EHIGuy
"Gate fits perfect in the opening we have and the door is easy to use and very conveinent."
Review 19 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and Utilitarian,
January 15, 2014
By: drmzp
from Massachusetts
"The 3-panel gate has worked extremely well, allowing my dog to have a larger free area. It keeps her from running to the front door, when opened, and therefore out of harm's way. It is attractive and versatile."
Review 20 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gate,
January 15, 2014
By: dbohnc
from NC
"I have wanted a nice gate to contain our pets to certain areas when needed. I looked at this gate in the Orvis catalog for quite awhile. Our dog needed surgery and wouldn't be able to do steps for a period of time. That is when I decided that it was time for me to buy this gate. I am very happy I did. We love it. It looks very nice and having a swing door is a great feature!"