Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door

For the majority of areas in the home that require a gate, a three-panel configuration usually fits the bill. A dog gate of this size works perfectly for doorways and hallways, and the hinged door in the middle provides easy access to the gated-off area. Gate features smooth, arched tops and is crafted from solid hardwood. Mortise-and-tenon construction. Folds flat. Three-panel dog gate covers a five-foot span. ¾"-thick panels are 24"W. Distance between spindles is 1¾". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.736 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
69 of 72(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Review 1 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,very pleased,
June 25, 2015
By: SUEprised
from Pinehurst, NC
"I'm pleasantly surprised to find something so simple that actually works so well. No screws or bolts to deface my walls or woodwork. Just set it place and that's it. My 6 month old puppy hasn't knocked it over and I can open the door to pass through. It even looks good, not utilitarian like a metal gate/fence."
Review 2 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money!,
June 17, 2015
By: newpupppyowner
"This gate is very solid, strong and looks like a nice piece of furniture. The door swings both ways which makes it easy to go in and out. The fact that is can be manipulated to fit any opening makes it easy for us to use in different areas of the house, or to expand the play area for the puppy. It was already assembled and very easy to set up!"
Review 3 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate,
June 16, 2015
By: Erings
from Falls Church, VA
"I bought three of these gates to block off a large opening to our living room. They arrived quickly, unpacked easily (no assembly required,) and look great. Each gate has an easy access walk-through door. They are solid and stand well, with no wobbling. Highly recommend!"
Review 4 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution!,
June 10, 2015
By: LoveMy2Labs
"This has been the perfect solution for my two labs! The design is flexible to fit a wide kitchen area, attractive, and the dogs respect the barrier. The door conveniently lets the dogs through to the rest of the house when we want, and it's much safer than having to step over the gate. We've tried many other gates and haven't been satisfied, but this just fit the bill. Definitely worth the price, and we love all the Orvis dog products!!"
Review 5 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant,
May 8, 2015
By: Bourneville
from kent
"This is the second gate we have bought - lovely design, very well made and so easy to use."
Review 6 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A bit like non-alcoholic wine....,
February 18, 2015
By: RedSusie
from Berkshire
"We bought the two panel and three panel with a gate to keep our Satans Hound from destroying the house and keeping him in certain areas. The gates are beautiful, well made and delivery and packaging cannot be faulted. However.... The dog just needs to push against them and he's through, we even put rubber stoppers on floor to stop the gates from moving, he still got through. Now, we do appreciate that he is a 'special' dog in a window licking kind of way, but beautiful as the gates are, they don't achieve what we bought them for. We're not talking Labrador or German Shepherd here, he's a fluffy little Bichon Frise. We're now going to give bolting them to walls a go (the gates, not the dog). If this fails, please make contact if you'd like to adopt the D*vils Hound masquerading as a cute and weird mixture of a sheep/Guineapig/dog with a taste for total destruction and complete disregard of all human boundaries. For us unfortunately not a great success, a bit like non-alcoholic wine, great idea but a little pointless."
Review 7 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
High Orvis Quality,
January 27, 2015
By: Gunther111
from Dallas, TX
"There are a ton of dog gates to choose from. I went with Orvis because I felt they had the best quality. I was not disappointed. I ended up attaching the dog gate to the entryway with eye hooks because the dog pushed it away from the door. However, the gate looks and performs very well."
Review 8 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy and Attractive Dog Gate,
January 26, 2015
By: TatianaH
from Tucson, AZ
"I just purchased my second very well-made, bomb-proof wooden "Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door" from Orvis. I wanted to expand my doggy area so I added another 5' section of "fencing" to our hallway. I like how it conforms to the area by folding in a zig-zaggy manner and the fact that it is 36" high so my dogs cannot jump over it. The hinges are of great quality. I attached each end to the walls using two "L" shaped brackets on each end of the gate.
I have two dogs, a female Australian Cattle Dog and a male Pug/Boston cross. The dogs now have a 5' x 8' area inside the house with luxurious bedding and access to a doggy door into the garage and another door to the yard. The dogs enjoy their larger indoor area and the design is very attractive for inside the house. However the Pug/Boston, Boris, figured out how to open the latch on the gate, so he could get out to leave his "marks" all over the house. So I added a sliding latch to the outside of each gate door. It works fine keeping them out of the rest of the house and out of trouble with me."
Review 9 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile gate.,
January 25, 2015
By: KimPL
"I had an awkward entrance to room to block off from a puppy and a traditional baby / dog gate would not fit. The size of the gate with the three panels makes this a versatile gate. I didn’t think I would care about the swing door but that I’ve found that this it is a handy feature. Until I can trust my puppy in all rooms, I at least have an attractive and versatile gate to control her room access."
Review 10 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Solution!,
December 5, 2014
By: Bornestar
from Goshen, IN
"We have an open concept main floor, with a wider than usual hallway to the bedrooms. We used to use two baby gates jutting out from the wall and angled precariously- no more hopping over gates for us! The 36" gate is a perfect height for our 40lb Wheaten Terrier (kangaroo-like springs in their legs) and I love the door- it opens both ways for any configuration. Very sturdy. Absolutely worth the price."
Review 11 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
STYLISH GATE,
November 16, 2014
By: Sugar7
from Essex
"This gate is strong, and an attractive addition to my home. Blends well with my furniture. My small dogs are not able to knock this over, so does its job. Very pleased with it."
Review 12 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Product,
November 16, 2014
By: Weston1234
from Buckinghamshire
"An excellent stair gate which is very good for stopping dogs from going up and down stairs.
Well made and adjustable to various angles. Looks very nice in the quality timber too and unlike cheaper versions."
Review 13 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Finish could be better,
November 13, 2014
By: emsworthboy
from Emsworth, Hampshire
"We purchased the cream painted version to fit in with our hallway however the paint finish was not good. Parts only had the undercoat (white) layer. Given they came from the States we decided to keep and paint ourselves. I am sure the wood/ non-painted versions are fine - its just whoever painted it at the factory must have left early on a Friday afternoon!"
Review 14 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome and High Quality Barrier,
November 12, 2014
By: Aggie81
from College Station TX
"This dog gate serves its purpose with furniture-quality appearance.
It is wide enough to cover an over-sized entryway while maintaining balance and securely keeping the dogs in their area. I have had so many gates in the past that were rickety or required two hands to open and close--you can walk through this one with a cup of coffee. No more climbing over the top. Great product. I will buy more like it.
"
Review 15 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
dog gate,
November 11, 2014
By: Pickpocket
"The hardware on the gate is very cheap and some of the hinges were bent upon arrival even though the gate was well packed. The gate panels themselves are fine,"
Review 16 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looks good and works well (like my labradors...),
November 7, 2014
By: Sanna
from Cumbria
"This gate is smart in the house, very versatile and well made.Well worth the money!"
Review 17 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Dog Gate,
November 4, 2014
By: mrsmoth
"This gate is definitely worth the money. It is very good quality & beautiful too. It was shipped quickly & packaged very well. I love it because I can walk through it easily without taking it down or sliding it to one side."
Review 18 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE,
October 28, 2014
By: LEGOMAN
from OH
"DOGS CAN'T GET THRU THESE GATES WELL BUILT AND LOOK GREAT"
Review 19 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gate,
October 9, 2014
By: MichaelIdaho
from Hailey Idaho
"This gate gives us the flexibility to remove the gate from the doorway when not in use. The selection of color allows for a color you like that will match your room. Quality gate door to open and close with ease.
Worth the price.
"
Review 20 for Three-Panel Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gate,
September 30, 2014
By: professor12345
from Princeton, NJ
"We have had the gate for several weeks now. It looks great, and works very well. Most gates require holes in the wall. This one is free standing. The height about 36 inches is perfect for keeping our dog in his side of the house and also allows easy opening of the swinging door. My only request is that the manufacturer make slotted supports to attach to the bottom to make it more stable."