Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise

First introduced to the fly-tying world in 1988, the Renzetti Traveler 2000 vise is back and better than ever. Featuring positive rotary action, easy-to-use screw adjustments, and built for hooks sizes 28 to 4/0, it's Renzetti's original true rotary fly tying vise. Available in right- or left-hand action and in C-clamp or pedestal base models. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Review 1 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vise,
August 19, 2014
By: Cliff1013
"Although I have not been tying flies for very long, I could tell a difference right away."
Review 2 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an outstanding Vise !!,
August 9, 2014
By: IcemanPA
from Central, PA
"I've been tying for 30 plus years. If you are just starting out and want a first time rotary vise that has quality and affordability at home and on the stream, or are experienced and needing quality and mobility to compliment your home rig, than this is what you need to fit the bill. Great price, quality and fast shipping, just what you would expect from the Orvis name! I already have a higher end Renzetti for the home table. I got this as an upgrade to some older equipment I have used for years on the trips to the streams. I put it right to work and have several dozen fly that I tied on it with no problems.This vise will fit the bill in either capacity as a bench vise or traveler. Its simple, easy to use and has many higher end features that you would expect only on vises that will cost you an arm and a leg."
Review 3 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look No Further,
May 28, 2014
By: WillsDad
from Guntersville, AL
"Was tying on a midrange vise and finally decided to upgrade. What a difference this vise makes! Not only am I tying better flies, I'm tying them easier and faster! I would recommend this vise without reservation! Well worth the investment."
Review 4 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
May 12, 2014
By: justinelkfisher
from Parkersburg, West Virginia
"There are not many products I feel this passionate about but this vise is the most useful and versatile one I have ever used. I have tried many different styles and models but this one I have had for 10 years. They are well built, ergonomic, and handy as a pocket on a shirt. This is most likely the last one I will ever need and I tie alot of flies. I tie my 32's on this vise without any issues."
Review 5 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best vise i have ever used,
March 21, 2014
By: jimbob37819
from Tennesssee
"This is not my first vise. I started tying many years ago, with a vise that was the best I could afford at the time. I have other vises over the years, this is the best I have ever used. I am very happy with this purchase."
Review 6 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
March 17, 2014
By: AtlantaAl
from Atlanta GA
"I bought this based on the recommendation from Shannon at the Atlanta store. He is knowledgable and helpful and I always value his advice. It is my first full rotary vice and has both improved my tying and made it simpler. I shouildn't have waited so long. I still use my old, larger, spring grip vice for big hook salwater flies."
Review 7 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renzetti 2000 Vise,
March 3, 2014
By: slyfish
from Minneapolis
"Wow- Upgraded from a basic "entry level" vise and there is no comparison!. First off is the solid base. I was impressed by the weight and it supports the nose perfectly. The simple adjustments for hook size/weight also are a snap, although read the directions because it was not immediately obvious how to do this.I have done a wide range of flies from the basic wooly bugger to foam frogs and it works well in all cases. I would highly recommend this vise for anyone that wants to have a solid bench vise as well as something that would travel easily."
Review 8 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Vise,
February 18, 2014
By: backcountrycutt
from Denver, CO
"This was my first true rotary vise. It is a joy to use. So far it has made quick work of dubbed bodies and palmering hackle. I really like that you can always keep an eye on the portion of the shank that you are adding material to. I would say the jaws aren't as nice as the ones on my Regal Medallion. However, the Renzetti's jaws are perfectly adequate and when you factor in the beautiful, smooth action of the rotary it is hard to argue with the value, functionality, and beauty of this vise."
Review 9 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise - The First (and mabye) Last,
February 8, 2014
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"I bought the Traveler 2000 as my first upgrade from my basic tying kit. The difference in a quality vice is obvious from the first. The rotary function has been terrific; I didn't realize how much functionality it would add until I had it.
The jaws function is simple to use after dialing it in - there is an instruction sheet enclosed and it's very valuable.
I got the pedestal base as I keep the vice out and it's easily moved to the back of the desk when I'm not tying.
Get it and don't look back. This could be a vice that will last you many, many years."
Review 10 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cheap Parts,
January 11, 2014
By: mikgaes
"As much as you will spend on this vise, the thumb screw to tighten the vise will break on you eventually. It does on every one sold. And Renzetti does not replace them. They will SELL you one for a lot of money and shipping cost. Buy another brand. I will never buy from this company again."
Review 11 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, clean, and functional,
December 16, 2013
By: SCFly2013
"Great vise. Nice clean look, Operates smoothly. You don't need anything else."
Review 12 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 10, 2013
By: CliffRussell
from Maysville,Ky
"I prefer the Renzetti over my Norvise. I found the rotary function to be easier to control on the Renzetti. Great vise at a great price"
Review 13 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome product,
December 10, 2013
By: drsantosmora
from ny
"been tying number 22 midges and 6 inch streamers with this vise and its a pleasure to work on !! what a great design."
Review 14 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm in love.,
October 25, 2013
By: snaggedtreelimb
from Moline, IL
"Great "smaller" vise, I tie mostly bass and carp flies and it holds true to many hooks and sizes. there is some plastic on it so if that bothers you too bad. The rotary function is flawless. I am looking forward to the winter months. ****the podcast made me want to buy this****"
Review 15 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renzetti Vise,
June 10, 2013
By: WindRiverFlies
"This vise is amazing. I have started a small business tying flies and for the price range you can't beat this vice. It has smooth turning and the jaws are amazingly easy to adjust. I upgraded from a simple clamp vice that was a pain to adjust. This vice saves me time and effort. Highly recommended.."
Review 16 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise!,
June 3, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I bought this to replace the EZ Rotary Vise, which I had problems with. I'm happy to report, after tying several flies, that the Renzetti Traveler preforms quite well. I like this vise a lot and recommend it to anyone considering a vise. With the exception of perhaps the Renzetti Apprentice vise, this is one of the least expensive "good" vises you can buy. I also like that Renzetti offers a number of accessories that you can add on to the Traveler vise. I should also say that Orvis customer service was great to deal with when I returned the EZ Rotary Vise. Thanks for the good service Orvis!!"
Review 17 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise,
April 11, 2013
By: BambooLuver
from Grand Blanc, MI
"A friend recommended this vise to me and I could not be happier. Great solid piece of equipment. And most importantly MADE IN THE USA!!!"
Review 18 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
money well spent!!,
April 6, 2013
By: wolfpackjim
"I'm just getting into tying this vise is very user friendly! Very easy to use."
Review 19 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Value / Great quality and workmanship,
February 27, 2013
By: extoneyeguy
from Exton, PA
"I'm a long time / very low volume tyer who finally retired my old Thompson Model A and upgraded to a Renzetti Traveler. Wish I'd done it sooner!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4