Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise

First introduced to the fly-tying world in 1988, the Renzetti Traveler 2000 vise is back and better than ever. Featuring positive rotary action, easy-to-use screw adjustments, and built for hooks sizes 28 to 4/0, it's Renzetti's original true rotary fly tying vise. Available in right- or left-hand action and in C-clamp or pedestal base models. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.895 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Review 1 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renzetti 2000,
May 18, 2015
By: LoyalhannaDave
from East of Pittsburgh Pa
"If you are still tying on an old style non-rotating base like I was, it's just time to move away from the cave man century. This vise has easy to use and very strong jaws. The rotation is great to look at your fly from all angles, and if your tying on legs, or you want to see your underside dubbing, you can't beat a rotating vise to look. well worth the expense."
Review 2 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#noregrets,
May 17, 2015
By: flyhigh17
"I'm new to tying and started on a non rotary vise also a very cheap one too and I tell ya is worth it to buy a nice vise. In my opinion you can't beat this price for what you get!I'm not a big fan of the plastic on some of the locking bolts but other then that I love it."
Review 3 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rennet to vise,
March 4, 2015
By: williflyfish
from Northeast
"Great item, can't wait to tie some flies and start catching trout"
Review 4 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased with my purchase,
February 10, 2015
By: Beezer50
from Upstate NY
"I recently returned to fly tying. Though my skills are rusty, this device has been easy to work with several qualities which have been very helpful. The stability is perfect and adjustments made easily. I studied many options prior to purchasing and believe I made a good choice."
Review 5 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
January 31, 2015
By: Bugs4trout
"Very good vise. Holds the hook solidly and the rotary feature makes it so much easier for tying flies"
Review 6 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Game changer,
January 30, 2015
By: DWin1
from Boston -> White Mountains
"I started tying a few months ago on a stationary vise, but the rotary function on the Renzetti has opened up my world. It's the little things: Palmering hackle is a breeze, and looks so much better.
Sturdy base, handsome design. Couldn't be happier with this vise."
Review 7 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am Happy,
January 13, 2015
By: 10ft8weight
from on the stream
"Holds hooks rock solid and has lots of working room"
Review 8 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 5, 2015
By: RWGfisher
"Easy clamping device for holding the hook & keeps it firmly in place."
Review 9 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vise,
December 24, 2014
By: MSP51
from Tucson, AZ
"Just got this for Christmas, looking forward to tying some nice flies"
Review 10 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rotary answers to my needs,
December 18, 2014
By: Robsob
from Victoria Texas
"Always wanted a rotary.noticed the difference on those wrappin flies"
Review 11 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Vise,
November 13, 2014
By: PaulBfishing
from Groton, CT
"I got this vise as upgrade to a relic I had been using. Never thought a vise would make that much of a difference, but I was wrong. This vise with true rotary not only looks good, but makes tying flies a snap."
Review 12 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
November 9, 2014
By: Buck60
from Chicago, IL
"Just began using, but easily tying BWO CDC 18 dry flies and Gray Wulff 14 and 16. The rotary option of the vise is great!"
Review 13 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent vise,
October 28, 2014
By: Coffjohnny
from Dallas, TX
"This is my first step up from the beginner vise that comes in the kits. Never would have thought the vise could make such a difference in you ability to tie flies. I do a lot of pond fishing, so my flies range in size from 2/0 bass bugs to #18 brim patterns. The renzetti traveler accommodates both of these and everything in the middle equally well. Very secure hook hold, and the full rotate can really help."
Review 14 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Tying Vise,
September 1, 2014
By: Milkdud
from Sacramento California
"This is an excellent fly tying vise. The jaws clip firmly to various sizes hooks. It is well constructed and very compact. It's a great value for an intermediate Flytying person."
Review 15 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vise,
August 19, 2014
By: Cliff1013
"Although I have not been tying flies for very long, I could tell a difference right away."
Review 16 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an outstanding Vise !!,
August 9, 2014
By: IcemanPA
from Central, PA
"I've been tying for 30 plus years. If you are just starting out and want a first time rotary vise that has quality and affordability at home and on the stream, or are experienced and needing quality and mobility to compliment your home rig, than this is what you need to fit the bill. Great price, quality and fast shipping, just what you would expect from the Orvis name! I already have a higher end Renzetti for the home table. I got this as an upgrade to some older equipment I have used for years on the trips to the streams. I put it right to work and have several dozen fly that I tied on it with no problems.This vise will fit the bill in either capacity as a bench vise or traveler. Its simple, easy to use and has many higher end features that you would expect only on vises that will cost you an arm and a leg."
Review 17 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Look No Further,
May 28, 2014
By: WillsDad
from Guntersville, AL
"Was tying on a midrange vise and finally decided to upgrade. What a difference this vise makes! Not only am I tying better flies, I'm tying them easier and faster! I would recommend this vise without reservation! Well worth the investment."
Review 18 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
May 12, 2014
By: justinelkfisher
from Parkersburg, West Virginia
"There are not many products I feel this passionate about but this vise is the most useful and versatile one I have ever used. I have tried many different styles and models but this one I have had for 10 years. They are well built, ergonomic, and handy as a pocket on a shirt. This is most likely the last one I will ever need and I tie alot of flies. I tie my 32's on this vise without any issues."
Review 19 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best vise i have ever used,
March 21, 2014
By: jimbob37819
from Tennesssee
"This is not my first vise. I started tying many years ago, with a vise that was the best I could afford at the time. I have other vises over the years, this is the best I have ever used. I am very happy with this purchase."
Review 20 for Renzetti Traveler 2000 Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise,
March 17, 2014
By: AtlantaAl
from Atlanta GA
"I bought this based on the recommendation from Shannon at the Atlanta store. He is knowledgable and helpful and I always value his advice. It is my first full rotary vice and has both improved my tying and made it simpler. I shouildn't have waited so long. I still use my old, larger, spring grip vice for big hook salwater flies."