Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Waterproof Chaps

The finest upland hunting chaps ever made. Constructed of a waterproof, briar-resistant 4-layer wader fabric, the Waterproof Chaps provide lightweight, breathable protection from morning dew, rainy afternoons, and the most wicked thorns and briars. Great for the traveling hunter, these chaps shed burrs and hitchhikers and pack down easily. Features side zips for easy on-and-off over boots and articulated knees for a better range of motion. In silver sage. 100% polyester with nylon tricot lining. Imported. Regular: 28" to 30" inseam. Long: 32" to 34" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterproof Chaps
Review 1 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chaps do the job,
December 8, 2014
By: 1RickO
from Columbia County New York
"Upland bird hunting chaps go on and off easy even over boots and on a BIG guy. Field tested and approved!"
Review 2 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
December 3, 2014
By: DMachuntinfool
"Hunting in Arizona you don't need bulky chaps. These are them and totally waterproof. Lightweight and durable. Part of my upland outfit now."
Review 3 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Time will tell,
December 3, 2014
By: Fred2
from Chicago
"No lies - I haven't used these in the field yet.
The length is spot on. The fabric is very waterproof looking. The attaching points are robust. The zippers are durable looking.
The chaps are not noisy when walking - so no sound irritants.
The only "complaint" they are a little tight in the upper thigh. I don't typically wear chaps though - so perhaps this is how they are meant to be.
Overall, so far so good. I can't wait to get them to the field and find out if they are truly waterproof. (the reason for my purchase).
Oh, one last thing - these don't seem to be as "sturdy" as other chaps/bibs I have seen/used. I guess time will tell as how they wear."
Review 4 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
upland chaps,
December 3, 2014
By: Slade
from Rockford, Il.
"Very lightweight and comfortable. zipper sides make it easy for on/off over boots,"
Review 5 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best Chaps for Mich grouse hunting,
November 17, 2014
By: RuffedUP
from Indiana
"I have had these chaps for a while now-probably 4-5 years. They are very light, and keep me dry in the morning. They are good for blackberry type thorns, and any cover you would find in Michigan uplands. However, I don't use them in IN as I worry that they would not stand up to multiflower rose-nothing really does, and they are too precious to risk a rip. Love them-all of my hunting buddies that"
Review 6 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upland Hunting Chaps,
November 14, 2014
By: Tuggy
from Massachusetts
"WOW...these chaps were perfect. I had picked up a pair of upland hunting pants (not Orvis) and really didn't like them. Times was getting close for my first Grouse hunt in Northern Maine. I ordered the chaps from Orvis and they were shipped to me overnight. Off to my Grouse hunt the next day and the chaps worked out perfectly! It was even what all the guides were wearing!!"
Review 7 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and Tough,
November 13, 2014
By: eaglerock
from Butler, PA
"Chaps are one of those things you can't have to many of in our business. That is till now...this is the only pair I will ever need...and perhaps a back up in case Orvis decides to change or discontinue them."
Review 8 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bomb-proof,
November 12, 2014
By: IndyLawyer
"Held off on the review until after my ND trip and couldn't be happier with the product. Super lightweight but kept me dry and briar free all week. Also cut the wind and kept me warm. Plows through the ND cattails no problem. 6'1", 33X34 pant and the long fit great. Not too baggy."
Review 9 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
would not buy again,
November 3, 2014
By: dash102576
from grand rapids MI
"I bought these chaps they didn't even make it through the hunting season. the seems ripped right up the leg now I have can not even wear them unless I want wet legs or trip every other step. I bought them right before October grouse season started and they didn't last a month I was disappointed. what I did like they are light and kept me dry until they fell apart."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer ServiceNovember 7, 2014
We responded to this customer by assuring him that we stand by our 100% guarantee of satisfaction and told him that we would be more than happy to replace the product or refund his money in full. Meanwhile we are working to ensure this problem is corrected.
Review 10 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great chaps,
October 31, 2014
By: JohnsJake
from Southeast Iowa bird hunter
"I just started using the chaps and was happy with the weight, quality and the way I stayed dry in wet grass. Also the addition of zippers are a must for being able to take them off over my boats for the drive home."
Review 11 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Chaps I've ever owned!,
October 28, 2014
By: TankCoop
from Massachusetts
"Absolutely love these chaps. I've had them out for two full days of hunting and they've proven to bee very rugged, but extremely comfortable and light wearing. Orvis has once again exceeded my expectations. Keep up the great work!"
Review 12 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As represented,
October 3, 2014
By: FHG49
from Houston, TX
"Extremely lightweight and breathable while waterproof. Well made and everything they said they would be."
Review 13 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chap - don't leave home w/out it !!,
August 11, 2014
By: Huayhuen
from Pagatonia, Argentina
"Great product. Easy to carry, works wonders - keeps you dry and warm. Yet, legs do not transpire. I have even used it for skying ! The zipper on the outside makes it better for riding horses."
Review 14 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brush and the Briars have no chance,
June 18, 2014
By: Jeffery2014
from Charlotte, North Carolina
"These are great if you Don't want to wear water waders and need to move around in the thickets. Very comfortable, light weight, but a strong barrier to pesky barbs and thorns. Hunting with my pals then off they come when we hit town on the way home!"
Review 15 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best chaps,
April 27, 2014
By: dadio
from K.C. area
"Best chaps ever. I maintain lawn sprinklers. Nothing worse than a pair of hot rain pants. I wear Orvis chaps all spring, every day. They're cool, water proof, and the mud that I crawl around in, does not soak through. A pair usually lasts a couple of seasons. I can't imagine a hunter using these chaps, as intended, ever wearing out. Great product. Don't waste your time and money on other brands."
Review 16 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
January 23, 2014
By: Willie95
from Wa. St.
"These are a great product. First pair of hunting chaps I have ever owned and am not disappointed. The fit was great. They kept me dry on wet morning pheasant hunts. Very durable for their light weight. Recommend to anyone."
Review 17 for Waterproof Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Really Great Product,
September 24, 2013
By: Doverham
from Massachusetts
"I am in my third season with these chaps and could not be be more pleased. I find them a significant improvement over most field pants - waterproof, lightweight, and not too hot. At first, I was concerned whether they would hold up because they seem so lightweight, but they show no damage from time spent in heavy cover. And they resist thorns very well.
I don't expect to need to buy another pair for awhile, but I hope Orvis keeps making them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.