Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alberto Rey, NY

Western New York has a long tradition of providing some of the best world-class steelhead fly-fishing opportunities in the country. Our guide services specialize in providing patient instruction to the novice or the expert while creating life-long memories. Imagine sight fishing and swinging flies for these chrome beauties while walking along some of the most beautiful unpressured streams in the East. Most of our steelhead streams are minutes away that allow us to bring you back to our nineteenth-century farmhouse for a special home-cooked lunch. We encourage you to bring your special friends, family members and or business clients so that you can share these special memories. We envision each trip as an opportunity to build a life-long relationship and we make sure to do everything we can to we address your needs and expectations for each trip. Please check our website for more information, images and client endorsements.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Alberto Rey, NY
Review 1 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+ Guide Service,
November 24, 2014
By: whitedogintheback
"My 12 year old son and myself spent two days fishing with Alberto Rey in November. It was one of the best guided trips I have been on. My son is a beginner fly caster and Alberto's calm manner and patient demeanor created a very helpful learning environment.
Alberto knows the water we fished intimately. We saw many fish. One morning two anglers had given up and were walking out of the river access and grumbled to us that there were no fish in the river. We walked to the river and soon we were casting to steelhead.
Alberto's gear and service is first rate. Great rods with smooth reels. Our mid day lunch was the best fishing lunch I have ever had. The home cooked meals and soup warmed us considerably, and the hot dessert was delicious. Alberto showed me his studio of incredible art, and it is easy to see his passion for the fish and the rivers they live in. This appreciation is evident in the way he guides you on the river. A considerate fly fisherman will enjoy his approach.
We fished two different creeks and were had success in both. The fish were strong and brilliant.
It was a wonderful trip.
"
Review 2 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been fishing with Alberto for 10 years,
January 31, 2014
By: NHFlyfishJGF
"I have been going to Fredonia for 10 plus years and always have an excellent time with Alberto.
He knows every spot on the Lake Erie tribs in NY and has access to private waters.Conditions can change greatly due to the weather patterns and he works harder than any guide i have used in the search for fish.
Book ahead as he has limited availability.
"
Review 3 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelheading,
January 2, 2014
By: Afisher
from Detroit , MI
"Alberto took us through some of the most scenic places I have ever fly fished in. Our group had an amazing and successful time. Alberto definitely knows the water and is an amazing instructor to fishermen/women of different skills. The lunch was absolutely another highlight of the trip. Look forward to our next expedition."
Review 4 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very personalized trips,
December 2, 2013
By: Spud5
"I have been fishing with Alberto several times, and it just keeps getting better. He knows the water very well, and provides a good mix of challenges. Alberto is a patient teacher, andworks well with fishermen of differing abilities. Finally, an early afternoon lunch is like Thanksgiving dinner. Great guide, great fishing, great lunch."
Review 5 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide and artist,
November 28, 2013
By: Brendan60
from Leesburg, VA
"My 9 year old son Will and I recently had the pleasure of fishing with Alberto. It was Will's second time fly fishing so stepping into the frigid Canadaway water to battle Western NY Steelheads was a bit intimidating. No need to worry, Alberto's expertise coupled with a fathers patients one the day and Will had a wonderful experience. As for me, Alberto quickly sized up my experience and skill and taught, directed and suggested to fit the specific need. My son and I look forward to fishing the many Western NY creeks with Alberto in the future."
Review 6 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time in NY,
November 19, 2013
By: Steelers
from Smithfield, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We were very happy with the service that we received from Alberto. He was very knowledgeable of the stream and the fish that we were catching. We had a great time and look forward to fishing with him again. Thanks"
Review 7 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A new Steelheader!,
March 11, 2013
By: Jeff789
"I had the pleasure of fishing with Alberto for the 2nd year. He introduced my son to steelheading this year and we had a great time. He is thoughtful patient and finds the fish."
Review 8 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best,
December 19, 2012
By: NHFlyfishJGF
"Just got back from 2 days with Alberto. If you reasd the conditions / reports for Lake Erie, it says to fish elsewhere, but that does not stop Alberto from finding fish. Landed 7 of about 13 on Saturday and 2 of 4 on Sunday. this required a lot of walking and stalking, but that is why I enjoy fishing with Alberto. I have been fishing with him each year since 2004 or so and I will keep going back. He is a great teacher"
Review 9 for Alberto Rey, NY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great guide,
April 6, 2012
By: benp
"I was fortunate enough to fish with Alberto last weekend and I cannot endorse him highly enough.
It's always great to fish with likeminded people, and his approach to small stream, big fish fishing was fantastic
Having been an avid fly fisherman for for many years it was great to learn from a master of the game of sight fishing for chromers.
If you want to fish for big steelhead trout in small waters away from the maddening crowds Alberto is your man"