Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB

Celebrating 25 years in 2012, Fortress Lake Retreat offers guests a remote, backcountry experience in a UN World Heritage Site adjacent to Banff and Jasper National Parks. With brook trout up to 8 pounds, set in a valley dominated by towering mountain peaks and glaciers, this Rocky Mountain destination has been named the "World's Best Trophy Brook Trout Destination" by Fly Fisherman Magazine. We offer semi-guided fly fishing to our guests—you will be well tended to by our small guide team but not dominated. Our goal is to offer you a retreat where you feel free to relax and set your own timing while being well cared for. The Retreat itself is intimate by nature—3 or 4 staff hosting you in cabins and a yurt, to a maximum of 14 guests (typically 4 to 10).
Average Customer Rating:
4.898 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
48 of 49(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Review 1 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June Trip to Fortress Lake,
November 17, 2013
By: BrookieFan
from Edmonton, AB
"My wife and I had the opportunity to spend four days at Fortress Lake last June. Being able to catch and release trophy brook trout (from the Nipigon River strain) in the middle of the Rocky Mountains was truly unique. Comfortable accommodations, delightful meals and competent, friendly guiding made the experience unforgettable. The return flight over Table Mountain and Amelia's ricotta pancakes were added bonuses. A must destination for brookie fans or just about anybody looking for something out of the ordinary."
Review 2 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fortress Lake 2013,
November 13, 2013
By: ShortOperculum
from Red Deer, Albera
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My retired parents, my wife and I decided to make a hiking trip to Fortress lake in June of 2013. It was great, the folks at fortress do an exceptional job of taking care of you, your well feed, always comfortable, you have all the freedom you could want and the Brookies are huge, and for us at least, very willing. Nobody in our little group was a particularly grand fishermen but catching them was as easy as listening to a few tips from our (semi) guide. The considering that the hotel in Jasper national park at the trail head was charging approximately 2/3rds of what the folks at fortress charging for a night you get so much more value at fortress. Everything is has to be flown in or hiked in, you have a 10 km lake pretty well to yourself, they feed you very well and you get to experience fantastic fishing. Well worth the trip."
Review 3 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fortress Lake Retreat,
November 3, 2013
By: streamer01
"A freind and I spent 3 days at Fortress Lake Retreat this Fall. The scenery was spectacular. The hospitality was second to none. The fishing was extraodinary. If you enjoy catching very large, beautiful Brook Trout, I highly recommend booking a trip at Fortress Lake Retreat."
Review 4 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome time fishing up at Fortress Lake Retreat,
October 28, 2013
By: Speyfisher
from Calgary, AB
"My brother and I spend three days fishing with Fortress Lake Retreat with Amelia, Kevin and Andrew. Spectacular fishery and exception service and great food. Highly recommended all around. If you like lots of big Brook Trout his is the place to visit!!!
I can't wait to go back - very soon!"
Review 5 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
October 25, 2013
By: fishamon1
from Fortress Lake Retreat
"Scenery, food, fishing and hospitality all first class. Fortress Lake is one of the best fishing experiences I have ever had. Beautiful."
Review 6 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
October 7, 2013
By: Nutana67
from Saskatchewan
"As a person who grew up in Thunder Bay and fished for Lake Superior & Lake Nipigon Brook Trout as a youngster, Fortress Lake is unequalled. Coasters should have been invented here!"
Review 7 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best guided trip I ever had,
October 7, 2013
By: Speccs
from Ringoes NJ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fortress lake is a truly unique destination with incredible scenery and excellent fishing. The opportunity to sight fish for trophy brook trout was amazing. Accommodations were more than comfortable with great beds, warm blankets, and your own wood stove. Plus three delectable meals a day. The whole trip was only made better by the staff who are fantastic hosts and great guides."
Review 8 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a treat!,
October 5, 2013
By: Wruckster
"I had the good fortune of staying with the folks at the Fortress Lake retreat this past summer and I think they could drop the re from retreat because it certainly was a treat to visit this beautiful part of the world! The incredibly friendly and knowledgable staff were always willing and able to help with your every request. Whether is was a casting lessons or serving up some great meals they did a super job making you feel special during your stay. It's truly one of the most scenic places you could ever hope to visit, and oh ya, the fishin aint bad either. I will definetly return one day."
Review 9 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unigue fly fishing experience,
October 4, 2013
By: CuthroatPirate
from Calgary AB
"The trip offers many opportunities for different fishing styles. After a day of blind casting at the stream mouth, we spent a couple of great days cruising the shoreline sight fishing to monstrous brookies. Whether they were holding in deadfall or rock structure, these fish than more often than not very willing to put a bend in your rod.
Great food, great facility. Awesome scenery.
"
Review 10 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Outdoor Fishing Adventure,
October 3, 2013
By: Nevadan
from Reno, NV
"We hiked in and out on the trail. Amelia and Drew met us to guide us across the Chaba river. Scenery at the camp on lake was stunning. Camp was very luxurious with comfy beds, clean cabins and fantastic service with great meals each day. Great hot shower and bathrooms were welcome. And of course the fishing was tremendously fun with plenty of nice sized trout. Guiding service with Drew was terrific and both Amelia and Drew are experts at the fishing at Fortress Lake. It was a relaxing stress free family vacation in the beautiful wilderness that we will always treasure. We were so pleased we were able to schedule the Fortress Lake stay during our trip to nearby Jasper and Banff parks."
Review 11 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August trip to Fortress,
October 3, 2013
By: AlbertaLocal
from Alberta, Canada
"I spent a weekend at Fortress Lake Retreat this past August and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The accommodations are rustic, yet provide all the comfort (and more) that you need in a remote destination. The cooking was amazing (thanks Amelia!) and the hospitality of Kevin, Andrew, and Amelia made the trip a lasting memory. The fishing is fantastic, with more big brookies than you really know what to do with; though, what sticks out in my mind is the level of service and hospitality provided by these folks. As soon as I arrived home I started planning the following year's trip. I imagine you will do the same."
Review 12 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Annual Trip,
October 3, 2013
By: Africafisher
from Dubai, UAE,
"This is the 4th time I've had the pleasure of spending part of my summer break with Dave and Amelia at Fortress Lake. The fishing is second to none and the setting is spectacular. Their thorough knowledge of the fishery, and the surrounding environment add an extra dimension to the experience. The food is first class and the personalised service and relaxed atmosphere makes this one of the best trips trips of my year bar none."
Review 13 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW WHAT A TRIP Sept 15-18 2013,
October 2, 2013
By: DEVO2013
from Edson AB
"Fortress Lake has been on my list of must do trips for years. Now it's on my MUST DO AGAIN TRIPS LIST! Amelia is a fabulous cook and an even better person! Everyone there showed a genuine interest in you and made an effort to get to know you. Dave can spot fish like no one I have ever seen and was super fun to spend time with on the water. He took the time to put us on fish and was just as excited as we were to see us catch them. The trip was everything I hoped it would be! We had some excellent sight fishing opportunities too. Man nothing gets the heart pumping like when a six or seven pound Brook Trout turns onto your fly and crushes it before your eyes. The takes were HANG on TIGHT kind of takes and that's what it's all about. We chose to ride our bikes in up until the Athabasca suspension bridge and hiked the rest of the way. It was a great experience. I will without a doubt be back! Thanks for the memories Fortress Lake!"
Review 14 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serenity - the glacier and the experience,
October 2, 2013
By: khph
from Calgary AB
"A truly wonderful experience, both times. Dave and Amelia are exceptional hosts. The sleeping cabins are rustic but very comfortable and the yurt dining hall / lounge is part of the surroundings. The food is excellent too.
But, for most of you the important part is the fishing. Excellent Brook trout fishing right in the camp and throughout the lake.
Beautiful scenery from the Serenity glacier, to the majestic mountains to the clear blue lake full of fish and surrounded by evergreen forest.
Great location, great accommodation and food, excellent hosts and lots of fish.
You even fly in by float plane. It just could not be better.
"
Review 15 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience to Remember,
October 1, 2013
By: ilovefortresslake
from alberta
"Where do I start?....From the moment that I found Fortress Lake and began communicating and asking lots of questions, Amelia and Dave were there to answer them.
We did the 24 km hike, and it was amazing...and a challenge.
The scenery...awesome. The food ...very good and homemade and I got some good recipes!
We were total beginners with fly fishing, but the team at Fortress were always there, always encouraging and pointing out fish right in front of us...it took a bit to get to see them ourselves.
The accomodations were very comfortable and everyone appreciated the hot shower after fishing for the day.
We are definitely going to become repeat visitors, it was worth every penny!
Everyone I told about it, and showed the pictures to was jealous, they didn't know such a place existed...maybe I should keep it secret, it is a very special place with very special people making the experience something I will always remember."
Review 16 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time,
September 29, 2013
By: Champhicker
from Arkansas, USA
"Our trip was a birthday present for my husband and a get away vacation for me. The float plane ride was spectacular. The food was abundant and delicious and inspired me to come home and cook. Our guide (Kevin) was very patient even through all my trash talking while fishing! Ha
He also indulged us on a very steep hike up the mountainside (thanks for that). The views are beautiful. The fish are a thrill to catch. We would do this again in a minute.
"
Review 17 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as advertised,
September 6, 2013
By: jssmczc
from Utah
"We just finished five days with Amelia and company at Fortress and had a fantastic experience. The scenery, fishing, and hospitality was outstanding. We loved the entire trip and would go back in a heartbeat."
Review 18 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backcountry Paradise,
August 18, 2013
By: flycasterT
from Edmonton, AB
"From the moment we parked our vehicle at the Hinton airport to the moment we returned 5 days later, the experience was unforgettable. Fortress lake retreat is a true backcountry paradise - a 5 star resort in the middle of the Rocky Mountain wilderness. Our hosts Amelia and Drew provided everything we could have asked for from expert fishing advice and instruction, guided tours of the lake and its surroundings and of course gourmet meals. It was a wonderful experience that I look forward to repeating again in the future!"
Review 19 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A weekend to remember,
August 14, 2013
By: RealRDiddy
from St.Albert, AB
"It was July 26, 2013. As we effortlessly floated through the mountains in our Cessna I eagerly anticipated our arrival at Fortess Lake. I knew virtually nothing about the location or venue and could not wait for the inauguration of what I anticipated to be a unique experience. We landed at the dock and were greeted with open arms by a staff that whole heartedly understands customer service. I immediately embraced the raw remoteness and isolation of the area. The purity of the lake never grew old the entire weekend. I was amazed that in the midst of this seclusion that it could boast such comfortable amenities. The food and beverage rivaled any urban setting and the lodging was as comfortable as being at home. It was my first time fishing for Brook trout as well and the lake did not disappoint. We were well guided and regardless of where we set up there was always opportunity to land a feisty Brook. We did not count the number of fish caught but had we made a tally it would have been a number to boast about unless you were Kevin K of course. I would recommend this glorious experience to anyone and look forward to hopefully being blessed enough to return someday!"
Review 20 for Fortress Lake Retreat & Fly Fish Alberta, AB
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 13, 2013
By: Dbird
from Edmonton, AB
"Fortress Lake is truly spectacular. For the past four summers, I have been fortunate to experience this incredible locale. The fishing is world class. Dave, Amelia, and staff are outstanding in their knowledge of the lake and what the brook trout are looking for. The accommodations and meals are always top notch. There is no question, Fortress Lake is one of the best fly fishing experiences an angler can tackle !!!"