Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door

Instantly create a protected area for your pet in almost any entryway in your home. Easy set up and lightweight construction make it a cinch to move from place to place as needed. Solid wood support legs and two adjustable side panels keep the dog gate standing firm. Gain access easily through the 20½" wide hinged door, opening with the lift of a finger. 32"H, fits openings 34"-63" wide. Distance between slats is 1¾". Made from sustainable rubberwood and 7-gauge wire. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Review 1 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just What We Wanted,
May 1, 2014
By: mudsail46
from New Forest, UK
"We needed to be able to restrict our spaniel to various, different areas of the house, so wanted a flexible (in size) and easily moved barrier. She doesn't attempt to push at it, or jump over it, so it didn't have to be high or firm.This has done the job we wanted, looks nice, and is easy to move to wherever it's required."
Review 2 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice dog gate,
March 1, 2014
By: sweetmontana
from Montana
"This gate is perfect to keep our two JRT's out of trouble. It was easy to assemble, and worked perfectly the first time. It's quite nice looking too, just as pictured. We immediately put it to use and are very pleased."
Review 3 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good.,
February 11, 2014
By: PB10
"I have just set this gate up and so far am pleased. It is nicely constructed and seems sturdy for my small dogs."
Review 4 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PROBLEM SOLVED!,
January 22, 2014
By: BETTE7
from BARRINGTON ILLINOIS
"VERY FLEXIBLE FOR VARIOUS SIZE SPACES TO CONTAIN THE ACCESS."
Review 5 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best pet gate,
January 18, 2014
By: Dane2Dane
from Chagrin Falls, Ohio
"Purchased the free standing dog gate with door and have been extremly happy with this gate. Solid construction easy to use and durable. The gate is very classy. We are going to buy a second gate!"
Review 6 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gate but not for smart dogs,
January 15, 2014
By: EricW
from Westport,CT
"This is a very well built gate and works well. Unfortunately our puppy is smart and squeezes through the side panels no matter how we position them."
Review 7 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
January 12, 2014
By: JamesCLondon
from UK
"Great quality, great product. All delivered in perfect condition. In fact I'm going to order another 2 gates for another property."
Review 8 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Furniture quality dog gate,
December 23, 2013
By: MichelleS
from Woodridge, IL
"This is a beautifully stained free-standing gate so it does not damage your walls and doesn't look unsightly. It also is easy to fit different size areas. Excellent product!"
Review 9 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice gate for hallways and doorways,
April 18, 2013
By: wagsandpaws
from Okemos, Michigan
"I originally bought the extra-wide version of this gate which is a little shorter in height but fit into an extra wide space. I liked the look and the gate feature so much that I purchased this gate for a hallway that leads to the bedrooms.
I like that it's a little taller but I wish the adjustable sides were more freely adjustable; the panels only adjust at certain increments.
We like that the gate can be open in a "locked" position or will freely close after you walk through. Even my cat doesn't bother trying to jump over this one.
After trying many other gates (Pressure-mounted and gates similar to this one), this gate fits securely in the space, is sturdy, and better looking than the plastic or metal gates. It's pricey but worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love my gates,
March 13, 2013
By: Dale300
from Knoxville, TN
"I am thrilled with my free standing gates. I bought three and they are so easy to set up and use. I have two dogs and a cat and they all keep within the confines of the gated area. The gates are very attractive too. It actually makes each area look great. Orvis is a trust worthy company that believes in quality."
Review 11 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
free stnding gate,
February 5, 2013
By: Sue25
from MO
"excellent product. Door is easily opened and closed. Has a nice feature that closes the door if let go or leaves open by just fully opening. adjustable width is handy. Best is no wall marks."
Review 12 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weak hinges,
January 31, 2013
By: TexasVicky
from Texas
"I do like the panels, but the hinges are plastic and crushed on shipping. I hope the replacement will hold up both to shipping and to regular use."
Review 13 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ok, but not great,
January 27, 2013
By: GRonald
from Birmingham, Alabama
"Needed a walk through gate to block stairs. This looked to be the only one Orvis offers that would fit where we needed it. It serves our purpose, but can't say I am thrilled with it. The wire inserts rattle rather loudly when gate is opened and closed, or if bumped. Latching mechanism is flimsy. The "leveling" mechanism is not effective. Needs non slip feet so it won't slip on hardwood or tile floors."
Review 14 for Free-Standing Dog Gate with Door
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Didn't work for us,
January 24, 2013
By: Whitebirdie
from Atlanta, GA
"The first gate arrived and it was broken - one of the cheap, plastic hinges was cracked off. They quickly sent us a replacement which we appreciated. While we loved the concept of this gate, it just didn't work for us. The feet stick out so far that they are a trip hazard. Maybe if you are putting it in a huge area that wouldn't matter, but for us it was definitely a trip hazard. The other issue was that the mechanism that keeps the door closed (at the top and bottom of the door) only works if it's on a perfectly level floor. No matter how many times we tried to adjust the leveler on the bottom of the gate, we could not get the top and bottom of the door to latch and stay into place. As a result, our dog could easily nudge the door open. When we tried the gate in a perfectly level spot it worked fine (but that's not where we needed the gate). This gate would have been better for us if it had an actual latch or something to keep the door closed. Other than the cheap plastic hinges it's a well made gate. We returned this one and have ordered a zig zag gate that we can easily move to maneuver around. Hopefully that will work better for us."