Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Whiting Intro Hackle Pack

Match the hatch with this dry-fly hackle pack from Whiting Farms. The Whiting Introductory Hackle Pack features four high-quality, genetically bred half-rooster capes packaged together in one economical bundle. Perfect for the casual tier or beginner, this is a cost-sensitive way to tie an assortment of hatch-matching dry flies. In brown, natural grizzly, black, medium dun. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Review 1 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Purchase for new fly tier,
October 13, 2014
By: StewartLV
from Las Vegas, NV
"I have recently started fly tying and this is a great product that gives you several hackles in the most popular colors at a reasonable price"
Review 2 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hackles,
March 3, 2014
By: Kenaharr
from St. Louis, MO, USA
"This is a great pack. Colors, length and stiffness all wonderful. Fantastic deal for the $."
Review 3 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whiting Intro Hackle Pack,
March 2, 2014
By: flytier1000000000
"Wow, what a great deal. Much larger and longer than I thought. 1 problem- the hackle lengths on different capes varies so it is a little difficult to use two colors unless you are careful. Great Product!!"
Review 4 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March 1, 2014
By: DChan
from NC
"A good buy for anyone starting to tie or looking for general sizes at once. I tie a bunch of the same basic flies but end up needing these colors and find myself lacking. This pack will cover you bases and let you tie flies while having what I would consider the four most common colors for dry flies"
Review 5 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best buy,
February 10, 2014
By: COTroutMan
from The Woodlands, TX
"This turned out as a best buy for me. I would recommend anyone starting out tying flies consider this variety pack. It is a nice quality with enough feathers to keep you busy for quite a while.
Roger
"
Review 6 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Deal!,
January 18, 2014
By: ander627
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I am novice at tying flies. I absolutely didn't want to choke down buying 3-4 hackles to start trying some of my favorite dry flies. This gave me a great way to enter into tying this flies!"
Review 7 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These capes are excellent!,
June 24, 2013
By: gusandlucky
from Chubbuck, Idaho
"These Whiting Capes are excellent. Shipping was fast and you can't beat these capes for quality. I would recommend these capes to new tyers and professional tyers alike."
Review 8 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Intro Hackle Pack,
June 11, 2013
By: WindRiverFlies
"This is excellent hackle for a reasonable price. The half capes will last fly tyers for a while and it is awesome to purchase them together."
Review 9 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hackle Value,
May 3, 2013
By: BruinBob
from Evergreen, Co
"I'm a beginning fly tier and found this Whiting Introductory Hackle Pack exactly what I needed to get a variety of hackle for a reasonable price."
Review 10 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value, great purchase,
March 30, 2013
By: Builth
from London UK
"Four excellent quality half capes which will last me for some time. Not only a great idea for the hobbyist fly tier who perhaps does not need a full cape but very good value. Well done (again) Orivis!"
Review 11 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Price / Great Hackles,
February 17, 2013
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
"First off, you get a lot of value for these hackles. Second, you get the 4 most common hackles you'll need for dry flies, nymphs and all your other tying needs. I find the quality of the hackles to very good and this will last me a very long time. I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase."
Review 12 for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hackle,
January 16, 2013
By: JMS43
from Westchester, ny
"These are so much nicer then the regular hackles. You can't beat the four half capes for getting started. Really nice selection for all hook sizes. Wish i got this before buying all the others i have."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Whiting Intro Hackle Pack
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1