Orvis Ratings and Reviews

EZ Rotary Vise

The EZ Rotary Travel Vise brings features found in more expensive vises to a price point that is affordable for tiers in all walks of life. Featuring a crank-driven rotary that provides versatility when wrapping thread and a smooth rotation for drying epoxies, the EZ Vise is constructed of durable machined stainless steel and aluminum. Sized to a compact 6½"H x 5¼"W, it's the perfect travel vise, built to fit into any fly-tying travel case. The vise comes with both a weighted base and a C-clamp. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.95 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EZ Rotary Vise
Review 1 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Whole... notha.... level,
August 23, 2014
By: Daddy0
"For all the yrs I've been tying flies I've always used a clamp on vise and found it limiting to whether or not the lip of the table was deep enough. Using this vise has freed me to tie flies on any table top.....and now with the use of the rotary I can see all sides of the fly while tying instead of waiting until i was done to clean up the fly. It's a very good vise, at a very affordable price. The ultimate test is being able to catch fish with the flies i've tied.....Answer, every time i've gone fishing I catch at least one fish with a fly I've tied on this vise.......Thanks Ovis!!"
Review 2 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase for the beginner,
March 3, 2014
By: FlyTierbgbarr
from Barrington RI
"The EZ ROTARY VICE is a good beginners vice for one that is just starting to tie flies. Some features can be improved --Example: the main turning shaft is a little
Sloppy I the housing. Could be improved.
Over all a good beginners rotary vice to start with.
"
Review 3 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EZ Rotary Vise,
February 11, 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"Just starting to tie flies and this rotary vise is great for stand alone and for traveling. Rotary takes the wear and tear off my surgically repaired rotator cuff. I have also got the tool kit from Orvis and materials that I have been please with. great for starting out in the hobby and enjoy it very much. Thanks Orvis"
Review 4 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Value,
February 10, 2014
By: SteveTheTrout
"Having just started tying, I wanted a mid-range vise with both a pedestal and clamp for travel purposes. This set up (clamp on shaft) is fantastic, is very well made for the novice and has been admired-almost coveted-by the veterans who recommended it. Exceptionally sturdy, easy to use, holds both fine and thicker gauge hooks, has smooth screws to adjust easily. The best little vise out there for the money - great investment!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vise, Great Value,
December 26, 2013
By: SirTroutzor
from Detroit, MI
"Praise:
This vise looks very nice. Stainless finish is beautiful. Including both pedistal and c-clamp is a nice option. Rotary function is good. Jaws are fully adjustable.
Gripe:
Stem is not standard size so accesories like bobbin rests fit kind of awkwardly. C-clamp doesn't look like it belongs with this vise. It seems lower quality and brass accents don't match. Plastic rotary handle. Not deal breakers to me.
Note:
I'm not sure why so many reviewers have problems securing hooks in the jaw of this style vise. In fact I find this style jaw to be more versatile for varying hook sizes. You will need an allen wrench (not included) to adjust the jaw height for really large hooks in order to keep the shank in the center of rotation. I have tied hook sizes 20 to 3/0 with no fuss.
Overall:
I expect I will get many years out of this vise, coupled with the confidence of buying from Orvis I am very pleased with this product.
"
Review 6 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly What I Wanted,
September 5, 2013
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I've been fighting a fixed vise from an unknown supplier. The EZ coupled with other goodies from Orvis makes tying a pleasure rather than task. The easy adjustment of height and position works well with my tri-focal glasses. The pedestal base is heavy and provides a very solid feel. If you have an only a one vise budget this is the one to buy."
Review 7 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I'm updating my review,
May 15, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"This thing broke on me tonight. The rear adjustment screw for the jaws is the problem. This thing won't hold a hook securely now. This should not have happened. I've only used it a few times. Very disappointed. I'm returning it to Orvis and buying a better vise."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good beginner vise for the money,
May 15, 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I'm new to fly tying. For the money, this has been a great beginner vise. I've been able to tie flies down to a size 20 hook. I haven't tried anything smaller. It comes in a great flat box that holds the vice, base and included C clamp that makes it easy to pack for any stream-side tying. The rotary feature works well too. The drawbacks over a better, more expensive vise are it is only a 1/4" shaft and it's a little short for my liking. Most accessories are designed to fit a 3/8" shaft which has caused some frustrations. Still... These things are available in more expensive models costing more than twice as much. My 9 year old ties flies with me. So, I will likely upgrade this vise to a better one at some point and give this to my son. I do wish the shaft size had been explained to me before I bought it rather than figuring it out after the fact - which is why I mention it here. I bought a portable fly tying desk, that included a built-in spot to mount a vise, that doesn't work well with this vise because of the smaller shaft size. Overall, it's a great vise that has been easy to use and adjust. Just understand the limitations before you buy it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help I needed,
April 8, 2013
By: Vibrato
from Newark, DE
"The EZ Rotary Vise is just exactly what I needed to improve my ability to tie fly's at my old age of 74. I'm now even much better than when I was younger. And, I've learned how to follow instructions."
Review 10 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tying vise,
April 4, 2013
By: Ginger12
from Utah
"Great traveling vise it holds the fly hooks well I really like it"
Review 11 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
E-Z Rotary Vise,
March 19, 2013
By: tyer
from St. Louis Missouri
"It's a good little vise.
I have several medium and upscale tying vises and I reach for the E-Z Rotary Vise most of the time.
I shortened the stem about an inch so it would sit a little lower.
It just made it more comfortable for me.
I was also impressed that it will hold 18 - 20 hooks firmly.
The only down side is - that I wish it came with a bobin cradle.
otherwise it's a great value for the money.
"
Review 12 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Concentricity Issue,
March 13, 2013
By: LaSe
from Golden, CO.
"The vise had a lot of promise but I think at that price point some quality control issues remain. The arm leading to the jaws was bent and hence the rotary function was un-usable and formed an elliptical pattern while turning. The jaws held hooks nicely though. I'm returning for a refund and looking upscale a bit more."
Review 13 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moving on up,
March 11, 2013
By: TheBrownHat
from Georgia
"So is it as good as those $300 vises? No. But it is a thousand times better than the $14 dollar vise that came with your first tying kit. It also makes for a great travel vise. The screws that mount to the base and control tension in the vise are all plastic and that does allow some wiggling from time to time. But I am very happy to find a true rotary vise for less than $70. I know this wont be the last vise I ever own but its perfect for the next step in my fly tying journey."
Review 14 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comparison to Thompson A vise,
March 6, 2013
By: fishwater
from Klamath River, California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I am primarily a steelhead fly fisher. My other vise, since 1970s, is a Thompson A. Always works, but not a rotary vise...so I am trying this one out. Been tying with the EZ for one week. Perhaps three dozen flies from size 16 to 2/0. Extremely easy to set jaws to hook size; much quicker than with the Thompson. Jaws seem to have a very firm grip on all hook sizes. Rotary motion is not especially smooth, but satisfactory. Weighted base for table top use is heavy enough when tying small flies, but can't cut it with big stuff. Comes with a clamp for table edge, so that's not a big issue. Very compact, this vise is actually as easy to stow as the Thompson. Great price. High value, especially considering the Orvis guarantee of satisfaction."
Review 15 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great vise for the price,
March 6, 2013
By: MiddleForker
from Bradenton, Fl
"for a small vise it works well for even the big hooks we use for salt water. it is compact and i can take it anywhere. i would recommend to anyone for a spare or full time vise."
Review 16 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed!,
March 4, 2013
By: Flyfishingnavarre
from Navarre Beach, Fl.
"I purchased as a travel vise.
Pros: Quality construction material, proper weight, ease of rotation.
Cons: jaws were very difficult to adjust. Could not secure hook properly."
Review 17 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
March 2, 2013
By: testapece
"I recently purchased the EZ Rotary Vice to use indoors on my kitchen table during the winter. I was amazed that it was such a high quality vice it was and at such a reasonable price. The large knob on the jaws make an improvement over similar jaw designs on vices that I've used in the past."
Review 18 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EZ Rotary Vise is nice,
February 28, 2013
By: FlyrodBob
from Georgetown, KY
"I purchased the EZ Rotary as a secondary vise to my years-old Renzetti Traveler. For $55.20 (on sale) plus s&h, I am pleased. The jaws took a few moments to adjust but once adjusted they firmly held hooks from 6 to 18 as I tied dries, nymphs and streamers. There are better vises at 3 to 10 times the price. But at $55 bucks (even $69 if you missed the sale) you can't go wrong. Awarding 5 stars for bang-for-the-buck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Rotary Vise
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not good,
February 24, 2013
By: berkshiremike
from Ma
"When I first saw this vise I was very excited yet cautious about the price. Figuring it was Orvis and I could return it no questions asked. Good thing cause this is going back.
I liked everything about the vise except the set screw setup to lock in the hook. Very difficult to get the hooks in and held tight. Spent more time adjusting the two screws than it took to tie the fly. Going back to Orvis. Cost me the return shipping.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for EZ Rotary Vise
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1