Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot

The most comfortable high-performance stocking foot fishing wader made. With five-layer fabric reinforcement in key areas, and a four-way waterproof, highly breathable stretch upper so comfortable you'll forget it's there, the Tailwaters XT Fishing Wader is the ideal combination of comfort and performance. Available with Hypalon stockingfeet.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
6
15 of 24(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Review 1 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought 2 with Same Leak issue,
April 12, 2010
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have been an Orvis fan for a long time. However, I am concerned about the Product Quality.
I have 2 pairs of these Waders and they both leak at the seams...bad. I returned the first pair to be repaired and they were having a sale on the same Wader. I needed a new pair for an upcoming trip and I bought them again hoping the leak was a fluke.
It was not. Neither pair lasted a year and the issue is in the seams. When I got the repaired waders back, they invoiced me $30 even thought it was clear all the repair was done on the seams.
Now I repair them myself and they are each covered in GOO repair gel. Not what I was expecting from Orvis.
"
Review 2 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These will make you happy,
February 18, 2010
By: Hanzfly
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have owned a pair of these for four seasons... Between personal fishing and guiding I estimate ~600 days spent in these waders... I have patched them a couple of times but most of that was my fault or the barbwire's?? If your like me, and you like to squeeze every drop of life out of your fishing equipment then you will be happy with these... Just make sure you try them on fist and get a pair that fit your feet...."
Review 3 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
working well,
November 27, 2009
By: sequim
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"since having a pin hole leak after 4 times of using these wader, i have since repaired them and they have been very reliable. i have used them 20 + times fishing for salmon and steelhead on the olympic peninsula, they have been very comfortable and dry. the leak was a result o all the walking through the brush. i have been quite impressed since fixing the leak..."
Review 4 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Why should I wear waders at all when they leak?,
September 27, 2009
By: ScottK
from Arlington, WA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I was really excited when I first got these waders. They looked good and I thought I had finally found a pair that would be able to last a few seasons. I was wrong... They are leaking so bad at the seams that my pants get soaked after an hour or two of fishing. I filled them with water, inside out and had no pin holes, just leaking from the seams. I called the local store to see what they could do, I had them barely over a year and was told to try and fix them with aquaseal first. It is completely unacceptable that a manufacturer would tell the customer to try and fix a manufacturers defect themselves by gooping aquaseal everywhere... I think it's time to switch brands!
Scott"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical ServicesOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders began leaking prematurely. Orvis also apologized that the leaking issue was not handled to his satisfaction by the local store. We thanked this customer for the honest feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durabilty issues.
Review 5 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Leaky Boat,
September 23, 2009
By: newfiefisher
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"Bought these waders 2 years ago and have problems with leaks ever since. I tried to fix the problem myself by redoing all the interior seams but with no luck...so it just a matter of bringing extra pants along. Will be buying a new pair for next season... but not this brand."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical ServicesOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the waders began leaking prematurely. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these issues.
Review 6 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality - Leaking.,
September 8, 2009
By: aspensnow
from PA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Seams leaking after less than two years of careful use. No visible damage on the waders. While comfort and appearance are very good, the leaking problem, in the upper thigh/groin area, is disappointing after paying $298.00 plus tax/shipping for a "high-performance" pair of waders. I was first told replacement should not be a problem but later told by another person warranty mandates repair first. Waders being shipped back tomorrow.
I am concerned the Orvis proposed repair of Aquaseal will be a temporary fix for a problem that should not exist in a quality pair of waders within two years after purchase. I don't know if the leaking problem is in the design or the construction, but I do not recommend Tailwaters XT waders."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical ServicesOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders began leaking prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues.
Review 7 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice but leaky,
August 24, 2009
By: Bridgerbear
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When I bought these waders I was hoping to get more then a season out of them. Unfortunately, after about 5 months they started leaking through the seams, first in the groin area and then eventually down to the knees. The over all look and comfort of the wader is great (a side from leak)."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical ServicesOctober 11, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders started leaking prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues.
Review 8 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My second purchase!,
August 22, 2009
By: Brakken
from Norway
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When this offer came, I took the opportunity to buy a second pair of these waders. Bought the first pair when they were first introduced, and have used them extensively for fishing, freshwater, saltwater, winter. Also used when canoeing rivers in norwegian wilderness. Keeps me dry, and no problem with tear and wear wether exposed to rocks, sand or bushes. I have had three different brands of breathing waders before these, none lasted much more than a season.
The new pair will be packed away and stored safely until my old pair finally wears out.
"
Review 9 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Convertible Features,
August 17, 2009
By: Sully
from PA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I really like how easily these waders conver to waist highs. The most comfortable wader I have used to date. Another great aspect is how little they weigh. Big difference compared to my Pro Guide II's. I do have one gripe that drives me crazy is the supplied wading belt. It is so miserably difficult to adjust on the fly.I wish that the waders came with the same belt as my pro Guides. Other than that, I really like them."
Review 10 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fitting waders,
August 10, 2009
By: HMir
from Michigan
"Lots of size and selection gave me a perfect fit. No leaks after a year of pretty hard use. Love the flexibility of the pant conversion. The slim fit is great in the drift boat for getting in/out. Never feel like I have to get out of them."
Review 11 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most comfortable Waders I have every owned,
August 6, 2009
By: FlyFisherBrad
from Virginia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used many waders and none of them quit ever fit me right but the design of these are at a whole other level. If you are having trouble finding waders that fit you right or just need a great pair of waders I would recomend the Tailwaters XTs"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointment,
June 6, 2009
By: sketchy
from Grand Rapids, MI
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought these waders soon after they came out. They lasted about one summer before they started leaking. Orvis replaced them with a new pair, last summer. However, when i put them on this spring they are super-leaky. So, I got less than a season out of the new pair. Not sure if they will replace again. I love the look, and the fit, but if they don't keep the water out..."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 29, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders have started leaking after only one season. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and has passed these comments along to our wader product developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues.
Review 13 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best!,
May 11, 2009
By: tailwaters
from sebago.maine
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"everytime i climb into my tailwaters xt, i get a grin from ear to ear! these are by far the best ive ever owned! (i went through 3 pair of the competitions in just one season) there everything orvis said and more!!!!"
Review 14 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made waders,
March 11, 2009
By: 2RYMANS
from MI
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Nothing to fancy about these just good quality waders at a decent price. stocking foot is made for basketball players but everything else is just what you need and rugged. No leaks in 2 years."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not a bad wader, but not great,
February 6, 2009
By: Loopy
from Girard, PA
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"These waders did a fantastic job for about a year. After that, they developed a leak in the seam of the underside of the wader. Sent them back to Orvis and they repaired them as promised. It did take two months, and I was disappointed with the use of Aquaseal on the outside of the seam as the repair method. They are a great fitting and comfortable wader. I do question the problem with seam leaks as this is the second pair that I've had with that problem. Overall not a bad wader."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that his waders started leaking prematurely. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and we passed these comments along to our wader developer, so that he may further investigate these durability issues.
Review 16 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Leaks,
November 19, 2008
By: rotorhead
from Wyoming
"I originally bought the Orivs G3 waders but after going through 3 pairs of those all with leaking seams and booties right out of the box, (I was never completely dry in them), I thought I would exchange them for the tailwaters xt and see if I had better luck. I got these waders and at first was really excited I loved the design and they looked very rugged. But after less than 12 days of guiding these too began to leak I returned them and have been waiting almost 5 weeks for them to be repaired. I had to buy another pair of waders to finish the guiding season and am still waiting for these to get back. I think next time i will just go for go old made in the USA waders and hopefully not have the leaking problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamNovember 26, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the waders continously leaked and the repair has taken a extended amout of time to fix them.
Review 17 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
July 12, 2008
By: Dryfly687
"I bought these waders about a year ago. They are a GREAT design with the lighter weight upper. I'm a guide in North Georgia and I am in my waders many days out of the year. My only complaint is the fit is a little too baggy and they are already pouring water through a leak somewhere in the seat area. If they didnt fit as baggy and wouldn't spring a leak so soon I would be able to give 110% positive feedback."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJuly 14, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the sizing being large causing the waders to leak. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 18 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tough as nails,
May 26, 2008
By: midwestfisher
from Racine wi
"If you want waders that can take whatever you throw at them these would be the ones.
I have hiked through thick brush, thorns, downed trees, etc ... No leeks
I slid on my but on rocks and ... no leeks
I even stepped in a rut, toppled over through a thorn bush and landed on a pile of sumerged rocks while be chase of private property and............. no leaks
And all the wile my friend has a wet foot because a stick puctured is two month old simms waders
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice waders part 2,
January 2, 2008
By: Ninja
from Toronto, Canada
"It's me again. followup review.
So far I've used these for the entire Fall steelhead season. Lots of mileage in the bush and in the cold waters. Here's what I've notices so far. Pretty comfortable and sleek fitting. I originally ordered a Med Short, but found it way too baggy. So returned them (hassle free, but had to pay for shipping) for a pair of Mediums. By the way, I'm 5"8 170lb. Fits really nice but grabs a bit at the inseam when climbing or bending. I'm worried that the seams might pop after a couple of seasons. As mentioned in my previous review there was a pinhole leek at the booty. Aqua sealed it and no problems since. Everywhere else has been leek proof. This is a quality product and it looks really nice, and pretty comfortable. They are thicker then most waders so I'm sure they will be more durable. Being thicker keeps me warm too. Which is a plus for late fall and winter steelheading. Overall I would recommend these waders.
"
Review 20 for Tailwaters XT Stocking Foot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 7, 2007
By: LUV9278
"These waders were very comfortable because of the cut design used for my size. Other waders were too this or too that. The tailwater xt are comfortable to fish in all day, and I do fish all day. The light weight top and the shaped booties are great features. One constructive comment would be to make the elastic around the ankle a little tighter and make the metal clip on the front of the gravel guards from a stronger material. I am a big fan of Orvis gear in general. I have a wading jacket, several reels and many lines. Thank you."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.