Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

American Bison Money Clip

Keep cash and business cards secure and handy without unnecessary bulk with this leather money clip. Crafted of genuine bison leather, our sleek clip takes on a handsome patina, making it even more attractive with years of use. Leather money clip in brown. Dimensions: 3½"L x 2¾"W. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
51 of 64(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for American Bison Money Clip
Review 1 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Big Disappointment,
March 1, 2014
By: Nick809
from Southern California
"I have purchased several money-clip wallets from Orvis over the years. I use them constantly and find them to be an invaluable tool in a non-jacket climate, but I only use the original spring clip type and usually, but not always, the Battenkill model. I tried a magnetic clip several years ago but I gave up on it less than one day, the clip doesn't safely secure more than a very few bills. The online description of this one did not mention the magnetic clip (while other models do) and since the standard/non-magnetic type are hard to find these days, I ordered two. Big disappointment, it is the magnetic variety and both have been returned."
Review 2 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good choice,
January 16, 2014
By: Chukyc
"This was purchased as a gift and I was very pleased with the quality of this money clip. The personalization was an added nice touch!"
Review 3 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift,
December 14, 2013
By: Sunbike
from Minnesota
"I purchased this as a gift for my Son in Law at his request. I had purchased him one many years sgo and he requested another. His exact words " I want this one, not one like it, but this one" He lives it."
Review 4 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
December 11, 2013
By: Msgjgh
from IL
"I ordered it thinking it was a spring clip, because it didn't say it was a magnetic clip. So when I received it and opened it was a magnetic clip. When I called; the operator was not very pleasant saying that none of the wallets specified whether or not is was magnetic and they all stated that, but I was not going to argue. If you ever come across a spring clipped money wallet, please let me know. I get a Battengill (sp) before. It is very good quality wallet, just not what I wanted"
Review 5 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
November 19, 2013
By: pme49
from villa grove,il
"had to send back.mag was too weak to hold many bills"
Review 6 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Money Clip review,
November 8, 2013
By: MIKEL52
from Gaithersburg MD
"I'm currently using my second Bison Money Clip. Both Money Clips were very durable and long lasting. I am planning to order a new Money Clip in the next 30 days or so. I have recommended this Money Clip to several of my friends and business associates."
Review 7 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money clip,
July 22, 2013
By: lab7
from sewickley, pa.
"Now all the men in our family have this bison money clip. It's sturdy and attractive"
Review 8 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy, perfect size, durable,
March 27, 2013
By: JimmyJohn
from Washington, DC
"Real happy with this. It is perfect.
Love the color, style, and functionality. It is fine leather and is a darker brown than I thought, but I love it. A classy product that will last.
"
Review 9 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift,
December 28, 2012
By: BusinessMan
from Franklin, TN
"High quality, well made, beautiful leather. Easy, convenient, purchased multiple times."
Review 10 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good Quality,
December 15, 2012
By: Dybs
from MN
"This item was monogramed to our satisfaction. The quality seems very good as was the service"
Review 11 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice,
December 13, 2012
By: Leeni
from New Orleans, LA
"wallet/$ holder arrived quickly engraved correctly and is very nice. this is a gift that keeps on giving."
Review 12 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Quality Leather,
May 28, 2012
By: SMHW
"I like this but was disappointed that the monogram was not stamped straight into the leather"
Review 13 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not For Me,
April 19, 2012
By: Walker36
from Newcastle upon Tyne
"Wallet part OK but the money clip is a magnetic type and is only strong enough for a very small number of notes!"
Review 14 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Close, but no cigar....,
March 30, 2012
By: DH44
from Dallas, Texas
"I ordered this clip to replace an older, spring-clip version of the same clip purchased from Orvis. I must admit that I was apprehensive about the purchase after reading many of the reviews. Unfortunately, the reviews were spot-on. The magnetic clip is nearly useless unless you carry only a few folded bills at a time. It simply cannot hold as well as the spring clip. I would have much preferred a redesign of the previous clip whereby the end wouldn't wear through the leather instead of this clip. Additionally, the card compartment is looser than the original version, and cards slide out rather easily. I tried to avoid this by only adding 2 cards and a few business cards in hopes it would not stretch out, but the pocket is simply too loose. The other concern I have that time will tell is that the stitching along the edges is much too fine and will separate at the opening. It took more than 3 years to wear out the older version, I wish that it was still available."
Review 15 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice, but .....,
March 23, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Olathe, Kansas
"I bought my husband one of these 3 years ago, and decided it looked so bad that it needed replacing. Put my order in on 1/30/12, thinking I would have it in time for Valentine's day...nope, backordered. Didn't receive it until March 14th, and was disappointed to find that they have changed the design. It is still a very nice product, but I'm not sure, with the new design, how well it will hold up over time."
Review 16 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Product,
March 6, 2012
By: Hurley
from Baton Rouge, LA
"This is the best clip/cardholder I have ever owned. Soft leather, plenty of room for cards, and a good magnet in the clip. Couldn't be happier with my purchase."
Review 17 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A No-Go,
January 10, 2012
By: heynoni
from Central TX
"This money clip is well-made, and the leather is beautiful. However, the magnetic clip did not adequately hold a large number of bills. It's not practical for securely holding your money. Would prefer a standard fixed clip."
Review 18 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
he likes it,
January 3, 2012
By: alabamamimi
"I gave it to my son for Christmas. It got here on time with no problems. He likes the size and look. It is a lighter color than expected."
Review 19 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My Husband loved it...,
January 3, 2012
By: MissDee
from Ellicott City, MD
"This clip was a gift for my husband for Christmas...he wanted a clip but didn't tell me much more...so I went with this one so he could carry ID..Credit cards...the magnet clip for the money is nice...keeps his cash in place until he needs it to spend on me.... :)"
Review 20 for American Bison Money Clip
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good quality,
January 1, 2012
By: Haize
"Bought this for my husband so that he would have something to carry that he can just put some cash and a couple of cards in, instead of carrying his overloaded wallet. It works great and seems to be of great quality."