Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas

This hardwood pet gate expands to fit wider areas and doesn't require installation—move the free-standing dog gate from room to room, and adjust it to fit any doorway, hall, or other opening. Wrought-iron grille resisits scratches and keeps dogs out of dangerous areas in your home. Freestanding dog gates in two sizes. Small gate expands from 27" to 40" wide. Large gate expands from 40" to 70" wide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
36 of 40(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Review 1 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOP OF THE LINE DOGGIE GATE,
February 15, 2013
By: TIGERHEAVEN1
from GIRARD PA
"B/C I got 2 other store pet gates, at 2 different height 2 step over, a real hip work out-- i have a dog & cat and they need 2 be separated still for cat"s sake. b/c dog want 2 eat her food or play &chew the cat toys which can be dangerous for the dog. this LOWER STAND BT IT SELF DOG GATE IS A ( GOD SEND) , so-so much easier 2 step over off-on during the day for cat care, food, water, liter etc.! VERY HAPPY WITH THIS GATE."
Review 2 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best gate we've bought,
January 3, 2013
By: LionTheo
from Belchertown, MA
"Easy assembly. We use it for our house rabbit. It's just the right height for us to walk over, but our rabbit cant hop over. Also, it's pretty and matches our decor well. We love it."
Review 3 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome gate,
December 29, 2012
By: RayF
from Westchester New York
"The best portable and sturdy gate you can buy. Bought two and use them in seperate parts of the house. We have three dogs and sometimes keep them separated."
Review 4 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy customer,
December 29, 2012
By: 4Doxies
from colorado
"I recently purchased this dog gate on the advice of a friend who not only told me about Orvis but went out of his way to make sure I had a catalog. I had looked for a while to find a nice, extra wide gate but with no success. I went on the Orvis website and found exactly what I needed for my home.
I recently adopted three rescue dachsunds and I needed to keep them out of my formal living room and needed an extra large, attractive gate. This gate works perfectly and is quite attractive. I have received a number of compliments from my guests."
Review 5 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gate!,
November 23, 2012
By: jmarkisz
from Princeton Junction, NJ
"I purchased these gates after my mother in-law purchased one. I would highly recommend them. The gate was easy to put together with only a screw driver. I purchased two of the small gates and one large gate to keep our little dogs contained in our tiled kitchen. I especially like the stained wood and steel construction. Also, since the dogs can see through the gates, they are fine with staying behind them. Good ahead and make the purchase you won't be sorry."
Review 6 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than the picture,
August 21, 2012
By: EDavidB
from San Antonio, Texas
"I have been looking for a free-standinis pet gate for a long time. I have been searching for a product that looks like it was build as a part of my house, rather than an add-on tacking baby-gate. This product totally delievers! The wood finish that I chose matches totally with my woodwork and blends in to the furnishings and does not look like an obstacle but an enhancement. All three dogs respect it and it is easy for me to step over when I am about the house taking care of chores.
I have always trusted Orvis, and once again they more than deliever!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gate,
June 21, 2012
By: Cavaliermom2
from Falls Church, VA
"I originally purchased a zig zag gate to keep my dog in the kitchen/family room, and although it took him a year, he finally figured out how to open it. I was thinking I was going to have get baby gates and drill holes in the walls (which I did not want to do since my kids had finally gotten old enough for us to take down the gates and repair the walls) when I saw this product. It is amazing! Fits my space perfectly without any drilling and keeps my dog where I want him. The gate is also low enough for my kids to walk over and my elderely cats to hurdle, but high enough for my 12 pound Cavalier to be unable to clear. Not sure how it would be for a bigger dog, but it it just right for us! It is also very well made, and from the amount of time it took my husband, easy to assemble. Very very pleased. Thank you Orvis!!"
Review 8 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Decorative Pet Fence,
June 20, 2012
By: jinkeough
"If you need something pretty that can be moved easily if necessary, this is a great idea. Easy to set up, easy to move and won't harm the walls. Not very tall, so if you have a jumper, it won't work."
Review 9 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stand alone gate,
April 19, 2012
By: Xeni
from Lancaster, PA
"A well-made, sturdy, and easy to assemble gate that will not fall over. I find no fault with the product, but with Orvis' incomplete description of the 20" high gate.I have a 30 lb. dog, 24" high at the shoulder. On the factory box the manufacturer advises 'not for dogs over 17 lbs', and then lists the small breeds for which this 20" high gate is appropriate. Unfortunately Orvis does not mention this information in their description of the gate. The same company makes a 27" high gate, too bad Orvis does not carry it as well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this gate,
March 20, 2012
By: GaGal
from VA
"It went together very easily and provides a solid gate that my Jacks can't get around or jump over. Looks so much better than the ones that look like baby gates!"
Review 11 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great for corgis,
February 11, 2012
By: Corgi3Lover
from Dallas, Texas
"I have the wider gate for up to 70 inches. It easily contains my three determined corgis.
At another location I have a three-fold gate and they get around it in a flash. I am about to dispose of the three -fold and get the even wider version of this with a gate for the second location.
The corgis can't jump over the 20 inch height and they can't get around the ends. The ends could be weighted if you have a very determined dog.
One of my corgis is nicknamed Houdini and she hasn't got around this gate yet! She's out of the three-fold in seconds-even with weights tied to the ends.
This gate is not quickly adjustable - better for installations that will be constant. It does take some assembly.
Great in that people can step over it.
Highly recommended!"
Review 12 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
February 11, 2012
By: Britt2
from Marietta, GA
"This product looks very nice in our home and I don't feel the need to put it away when we come home in the afternoon. We have two walkways to our family room. so the large gate stays in place all of the time and the smaller gate is the one we move to pass through when we are home. This particular design worked better for us than the zig- zag design because one of our Brittney's was able to move the gate easily with her nose due to the ease of the hinges folding."
Review 13 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not enough information,
January 6, 2012
By: FoxKit
"We got the small gate. When we received it there was a warning not to use it for a dog over a certain weight, which wasn't on the website. Had I seen that before, I wouldn't have ordered it. Also, it says that it extends, but it doesn't slide. Once you put the screws in, the width is fixed until you unscrew it and put them in a different hole, which is fine if you are only using the gate in one location."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gate,
January 4, 2012
By: petperson3
from Concord, MA
"The gate works great for us. Keeps the dog out, is very flexible and easy for us to adjust and to step over. Plus, it looks good in our dining room!"
Review 15 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for keeping the dog away,
December 31, 2011
By: christieb
from volo, il
"I originally bought this gate for my new house that I havent moved into yet so for now I use this gate around the cats litter box and cat food and the dog can't get into either anymore. It is so easy to move when I need to get in there to clean the litter box. It works out perfect and I love the way it looks."
Review 16 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Gate!,
December 29, 2011
By: Overstreet
from Kentucky
"This gate works very well in keeping our 7-month old yellow Lab puppy out of the dining room. It is very sturdy but easy for us to step over when necessary and move out of the way when not needed or to another room. We love it!
Thanks, Orvis!!
"
Review 17 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elegant and sturdy...,
December 29, 2011
By: Ocean0117
"This exceeded our expectations & we receive compliments on it regularly."
Review 18 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 16, 2011
By: janski
"The gate is awesome! It was easy to put together and keeps our dog out of the area we are trying to protect.
Thanks Orvis."
Review 19 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made well and looks nice,
September 29, 2011
By: draw
from Kenton,Ohio
"You can adjust this gate to many sizes and you don't even need to fasten the two pices together if you want to be able to slide it back and forth, as I do. I like it a lot and it keeps the dogs from the cat food. It looks good in my hall way. draw"
Review 20 for Stand-Alone Dog Gate for Wide Areas
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Go for the zig zag wood gates,
May 1, 2011
By: Lawyerdogsoccermom
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This was not a good option. First, assembly is a pain. Second, the small is really small. Third, my dogs just pushed in the end pieces and walked right by. Fourth, "wide area" is not so wide. The Orvis wood zig zag gate is far superior. The four panel covers a much larger area, it looks better, is sturdier and no assembly."