Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Thornproof Dressing

Keep your Barbour waxed gear waterproof and strong with this Barbour jacket accessory. Thornproof dressing is the exact formula used by Barbour to waterproof jackets in its factories. Easy to apply, simply use it on areas that are getting the most wear, or re-dress an entire jacket. Full details and instructions are printed on the can. One 200ml. tin is enough to completely treat one full-length coat or two jackets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
59 of 60(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Review 1 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
October 15, 2014
By: Rich21
from St. Matthews, SC
"Waxed a jacket and half of another plus my wife's hat. Knew it was good stuff when state police officers said my Beaufort was keeping me drier than state-issued rain gear. Recommended for Barbour outer wear."
Review 2 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value, Super Simple,
October 4, 2014
By: TheMidwestFarmersDaughter
"Great stuff - my jacket looks brand-new, and it was very, very simple.
Just a note, in case it's helpful for anyone else: It took 3/4 of a can to reproof my size 6 Beadnell + hood. The folks I talked to at the Orvis store were insistent that it would take 2 cans, and it might on a larger men's jacket - but not mine. Ladies, just one can will do - even for a jacket that's heavily used and hasn't been reproofed for 2 years (like mine!). Incredible value!"
Review 3 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
September 30, 2014
By: mlaurier
from Montreal, QC
"This stuff is great if you want to reproof your waxed cotton jacket by yourself. There is no need to send it to the Barbour facility to have it done. It is way cheaper this way and gives you the same result! It is a job that is pretty hard to mess up.
I have an XL Barbour jacket so I was worried about not having enough wax to cover the whole surface, but one of these cans was more than enough!
"
Review 4 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 30, 2014
By: dedbt
from Windsor Can Ont
"Great product Orvis seems to be the only way to get Barbour wax from UK"
Review 5 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect! Take your time though,
September 26, 2014
By: JimZip
from Des Moines, IA
"Used this to reproof my 13 year old Solway. Looks like new! Found it easiest to work in with a hairdryer from the start. I was doing the entire jacket and process took about 2~3 hours - mainly to make sure all seams, folds & flaps were covered. Very happy!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
September 25, 2014
By: gunnabreagha
from Glasgow
"A really excellent product. It transformed an old Barbour jacket which was so dry it was almost suede, into a jacket you would swear was new. I found the instructions very easy to follow and the tip about finishing with a hairdryer was genius! I was so delighted with the results achieved, I ordered a new Barbour lapel badge to finish the look!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product for Weather Proofing Hunting Gear,
September 18, 2014
By: Cart02
from British Columbia
"This product was easy to use and made a 20 year old Barbour coat look brand new!!!! I highly recommend this product!!!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple,
September 16, 2014
By: ECUDREW
from Greenville, NC
"I ordered this product and recieved it within 5 days. I've always been very interested in doing things myself so it made sense for me to rewax my own barbour as opposed to sending it off. It was quite simple and it turned out to be a rich and rewarding experience. My beaufort looks perfect now. There is plenty of wax in the tin. I rewaxed my entire coat plus my hood and I still have a little bit left over.
Will always come back to do business with Orvis."
Review 9 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right product,
August 22, 2014
By: youneverknow
"If you want to rewax your Barbour jacket at home, this is the right stuff. Allow plenty of time. Working outside on a warm sunny day helps."
Review 10 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Thornproof Dressing,
August 21, 2014
By: ChaHW
from Ohio
"Melted down nicely and was easy to work into my Border. Didn't notice any of the unpleasant odor a lot of people mentioned of the wax."
Review 11 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy Application - Great Look,
July 30, 2014
By: Jpdrake
"I re-waxed a hat that I had, and I think that it looks better than when I bought it. This was easy to use, no odor, easy to manage and clean up. Highly recommend this."
Review 12 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another high quality product from Barbour,
June 18, 2014
By: Hopper1
"Barbour Thornproof dressing is awesome.This is the first time Ive ever rewaxed my jacket.This dressing is very easy to apply.A hair dryer works great to blend in light or dark areas when your finished.Highly Recommended"
Review 13 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service,
June 3, 2014
By: FrozenTex
from Yellowknife, NT
"The product is exactly what I expected it to be, and furthermore, the service and support I received from Orvis was excellent. Thanks, folks!"
Review 14 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renewed my coat,
May 2, 2014
By: CAPoutdoors
"I just used the Barbour Thornproof Dressing to reproof my oilskin hat and coat. I am impressed with the results -- they look like new. I also appreciate that this wax doesn't have a strange smell like some other waxes. One tin was enough to cover my coat and hat. My only frustration was that the melted wax kept solidifying so I wish I could have waited until a hot day or had a much warmer room to work in. Otherwise I am very happy."
Review 15 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thornproof Dressing is Great,
March 23, 2014
By: ed1232
from Williamston, SC
"The dressing went on the jacket and hood without difficulty. I am enjoying how the worn spots disappeared on the jacket."
Review 16 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
February 24, 2014
By: stalexander
from San Antonio, TX
"Only place to get it, or Barbour jackets for that matter."
Review 17 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, jacket looks great,
February 11, 2014
By: BostonsBoy
from Boston, MA
"This wax takes a while to ruin into the entire jacket material but leaves the jacket looking brand new. Only used a third of the can do I have plenty left when my jacket needs another reproofing. Highly recommend."
Review 18 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thorn proof Barbour wax,
January 9, 2014
By: Lummocks
from Ontario canada
"I'm British.and had Barbour products since I was young.im 67 now and still very satisfied with there products.ive tried the rest but always cake back.there's a saying you pay for for good merchandise.and that's what you get from this company.there down to earth. Honest. And reliable"
Review 19 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It brings my Barbour jacket back to life.,
January 3, 2014
By: Sandokan
from West Virginia
"I have used the thornproof dressing a couple of times now and it just gives the jacket a new life. The task is a little messy by itself, but it is well worth it. I apply the dressing with both a brush and a sponge. After letting it dry in a warm room I touch it up with a hair dryer and that does it. Ready for another season. Expect to use a full can each time for good results."
Review 20 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff!,
December 22, 2013
By: RKJr
from Madeira, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a 15 year old waxed cotton hat that had lost its shape and ability to shed water... 10 minutes with a hair dryer and a few fingers full of Barbour Wax Thornproof dressing and it looks almost new!"