Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Thornproof Dressing

Keep your Barbour waxed gear waterproof and strong with this Barbour jacket accessory. Thornproof dressing is the exact formula used by Barbour to waterproof jackets in its factories. Easy to apply, simply use it on areas that are getting the most wear, or re-dress an entire jacket. Full details and instructions are printed on the can. One 200ml. tin is enough to completely treat one full-length coat or two jackets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.789 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
70 of 71(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Review 1 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Useful,
March 23, 2015
By: ErinC
from San Francisco, CA
"A must-have for maintaining your Barbour waxed-cotton jacket, this stuff is great for little touch ups where the waxing is coming off or where the jacket needs spot cleaning."
Review 2 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
March 4, 2015
By: bk413
"My Barbour jacket need reproofing. Went online to Orvis and order Thornproof dressing. Great product and my jacket looks brand new."
Review 3 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says...,
February 10, 2015
By: Piedmont2Bayou
from Virginia
"The product is fantastic, my application skills are another matter all together."
Review 4 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
January 2, 2015
By: Vigo13
"Great product and very simple to apply. My Barbour hat looks new again!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works,
December 21, 2014
By: Walter13
from Claremont,CA
"Best thing about this product is that it does work.Patience is the key when applying to a jacket. Customer srvice directions were helpful."
Review 6 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great stuff, but small can,
December 18, 2014
By: AFPMELguy
"if you are refinishing a coat this may be enough but if you are doing a previously un-proofed coat you will need 2 of these. otherwise it's good. The picture used to display the product on line makes it seem like it's a large container and it's not."
Review 7 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wax,
December 17, 2014
By: Bevski333
from New York
"I really love this wax it is very easy to use and apply to your Barbour Coat. WOW what a difference after you complete the the process."
Review 8 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dressing,
December 15, 2014
By: Hungerforce7
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Great stuff. Really gets the job done. My jacket is close to 30 years old and was my grandfather's. It still shines."
Review 9 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waterproff Dressing,
November 11, 2014
By: BobH1951
from West Bath, ME
"Wonderfully restored an old waxed jacket I came across. Gave it a great new look!
Easy to apply, just take your time and do a thorough job.
"
Review 10 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
November 7, 2014
By: RileyStewart
"You can send your Barbour in for re-proofing, but if you're like most people, you probably forget until this time of year, when you need it, and realize you haven't reproofed your jacket in 2 years. Simple solution, buy a tin and do it yourself. It's not a snap to do properly, but it's well-within the realm of doable. It's also a one-day turn-around when you do it yourself. I use about a half-tin (little bit more) each time I was my Bedale, so just keep a can on retainer and don't let the weather keep you indoors this Winter."
Review 11 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
October 15, 2014
By: Rich21
from St. Matthews, SC
"Waxed a jacket and half of another plus my wife's hat. Knew it was good stuff when state police officers said my Beaufort was keeping me drier than state-issued rain gear. Recommended for Barbour outer wear."
Review 12 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value, Super Simple,
October 4, 2014
By: TheMidwestFarmersDaughter
"Great stuff - my jacket looks brand-new, and it was very, very simple.
Just a note, in case it's helpful for anyone else: It took 3/4 of a can to reproof my size 6 Beadnell + hood. The folks I talked to at the Orvis store were insistent that it would take 2 cans, and it might on a larger men's jacket - but not mine. Ladies, just one can will do - even for a jacket that's heavily used and hasn't been reproofed for 2 years (like mine!). Incredible value!"
Review 13 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
September 30, 2014
By: mlaurier
from Montreal, QC
"This stuff is great if you want to reproof your waxed cotton jacket by yourself. There is no need to send it to the Barbour facility to have it done. It is way cheaper this way and gives you the same result! It is a job that is pretty hard to mess up.
I have an XL Barbour jacket so I was worried about not having enough wax to cover the whole surface, but one of these cans was more than enough!
"
Review 14 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 30, 2014
By: dedbt
from Windsor Can Ont
"Great product Orvis seems to be the only way to get Barbour wax from UK"
Review 15 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect! Take your time though,
September 26, 2014
By: JimZip
from Des Moines, IA
"Used this to reproof my 13 year old Solway. Looks like new! Found it easiest to work in with a hairdryer from the start. I was doing the entire jacket and process took about 2~3 hours - mainly to make sure all seams, folds & flaps were covered. Very happy!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says on the tin!,
September 25, 2014
By: gunnabreagha
from Glasgow
"A really excellent product. It transformed an old Barbour jacket which was so dry it was almost suede, into a jacket you would swear was new. I found the instructions very easy to follow and the tip about finishing with a hairdryer was genius! I was so delighted with the results achieved, I ordered a new Barbour lapel badge to finish the look!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product for Weather Proofing Hunting Gear,
September 18, 2014
By: Cart02
from British Columbia
"This product was easy to use and made a 20 year old Barbour coat look brand new!!!! I highly recommend this product!!!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple,
September 16, 2014
By: ECUDREW
from Greenville, NC
"I ordered this product and recieved it within 5 days. I've always been very interested in doing things myself so it made sense for me to rewax my own barbour as opposed to sending it off. It was quite simple and it turned out to be a rich and rewarding experience. My beaufort looks perfect now. There is plenty of wax in the tin. I rewaxed my entire coat plus my hood and I still have a little bit left over.
Will always come back to do business with Orvis."
Review 19 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right product,
August 22, 2014
By: youneverknow
"If you want to rewax your Barbour jacket at home, this is the right stuff. Allow plenty of time. Working outside on a warm sunny day helps."
Review 20 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Thornproof Dressing,
August 21, 2014
By: ChaHW
from Ohio
"Melted down nicely and was easy to work into my Border. Didn't notice any of the unpleasant odor a lot of people mentioned of the wax."