Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Thornproof Dressing

Keep your Barbour waxed gear waterproof and strong with this Barbour jacket accessory. Thornproof dressing is the exact formula used by Barbour to waterproof jackets in its factories. Easy to apply, simply use it on areas that are getting the most wear, or re-dress an entire jacket. Full details and instructions are printed on the can. One 200ml. tin is enough to completely treat one full-length coat or two jackets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
47 of 48(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Review 1 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another high quality product from Barbour,
June 18, 2014
By: Hopper1
"Barbour Thornproof dressing is awesome.This is the first time Ive ever rewaxed my jacket.This dressing is very easy to apply.A hair dryer works great to blend in light or dark areas when your finished.Highly Recommended"
Review 2 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Service,
June 3, 2014
By: FrozenTex
from Yellowknife, NT
"The product is exactly what I expected it to be, and furthermore, the service and support I received from Orvis was excellent. Thanks, folks!"
Review 3 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Renewed my coat,
May 2, 2014
By: CAPoutdoors
"I just used the Barbour Thornproof Dressing to reproof my oilskin hat and coat. I am impressed with the results -- they look like new. I also appreciate that this wax doesn't have a strange smell like some other waxes. One tin was enough to cover my coat and hat. My only frustration was that the melted wax kept solidifying so I wish I could have waited until a hot day or had a much warmer room to work in. Otherwise I am very happy."
Review 4 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thornproof Dressing is Great,
March 23, 2014
By: ed1232
from Williamston, SC
"The dressing went on the jacket and hood without difficulty. I am enjoying how the worn spots disappeared on the jacket."
Review 5 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
February 24, 2014
By: stalexander
from San Antonio, TX
"Only place to get it, or Barbour jackets for that matter."
Review 6 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, jacket looks great,
February 11, 2014
By: BostonsBoy
from Boston, MA
"This wax takes a while to ruin into the entire jacket material but leaves the jacket looking brand new. Only used a third of the can do I have plenty left when my jacket needs another reproofing. Highly recommend."
Review 7 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thorn proof Barbour wax,
January 9, 2014
By: Lummocks
from Ontario canada
"I'm British.and had Barbour products since I was young.im 67 now and still very satisfied with there products.ive tried the rest but always cake back.there's a saying you pay for for good merchandise.and that's what you get from this company.there down to earth. Honest. And reliable"
Review 8 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It brings my Barbour jacket back to life.,
January 3, 2014
By: Sandokan
from West Virginia
"I have used the thornproof dressing a couple of times now and it just gives the jacket a new life. The task is a little messy by itself, but it is well worth it. I apply the dressing with both a brush and a sponge. After letting it dry in a warm room I touch it up with a hair dryer and that does it. Ready for another season. Expect to use a full can each time for good results."
Review 9 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff!,
December 22, 2013
By: RKJr
from Madeira, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a 15 year old waxed cotton hat that had lost its shape and ability to shed water... 10 minutes with a hair dryer and a few fingers full of Barbour Wax Thornproof dressing and it looks almost new!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 7, 2013
By: Taipan77
from Norman,Ok
"Received exactly what I thought I was getting and in a very timely fashion."
Review 11 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Effective,
October 25, 2013
By: FormerFlatlander
from Boulder, CO
"I was a bit apprehensive about reproofing my Barbour Beaufort by myself, but the cost of having it done by Barbour convinced me to give it a try. Barbour's Thornproof dressing was surprisingly easy to use (just heat, wipe on, and allow to dry). I used almost the entire can on my Beaufort, but it really needed a full treatment as I had let it go too long. I will definitely be doing this again and it has me convinced in the value of buying a quality waxed cloth jacket like Barbour."
Review 12 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Barbour Dressing,
September 28, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I used thornproof dressing on my UK-made Barbour A817 drivers cap with good results. A couple of tips… Make sure the garment is clean, dry and warm (a hair dryer works well). Heat the dressing. Take your time and use small amounts of dressing to build up a layer and avoid an overly thick application."
Review 13 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Manageable,
August 25, 2013
By: Sysygy
from Massachusetts
"I bought a can today in store. Pretty warm outside in Massachusetts August weather. I heated the can in boiling water and melted it into a clear liquid. I wore rubber gloves and begin to apply it to my Barbour Waxed hat. It wasn't too fun at first but then I got the hang of it and it wasn't too bad. I also did my waxed Barbour hood. I did not do my jacket yet because it does not need it, but I am pretty confident about doing it in the future. I touched up a few thick spots with a hair dryer. They are both drying now and look pretty good. The can I purchased looks different than the can in the product photograph."
Review 14 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job,
April 9, 2013
By: dryfly14
"This product will revitalize your Barbour coat as advertised. I found it works best if you warm the coat first with a hair dryer to get it nice and warm, then use the hairdryer continously as you apply it."
Review 15 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product by a great brand!,
April 1, 2013
By: greatwhite1
"Easy to use, time consuming though, but your Barbour comes back to life! Well worth the effort."
Review 16 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Thornproof Dressing,
March 12, 2013
By: Vidas
from Nashville,Tennessee
"This product is the same great quality that one would from Orvis. It was fairly easy to apply and the results were great. It restored my Beaufort Jacket to its original finish. If you have nice clothes, you might as well take care of them."
Review 17 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the right size,
February 27, 2013
By: jeff2201
from lafayette, in
"just the right size to recondition my large-ish Northumbria after a decade of neglect. The process is easy - just keep the wax warm (and I used rubber gloves to avoid the waxy hand sensation!) and expect to spend a lot of time with the hair dryer/heat gun to encourage the coat to absorb all the wax. pay special attention to the seams!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellant product buit application pad would help,
February 25, 2013
By: aspaceman
"Barbour wax is superb and appro[priately treats and proofs their out door gear. Adding an application pad would be the only addition I'd suggest which would aid in it's use and make it more user friendly."
Review 19 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thornproof Dressing,
February 4, 2013
By: hupomone
from Bellevue WA
"Excellent to re-invigorate your Barbour! We use it every couple of years to keep the coats waterproof. Very easy to use!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Like NEW ",
February 4, 2013
By: hers
from N. Calif'
"I just received the Barbour Thornproof Dressing, and could'nt wait to apply to my Coat... purchased in 1988!. If my memory serves me correctly, this will be the
3rd time I've made this application over the life of this coat, and it looks brand new... just beautiful!
I wanted to do a great job this time, as I will pass this coat down to 1 of my Grandson's, so it needs to look pretty cool [ & resist the elements ]... mission accomplished.
Read the reviews, as I took the advice of a gent who said, " heat the tin of product in very hot water, and ready the coat w/a hair-dryer on low, for max bonding"... process works beautifully.
Orvis... good stuff, that lasts!"