Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Thornproof Dressing

Keep your Barbour waxed gear waterproof and strong with this Barbour jacket accessory. Thornproof dressing is the exact formula used by Barbour to waterproof jackets in its factories. Easy to apply, simply use it on areas that are getting the most wear, or re-dress an entire jacket. Full details and instructions are printed on the can. One 200ml. tin is enough to completely treat one full-length coat or two jackets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
75 of 76(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Review 1 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your Gonna need it,
July 11, 2015
By: Straygator
from Florida
"You might as well get it over with and buy it ! The best time to reproof your Barbour is in the hot summer sun. Just follow the directions and your Barbour will look good as new. Your hands will be a bit softer and waterproof as well."
Review 2 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I needed,
April 27, 2015
By: Projas5e
from Bronx, N.Y,
"My coat was looking a little sad and was going to need reproofing soon. I do not have the patience to send my cost of to N.H. So I decided to do it myself. It is time consuming but a better use of my time that going to the post office. I followed the instructions and was able to spruce up my jacket."
Review 3 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product & easy to apply,
April 24, 2015
By: HorshamMan
from Horsham, West Sussex
"I recently purchased a new Barbour Sapper jacket to replace my seven year old Sapper jacket which was much loved but looking rather old. Then decided to purchase on-line a tin of Thornproof wax to re-proof the old jacket. It arrived within two days. The re-proofing process was very straightforward and completed successfully. My old faithful now looks and feels like new. There was sufficient wax to also re-proof my wife's Barbour jacket. Excellent product."
Review 4 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a Barbour Product; enough said.,
April 14, 2015
By: Kfreeburg
from Buffalo, NY
"I am a wildlife photographer and I own several Barbour jackets and each season--depending on their use -- I redress them. Generally 1 canister is sufficient if you apply correctly. This dressing has kept my jackets the same as they left the factory: perfect.
This dressing allow my jackets to avoid being ripped and torn by thorns, and keeps me waterproof and dry during those rainy and cold days.
Great product for great jackets."
Review 5 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reproofing a jacket,
April 1, 2015
By: ToniaA
from Flagstaff, AZ
"My husband's Barbour jacket needed reproofing for the first time and as this was a DIY job we followed the tips from a couple of videos on youtube. The wax was ordered online and arrived promptly. It was easier than we thought and the jacket is now ready for the summer monsoon!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Useful,
March 23, 2015
By: ErinC
from San Francisco, CA
"A must-have for maintaining your Barbour waxed-cotton jacket, this stuff is great for little touch ups where the waxing is coming off or where the jacket needs spot cleaning."
Review 7 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use,
March 4, 2015
By: bk413
"My Barbour jacket need reproofing. Went online to Orvis and order Thornproof dressing. Great product and my jacket looks brand new."
Review 8 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says...,
February 10, 2015
By: Piedmont2Bayou
from Virginia
"The product is fantastic, my application skills are another matter all together."
Review 9 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
January 2, 2015
By: Vigo13
"Great product and very simple to apply. My Barbour hat looks new again!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It works,
December 21, 2014
By: Walter13
from Claremont,CA
"Best thing about this product is that it does work.Patience is the key when applying to a jacket. Customer srvice directions were helpful."
Review 11 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great stuff, but small can,
December 18, 2014
By: AFPMELguy
"if you are refinishing a coat this may be enough but if you are doing a previously un-proofed coat you will need 2 of these. otherwise it's good. The picture used to display the product on line makes it seem like it's a large container and it's not."
Review 12 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wax,
December 17, 2014
By: Bevski333
from New York
"I really love this wax it is very easy to use and apply to your Barbour Coat. WOW what a difference after you complete the the process."
Review 13 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dressing,
December 15, 2014
By: Hungerforce7
from Pittsburgh, PA
"Great stuff. Really gets the job done. My jacket is close to 30 years old and was my grandfather's. It still shines."
Review 14 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Waterproff Dressing,
November 11, 2014
By: BobH1951
from West Bath, ME
"Wonderfully restored an old waxed jacket I came across. Gave it a great new look!
Easy to apply, just take your time and do a thorough job.
"
Review 15 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff,
November 7, 2014
By: RileyStewart
"You can send your Barbour in for re-proofing, but if you're like most people, you probably forget until this time of year, when you need it, and realize you haven't reproofed your jacket in 2 years. Simple solution, buy a tin and do it yourself. It's not a snap to do properly, but it's well-within the realm of doable. It's also a one-day turn-around when you do it yourself. I use about a half-tin (little bit more) each time I was my Bedale, so just keep a can on retainer and don't let the weather keep you indoors this Winter."
Review 16 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff,
October 15, 2014
By: Rich21
from St. Matthews, SC
"Waxed a jacket and half of another plus my wife's hat. Knew it was good stuff when state police officers said my Beaufort was keeping me drier than state-issued rain gear. Recommended for Barbour outer wear."
Review 17 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value, Super Simple,
October 4, 2014
By: TheMidwestFarmersDaughter
"Great stuff - my jacket looks brand-new, and it was very, very simple.
Just a note, in case it's helpful for anyone else: It took 3/4 of a can to reproof my size 6 Beadnell + hood. The folks I talked to at the Orvis store were insistent that it would take 2 cans, and it might on a larger men's jacket - but not mine. Ladies, just one can will do - even for a jacket that's heavily used and hasn't been reproofed for 2 years (like mine!). Incredible value!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
September 30, 2014
By: mlaurier
from Montreal, QC
"This stuff is great if you want to reproof your waxed cotton jacket by yourself. There is no need to send it to the Barbour facility to have it done. It is way cheaper this way and gives you the same result! It is a job that is pretty hard to mess up.
I have an XL Barbour jacket so I was worried about not having enough wax to cover the whole surface, but one of these cans was more than enough!
"
Review 19 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
September 30, 2014
By: dedbt
from Windsor Can Ont
"Great product Orvis seems to be the only way to get Barbour wax from UK"
Review 20 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect! Take your time though,
September 26, 2014
By: JimZip
from Des Moines, IA
"Used this to reproof my 13 year old Solway. Looks like new! Found it easiest to work in with a hairdryer from the start. I was doing the entire jacket and process took about 2~3 hours - mainly to make sure all seams, folds & flaps were covered. Very happy!"