Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Thornproof Dressing

Keep your Barbour waxed gear waterproof and strong with this Barbour jacket accessory. Thornproof dressing is the exact formula used by Barbour to waterproof jackets in its factories. Easy to apply, simply use it on areas that are getting the most wear, or re-dress an entire jacket. Full details and instructions are printed on the can. One 200ml. tin is enough to completely treat one full-length coat or two jackets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
44 of 45(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Review 1 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thornproof Dressing is Great,
March 23, 2014
By: ed1232
from Williamston, SC
"The dressing went on the jacket and hood without difficulty. I am enjoying how the worn spots disappeared on the jacket."
Review 2 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
February 24, 2014
By: stalexander
from San Antonio, TX
"Only place to get it, or Barbour jackets for that matter."
Review 3 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product, jacket looks great,
February 11, 2014
By: BostonsBoy
from Boston, MA
"This wax takes a while to ruin into the entire jacket material but leaves the jacket looking brand new. Only used a third of the can do I have plenty left when my jacket needs another reproofing. Highly recommend."
Review 4 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thorn proof Barbour wax,
January 9, 2014
By: Lummocks
from Ontario canada
"I'm British.and had Barbour products since I was young.im 67 now and still very satisfied with there products.ive tried the rest but always cake back.there's a saying you pay for for good merchandise.and that's what you get from this company.there down to earth. Honest. And reliable"
Review 5 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It brings my Barbour jacket back to life.,
January 3, 2014
By: Sandokan
from West Virginia
"I have used the thornproof dressing a couple of times now and it just gives the jacket a new life. The task is a little messy by itself, but it is well worth it. I apply the dressing with both a brush and a sponge. After letting it dry in a warm room I touch it up with a hair dryer and that does it. Ready for another season. Expect to use a full can each time for good results."
Review 6 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Stuff!,
December 22, 2013
By: RKJr
from Madeira, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a 15 year old waxed cotton hat that had lost its shape and ability to shed water... 10 minutes with a hair dryer and a few fingers full of Barbour Wax Thornproof dressing and it looks almost new!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
December 7, 2013
By: Taipan77
from Norman,Ok
"Received exactly what I thought I was getting and in a very timely fashion."
Review 8 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple and Effective,
October 25, 2013
By: FormerFlatlander
from Boulder, CO
"I was a bit apprehensive about reproofing my Barbour Beaufort by myself, but the cost of having it done by Barbour convinced me to give it a try. Barbour's Thornproof dressing was surprisingly easy to use (just heat, wipe on, and allow to dry). I used almost the entire can on my Beaufort, but it really needed a full treatment as I had let it go too long. I will definitely be doing this again and it has me convinced in the value of buying a quality waxed cloth jacket like Barbour."
Review 9 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Barbour Dressing,
September 28, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I used thornproof dressing on my UK-made Barbour A817 drivers cap with good results. A couple of tips… Make sure the garment is clean, dry and warm (a hair dryer works well). Heat the dressing. Take your time and use small amounts of dressing to build up a layer and avoid an overly thick application."
Review 10 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Manageable,
August 25, 2013
By: Sysygy
from Massachusetts
"I bought a can today in store. Pretty warm outside in Massachusetts August weather. I heated the can in boiling water and melted it into a clear liquid. I wore rubber gloves and begin to apply it to my Barbour Waxed hat. It wasn't too fun at first but then I got the hang of it and it wasn't too bad. I also did my waxed Barbour hood. I did not do my jacket yet because it does not need it, but I am pretty confident about doing it in the future. I touched up a few thick spots with a hair dryer. They are both drying now and look pretty good. The can I purchased looks different than the can in the product photograph."
Review 11 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Does the job,
April 9, 2013
By: dryfly14
"This product will revitalize your Barbour coat as advertised. I found it works best if you warm the coat first with a hair dryer to get it nice and warm, then use the hairdryer continously as you apply it."
Review 12 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product by a great brand!,
April 1, 2013
By: greatwhite1
"Easy to use, time consuming though, but your Barbour comes back to life! Well worth the effort."
Review 13 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Thornproof Dressing,
March 12, 2013
By: Vidas
from Nashville,Tennessee
"This product is the same great quality that one would from Orvis. It was fairly easy to apply and the results were great. It restored my Beaufort Jacket to its original finish. If you have nice clothes, you might as well take care of them."
Review 14 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just the right size,
February 27, 2013
By: jeff2201
from lafayette, in
"just the right size to recondition my large-ish Northumbria after a decade of neglect. The process is easy - just keep the wax warm (and I used rubber gloves to avoid the waxy hand sensation!) and expect to spend a lot of time with the hair dryer/heat gun to encourage the coat to absorb all the wax. pay special attention to the seams!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellant product buit application pad would help,
February 25, 2013
By: aspaceman
"Barbour wax is superb and appro[priately treats and proofs their out door gear. Adding an application pad would be the only addition I'd suggest which would aid in it's use and make it more user friendly."
Review 16 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thornproof Dressing,
February 4, 2013
By: hupomone
from Bellevue WA
"Excellent to re-invigorate your Barbour! We use it every couple of years to keep the coats waterproof. Very easy to use!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
" Like NEW ",
February 4, 2013
By: hers
from N. Calif'
"I just received the Barbour Thornproof Dressing, and could'nt wait to apply to my Coat... purchased in 1988!. If my memory serves me correctly, this will be the
3rd time I've made this application over the life of this coat, and it looks brand new... just beautiful!
I wanted to do a great job this time, as I will pass this coat down to 1 of my Grandson's, so it needs to look pretty cool [ & resist the elements ]... mission accomplished.
Read the reviews, as I took the advice of a gent who said, " heat the tin of product in very hot water, and ready the coat w/a hair-dryer on low, for max bonding"... process works beautifully.
Orvis... good stuff, that lasts!"
Review 18 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
November 27, 2012
By: Bubba2972
"This product works very well. Takes a few minutes to melt the wax and then you are off and running. Depending on the shape of your jacket the rewaxing might take a different amount of time. However, mine was in desperate need of a waxing and it only took about 40-45 minutes. I had to reheat the wax at one point. I would recommend this to any Barbour owner who wants to rewax themselves."
Review 19 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life Saver,
October 29, 2012
By: RAF3526
from Michigan
"This Barbour treatment has extended the life of my coat for more than ten years. An annual application has guaranteed the jacket to be waterproof and weather resistant. It is easy to apply and lasts an entire season . A Must for someone who wears their coat in inclement weather."
Review 20 for Barbour® Thornproof Dressing
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Necessity,
October 24, 2012
By: WickedSharp
from Vernal, Utah
"I live in the high desert, which is hard on oil cloth. I always have a tin of this around to treat my Barbour coats once a year."