Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Beaufort Jacket

Waterproof, wax-treated 100% cotton shell with snap-close throat and storm flaps for additional protection against the elements. Corduroy collar studded for an optional hood. Two front bellows pockets and two moleskin-lined handwarmer pockets. Snap-front storm flap conceals zip-up wallet pocket and a full-width rear game pocket with side zips. Underarm ventilation. Brass-finish, two-way metal zipper. Medium weight for all-around use. Fully lined with cotton tartan. Six exterior pockets. Pure cotton. Cold sponge, no soap. Imported.Even sizes: 34-52. 33" long in size 42. Classic fit. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (105 reviews)
5 stars
84
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
97 of 105(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not for everyone, but I like it,
March 10, 2014
By: Mali
from Seattle, WA
"Overall, beautifully made jacket. I love this addition to my wardrobe, but its not perfect.
1. Not super breathable, noticeable in Seattle, but may not be an issue outside of the rainforest.
2. A little heavy, so makes the neckline feel a little claustrophobic, but I'm kind of sensitive about things around my neck
3. Will send jacket in to have another inch added to the sleeves. Major improvement over most women's clothing, but I have REALLY long arms.
"
Review 2 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woinderful quality,
January 20, 2014
By: Momoftrapshooters
from Greenwich, CT
"The Barbour Beaufort jacket is a wonderful style and of the highest quality. It comes in a nice variety of colors and is a classic. It is, however, the longer style of the Barbour jackets and was a bit long on my boys. They ended up with the Bedale style and are very happy."
Review 3 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Quality Jacket,
January 20, 2014
By: EnglishGearHead
from Dallas, TX
"This jacket is very good quality. I am a home builder and quite often am meeting my workers in rainy conditions. The wax coating does a good job of keeping me dry. I would like to have a couple of additional interior pockets, but other wise this is a good choice for those wet days"
Review 4 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket,
January 16, 2014
By: Mamagigs
from SC
"This was a big hit with my husband! Even though we don't have much snow, we have cold rain, so this jacket is perfect!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not over rated,
January 16, 2014
By: tennesseetwin
"The Barbour jacket proved to live
up to its reputation. Great quality
of construction and good fit.
"
Review 6 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
daughter's dream,
January 15, 2014
By: yehaw
from No Little Rock, AR
"i bought the jacket last year but she wanted black and that was not available. it was this year and her fave gift by far. most excellent quality"
Review 7 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Barbour customer service - repairs,
January 12, 2014
By: Notabarbourfan
from Seattle WA
"Jacket is just fine overall. But a big problem with an immediate ripped cord sheath prompted emails to barbour cust. service in the US and England, where jacket was purchased to fix the problem. Not single bit of communication from either source. I don't recommend buying, because there is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE re: repairing Barbour"
Review 8 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort,
January 9, 2014
By: jbooth1966
from Alabama
"I've always wanted one of these jackets and it didnt' disappoint. I'm 5'10" and 195 lbs and ordered a 46 initially but it was a little big. Exchanged for a 44 and the fit is perfect. There's still plenty of room for a sweater or flleece vest underneath. Plenty warm, too, even without the liner. Orvis and UPS delivered it in a timely manner. Exchange was smooth, too. Thanks."
Review 9 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Purchase,
January 9, 2014
By: barbourqueen
"I really like the Barbour line and bought this for my husband for Christmas. He happen to buy one for me as a surprise! I've wanted this jacket for a long time...so everyone is happy!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Jacket Purchase,
January 6, 2014
By: SamN
from Atlanta, GA (Buckhead)
"Received great customer service without being obnoxious, which is hard to find. I always recieve this treatment at this Orvis in Atlanta."
Review 11 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mens Barbour jacaket,
January 1, 2014
By: Laurenaj
"The jacket arrived as promised on Christmas eve and fit my boyfriend very well and adds to his wonderful style. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 12 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever...,
December 30, 2013
By: TommyCreek
from Overland Park, Kansas
"This makes the 3rd Barbour jacket I have purchased from Orvis. The first was for me over 20 years ago. It is still going strong even though it has been through extreme use. This coat was for my wife and last year I purchased one for our daughter. Now I just have to get them for our sons. That alone should tell you they are the BEST EVER...."
Review 13 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice,
December 16, 2013
By: PatCCraig
from Saint Paul, MN
"I've wanted a Barbour jacket for quite a while, and just ordered one through Orvis. The jacket looks and fits great. Orvis customer service was helpful in ordering over the phone and the jacket arrived within a few days. I would recommend the jacket for someone looking for a more upscale equivalent to wearing a North Face shell around. It's waterproof and warm enough to get you through most chilly fall and spring days."
Review 14 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great experience,
November 8, 2013
By: MeccaGeronimo
from Northern Virginia
"I purchased this jacket as a replacement for my old Beaufort. I didn't wear it out, I finally outgrew it after 20 years!
I love This jacket for three reasons. Their workmanship is the highest quality- I haven't had a lick of problems with zippers, seams, or stitching unlike the other jackets I've owned. The service from Barbour and Orvis has been great, including rewaxing and alterations to spec. Finally, this is truly an all-endeavors garment, I've worn mine for everything from shooting to a hasty raincoat to cover a jacket and tie.
A few things to be aware of when buying a Beaufort. First, they are lined, but not insulated. They work great as a wind proof and waterproof but need a liner or layers underneath for the cold days. Second, size the jacket to your body and clothing. I'm long armed and broad shouldered, so the clerk at Orvis spent some extra time helping me ensure a good fit. Finally, the waxed cotton does have an "aroma" when new and can "sweat" a little in a hot car or drying room. It becomes much less of an issue after about 90 days of wear, and the jacket gets a nice appearance.
All in all, the Beaufort has been my favorite jacket for over 20 years!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket,
November 5, 2013
By: NeilFTM
from Salinas, CA
"A beautiful jacket, exactly as you would expect of Barbour. I was worried about sizing as it was online purchase, but the guys at Orvis helped me out and I took their advice, it fits perfectly.Shipping was very speedy too, well done Orvis and thank you."
Review 16 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
October 25, 2013
By: japantiger
from Austin
"This coat is a perfect fit. Bought first online and then went into the store to try one smaller size. Bought a size smaller than I normally would. No hassle on the store return. Another reason to shop Orvis. Great cut; fits broad shoulder; and then room in the seat for setting. My second Barbour coat."
Review 17 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Need Attention To Detail,
October 14, 2013
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
"I purchased this coat for a Fall upland bird hunt in my home state of Wyoming, where the weather changes frequently, most often for the worse. After receiving the Barbour Beaufort jacket and trying it on, noticed a gaping hole in the left hand-warmer pocket, clearly a manufacturing flaw. I contacted Orvis and they sent a replacement, telling me to wear the jaclet until I received the replacement. That aside, I love the jacket, as it is full of features and is highly functional, in the field and in town. It has: a two-way brass front zipper, a wallet pocket under the storm flap, good hand warmer pockets and a game pocket (really more of a map pocket) in back. I also purchased the hood and it is a great addition. Had it not been for the factory flaw, the jacket is 5 stars."
Review 18 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A classic for hunting,
October 12, 2013
By: Schatzman
from New Hampshire
"I know Barbour has fallen victim to providing for the fashionable and not the hunters, but this jacket still does what it was built to do. I am not sure why so many people that don't hunt purchase this version. The game pocket has held up over the past several years and can be washed out easily. I use the liner in the colder months up here in New Hampshire and it keeps me plenty warm. I have been wearing these since I was a small child. My parents would deck all 7 of us out in these every few years when we would go to London. I have been keeping the tradition up myself. As long as the jacket is reproofed every year, it will last a lifetime. Despite being down the street from the Barbour US headquarters, I prefer to rewax it myself. I can't recommend this jacket enough to hunters looking for a great jacket with a timeless look."
Review 19 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Beaufort Jacket: Rustic Brown,
September 17, 2013
By: NYCJC
from NYC
"Great jacket. I prefer the rustic brown to the traditional sage color and am looking forward to wearing it this winter!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Beaufort Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functionality,
August 25, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"Just a really nice jacket. I use it for work around the farm, can handle cool weather in the 50s, anything lower needs layers. Very satisfied with this coat."