Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Bedale Jacket

This is the gold standard of Barbour coats. Classic shorter length hunting, riding or shooting coat in medium weight 6-oz thornproof waxed cotton. Takes a zip-in liner. Corduroy collar studded to accept the optional hood. Two large bellows pockets on the front with handwarmer pockets. Two studded side vents in the back. Lined in Barbour tartan. 100% waxed cotton. Cold sponge. No soap. Imported.Barbour classic fit in sizes 32-52. About 32" long in size 42. See size chart for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
61 of 62(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent, .....,
November 12, 2014
By: JohnH98
from Alexandria, BAA
"This is my third Barbour coat. I reached for this model because it is shorter and was made with the Thornproof fabric which hopefully will wear better than the lighter fabric. It met my expectations. Knitted cuffs are new for me. I do feel that the fabric is not as heavy as my first Barbour from 20 years ago and would love not to have 'Barbour' stitched on the pocket."
Review 2 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome buy,
October 31, 2014
By: brownleewhite
"The jacket is killer. Navy is the way to go. Attention grabber but still a classic! Strong look and this jacket will last forever with if maintained properly. I recommend the Bedale if you want a shorter jacket. I'm 5'5" so the Bedale is a perfect option."
Review 3 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Definition of Practical,
September 25, 2014
By: Henryvillespecial
from Poconos
"My Bedale is just right: tailored fit; snap pockets just above my hips; intelligently located slash pockets that warm my hands; eagerly sheds chill and rain. Smart and good looking too."
Review 4 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase and experience,
September 18, 2014
By: matt1987
from Atlanta, GA
"Great coat. The service was outstanding. Great overall experience."
Review 5 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
August 12, 2014
By: polie
from Kalamazoo MI.
"Bought this jacket for my sons birthday and unwrapping it he was ecstatic and it fit perfectly. He said it was the best present ever."
Review 6 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for cold wet days,
June 29, 2014
By: Whipperin
"I foxhunt and is perfect gear for cold rainy days riding for hours.
Only fault I have is the sleeves are short. I'm 6'2"
"
Review 7 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
March 26, 2014
By: HTowntransplant
from Houston, TX
"I bought this Jacket for my husband as a birthday gift and he loves it! It's the perfect length, can be dresssed up or down, and worn with or without layers."
Review 8 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic quality jacket,
March 5, 2014
By: Joel420
"Beautiful jacket, very substantial. Runs large to allow layering. I bought a size 32 and it has room for a sweater underneath. Shipped promptly with standard shipping."
Review 9 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good to Great,
February 5, 2014
By: BadBrad2
from Roanoke VA
"This is a very well made jacket and very versatile. Two very minor complaints: the optional liner could extend part way into the sleeves to make putting on the coat easier and add more warmth. And the hood needs to attach better so it doesn't come off by mistake. I'm afraid I will lose it. Overall though a great coat!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful, classic jacket!,
February 3, 2014
By: Cen223
from Washington, DC
"I bought this for my husband and he absolutely loves it. I would say that it runs a little big. We had to return the original one I ordered and get a new one that was a size smaller. He looks phenomenal in it though! It's warm and very functional and just an all-around classic. Highly recommend!"
Review 11 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid Outdoor Jacket,
January 15, 2014
By: LGOrvis
"Can't go wrong with this classic jacket from Barbour.
Material quality is top notch.
Fit's very roomy in the chest for layering."
Review 12 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barbour Bedale,
January 9, 2014
By: jbooth1966
from Alabama
"Purchased this for my wife at Christmas. Beautiful jacket. My wife wears it everywhere. The jacket fits true to size. Didn't purchase the liner because we have mild winters. Ordered it a couple of days before Christmas and paid extra to have it delivered Next Day, I believe. Orvis and UPS got the order out on time and delivered on time. Couldn't be happier."
Review 13 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket,
December 25, 2013
By: ENH3
from Charlotte, NC
"Fantastic, high quality jacket. A gift for my son. He may decide to exchange for the Beaufort because its sleeves do not have the jersey cuffs. Anyway, a great investment !"
Review 14 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
December 21, 2013
By: hjmck
from Pittsburgh, PA
"I have a long Barbour Gamefair Coat that has been fantastic, but is a little to casual for all occasions. Wanted something I could wear with business casual clothing, and the Bedale is perfect. Same Barbour quality in a jacket that gives me a different option."
Review 15 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic,
December 17, 2013
By: APK3
from Richmond, va
"Barbour coat ordered for my daughter came in time for Christmas. Quality product and great service"
Review 16 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Barbour Jacket,
December 10, 2013
By: Toonkie
from Dallas, TX
"This is a classic country field jacket that I have admitred for many years. I've seen pictures of the Queen of England weaing this jacket while tending to her horses at her country estate.
My firends have owned their similar jacjets for years as they get better with age and I own other Barbour jacjets that I continue to enjoy years after the original purchase"
Review 17 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exactly as represented,
November 18, 2013
By: chandlerlaw
from McDonald, Tn.
"I have a small farm with horses, mules, goats, and chickens. This jacket is perfect for farm chores on cold, rainy mornings. Also, the back flap is great for horseback ridding."
Review 18 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic country coat,
October 21, 2013
By: Casper1000
from London, England
"The Bedale is the shortest cut classic-styled Barbour. Designed for horse-riding, but great for anybody that doesn't want to look too much like a farmer. Made in England for the worst English weather and really built to last."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my 2nd barbour jacket,
October 21, 2013
By: jack1949
from rockville md
"this is my 2nd jacket from them, the first one only lasted 20 years or so.
orvis as always has long lasting items for us.
orvis service is first rate.
"
Review 20 for Barbour® Bedale Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic is still the best,
October 17, 2013
By: NotTrendy
"This is not the latest, but it is still the best. One of the other reviewers noted the size issue. I too am 6'1" and I typically wear a 44. For this jacket, however, a 46 is needed."