Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod

This fly rod is travel-ready. The Frequent Flyer™ packs right into your backpack, saddlebag, even your briefcase. This fly rod is great to travel with as you can carry it onto any plane without worrying about your fly rod making it to your final fishing destination. Keep the fly rod right in your vehicle, out of the way, for quick getaways at lunch, or pack it into the backcountry far easier than even a four-piece rod. These seven-piece rods for fresh and salt water are the most affordable, high-quality, high-performance travel rods on the market today. Built to our exact taper design, component, and production specifications, every step of the overseas production is supervised by Orvis. Take a Flyer!
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grear purchase,
November 27, 2013
By: Flytyer1227
from Brooklyn, N.Y.
"Always wanted a rod to carry around with me this rod is perfect and the action is great and also the price is right this was agreat purchase"
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
have a 3wt added a 5wt,
October 7, 2013
By: fishermanw
from Cowpens, SC
"great action rods for so many pieces these are great for traveling especially backpacking, Get one and get some fish"
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Don't get it personalised....,
September 6, 2013
By: Anonymous
from London, UK
"Lovely rod, with a fantastic action, given that it's 7 pieces. However...the personalisation that I had added looks like it was done by a 5 year old. To be honest it looks classless and tacky, keep to just the plain rod!"
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Frequent Flyer,
August 22, 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased the Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8’6” 7-piece fly rod when Orvis first introduced these several years ago. I needed a rod to accompany me on frequent business trips across the country, where after work hours often allowed fly fishing. The rod certainly lives up to its billing as a travel companion, easily fitting into carry-on sized bags as small as a briefcase. Beyond its travel aplomb, the rod has also become a favorite for its casting ability. Orvis has truly accomplished something remarkable with a multi-ferrule rod, in that its casting performance is nearly indistinguishable from conventional two- and four-piece rods. I have used several reel and line set-ups with this rod; I have most often paired it with an older spruce green CFO III Disc reel and a Gen III Superfine WF5F line. With this set-up the rod’s casting performance has been outstanding on waters ranging from small western mountain streams to big eastern lakes. This is a fantastic rod of quality construction that has delivered casting performance and travel ability well beyond its price point. Worth your serious consideration if you need such a fly rod."
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Pack/Travel Rod,
August 6, 2013
By: TroutHunter1
"This is a wonderful Travel/Pack Rod. It fits easily into one's carry-on luggage or packed in checked luggage.
Used it on a recent trip to Montana and it preformed wonderfully and landed many a fish on the Gallatin and Gibbon Rivers.
"
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
That rod made my day,
January 27, 2013
By: castinginstructor
"As a German flyfishing instructor I own and use several rods.
I bought the Orvis Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod for travelling without having the need to check-in big rodcases at airports. I enjoy the rod over the years. It always does a good job and managed to catch good fishes.
Last year I´d had some flycasting instruction for one weekend. It was for advanced paticipants not for beginners. During that kind of instructions the rods get used through their paces. Usually I like to use my favourite rod which I take for fishing my home rivers. The first day was done and when driving home from the water (about 35 miles over motorways and through cities) the clutch of my car was broken. The next day I would have to arrive at the riverbank to continue the instruction due to the contract, but my car was out of order. So I thought about my motorcycle and the Orvis frequent flyer rod. In one of the motorcycles saddle bags I stowed away my waders and wading jacket, in the other the Frequent flyer rod with reel and bag for intruction-utilities. For making a long story short. The rod did a wonderful job, precisely service with short casts and smooth fly-presentation but also when casting hard with powerful double-hauls and casting a long line. That's how the instruction was a good success and the rod made my day. It was a wonderful combination of riding the motorcycle and fishing. Now I plan a holiday with the bike and the Orvis rod, a combined biking-and-fishing-holyday.
"
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My constant companion,
January 5, 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"The #5wt Frequent Flyer is perfect for my weekends away and holidays, fitting easily in my rucksack or suitcase.
It casts beautifully and has caught me wild brownies on beautiful streams in France and rainbows up to 5lb 6oz on Grafham reservoir.
Btw, it balances perfectly with the mid arbor II - a great combination.
I love the fact that I will never see an evening rise and not have a rod with me (except on my wedding anniversary)."
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adventure,
December 21, 2012
By: ciciu
from Italian Alps
"I have seven Orvis rod and i love them for different reasons, but the Frequent Flyer is the one i put in my backpack to go into the wild.
Power, accuracy, minimum encumbrance and mid-price make this rod the ideal choise to remote streams and lakes.
Frequent Flyer is not only for travel, is for adventure.
"
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldnt do without one,
August 21, 2012
By: Mickyduck
"Hi I recently "gifted" my frequent flyer to a very good friend who was traveling.... I missed it so much I had to buy myself another.
I have used this in the USA on some quite big rivers in Montana and Idaho and I really like it. I usually use a 6 wt line with this 5 wt Rod and find it casts much better"
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good enough as an everyday rod,
August 7, 2011
By: MrCasual
from Royersford, PA
"I needed a rod to take to Salt Lake City instead of flying with my 2-piece rod and a 5 weight Frequent Flyer seemed a good choice. After a day of business in SLC I headed for two extra days on the Lower Provo River. After fishing 6 weight Orvis rods with the guide the first day I was concerned my 5 weight Flyer would struggle the next day with the weighted nymph rigs needed on the Provo. No such problem. In fact, it did such a great job I didn't even notice the rod all day which allowed me to focus on the water. Often I find myself wishing for more out of my everyday rod; the Flyer just did its job perfectly without effort including landing a strong 16" brown out of rough water. I'm looking forward to using it for years to come as a regular rod. I continue to be impressed with the quality and design of each new Orvis product I buy and the Frequent Flyer is no exception."
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surprisingly good,
February 20, 2011
By: AWilson
from UK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I needed a travel rod for an upcoming fishing trip. All of my rods are old and too large to fit into a case. I went for this Orvis rod as it had good reviews and met the price point I had designated for myself. This is a good rod. It packs away to nothing and is light enough to use all day. I have caught dozens of trout in the 5lb range with it and it manages very well. The rod itself is quite stiff and needs quite a lot of flick to cast long. It makes my older rods look a bit like bamboo rods beacause it is so stiff, and whereas I am used to a lazy cast but quite a long cast I found myself working quite hard with this rod to get distance. I have played around with lines and find that a front weighted casting line seems to work best. I would recommend this as a good travel rod at a good price point."
Review 12 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Orvis rod,
February 5, 2011
By: Mikee
from St. Louis , MO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just purchased this rod and have used it 2 times and I LOVE IT!! It is the 865-7 combo outfit. I was kinda wondering about a 7 pc rod, but it feels just like my other Orvis 2 and 4 pc. rods.I will be using this rod to fish trout up in West Virginia where my brother lives.I needed a good travel rod for just this.Well, I found the perfect rod/reel combo for the job!! Look forward to using it alot.Thanks Orvis , keep up the great work!!"
Review 13 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Rod,
December 29, 2010
By: CDDC
from Seal Beach, CA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great rod.
The price is very reasonable compared to the Hardy Smuggler Rod.
The only thing I hate about this rod is the name.
Who came up with Frequent Flyer??? That name is horrid. I won't be casting down the aisle of a 767 anytime soon.
Maybe Packer Rod, Wilderness Rod, Traveler Rod, or Pleiades Rod( the "Seven Sisters"), would be a better name?"
Review 14 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
what a shocker!!!,
September 22, 2010
By: Day84
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I own over 20 fly rods and when i bought the Orvis 865-7 Frequent Flyer as a wedding gift I was blown a way. I took it out at the Orvis store in Atlanta to cast in the parking lot and immediately fell in love. I could not, and do not believe this is a 7-piece rod. I have Sage and Scott rods that don't feel this good. I had no problem (when i got it home) throwing the entire line. It is a cannon on the long casts, bombing them out with pinpoint accuaracy and the short 30-40 foot casts seem like I am cheating; with some kind of auto pilot. hitting a target is as simple as looking at it. It's light in the hand, beautiful to look at, made with precision that screams $$$ and it performs at any range out to 100ft! Just a fantastic rod. I will be owning one myself!!!"
Review 15 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what she needed!!!,
July 22, 2010
By: MartyD
from Oklahoma
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently bought this travel rod combo for my wife for her birthday. We planned on a trip to the Madison and Gallatin in Montana and didnt want to lug a big case through the airport. It was perfect! It did all you could expect! Really shoots the line out and handled numerous trout including a 4pound and a 5 pound Brown! She forgot it was 7 pieces after a few casts. Its a great value and she loves it. I highly recommend it."
Review 16 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 28, 2009
By: marcusw
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Got this combo as a Christmas gift from a law firm whose services I had occasion to use extensively over several professional files. Having become a bamboo devotee with silk lines a must I thought I would never use it. But of course I have - extensively - taking it places I would never otherwise have taken a rod. I have had earlier travel rods from other manufacturers which did not impress. But this combo is so well matched you can almost use it any where for anything and its a pleasure to fish - which I can't say for all plastic rods which I come back to from time to time from bamboo. Its been to Belize in case I had chance to chase bonefish (yes) while on business, and landed steelhead in BC while at a seminar, taken good sizedbrookies in Maine when I was driving through, travelled to the Coloncura in Patagonia as backup to my bamboo weapons, and in the hands of visiting friends taken little brook trout from the lake I live on. I am really glad to own this outfit which I would likely not have bought for myself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well worth the Money,
October 31, 2009
By: Kreggor
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I travel western north america for work and there is great fishing in almost every place I visit. Taking my gear along is much less of a hassel now that I do not have to worry about where my fly rod is going to go. If you do any flying at all. I would get one of these for your suit case. I have landed whitefish on the Metolius in OR to 23 inch rainbows on the clark fork in MT. I even hooked a stealhead on the North Umpqua but my leader snapped."