Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod

This fly rod is travel-ready. The Frequent Flyer™ packs right into your backpack, saddlebag, even your briefcase. It's easy to travel with—as you can carry it onto any plane—so you don't have to worry about your fly rod making it to your final fishing destination. Keep the fly rod right in your vehicle, out of the way, for quick getaways at lunch, or pack it into the backcountry far easier than even a four-piece rod. These seven-piece rods for fresh and salt water are the most affordable, high-quality, high-performance travel rods on the market today. Built to our exact taper design, component, and production specifications, every step of the overseas production is supervised by Orvis. Take a Flyer!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my favourite travelling companion,
November 26, 2013
By: thelongboot
from Dublin, Ireland
"Okay, so I've owned both the 4wt and 9wt versions of this rod for about 8 years now (and I've just written a review for the 9wt, so forgive me for doubling up).
This is a lovely little rod: not nearly as fast as the 9wt, so super user friendly, for beginners and old hands alike. I've used it to catch trout and chub and dace and roach all over the UK and Ireland, plus trout (cutthroats, browns, rainbows, brookies) and largemouth bass and bluegill in 8 US states. Heaven knows how many fish I've landed with that thing. Never had a single problem with it, and enjoyed every moment I've had it in my hand.
It breaks down so neatly it's ridiculously easy to pack and take with you, be it on a hike into the hills or on the bike or in a backpack to the beach. Plus you don't have the hassle of a separate sleeve, as the travel tube has dividers – which saves a heap of time when it comes to setting/packing up.
As for the 9 wt ... well, what can I say? I've caught double figure Scottish salmon, some cracking Spey sea trout, several mackerel and pollack and mullet, a few sea bass and dozens of pike (to 20lbs) with it. The action is very fast. With some practice you can make good Spey and roll casts, especially if matched with 10wt lines (ie. go up a size, but there's no need with the 4wt). It probably isn't a rod for beginners, simply because your timing needs to be pretty spot on to load it properly, but otherwise I really can't think of a bad thing to say about it. I did in fact break the top section a few years ago (getting it out of a car fully set up – my own fault) and it cost a nominal fee (around £25 I think at the time) to replace that section. Easy.
These are truly great rods. They're exceptional value for money, durable, and incredibly easy to travel with. I wish Orvis would make some switch rods to add to the range, as I'd buy one in a heartbeat."
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cane to carbon,
September 13, 2013
By: Molefisher
from Surrey,England
"I have fished with cane fly rods for most of my life but when a friend brought along his frequent flyer rod and cast best part of his number three line out onto my lake I was impressed.So much so that I had to have one.
Mine is a four line and I too can cast best part of my line with ease.I just love my new Frequent Flyer and I get the feeling it will become my favourite fly rod.
"
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Way better than expected,
April 27, 2012
By: ChemFisher
"This little travel rod might have been made specifically for bums like myself. The action is smooth, ideal for delicate presentation. None of that "broomstick" feeling I sometimes get with fast-action rods. The rod suits my "lazy" casting style like few others. It won't compete with something like a Superfine Touch, but given the price difference, I'm perfectly fine with that. Easily the best travel rod I've ever owned, and at least as good as the majority of 4-piece rods available today."
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis give very god service,
September 2, 2011
By: Cyberjoker
from Malmö, Sweden
"I buy my Frequent Flyer in April 2011 and in July one spiggot crack when I was fishing. I contacted the fishingshop where I buy my Orvis rod and they send my rod to the Swedish Orvis agent. One month later I get a brand new Frequent Flyer rod. That´s what I call excellent service.
I realy like my Frequent Flyer cause I can allways bring it with me. I dont think this is the last Orvis product I buy, cause Orvis take care of there customer.
"
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easily packable rod,
May 16, 2011
By: sparsegrey
"This seven-piece rod fits perfectly in my daypack, or my backpack for multiple days on the trail. I am a backcountry fly fishing guide, and I need functional products that are easily packable. My only criticism is that it should come with a cloth bag so that it can be placed into either of my packs without the hard case, which is a bit heavy. Performance-wise, the rod is excellent with a nice mid-flex action."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's what its' name says it is,
January 2, 2011
By: DrTax
from Fair Oaks,CA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I fly a lot and am frequently without my rod because it is too big for my bag. I have used the 4 in the Mono Creek Area, the 5 in Wyoming near the Green and the 8 for Steelhead. Often a many piece rod stiffens up - not the Frequent Flyer. I love the touch as well as the packability. The image is at about 10,000 feet where the fish are small and the Frequent Flyer 4 had the perfect touch."
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really versatile!,
October 28, 2010
By: Hydropsychedelic
from Sweden
"I´ve been using this rod for small streams, big streams, small stillwaters, big lakes.
It has never disappointed me.
I think it is a fairly smooth rod, and fine presentations are not difficult with it.
However, it is when you want to be able to cast some distance it comes to it's right. Weighted nymphs and big-hackled dries is no problem.
Though, it's for the 7-piece travel performance I bought it.
I fish when ever and wherever I can. Visiting a friend in another town or similar, I pack a Frequent Flyer.
There just might be some trout.
But it is also very, very nice to fish with.
This was the first Frequent Flyer I bought, but it was not the last. For sure.
//JK, Sweden"
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Backcountry Rod,
August 8, 2010
By: Kevo
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took this rod on a 23 day backpacking trip in Montana. It held up well against the harsh elements and travel and caught me tons of beautiful trout. It casts easily and is very light. You'll never be able to tell this rod has seven pieces. Its absolutely fanstastic."
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frequent Flyer Rod #4,
January 17, 2010
By: dilbert
from Ashford, Kent UK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A brilliant lightweight and transportable rod. I have used it at home in Kent (UK) on small stillwaters and in an Appalachian mountain creek in Virginia with great results - a real pleasure to handle! When I got home I went out and bought the #5 rod."
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fragile Flyer,
March 17, 2009
By: AlexCT
from Middletown, CT
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I purchased this rod in December and was very excited to get it out on the Farmington River (CT) this March. However, today, after just one day of fishing, this rod snapped as I was fixing the alignment of the ferrules. As I held the rod's midsection, the moderate current picked up the reel and the rod simply broke in half in my hands. It was a very depressing afternoon. In hindsight, it has become clear to me why this is the only rod Orvis does not guarantee against breakage. This is a portable, good-looking rod, but it is not strong enough for me to recommend it to anyone."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 24, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted the customer and apologized that the 864-7 Frequent Flyer Rod broke during his fishing trip. While this economical rod does not carry the same 25-year no-fault warranty that our more expensive rods do, it still has a lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. If unexplained breakage occurs, we advise all our customers to return the rod so we can determine the reason for breakage. 100% Customer Satisfaction and quality products are what we stand for, and we strive to be the very best.
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Surprisingly responsive,
October 4, 2007
By: wetwade
from North Carolina
"This is a very sweet small water rod and is surprisingly accurate and responsive. I mean- 7 pc. rods aren't supposed to be this good!....and don't let my small water remark lead you astary. It can handle water like the Madison River on light wind days. Really nice for the price."
Review 12 for Frequent Flyer 4-weight 8'6" 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Peformer: Home and Away,
September 21, 2007
By: DurhamDangler
"I have enjoyed using the 864-7 for over a year now and can realistically say that it has exceeded all my expectations. From the first test in the alley behind the Chicago shop (my female companions were exceedingly rude about my chances of catching there!) to a Tennessee Lake where the bluegills were on song, to The Upper Avon in Wiltshire for brown trout and to Tver Region Russia for carp (!) this charming rod has delivered. I have tried much more expensive travel rods that felt sloppy and unevenly balanced. This Orvis gem has a crisp, sharp action that is such a pleasant surprise given its seven sections. I like it so much I bought the 8-weight and a spinning rod too...."