Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

4X Streamer Hook

Our favorite Woolly Bugger hook for fly tying. Good for short streamers and long nymphs such as stoneflies. Versatile for tying many fly patterns, its down-eye and classic round bend makes this hook a top choice. These hooks are essential gear for serious fly tiers. Even sizes: 2-14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 4X Streamer Hook
Review 1 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above average quality,
March 17, 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"I don't normally buy Orvis brand hooks but these suited my needs and was pleased with them. Good quality."
Review 2 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
March 1, 2014
By: VTSurfNTurf
from Northern New England
"Good deal for the money. These hooks stand up to any fish I've ever hooked be it in New England or on the Great Lakes. I'll be getting more of these!"
Review 3 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Hook,
February 18, 2014
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"This is a quality hook that I have found perfect for woolly buggers. Great sharp point."
Review 4 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality hooks,
January 28, 2014
By: estasz66
"Have purchased these hooks a number of times to tie leech patterns for large lake run trout.Are sharp and reliable."
Review 5 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 7, 2013
By: savagefly
"I live in Alabama (aka bass country) so I tie a lot of wooly buggers. Perfect hook for them. These hooks are extremely sharp and are the best wooly bugger hook. Believe me, I know a good bass hook and this is it. Great hook."
Review 6 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THE Hook hook,
March 13, 2013
By: KGM87
from NH
"These hooks are outstanding for Wooly Buggers.
This is the only hook I have never had a problem with breaking when I debarb it before beginning the fly."
Review 7 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My go to streamer hook,
February 8, 2013
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"I tie Wooly Buggers and Slumpbusters on this hook. I use tungsten coneheads and NO LEAD. This hook is sharp and the barb mashes beautifully without breaking. The hook is strong and nicely made with a tight eye. You will smile at your streamers when you use this hook. Fish might have a different reaction!"
Review 8 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wooly bugger perfect,
September 10, 2012
By: cpl1775
"I got this hook because of the reviews about wooly buggers and everyone was right. I probably won't use any other hook after using this one. Also very sharp."
Review 9 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 12, 2012
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
"As every other rater has suggested, tyers would be hard pressed to find a better hook for buggers. The TMC 9395 comes close, but good luck getting a bead or cone on that thing."
Review 10 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
high quality,
September 21, 2011
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"great hook for woolly buggers, etc. very strong & sharp."
Review 11 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4X Streamer Hook,
August 28, 2011
By: FireFly2
"This is the best hook I've used to tie Wooly Buggers. Perfect form for the fly."
Review 12 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lure Hook,
August 20, 2011
By: FFPurpose
"Excellent long shank downturn hooks for tying inverted lures.
The length is just right to fit an asymetrical weight and dress the fly.
The fly swims deep with the barb above the shank enabling it to swim deep and minimise snagging.
"
Review 13 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Bugger Hook!,
February 23, 2010
By: ColemanSpecial
from Minneapolis, MN
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This hook works so well for wooly buggers. It seems it's my yearly job to buy more of these hooks so I can tie up lots of buggers to replace what I've lost since last year and dish out a new assortment to my friends (as well as experiment with some newer materials). The hooks last the test of time, with flies outdating my fly boxes and vest, but still catching fish! I've always loved Orvis hooks. Very sharp, very durable and very fly tying friendly."
Review 14 for 4X Streamer Hook
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GEAT FOR BUGGERS AND STREAMERS,
November 22, 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"IM VERY PICKY WHEN IT COMES TO HOOKS AND FOR MY STREMER HOOKS I ONLY USE ORVIS 8808's THEY ARE JUST THE RIGHT LENGH AND THEY ARE VERY RIGID,NOTHING BUGS ME WORSE THAN A HOOK THAT BENDS LIKE A WET NOODLE WHEN YOUR TYING AND ORVIS 8808's HAVE BEEN THE ANSWER FOR ME AND THEYRE SHARPAS HECK TOO! MAYBE THEY COULD BE YOUR NEW HOOK OF CHOICE FOR STREAMERS, SO GIVE THEM A SHOT YOULL BE PLEASED."