Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat

Look your gentlemanly best in the field and elsewhere. A superior, windproof, waterproof, and breathable light loden wool blend lined with luxurious cashmere for the ultimate in comfort and style afield. Exclusive to Orvis. Waterproof liner keeps you dry. Six outside pockets, five interior pockets, one rear game pocket, covered button panel, and a concealed hood for the ultimate in function and style. In loden. 65% wool, 25% nylon, 10% cashmere. Dry clean.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48) XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
25 of 30(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Review 1 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite coat,
January 15, 2014
By: Mthunter
from Lolo, Montana
"The coat is worth every penny. We had a streak of below zero weather and I never got cold. The coat fits to size and feels good. I have had more people complement me on this coat than anything else I have ever owned."
Review 2 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expensive but worth every penny.,
December 9, 2013
By: Roestalker
from Hampshire. UK
"I've been looking for ages to find a replacement for a Loden coat I bought 15 - 20 years ago (it's still going strong but no longer waterproof). This coat is just what I was after and looks as though I'm going to get similar service from it (maybe not so good for Orvis as I won't be purchasing another coat from them for quite some time). I prefer Loden coats for deer stalking as they are extremely warm in the winter months and completely noise free. Thoroughly recommend this product!"
Review 3 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent winter jacket,
December 7, 2013
By: Grandveneur
from Rockville, Maryland
"This is a warm (but breathable), comfortable and elegant winter jacket. Even non-hunters will appreciate it.
It is supposed to be rainproof (not tested under downpours yet). Also, the combination of inner sleeves, sleeve straps and high collar provides good protection from cold air, including around the neck (no need for a scarf).
It runs true to size (XL).
"
Review 4 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding for driven birds,
November 14, 2013
By: 1GAhunter
"This is a beautiful jacket with many thoughtful details. Very warm, much more comfortable than, say, a comparable Barbour or Beretta field coat. Sleeves and body nice and long for me in size L, and I am 6'2" with 35" sleeves, body long enough to cover shooting suit jacket worn underneath. Only quibble: hood is flimsy and somewhat cheesy thin nylon, not up to overall quality."
Review 5 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
October 22, 2013
By: Steveontario
"Loved everything except the velcro closures. I knew that before i bought it but when i saw it, it didn't fit with the look and feel of this high a priced coat. Other than that it was a very nicely designed coat and very warm."
Review 6 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
October 10, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I picked this up on sale and am pretty impressed with the quality. My first thought when I picked up the box was that the coat would be too light, but when putting it on I started to appreciate the clever engineering. It is puzzling why a coat at even the discounted price point couldn't have the same quality zipper as on my Beaufort, but I suppose that can be swapped out for something sturdier by my tailor if it really becomes a problem. All in all I am expecting good things from this jacket once the temperature really starts to drop, will have to wait and see how it performs under tougher conditions."
Review 7 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and functional,
June 19, 2013
By: 99NU
"Great light weight jacket that keeps out wind and rain. I have found this jacket ideal when I am on the move because of its breathable wool qualities, the comfort factor is deluxe."
Review 8 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury shooting coat,
May 17, 2013
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"Boy is this coat warm! I was nervous about getting this because of the cost, and I got it at the discounted price. But I have to say that it is worth it. The finish is superb, and the fit is great for me. I an a slim build at 6' and 168lbs, and I got the Medium. The neck is comfortable for me when zipped up at this size and so i don't think that i'd go to the large. I think that if you are on the larger size that you'd need to go one up on sizing for comfort. The velcro cuffs are useful but spoil the look of the coat a little for wearing outside the shooting situation. I haven't had the opportunity to wear it in wet weather yet and if I find problems with that then I'll update this review. Overall a lovely coat."
Review 9 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Loden Coat,
February 25, 2013
By: GlennM
from Wolfeboro NH
"Excellent fit , warm and appears durable. However, previous reviews are correct in saying that the zipper should be a larger size YKK zipper that would be easier thread and get engaged. As is the zipper thread and dongle at end are too small to engage while wearing gloves and even difficult to do with bare hands."
Review 10 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stylish and nice,
January 28, 2013
By: sharper
"I wear this jacket shooting and it is comfortable, warm and actually quite attractive. Plenty of room for moving the gun around even when bound up for the cold. Jacket actually runs a little big. Comments about the zipper are true - but probably because I am neither european or left handed - nor for that matter very coordinated. All in all, every nice."
Review 11 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable,
January 22, 2013
By: Donewell
from Cleveland, Ohio
"The only squawk I have is the zipper. We in the US are not used to the zipper reversed. It is a pain to use but I suspect with further use, it will become second nature. The coat is warm and cozy. I've received several compliments on it's style. I'd buy it again."
Review 12 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
December 22, 2012
By: Aileron
"This coat is well made. The Loden wool exterior has a soft feel and gives the coat a quality look not shared with typical nylon shell coats.
The orientation of the zipper took about 2 tries to master. Not an issue at all. Size runs to the large. I ordered a medium and normally wear large. The coat fits perfectly."
Review 13 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very nice coat,
December 1, 2012
By: CaptB
from Davenport, IA
"This coat is lighter than I expected and quite warm. That is a very good combination.
The wool blend material is very soft to the touch. The collar stands up well, but will require either a turtle neck or scarf as it doesn't come tight around the neck.
Pockets are excellent. You have six pockets on front outside, and the large game pocket in back. There's just all kinds of things you could do with that. The interior pockets are well designed. There are two large interior mesh pockets at the bottom of the coat.
The sleeves are well lined, and have plenty of room. You will have no problems layering this coat over your heaviest sweaters.
The only issue is the zipper that people have mentioned. It takes a little getting used to, but it is worth it. If they reversed the zipper to the "proper" side, this would be the perfect cold weather coat.
This coat is appropriate for most cold weather you will encounter. It is not however a parka, and probably not suited for extended, extreme temps."
Review 14 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
German Engineering at it's finest,
April 5, 2012
By: drahthaarman
from West By God Virginia
"I love this coat so much I won't wear it in the field! The coat just gets more and more comfortable with each wear. The coat is not quite warm enough to be worn at 20 degrees or colder in Artic Blast cold without an extra layer underneath, but that's common sense. I even wore the coat on an impromtu ski trip when I forgot my ski coat! It held up great! The zipper is left handed, but thats a tradition from Europe. my understanding is that your servants were supposed to zip your coat for you, hence it being left handed.
My only complaint is it's a little bulky in the body, but I have a narrow waist for my shoulder size. I've been dealing with this my whole life."
Review 15 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever!,
February 16, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Canton, Ohio
"My wife surprised me with this jacket recently for my birthday. I love the look and feel of it. I wear it out often with dress clothes because of its handsome style.
When I do wear it shooting, the many spacious pockets make everything easy to access. Everyone at the range made a big deal out of my coat and I was happy to tell them all where it came from. My only problem , and it is a very small one, is the zipper being on the opposite side. Other than that, wonderful coat!!
"
Review 16 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LODEN SHOOTING COAT,
February 9, 2012
By: Croker
from Cambridge
"THE ONLY COLD WEATHER COAT THAT YOU NEED I SHOOT ALL OVER EUROPE. SO SO GOOD"
Review 17 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 28, 2011
By: Johnjc
from White Plains NY
"Overall a good coat, fix a few things and it's perfect, such as the collar does not sit right, the zipper and snaps are a bit light. I love the fleece cuffs, pockets and fit. The look of an In town and field coat is also great."
Review 18 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not Quite There for the Price,
December 16, 2011
By: Oxon
"This coat looks wonderful in the photograph, but the outer fabric has none of the richness or thickness you'd expect from loden and the collar is bulky and squat. The piece feels good on -- plenty of range of motion -- but the zipper is (as other's have said) hard to manage, partly due to the side it's on partly due to the inner and outer wind flaps getting in the way. This IS insulated with Thinsulate (something the description fails to mention), but I sent the coat back as neither elegant nor worth the price in my estimation."
Review 19 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must have,
October 26, 2011
By: jaywm
"Best all around coat for hunting, fishing or just wearing I have ever had. Amazing how light it is for how warm it is. Had to buy one for the wife too."
Review 20 for Waterproof Loden Wool Shooting Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
September 15, 2011
By: 9pheasanthunter
"I was pleased with the over all construction and quality of the coat. The zipper is hard to get started. The hood is flimsy. The game pockets are nice and functional. The sleeves are adjustable which helps shoulder your gun."