Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Guncheck Folding Knife

Handcrafted by knifemakers in Maniago, Italy, amid the foothills of the Alps, where such knives have been made for generations. A lock-back folding pocket knife with a drop-point blade of finest-quality stainless steel. Handle risers crafted of cocobolo wood and handsomely checkered to resemble a fine gun stock. 3" blade, 4" folded, 7" overall. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guncheck Folding Knife
Review 1 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lock broke,
November 12, 2014
By: trapper1
"Great blade and keeps a good edge, the locking mechanism wore out and broke after a year of regular use."
Review 2 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Stains on knife.,
October 14, 2014
By: russl
from mokena il
"nice knife.
only thing was had stains mark on ends of knife,"
Review 3 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK,
February 15, 2013
By: compulsivebuyer
from Fort Lauderdale
"I own several folding knives. Most cost in the $45 - $70 price range. I expected more from this knife for its price. It is relatively lightweight and the knife fits "loosely" into the leather holster. Overall quality of the knife itself is good, not great."
Review 4 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Knife,
January 15, 2013
By: RedBug
from Seattle, WA
"I love this knife with it's drop point and razor sharp blade. Very finely finished. The handle egonomically fits my hand. Any man would enjoy a kife like this one."
Review 5 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellant value,
December 25, 2012
By: oh44023
from Chagrin Falls Ohio
"i purchased this knife as a Christmas present for my daughter's boyfriend and liked so much i bought one for myself."
Review 6 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift!,
December 12, 2012
By: ADITGuy
from Michigan
"I bought 2 of these to give to my 2 sons. Shipping took as long as expected with no delays. The quality of the build of these knives is excellent for a daily carry pocket knife though it may be heavy for some folks. Fit and finish of the metal-on-metal parts is superb with a very smooth operation. The wood is perfectly matched to the metal. Lastly, the wood is checked just like a gun stock and gives a more secure gripping surface. I don't prefer the Orvis name on the blade, but it's still a nice knife. I would buy one again without hesitating."
Review 7 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great!,
November 12, 2012
By: AllyMargaret
"Gave this to my husband for his birthday - All he could say was Thank You! Great knife - excellent choice. Length of the blade and overall length is perfect for him and he liked the grip of the handle."
Review 8 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gift,
October 26, 2012
By: houstonartguy
from Houston, Texas
"I was looking for a gift I could give my best friends for birthday, holidays, etc, when I ran across this beautiful knife. Its the perfect size to keep in your pocket, coat or car. Its a beautiful looking tool that can come in handy during those moments when a knife is required. My friends really enjoyed the gift. Thank You."
Review 9 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A terrific upland bird knife,
September 20, 2012
By: Kasamar
from Texas
"After 50+ years of upland hunting I've pared down my "essential" gear over time; the Orvis Guncheck Folder has a number of features that make it a great bird knife. One of the details not mentioned often in reviews is how thick the blade stock is; I find that the extra rigidity makes those bird cleaning chores on the tailgate while the daylight quickly fades efficient and safe compared to more typical "bird" knives. The checkered cocobolo scales insure control regardless of weather, and won't absorb moisture. For a folding knife, I find it cleans up like new and keeps its edge as advertised. Would recommend to any upland hunter."
Review 10 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great upland bird knife,
August 9, 2012
By: JohninPA
from Northwestern PA
"I have carried this knife for three seasons, dressed and fillet the breasts of dozens of pheasants, partridges and a few grouse. It retains an edge and sharpens easily when needed. Well balanced to do the work required."
Review 11 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Knife,
January 31, 2012
By: brooker1966
from Jacksonville, FL
"Well made knife, sharp blade and the gun check handle is unique."
Review 12 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Folder w/ Cocobolo,
January 13, 2012
By: gunknifefan
from Northeast Florida
"This Gencheck Folder is a very well built knife. The knifemaker from Maniago added several nice options including; Stainless liners, stainless bolsters, and Cocobolo scales with brass pins.
The cross-cut lines in the scales are very unique to a pocket knife. These lines go right up to the pins that hold the scales in place. Cuts are all very clean, even under close examination.
The 2nd reason I purchased this knife is that I had just ordered the Croc Belt from Orvis (see other review). I carry this folder when wearing the Croc Belt."
Review 13 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Was Looking For,
January 10, 2012
By: Abcd01
from Birmingham, AL
"I lost my favorite pocket knife sometime during a business trip. Therefore, I had been looking for a replacement for several months. I was looking at the ORVIS webpage and saw the Guncheck Folding Knife. It is larger than my previous pocket knife and comes with a nice leather sheath with a belt loop. The knift is of excellent quality, has a great feel and its extra size lets me know that it is in my pocket on on my belt. This prevents me from mistakenly carrying it through Airport Security Check Points and having to forfeit it. I love my new knife and recommend it for anyone who is looking for a good looking, good feeling, substantial lock blade knife that is just a little bigger than the standard pocket knife."
Review 14 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Guncheck Knife - Great,
December 30, 2011
By: Boarhog
from Texas
"This is a great little all-purpose knife that is very handy to carry in its own sheath."
Review 15 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Christmas Present,
December 30, 2011
By: hillbilly
from Texas
"I gave this knife to my Dad for Christmas. He is somewhat of a knife collector, and very picky about the knives he caries. He was well pleased with this one, and said that it came sharp enough to shave with. I recommend that you keep this knife in your collection and available in local stores."
Review 16 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT VALUE,
December 22, 2011
By: WALRUX
"KNIKE IS A VERY WELL MADE LOCKBACK NICE DETAIL ON THE CHECKERING AND THE CASE IS A WORK OF ART"
Review 17 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful work,
December 16, 2011
By: mrrj
from md
"I'm pleased! Showed it to a friend who is a knife collector and he really liked it. He hoped it might have a quick flip capability. I'm happy"
Review 18 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
December 9, 2011
By: MIKEBEAR
"Knife meet expectations.solid construction,well made."
Review 19 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Knife,
December 8, 2011
By: ddoss
"For the price this knife is wonderful! I have used it in the field, and at home . The knife has stayed sharp throughout the year."
Review 20 for Guncheck Folding Knife
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Your New Best Friend,
November 21, 2011
By: MacCraiger
"A beautifully made, well balanced lock-back folding knife. It's checkered cocobolo wood and finely polished stainless steel feels good in your hand. Although it comes with a rugged leather sheath not mentioned in the description, I just slip in the back pocket of my jeans and carry it with me where ever I go. This is the best knife I've owned."