Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Bison Open-Prairie Belt

Authentic American bison hide and a solid brass roller buckle impart a rugged, casual appearance of the American West. Vintage-waxed leather for a look that complements jeans, cords, or moleskin trousers. Western Belt in brown.Evan waist sizes: 32-46. 1⅛" wide.Order one size larger than trousers size.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Review 1 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not ready for prime time,
March 12, 2014
By: TechGuy
from Chicago, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"So I bought this because I liked the look and had good reviews. Well after about a month of daily use a piece of the buckle came off in a meeting and flew under the table, pretty embarrassing! The leather is top quality but the buckle is poor. I think the piece that came off is still somewhere under that table. :-("
Review 2 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
smiddy,
October 4, 2013
By: smiddy
from rural Scotland
"A good quality, really sturdy belt to last a life time."
Review 3 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chunky style,
July 18, 2012
By: crazyhorseuk
from Windsor, UK
"This will become a long-time favourite. Like all Orvis, it is built to last, but I get the impression that this belt is indestructible.
It's really only for jeans. I ordered a size too big (as recommended), but find that the 'shortest' hole just about holds my chinos up. The belt itself is so thick that the loose end cannot be tucked behind a belt loop. These are small niggles, however."
Review 4 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Belt,
August 25, 2011
By: HMCS
"I love this belt. It is thick leather, but it is not too stiff.
Very comfortable. I love the texture of the belt and this gives it alot of character.
"
Review 5 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Solid Friend,
March 21, 2011
By: ebrit
from Hapshire, England
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have quite a few Orvis belts...a bit of a weakness really. This simple straightforward belt is my favourite after 4 years of frequent use. Some comment on its "stiffness". I consider that one of its principle virtues...it doesn't stretch or need adjusting as the day goes on. After 4 years it shows no sign of wear or distress...and it came with a lovely "antique" patina to begin with!"
Review 6 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sturdy Belt,
July 1, 2010
By: Traveler10
from Florida
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very nice - stiff leather so it won't roll on you. Good looking, appears to be very durable. A little pricey but similar, less expensive belts I have bought on line were returned because they were cheaply made and poorly finished. This one is a keeper. Would reorder if needed."
Review 7 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
June 21, 2010
By: JBone
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"This is not the quality I expected from Orvis. It felt like it was made of plastic and had the rustic pattern printed on it. I returned mine and got the Gokey. It's the real deal, not bison leather shipped overseas and back and made to look "Western". Do yourself a favor and shell out another $20 for something that will last a lifetime and employs fellow workers in the USA. Get the Gokey."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamJune 30, 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. We passed these customer comments on to our product developers for review and for use in future product refinements. Orvis will happily exchange or refund any item; we want our customers to be happy with all their purchases.

Review 8 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fine belt,
March 11, 2010
By: OutdoorsinColorado
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I like this belt a lot; it looks great and I suspect it will last forever. One thing buyers should be aware of is that the leather on this belt is quite stiff. After a couple months of almost daily wear, it has not softened up too much. I see this a lot with Bison or Buffalo leather belts. Otherwise, its a good buy."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Rustic Looking Belt!,
September 11, 2008
By: WoffordAlum
from Arlington, VA
"I like this belt so much that I purchased one for my father on his Birthday. My belt is a little darker in color than the one shown in the picture."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bison Open-Prairie Belt
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1