Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves

These men's shooting gloves fit more closely than most waterproof gloves. Soft, supple deerskin for sensitivity and comfort, with a breathable, waterproof membrane lining as well as a light, 40mg layer of Thinsulate® insulation that keeps your hands warm and dry. Remain supple after repeated soakings and dryings. Men's shooting gloves in brown. Imported.Men's glove sizes: S(8½"), M(8½-9"), L(9-9½"), XL(9½-10").
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
48 of 56(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Review 1 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good!,
December 17, 2014
By: buddylove
from NY
"These gloves seem very well made. The leather is soft as butter. The lining is comfortable. I haven't had the opportunity to test the waterproofness yet, which is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I would buy these again, in fact I wish they made the exact same in black."
Review 2 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 star gloves,
December 16, 2014
By: PAOUTDOORSMAN
from Western Pennsylvania
"Excellent leather gloves that are warm and have great grip. Easily becoming my favorite go to pair."
Review 3 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love these gloves,
December 4, 2014
By: shopstop42
from allentown,pa
"I purchased these gloves for my husband. He loves them. He wears them to work in the yard, even though they are listed as shooting gloves. He loves the deerskin and the thinsulate lining, and the fact that they are waterproof. The gloves are very pliable yet tough. This is his favorite pair of gloves to work in."
Review 4 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and protected, soft and touch sensitive!,
December 1, 2014
By: tres
from Nanuet, N. Y.
"In addition to these gloves being XL, they truly fit! I have range of motion and performance snugness with dexterity! My fingers always get cold and never recover from the onset. My fingers are now warm! Amazing! Also, the lining is sewn in and will not buckle or come out!!! Thank you. ...."
Review 5 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 21, 2014
By: Quailchaser
"Gloves were very warm in very cold conditions and at the same time were supple and allowed for good dexterity while shooting."
Review 6 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hawthorne Gloves,
November 18, 2014
By: Montana123
from Minneapolis, MN
"I originally ordered these gloves in an XL using Orvis's size chart. They were much too big. Sent them back and got a large. Be careful when ordering your size.
Overall, these gloves are great. Starting to break in nicely and are warm. For really cold days here in Minnesota I wear silk liners underneath them and that helps tremendously. Very soft and supple.
"
Review 7 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Fit and Comfort,
October 27, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I could not wait to try these gloves out. My first impression was that these gloves are very supple and comfortable. Later, I wore these gloves for a weekend of Rocky Mtn Chukar hunting. I found these gloves to be thin yet warm, and thankfully they did not hang up in the trigger guard. They did scuff easily when I had to pull some fallen pine branches off the trail. These gloves are not suitable for rugged work related tasks, but they are great for their intended purpose....fall bird hunting and cold hands."
Review 8 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gloves ever,
October 15, 2014
By: ptcyr
from Minnesota
"I bought my brother a pair for his 50th birthday and the gloves were so good, I had to have a pair myself. My dad is 85 and his are one of his prize possessions."
Review 9 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and easy,
June 10, 2014
By: Vintagehunters
from Plymouth MA
"Got the stuff in best condition,fit was great and feeling was awesome."
Review 10 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back for another pair,
May 1, 2014
By: ladyhunter
from Illinois
"I purchased another pair of these gloves (my 4th) after I ordered the wrong size and my husband grabbed them away before I could return them for the correct size. I wore these gloves every day from October to March. It was cold this morning when I was out with the dogs so, on May 1st, I had them on again."
Review 11 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
February 12, 2014
By: TexEm
from Dallas, Tx
"I have cold hands and I often shoot a double bbl w/dbl triggers. The trick has been to find a pair of gloves that provide enough warmth, but aren't so puffy I can't get to the second trigger. These work perfectly.
And they are handsome enough that I even wear them around town.
All in all, a bullseye
"
Review 12 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good gloves,
February 12, 2014
By: DLMcF
"I have trouble finding gloves that fit; XLs are usually too small, and XXLs are hard to find. These XLs fit, and they appear to be very well-made."
Review 13 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
February 4, 2014
By: dweaver525i
from Clayton, NC
"The lambskin is very supple and the Thinsulate is very warm."
Review 14 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best glove ever,
January 18, 2014
By: planejerry
from NC
"They are the best pair of gloves I have ever owned. I have had them for over 10 years and still use them daily. I have used them duck hunting, pre-flighting my airplane, and evry possible winter activity. They are scrathed and dirty, but with no holes etc. I would recommend them to anyone."
Review 15 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Gloves,
January 18, 2014
By: Primo
from Ireland
"Bought a pair of these gloves 3 years ago, they were worn regularly,( we have a farm).Warm and waterproof. Unfortunately lost the RH glove in heavy cover, it was like like losing a friend and still had a lot of work in it.
I have now purchased 2 pair, we live in Ireland and as we say "just to be sure to be sure". Fantastic gloves.
"
Review 16 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gloves EVER!,
January 14, 2014
By: ladyhunter
from Illinois
"I just ordered my third pair of these gloves. One of the first pair was lost when I was grouse hunting in Wisconsin. Second pair I wear every day to care for the dogs when it is cold. I wore them last March when reporting (horseback) for a field trial. Three days of sleet, rain, and snow. The gloves helped get me through it. I need a back up pair.
With some gloves the lining gets fouled up when your hands are wet or sweaty and they are hard to get on. Not with these gloves. I simply cannot recommend them highly enough.
"
Review 17 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gloves,
December 25, 2013
By: buckyguerra
from 91791
"The best gloves I have owned, and I own many different ones."
Review 18 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 23, 2013
By: Hatchet
from Pasadena, CA
"Pretty much what I expected, but have not had a chance to wear them in the field. Nice-looking and fit is generally good, but fingertips are not as close-fitting as I would prefer. They should be fine for horseback, or general wear, but do not have the touch and feel I would like for a shooting glove."
Review 19 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fitting too large and loose,
August 19, 2013
By: noblisse
from yorkshire
"Good product as usual from Orvis but fitting too large,only recommend if purchased from Shop."
Review 20 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
February 9, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
"I love these gloves when afield! When the temps drop, these are always along for the ride. They are warm, comfortable, and not so bulky that I can't shoot effectively. Very nice gloves!"