Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves

These men's shooting gloves fit more closely than most waterproof gloves. Soft, supple deerskin for sensitivity and comfort, with a breathable, waterproof membrane lining as well as a light, 40mg layer of Thinsulate® insulation that keeps your hands warm and dry. Remain supple after repeated soakings and dryings. Men's shooting gloves in brown. Imported.Men's glove sizes: S(8½"), M(8½-9"), L(9-9½"), XL(9½-10").
Average Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
56 of 65(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Review 1 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawthorne Shooting Gloves,
May 11, 2015
By: OliverK
from Bethlehem, PA
"Second pair I bought. Excellent quality. They run a bit large. I bought one size down and they fit perfect. Very soft and excellent dexterity. After all, they are shooting gloves."
Review 2 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent comfort style and function,
February 26, 2015
By: Rickabee
from Sydney, Australia
"My Hawthorne gloves arrived today and not only do they fit (medium) perfectly the leather is butter-soft and they feel like they are going be warm enough for the frosty mornings in Botswana at the end of May, when I will be visiting. All of this and they are waterproof too! Too good to be true? - Not according to the other reviews."
Review 3 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Form and function,
February 20, 2015
By: Brightwell
from Bar Harbor, ME
"Perfect fit, light weight, absolutely waterproof and allows for a great degree of manual dexterity... I am using them along Maine's coastline and my hands are warm, not sweaty."
Review 4 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gloves for moderately cold conditions,
February 15, 2015
By: TBM3
from Charlotte NC
"Haven't tested the waterproof aspect yet, but nicely made and comfortable . I would say a tad on the small side, so you might want to order up a size -- I'm probably at the small end of medium hand size, and the mediums fit pretty snugly.
Nice and toasty down to about freezing, But wore today to walk the dog, 28 degrees. after about 5-6 minutes, wasn't' sure I was wearing gloves any more.
If you're looking for real warmth in frigid conditions, would definitely require larger size and liners."
Review 5 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST EVER,
February 14, 2015
By: TMBTC
from Phila Pa
"I actually needed a pair of dress gloves but did not want the standard brown winter leather gloves. these are PERFECT! VERY rich looking and so soft and comfortable. Wear to college B Ball games and the like. The color looks great against any winter coat. very warm !
SO pleased with this purchase"
Review 6 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
could a pair o fgloves be any better?,
February 11, 2015
By: fraser1
from lincoln, nebraska
"no way could any pair of gloves be better. the leather is soft. they fit great. I look great in them so I act kinda cool when I wear them. they match whatever I am wearing I like them"
Review 7 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warm but clunky,
February 2, 2015
By: GraniteMan
from NH USA
"These gloves are fairly warm for not being very thick. However, they are loose-fitting, which somewhat defeats the notion of preserving dexterity. The leather has held up well to years of not always gentle use. The dye in the leather ran the first time they got good and wet, however, which has left them with an unsightly mottled appearance. For the price, you should be able to find gloves that are warmer, more snug, and able to withstand wet winter conditions without their looks being ruined."
Review 8 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice!,
January 20, 2015
By: Able0ne
from Denver, CO
"I'm glad I decided to get these gloves. They are very soft and warm. They fit perfectly and will be great for late season upland hunting. No issues with them being too bulky. Can shoot with them just fine. Thanks Orvis for another quality product!"
Review 9 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Gloves,
December 31, 2014
By: WMacK
from High Rock Lake, NC
"They are as advertised / described:waterproof, light weight with good sensitivity. but warm. Dry out quickly. Very durable."
Review 10 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good!,
December 17, 2014
By: buddylove
from NY
"These gloves seem very well made. The leather is soft as butter. The lining is comfortable. I haven't had the opportunity to test the waterproofness yet, which is the only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I would buy these again, in fact I wish they made the exact same in black."
Review 11 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 star gloves,
December 16, 2014
By: PAOUTDOORSMAN
from Western Pennsylvania
"Excellent leather gloves that are warm and have great grip. Easily becoming my favorite go to pair."
Review 12 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
love these gloves,
December 4, 2014
By: shopstop42
from allentown,pa
"I purchased these gloves for my husband. He loves them. He wears them to work in the yard, even though they are listed as shooting gloves. He loves the deerskin and the thinsulate lining, and the fact that they are waterproof. The gloves are very pliable yet tough. This is his favorite pair of gloves to work in."
Review 13 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm and protected, soft and touch sensitive!,
December 1, 2014
By: tres
from Nanuet, N. Y.
"In addition to these gloves being XL, they truly fit! I have range of motion and performance snugness with dexterity! My fingers always get cold and never recover from the onset. My fingers are now warm! Amazing! Also, the lining is sewn in and will not buckle or come out!!! Thank you. ...."
Review 14 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 21, 2014
By: Quailchaser
"Gloves were very warm in very cold conditions and at the same time were supple and allowed for good dexterity while shooting."
Review 15 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hawthorne Gloves,
November 18, 2014
By: Montana123
from Minneapolis, MN
"I originally ordered these gloves in an XL using Orvis's size chart. They were much too big. Sent them back and got a large. Be careful when ordering your size.
Overall, these gloves are great. Starting to break in nicely and are warm. For really cold days here in Minnesota I wear silk liners underneath them and that helps tremendously. Very soft and supple.
"
Review 16 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Fit and Comfort,
October 27, 2014
By: Jonnyb303
from Golden, CO
"I could not wait to try these gloves out. My first impression was that these gloves are very supple and comfortable. Later, I wore these gloves for a weekend of Rocky Mtn Chukar hunting. I found these gloves to be thin yet warm, and thankfully they did not hang up in the trigger guard. They did scuff easily when I had to pull some fallen pine branches off the trail. These gloves are not suitable for rugged work related tasks, but they are great for their intended purpose....fall bird hunting and cold hands."
Review 17 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gloves ever,
October 15, 2014
By: ptcyr
from Minnesota
"I bought my brother a pair for his 50th birthday and the gloves were so good, I had to have a pair myself. My dad is 85 and his are one of his prize possessions."
Review 18 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and easy,
June 10, 2014
By: Vintagehunters
from Plymouth MA
"Got the stuff in best condition,fit was great and feeling was awesome."
Review 19 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back for another pair,
May 1, 2014
By: ladyhunter
from Illinois
"I purchased another pair of these gloves (my 4th) after I ordered the wrong size and my husband grabbed them away before I could return them for the correct size. I wore these gloves every day from October to March. It was cold this morning when I was out with the dogs so, on May 1st, I had them on again."
Review 20 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
February 12, 2014
By: TexEm
from Dallas, Tx
"I have cold hands and I often shoot a double bbl w/dbl triggers. The trick has been to find a pair of gloves that provide enough warmth, but aren't so puffy I can't get to the second trigger. These work perfectly.
And they are handsome enough that I even wear them around town.
All in all, a bullseye
"