Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves

These men's shooting gloves fit more closely than most waterproof gloves. Soft, supple deerskin for sensitivity and comfort, with a breathable, waterproof membrane lining as well as a light, 40mg layer of Thinsulate® insulation that keeps your hands warm and dry. Remain supple after repeated soakings and dryings. Men's shooting gloves in brown. Imported.Men's glove sizes: S(8½), M(8½-9), L(9-9½), XL(9½-10).
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
38 of 46(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Review 1 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
February 12, 2014
By: TexEm
from Dallas, Tx
"I have cold hands and I often shoot a double bbl w/dbl triggers. The trick has been to find a pair of gloves that provide enough warmth, but aren't so puffy I can't get to the second trigger. These work perfectly.
And they are handsome enough that I even wear them around town.
All in all, a bullseye
"
Review 2 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good gloves,
February 12, 2014
By: DLMcF
"I have trouble finding gloves that fit; XLs are usually too small, and XXLs are hard to find. These XLs fit, and they appear to be very well-made."
Review 3 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gloves,
February 4, 2014
By: dweaver525i
from Clayton, NC
"The lambskin is very supple and the Thinsulate is very warm."
Review 4 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best glove ever,
January 18, 2014
By: planejerry
from NC
"They are the best pair of gloves I have ever owned. I have had them for over 10 years and still use them daily. I have used them duck hunting, pre-flighting my airplane, and evry possible winter activity. They are scrathed and dirty, but with no holes etc. I would recommend them to anyone."
Review 5 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Gloves,
January 18, 2014
By: Primo
from Ireland
"Bought a pair of these gloves 3 years ago, they were worn regularly,( we have a farm).Warm and waterproof. Unfortunately lost the RH glove in heavy cover, it was like like losing a friend and still had a lot of work in it.
I have now purchased 2 pair, we live in Ireland and as we say "just to be sure to be sure". Fantastic gloves.
"
Review 6 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gloves EVER!,
January 14, 2014
By: ladyhunter
from Illinois
"I just ordered my third pair of these gloves. One of the first pair was lost when I was grouse hunting in Wisconsin. Second pair I wear every day to care for the dogs when it is cold. I wore them last March when reporting (horseback) for a field trial. Three days of sleet, rain, and snow. The gloves helped get me through it. I need a back up pair.
With some gloves the lining gets fouled up when your hands are wet or sweaty and they are hard to get on. Not with these gloves. I simply cannot recommend them highly enough.
"
Review 7 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great gloves,
December 25, 2013
By: buckyguerra
from 91791
"The best gloves I have owned, and I own many different ones."
Review 8 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
November 23, 2013
By: Hatchet
from Pasadena, CA
"Pretty much what I expected, but have not had a chance to wear them in the field. Nice-looking and fit is generally good, but fingertips are not as close-fitting as I would prefer. They should be fine for horseback, or general wear, but do not have the touch and feel I would like for a shooting glove."
Review 9 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fitting too large and loose,
August 19, 2013
By: noblisse
from yorkshire
"Good product as usual from Orvis but fitting too large,only recommend if purchased from Shop."
Review 10 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfortable,
February 9, 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
"I love these gloves when afield! When the temps drop, these are always along for the ride. They are warm, comfortable, and not so bulky that I can't shoot effectively. Very nice gloves!"
Review 11 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warm but not durable,
January 31, 2013
By: Progundog
from Central Pennsylvania
"Great warm gloves. Super soft leather and fit was great for my large hands. The gloves only lasted one day in the field. The leather was easily ripped by a pheasant claw while putting a bird in my vest. Not for field work."
Review 12 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Poor,
January 30, 2013
By: shooterlondon
from London
"I needed a good pair of Gloves, and the Hawthorne appeared to fit the bill.
However, the product I received was not what I expected. I can only describe them as very poor quality and certainly not matching up in quality to the price I paid. I have returned them for a full refund.
"
Review 13 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not shooting gloves,
December 29, 2012
By: GPY3
"I had to return them, good gloves, well made but way too thick for shooting gloves. The uninsulated are perfect."
Review 14 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent shooting gloves,
December 26, 2012
By: Oldshep
"Bought these two years ago and used the for my annual week long pheasant hunts in SD. Gloves were warm, functional and kept out the rain and snow. Unfortunately, the liner of the right glove came out on my last trip making it imposible to use. Contacted Orvis and bought a new pair and got full credit for the old pair. Orvis' 100% satisfaction guarantee was just that- 100% satisfaction"
Review 15 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great everyday hunting glove!,
December 11, 2012
By: Stuart17
from Chicago, IL
"These are my second pair. First pair are being handed down to my son. I primarily hunt pheasants and grouse in the Midwest. Not only being incredible warm and durable, they are simply the best glove I have tried over the years. What stands out to me, is the gribbing power on my guns and the comfort around the tigger finger. I always feel like I have secure grip."
Review 16 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Confused over size,
December 10, 2012
By: CMcCoy
from Bend, Oregon
"I have purchased many great items from Orvis, and just received the Hawthorne insulated, waterproof gloves, in XL, as ordered. I am not sure if the incorrect size was sent or there is a greater problem, as the gloves indicate XL, but I could barely get my hands in them. Not sure whether to give up on them or try re-ordering a REAL XL?"
Review 17 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Gloves,
December 4, 2012
By: PatsRaw275
from Virginia Beach, VA
"These gloves are the softest
I've ever owned. The fit is true to size, but dont plan on hunting in them unless your firearm has a generously sized trigger guard. The gloves are extremely soft and comfortable, but at what cost to durability? (Only time will tell). I'll enjoy them as long as they continue to hold up.
"
Review 18 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gloves I've ever found.,
October 1, 2012
By: Routt
from Jacksonville, IL
"This is my second pair of Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Gloves. The first pair I have arenow my "work" gloves. My new pair are my "dress" gloves. I'm verypleased with them and would recommend them to anyone."
Review 19 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great but dissapointed,
January 24, 2012
By: GSPGrouseHunter
from NY
"These gloves are great, warm and water proof BUT before even reaching two full seasons four out of ten fingertips have holes in them. Really like them but i expect more from orvis."
Review 20 for Hawthorne Waterproof Breathable Shooting Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gloves for my always cold hands,
December 31, 2011
By: sebastien
from Brooklyn NY
"I had been looking for a warm pair of gloves which would not only do so but also not get soaked either by rain or snow and also be worn with a classic, dress overcoat. It so happened that I was wearing these gloves on a cold night (12/20 in Brooklyn NY) and then it started to rain heavily as predicted by weather reports. So the true test came. My hands stayed warm and totally dried. I am now a very happy "camper"."