Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod

Travel-ready for freshwater fishing, the Frequent Flyer™ packs right into your backpack, saddlebag, even your briefcase. This fly rod carries onto any plane to forever end any and all worry about your fly rod making it to your final fishing destination. Keep the fly rod right in your vehicle, out of the way, for quick getaways at lunch, or pack it into the backcountry far easier than even a four-piece rod. Seven-piece rods for freshwater and saltwater, all in the most affordable, high-quality, high-performance travel rods on the market today. Built to our exact taper design, component, and production specifications, every step of the overseas production is supervised by Orvis. Take a Flyer!
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gorgeous piece of kit,
May 12, 2014
By: Jamie66
from Edinburgh
"I was bought this rod as a leaving present from a job back in 2007 and haven't looked back.
I wild camp a lot and this goes everywhere with me, suited to my style of short casting but can easily punch above it's weight casting into a face on wind up to around 20-25 mph. It's caught fish from a few ounces to a 10lb ferox trout on loch laidon a couple of weeks ago. The female/male fittings on each piece are still snug and remain as good as new. the finish on the sections remains intact and the cordura travel case is still in good nick and would recommend it to anyone looking for a travel rod.
"
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best small package,
January 6, 2014
By: albinas
from UK
"I bought this rod as a holiday alternative to a 3 piece 5 weight expecting there to be some compromises due to the compact packaging - the great news is I am now selling my 3 piece rod as the frequent flyer is as good if not better. And due to it's size means I will have it with me more often - which means more fishing opportunities - thats a real winning situation for me ! All I can say is buy one of these and you won't be dissapointed and you will find yourself fishing more often."
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
always with me - fishes great,
June 28, 2013
By: solocanoe
from Fort Smith, AR
"I couldn't believe it was a travel rod when I strung it up!
The FF 905 (I have it in tip flex) is just fantastic! I really can't believe it. I have it paired with the Orvis Encounter Reel and had Orvis set up the backing and line for me too - great value there as well. Even the spare spool is a great deal!
On this rod - it fits INSIDE my backpack...not strapped to the outside. This is SO nice when crawling thru brush and tight trails or up a stream trying to get to places where most don't go....which is one of my favorite ways to fish.
it also is easy to take on any canoe trip...and slips in the smallest spaces in our kayaks. It never leaves my truck...unless it's getting fished...or being thrown in a briefcase or carry on bag for a trip! I really love how small it breaks down.
Assembly is simple and easy....if I am in the canoe I just put it together like a 2 piece first....string it...then assemble the 2 pieces. I can do this easily from the water in any conditions.
Tiny bluegill to some nice bass and browns, a hybrid (pulls like a monster) and several other species have all been great to fish for. This rod allows for delicate tight presentations...and still throws heavy streamers like a cannon shot.
I called Orvis to ask about fixing it - should it break. I think they are very fair. No, it's not the 25 year deal on some rods....but it's a nominal charge and I'm happy that should I need it...they will be there to help me.
My biggest problem? Trying to hold off buying a backup FF...and then maybe an 8 wt.... it's just great to have it so compact and yet fishes so well!"
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
March 21, 2013
By: SkyeSalmo
from Isle of Skye, Scotland
"Now, I've only used this rod once so I can't comment on it performance in varied conditions or it's reliability.
It's very light and packs down very small, it will easily fit in or on my rucksack and the rest of the time it will be stashed in the car in case I pass a loch with rising fish.
So first trip, set up with an Battenkill BBS IV and a floating Wonderline.
Putting the rod together was easy thanks to the alignment dots (why don't all rods have theses?)
it was cold with a light wind (5-10 mph), this little 5 weight cast further and more accurately than much heavier rods, was so light in the hand and could feel the rod working on the cast, firing the line out almost to the backing without much effort, an absolute joy to use. If this rod was stolen, I would buy another without hesitation.
"
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best travel rod available,
March 31, 2012
By: TroutGuru
from Northern California
"I love this rod because I ride my motorcycle to the rivers in Northern California. This rod fits easily into a backpack with your reel vest and a change of clothes. This rod has such quality and action you would think it was a 2 piece rod. One downfall is the warranty is not as good as on the access or helios rod."
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel rod!,
November 3, 2011
By: sarber51
"Being recently retired, I travel and wanted more "packable" equipment. I expected this Frequent Flyer Rod to be servicable but was pleasantly surprised at just how much I liked it. It is lightweight and has a nice touch. I've fished it in Colorado and New Hampshire over the past season as well as in my home rivers in Michigan when I've loaned my usual 5w to my son. The seven pieces do require a little tender loving care to assemble and disassemble - especially with cold and clumsy hands - and the rod is not covered by Orvis' usual replacement plan. I enjoy fishing this rod, it packs small in a solid tubular case and, with a little TLC, should keep me happy for many years."
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long-casting rod.,
January 18, 2011
By: Hydropsychedelic
from Sweden
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After beeing pleasantly surprized with my Frequent Flyer 8,6 #4, I bought this rod for my stillwater fishing.
I was pleasantly surprized again.
This tip-flex rod casts really good, and seems to be correct within AFTM.
It has a lot of backbone and is great for throwing large dries like hoppers and beetles, or bigger nymphs like damsels or dragons.
The casting performance, and of course the packability, is this rods big advantages."
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice rod, poor afterservice.,
May 2, 2010
By: Yamame
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a nicely packaged, attractive rod. I purchased it together with a battenkill reel. It casts well for a seven piece rod and is very easy to carry around. I travel to the US on business and it was ideal. Unfortunately, the 6th section snapped when I dropped the rod fully assembled whilst fishing on the Yakima in Washington. Surprisingly, when contacted, Orvis would not replace the broken section. If you can avoid being clumsy and breaking it then it is a good rod...."
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works - what else counts ?,
January 15, 2010
By: BobHouston
"been using this rod on the spring-fed upper Llano River in the Texas Hill Country for the last 2 years....Guadalupe Bass & Rio Grande Cichlids.....love it... It will throw small poppers and crawfish imitations as well, or better than, much higher priced rigs....can't see any reason to use anything else.....also use the Orvis braided leaders w/ fluorocarbon tips in the ultra-clear water."
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Business Travelers Dream,
October 1, 2009
By: insureu
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Ever find yourself planning business trips around hatches, bodies of water or a potential new species? My wife went into a local Orvis store and asked the fishing department manager for a few good gift ideas. Bingo! I feel like I owe him a gift now! I like fast action rods the tip flex makes those short shots amazingly well. Great little rod that I have gotten a lot of mileage out of. Paired up with a BLA II and Wonderline, this is a great combo for travelers or beginning fisherman."
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A nice surprise,
October 5, 2007
By: Spikenc
from NC
"My wife bought me the Orvis 7 pc. 5 weight as a surprise. It certainly has been a pleasant surprise. While it is very compact and an excellent deal, it sacrifices nothing in performance for most everyday flyfishing for trout in small to medium streams where wind isn't a factor. I keep it handy in my truck all the time I'm in trout country and pop it in my bag when I travel to trout country in case I can sneak away. A nice item and a great value."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Frequent Flyer 5-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1