Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod

This rod is travel-ready for your fishing expedition. The Frequent Flyer™ fly rod packs right into your backpack, saddlebag, even your briefcase. The fly rod carries onto any plane to forever end any and all worry about your fly rod making it to your final fishing destination. Keep the fly rod right in your vehicle, out of the way, for quick fishing getaways at lunch, or pack it into the backcountry far easier than even a four-piece rod. Seven-piece rods for fresh and salt water, all in the most affordable, high-quality, high-performance travel rods on the market today. Built to our exact taper design, component, and production specifications, every step of the overseas production is supervised by Orvis.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good all rounder,
October 17, 2013
By: Raythefish
"This rod is a replacement for my 7 piece missionary rod that disappeared over the side the boat at Pitsford water."
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great rod great price,
October 11, 2013
By: wildfishingnewbie
"delivered within 2 days. a good rod for the price although i wont be taking the tube when i go up the hills"
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased,
September 17, 2013
By: acricky
from Rickmansworth, UK
"I've used this 6 weight rod a couple of times since I bought it, very pleased with the action and power of the rod. Handles my 20' fast sinking sink tip like a seven rod. Look forward to taking it on my next trip abroad."
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frequent Flyer 6-wt,
September 12, 2013
By: unclesteve1
"Have fished with it once (for carp - handled fish up to 10/12lbs) A very nice rod, but it would get 5 stars if the reel fitting didn't loosen up after an hour or two's casting."
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An old favourite,
September 7, 2013
By: Glenman
from Scottish Highlands
"I bought my 9' #6 when they first came out in the 1990s and have used in South Africa (rainbows) and the UK (brown trout, seatrout, rainbows and grayling). I have lost count of the number of fish it has landed, up to 5lb weigh, both on loch and river. It is especially useful for hikes up to the hill lochs, which often entail a four mile walk in. At a pinch it will even fish a cast of three flies in traditional loch style. A great all-round rod."
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointing,
September 2, 2013
By: Bernie1
from Tenneesee
"My wife purchased this rod for me for our Anniversary. Third time I used it, it snaps right in the middle of one of the pieces. I never got a chance to even like this rod. So I called Orvis only to be told that I may or may not have to pay $50.00 for a rod repair and it will probably take 4 to 6 weeks. My childhood Zebco held up better than this rod. Disappointment does not fully describe how I feel about this company right now."
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good for traveling,
September 1, 2013
By: kafly
from NJ
"Bought the rod for traveling with it. The 6wt rod is only 3.x oz in weight, not bad. Unfortunately, to balance it, you need a 6.5oz reel + line which is heavy for a 6wt outfit. I know that ferrules do make balancing more difficult but a little longer grip and/ or downlocking reel seat might be able to help the situation."
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod,
August 21, 2013
By: BuddyH
from Port Macquarie Australia
"This rod has proven itself to be tough and easily applicable to 2 months in Ak fishing for Rainbows, grayling, char, dolleys and pinks. I had a ball using it on the Russian and Willow. It was exceptional on Contact creek and it now is my go to rod at home in Australia for estuary and freshwater species. Well done Orvis. A great rod"
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Around Todd,
December 9, 2012
By: TroutManToddy
from Oakville, Ontario
"I received a 9' 6 weight for Christmas last year. I love the compactness and the alignment dots for quick assembly. Used it for spring steelhead,fall Chinook salmon on Lake Ontario tribs, still water fishing and lots of fast water, it didn't miss a beat."
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect size,
March 30, 2012
By: LoveMyHelios
from Stockholm, Sweden
"The Frequent flyer rod is perfect sized for putting even in my small backpack. Have used it since 2011.
I often bring it as a second rod with a sinking line during the summertime. It performs very well with the sinking line, but also with a floating line, but I mostly fish the floating line on my Helios. I just wished the innerpouch in the tube was detachable to pack even more compact when hiking or travelling. It would be great to be able to choose to go with or without the rodtube.
"
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product,
September 24, 2011
By: motorfisherman
"I assumed that this seven piece would sacrifice performance for ease of packing. Just got back from CO on a motor and I was extremely impressed with the ease of assembly and the length and accurcy of the cast with this rod. Glad I purchased it and will use it in my future travels."
Review 12 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, But..,
January 25, 2011
By: paco67
from Los Angeles, CA
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The rod itself was AOk, meets Orvis' high standards. Just a quibble, the case is too large in diameter and too heavy for a "travel" rod. I believe the inner attached case should be detachable to slip in a suitcase. Or the rod should come in a smaller, lighter more compact rigid case for travel."
Review 13 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Rod,
September 23, 2010
By: Wildwater
from Guildford, Surrey,UK
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After many years of squeezing 4 piece rods into various suitcases I bought a 6 wt 9' in April this year. I have a number of Sage and Greys rods but of them all this rod is my favourite and I use it now whenever I can. The casting is fantastic and the control excellent. I have fished fast rivers, reservoirs and even took it to Australia for some coral fishing recently. Sections need to checked for security if you leave the rod assembled for a few days on a trip. Temperature changes must swell and shrink the carbon."
Review 14 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great travel rod, but broke when casting,
August 8, 2010
By: keorr
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I love the rod when traveling. I have had my 4 wt for two years and use it quite a bit as a second rod. I was just in Maine on vacation and casting out of a boat on a lake and the rod snapped in half. I was in total disbelief. At first I thought it broke at one of the connection points, but no, it broke at the mid section. I was casting as usual, maybe a little faster, but I have never had this happen to me in 15 years of fishing. Good thing it was an inexpensive rod. Not sure if Orvis would cover this is not. I would now think twice about buying another one."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer to express regret that his rod broke, and to apologize for any inconvenience. Rod breakage can happen for a variety of reasons. Our rod repair staff reviews each broken to rod to ascertain what caused the breakage, and address any that result from improper materials or construction. We want our customers to be 100% pleased with all of their purchases from Orvis.
Review 15 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT TRAVEL ROD,
July 24, 2010
By: DOCNIC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Took 3 leg plane trip from Texas to British Columbia. Easy to travel with. Caught over 100 fish from 3 to 22" (grayling and rainbows) Too strong for the 3" but very comfortable with the 22". Caught 6 spruce trees too.
Presentation was delicate and overcame some 20 knot winds.
Plan to get the 8-weight for my next trip to use for Pike."
Review 16 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Orvis frequent flyer,
December 29, 2009
By: phill721087
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I recieved this rod as a gift, on first impressions i was really impressed with the look and feel of the rod. A truly wonderful casting tool. Unfortunately i too was let down by this rod breaking. I know that all the sections were pushed in fully (you have to get into the habit of this as it seems the sections like to migrate out during casting) A gentle cast and crack! I really enjoy fishing with this rod, but i have a feeling this is why orvis will not sell this rod with a 25 year guarantee. At £50 pounds a break - it could be an expensive spring!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great in Theory,
August 14, 2009
By: DelawareFisherman
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I love the idea of this pack rod and the fact that it is seven pieces and that it packs down lite. HOWEVER, in one summer I broke 2 of these rods, the extra ferrels from it being seven pieces makes the 5wt feel as heavy as a 7wt, and the ferrels make it weaker than say a 4 piece rod as i broke two of these rods right at the ferrels."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Technical TeamSeptember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted the customer and apologized that they have had two Frequent Flyer rods break. While this economical rod does not carry the same 25-year no-fault warranty that our more expensive rods do, it still has a lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship. If unexplained breakage occurs, we advise all our customers to return the rod so that we can determine the reason for breakage. Orvis thanked this customer for the feedback and passed these comments on to our rod developer, so that he may review the strength of the ferrules.
Review 18 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel rod,
September 18, 2008
By: zSar
from New York, NY
"This is 1 of the 2 travel rods I bought from Orvis. 3 wt and this 6wt for my all around fly fishing. Excellent rod and very durable. Recommend to everyone who needs a easy stowaway fly rods for travel or daily quick excuse for daytime fishing. 8)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dIstance no problem!,
February 19, 2008
By: wornoutprinter
from Worcestershire, United Kingdom
"I have just taken delivery of my new Orvis Frequent Flyer 9' - 6 weight rod and I am amazed at how far such a light rod casts! As I couldn't wait to use it I went straight to the lake and then took 6 Rainbow trout all over 2 pounds in weight and all taken on a dry fly fished at long distance. The rod was described as tip action and that is EXACTLY what it is, but the power in such a light rod has to be seen and tried to be believed. I am convinced that this has been my best fishing purchase in over 20 years fishing"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Frequent Flyer 6-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light in Hand with Remarkable Power,
December 5, 2007
By: Anonymous
"In my view the 906-7 is one of the best lake, reservoir and large stream rods ever made. Remarkably light in the hand, it shoots line like a gun without tireing the arm after a day of bank fishing. I have number of reservoir rods, all of which are 6-12" longer for line weights of 7-8, and not only is the 906-7 more forgiving, but it is capable of getting streamers and flies out further and with more delicacy than any of the others. And it's a superb boat rod to match."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.