Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod

Travel-ready, the Frequent Flyer™ fly rod packs right into your backpack, saddlebag, even your briefcase. The fly rod carries onto any plane to forever end any and all worry about your fly rod making it to your final fishing destination. Keep the fly rod right in your vehicle, out of the way, for quick fishing getaways at lunch, or pack it into the backcountry far easier than even a four-piece fly rod. Seven-piece fly rods for fresh and salt water, all in the most affordable, high-quality, high-performance travel rods on the market today. Built to our exact taper design, component, and production specifications, every step of the overseas production is supervised by Orvis. Take a Flyer!
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little Mikado,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"I own the 8-weight FF for almost ten years now (and the 9-weight, which I will review accordingly). It is surprisingly light for a seven section rod. Snake, tip and guide rings are of good dimensions and all of the hardware is saltwater suitable. Once assembled it casts a standard 8-weight WF line well, but on long casts or with (even intemediate) sink-tips it feels more at home with a 7-weight. This is all right for me. If noit air travelling, it lives together with it's #9 companion under the driver seat of my car in the vicinity of two reels with a spare spool and a minimalistic pack of flies, leaders and tippet material. This may be an analogy to the city manager who drives a Land Rover just in case he should get stuck in the desert... but honestly, it gets used from time to time as a completely satisfying primary rod and always acts as a comforting backup rod for my ZG and Helios gear. I intend to spend the rest of my christmas budget on a 5-weight, but I'll have to use the shotgun seat for this one. Oh, btw, you can also use it for a game of Mikado on a boring storm day in the cabin ;–) - and here's the only shortcoming: It's hard to tell the sections apart, when two rods got mixed up."
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice, maybe the best,
December 26, 2013
By: Flyexplorer
from Copenhagen, Denmark
"I have got a wonderful rod, nearly for all purpose around Denmark.
I'm very satisfied
"
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November 18, 2013
By: squirly
"casts great, fits in my daypack. my 6 piece 8wt. from another co. broke mysteriously. orvis quality seems better."
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not a great rod,
November 4, 2013
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"My least favorite Orvis rod, it casts poorly because of its 7 piece design and the 8 weight version casts worse than the lighter versions by a large margin. It should be considered specialty equipment for the hardcore backpacker that must have compactness at all costs."
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frequent Flyer 908-7 rod,
November 1, 2013
By: Jimbo4444
from Rhode Island
"This will be my go-to rod when I pack my carry-on bag to do a little saltwater fishing. The finish was excellent. It casts like a dream for a 7 piece rod. I love it."
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprized but very pleased,
September 30, 2013
By: Fishalot
from North Kent UK
"This is my 6th 8wt 9' rod for saltwater but only my second Orvis, my other being a 9' 2 piece ZG. To be honest I wasnt expecting much for the price paid, I just wanted a passable carry on multi section rod for travelling.
I am really pleased with it, very well finished, excellent quality and I couldn't tell it had seven sections. Light, crisp powerful rod that casts just a fraction less well than the ZG but that did cost a LOT more!
I really can't fault it, really good value for money. The right size haywires (too many saltie rods have too small eyes) and the stripping guides are good quality.
I'd just say to the development team, that I would prefer a matt blank and perhaps suggest that the rod is best rated as 7/8, it likes some of my 8wt lines but struggled slightly with long bellies (as indeed we all do)"
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good product,
May 18, 2012
By: JoiBjarna
"It is just what I wanted when trawelling. I like the action of the rod and handle. I am very pleased with it."
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great Florida rod,
August 30, 2011
By: Rookhawk
from Chicago, IL
"I loved this rod for use in Florida. Easily packable , it worked well on largemouth bass and then could easily be brought out to the ocean for redfish and snook. (small tarpon too)
Unfortunately, my Florida cottage was robbed and this was what the thieves took. Unbelievably, the thieves passed over all my other gear and grabbed the frequent flyer rod and my matching large arbor reel instead of taking anything else. I guess that is a telling sign, even a thief knew the best gear I had and wouldnt accept anything less!
I'll be getting another one of these eventually. I strongly suggest personalizing it to reduce it's saleability if ever stolen."
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect rod in any sense,
August 12, 2011
By: goyotarpon
from CABA Argentina
""I do have not only the FF number 8 but also the number 9. My learners for fly casting (I´m a FFF certified fly casting instructor) having the number 5 and 6 feel the same I do. Wonderful rod!!!! Please I ask Orvis designers to include also the number 10 and number 12. I am a Tarpon fisherman and I would be very glad to have these rods for travelling!!! I know that many Tarpon and flats in general fly fishermen are eager to have these rods in the market.
I did tried the #8 and #9 on Bonefish and freshwater Dorado and performed beautifully. Thanks much to Orvis!!!"
"
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Frequent Traveler,
July 20, 2010
By: Kreggor
from Salem, OR
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I used my 5 weight Frequent Flyer Rod today on the North Fork of the Flathead. I hooked into about 9 whitefish ranging from 12 to 17 inch and had no problems. I have used it for 2 years now and I am very happy. I want to get an 8 Weight since the bull trout in Oregon seem to be a little much for the 5 weight.
If you need a rod that packs well in a suit case or for a backpack trip this is the one. Don't bother with any others brands right now. It is money well spent and I am cheap just ask my wife."
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good All Rounder,
March 21, 2010
By: Agiclone
from Derbyshire, England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"A good all round rod. A little softer than I was expecting, so can cast a 7 :-) as well as it's rated 8 but struggles slightly with long belly 8 lines :-(. One rod I can take anywhere.
A tiny detail, I would like the reel fitting to have a rubber ring between the locking rings to stop them getting too tight/coming loose.
In general I would like Orvis to offer matt finish rods.
"
Review 12 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
7 piece?,
February 2, 2008
By: JATSTANIC
from Derbyshire, England
"I was so surprised the first time I picked up the FF. I was amazed at it's weight especially as it had 7 sections. Took to Belize with me and one of the party with me used it in preference to his normal rod which cost nearly 4 times as much, he certainly is a convert of the FF as well!!"
Review 13 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty darn good,
October 4, 2007
By: Gordon
"I purchased 2 of the FQ rods prior to our annual trip to Cuba.
Quite frankly I was very suprised at the overall ability of these seven piece rods.
They are obviously easy to pack !
The winds of Cuba put them to the casting test and the Bones of Cuba tested them as always; surprised, yes.
Pleased absolutely!!!
"
Review 14 for Frequent Flyer 8-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to Use Fly Rod,
October 4, 2007
By: Dean
from Tennessee River
"I'm a beginner, but I find this rod to be very easy to use. The case is great, easy to pack in my luggage. The rod comes out in a logical order and pushes together easily. Occasionally I have had it come apart in a cast, but I suspect that is more my fault than the rod's. I also have a classic, beautiful cane fly rod, and this one is easier to use."