Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket

A streamlined version of the classic waxed cotton jacket, this brushed cotton design has a modern fit shaped by front and back princess seaming and adjustable side tabs. Styled with a funnel collar lined in soft fleece and a reinforced shoulder yoke to keep moisture from penetrating, it has a two-way zipper concealed under a snap placket. Finished with zippered cuffs, two chest and two bellowed hip pockets, and topstitching accents. Mediumweight 6oz Barbour Sylkoil® wax-treated cotton jacket with tartan plaid lining. 100% cotton jacket and lining. Sponge clean. Imported. Sizes: 4-16; about 26" long.Please note this is a slim fitting style. We suggest ordering a size up for a looser fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 of 40(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 14, 2014
By: Beaudin
from Haymarket, Va.
"This is a timeless jacket that is casual yet elegant. It is my 'uniform'"
Review 2 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 24, 2014
By: KatieP
"Purchased this as a Gift for an year old - if fit her perfectly without her trying the coat on so the sizes are pretty accurate. The coat is warm and classic."
Review 3 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
February 11, 2014
By: Tknash
"I would not ordinarily spend this kind of $$$ on anything for myself, but my husband got this jacket for me for my birthday and I LOVE it. It has figure flattering snaps that cinch at the waist, which also makes it look a little less masculine. I am normally a 4 (US) in jackets, but I got a 6 (US) in this and it is perfect. Take note that this cannot be dry cleaned."
Review 4 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Utility jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: winifred66
"Over all I love the Jacket but it is TOO expensive"
Review 5 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I thought it would be,
January 20, 2014
By: KT123
"I was looking for a classic oversized Barbor jacket and unfortunately this was not it. I ordered it a size larger than normal as many reviews said it ran small but it was very large (wide) on me and hung all wrong. It is almost like a tailored jacket so be sure that is what you are looking for!"
Review 6 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new coat!,
January 20, 2014
By: Mcrushin
from Birmingham, AL
"I had been looking to buy a Barbour coat for about two months and finally found the perfect style and price on Orvis! I wear it daily! My favorite!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 13, 2014
By: Barbour14
"Great jacket! Love that the silhouette can be adjusted as desired. I have enjoyed how well this coat blocks the wind, but wish it had zippers for the Barbour insert."
Review 8 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase and Experience Ever,
January 13, 2014
By: JG4591
from Dallas, TX
"I originally got this product in the wrong size as a gift. I went into one of the stores to exchange it and had a great experience from help from behind the register to on the phone to exchange for a new size. I love this product also and it is a great coat. I highly recommend Barbour's to anyone but ladies, this one is flattering and wonderful!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
December 31, 2013
By: Nashvilletk
"I really needed a new, smart looking but still casual enough for jeans jacket. This was perfect, and although pricey, worth the investment. I will wear it for years! I did size up to a 6 (am normally a 4) and I am glad I did. The side buttons that cinch the waist give nice definition."
Review 10 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift for a Loving Daughter,
December 26, 2013
By: MBF125
from Seattle, WA
"Superb coat and quality is wonderful. She will have it for a lifetime. Made Christmas special."
Review 11 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
December 16, 2013
By: StJamesMom
"Great jacket for in between weather, runs a bit small so plan accordingly.
Make sure to wax yearly.
"
Review 12 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket,
December 7, 2013
By: Fishingsue
from Memphis, TN
"Bought my first Barbour jacket in England 25 years ago and still wear it. I have decided it is time for a different style and loved the selection I found at Orvis."
Review 13 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent all-around Jacket,
November 28, 2013
By: lesliebmd
from Mississippi
"Fantastic well constructed jacket. it is everything advertised and has a nice updated style.
I know I will wear it for years to come."
Review 14 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointment,
November 11, 2013
By: Azucar
"This jacket was not what I expected. A friend has a Barbour jacket that is supposedly of the same materials--waxed cotton--but hers is shiny and well tailored. I thought from the picture this one would be like that but it's not--the texture is dull and it fits more like a man's hunting jacket than a sleek city coat. It's reasonably warm and functions well as an autumn/spring jacket but I wish the appearance were more like my friend's Barbour jacket."
Review 15 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it,
October 1, 2013
By: Els2014
"Such a good fit. Perfect pockets. Super warm for a coat of this weight."
Review 16 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Barbour Women's Utility Jacket,
September 11, 2013
By: mobymelville
"This is a nice stylish lightweight waxed cotton jacket that fit me nicely (size 8, 110 #). I returned it for two reasons: the price tag of $399 offended my sense of value for a product made in Moldova, and there were no side pockets, only patch pockets."
Review 17 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally worth it,
August 26, 2013
By: Blueberry6
from Sandestin, FL
"I recently bought a Women's barbour utility jacket in a US size 10. I was unsure about what size to order because all my friends said they ran really small. I'm 5'9" and have really long arms. I wear a 4 in clothes but since I'm so tall and have long arms I went with a size 10 and it was a perfect fit. The jacket is warm and comfortable! It was definitely worth it."
Review 18 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FABULOUS!,
August 6, 2013
By: bluberg
"The color was perfect! goes w/ everything. The fit was exactly as you mentioned - I wear a 0 so the smallest sz you have works w/ room for a sweater worn under. The length of jacket & sleeve are just where they should be. This jacket is one that will not only be in my closet forever - it will get worn forever! Great buy! A smart jacket that will transend all style changes."
Review 19 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket.,
June 15, 2013
By: ellerenee
"My brother recommended Barbour to me after I had been looking for a good/stylish jacket for the San Francisco climate for quite some time. This is exactly what I had been searching for. It was great that Orvis had the product and shipped to SF. I can't speak to how it wears over time as I have only had it less than a month. But, it is the perfect jacket for the chilly and often fluctuating weather here. Also, since Orvis lists them in US sizes it was easy for me to purchase the correct size."
Review 20 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
barbour ladies utility,
January 28, 2013
By: aaaa42
from NY, NY
"This jacket isn't serious enough to be a hunting or shooting jacket or attractive enough to be a city jacket. Orvis should carry a bigger selection of barbour for women - and other options, like Filson. The way to go is to shop in the men's section and find small sizes, if carried."