Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket

A streamlined version of the classic waxed cotton jacket, this brushed cotton design has a modern fit shaped by front and back princess seaming and adjustable side tabs. Styled with a funnel collar lined in soft fleece and a reinforced shoulder yoke to keep moisture from penetrating, it has a two-way zipper concealed under a snap placket. Finished with zippered cuffs, two chest and two bellowed hip pockets, and topstitching accents. Mediumweight 6oz Barbour Sylkoil® wax-treated cotton jacket with tartan plaid lining. 100% cotton jacket and lining. Sponge clean. Imported. Sizes: 4-16; about 26" long.Please note this is a slim fitting style. We suggest ordering a size up for a looser fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.685 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
50 of 54(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket!,
April 6, 2015
By: sleeth
"This is a terrific jacket. Well made and great details.
Many reviewers stated it ran very small, so I originally ordered up and needed to return for a smaller size. I wear a 6-8 in dresses/shirts and the 8 jacket fit me just fine even with a sweater."
Review 2 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality I Expect,
March 30, 2015
By: SportyLook
from Charlottesville, VA
"I bought the Barbour Ladies Utility Jacket because it has a classic look that I like and it is warm. I also like that Orvis clothes are sized for normal people and not stick thin 20 year olds. I wear this jacket all the time and love how slimming it is. I normally wear a petite size, but with Orvis I find I can wear a lot of their regular sizes. This coat will be with me for a long time. You just have to try it on to fall in love with it."
Review 3 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks like quality,
March 24, 2015
By: Plaid
from Racine, Wisconsin
"This is not my first Barbour and it won't be my last as it looks good and feels good. It is a slim cut; I am 5'7" and 123 lbs so ordered a size 8 instead of a six and am glad I did so. Enough room for a wool or fleece sweater but fitted so I don't look bulky. Is great for Wisconsin's ever-changing weather and I have already worn it in temps from 30 to 60. Also, The sleeves, which when unzipped, show the Barbour plaid.yet another classy element."
Review 4 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My most favorite coat ever!!!!,
March 4, 2015
By: BacktotheBeach
"My Grandaughter, and grandson had Barbour jackets, and kept talking about how much they liked them. My grandson is a freshman in college, and said it was great for walking around campus . So this 72 year old grandmother ordered her one, and I truly love it. It is so comfortable, and is not bulky. The warmth you get from it is wonderful. I have enjoyed wearing it I ordered another one is a different style, and have even ordered me one for the spring. I highly recommend the Barbour jacket to young and old!!!"
Review 5 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy,
February 3, 2015
By: Heather12
"Great jacket. I would normally order a size 2 or 4 and ordered a six. I recommend ordering a size or two up. Very happy with my purchase."
Review 6 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is wonderful for everyday wear!,
January 9, 2015
By: Volleyballkatie9
from Charlotte, NC
"This coat is super lightweight and comfortable but still keeps you very warm. I have broad shoulders and am taller and was able to order 2 sizes up and it fits great! There is also a custom sleeve option, which I might explore down the road. I cannot wait to wear this all winter long!"
Review 7 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket,
January 4, 2015
By: SML2006
"Got this jacket for my wife for Christmas and was definitely a big hit. You can't go wrong with Barbour. Jacket does have a very tailored slimmer fit. She is usually size 0-2 and I got her a 4 which fits her perfect. If you are wanting to wear a good size sweater or layer with it, I would go 2 sizes up."
Review 8 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Gift,
January 2, 2015
By: twinsmom2
from South Carolina
"Great quality and fits true to size. This Barbour ladies Utility Jacket is well worth the purchase. I got this as a gift for my 23 year old daughter."
Review 9 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
December 31, 2014
By: smfranks
from Murrells Inlet, SC
"I bought this jacket for my wife as a Christmas present. She loves it! One thing to note is that she had to go up a size from her normal to find the perfect fit."
Review 10 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket,
December 27, 2014
By: AntX
from Washington D.C., USA
"The overall jacket is a very nice product for spring. Unfortunately the lining is thin and is not proper for winter cold weather attire. I had to return it for a jacket that provides a liner zip in. This particular utilty jacket does not have an inner liner zipper. True to the fit, also another reason for the return. She needs a little more room for extra layer of clothing."
Review 11 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous,
December 15, 2014
By: MammaCat
from Pelham, NY
"Fabulous beautiful quality coat that I know my daughter will love!"
Review 12 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 10, 2014
By: MindyR
from Parshall, ND
"Love the jacket!! Perfect length and style! The only thing is I did order a size up and its still snug so def order one to two sizes up!! But I love the jacket!!"
Review 13 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazing stylish fall coat,
October 7, 2014
By: LaurenFarawell
from Fair Haven, NJ
"I absolutely love this coat and have been eyeing it for quite awhile now. I think it's a bit pricey (and my husband wasn't a fan of the price) but I truly have been waiting to purchase it. I used Orvis because you get $10 off for signing up for emails. I love the color (hunter green) and I especially love the lining inside and how it looks all together. The zippers and buttons are super unique. I got the smallest size and it fits perfectly, except I probably can't fit a sweatshirt or heavy sweater underneath. I do not like that you can't even dry clean so I really hope that I don't get something on it and will try and take extra care of it. I also think the color green of my coat has gotten a little darker and I wish it didn't. Otherwise I would recommend and I really love this coat apart of my fall wardrobe!"
Review 14 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome buy,
July 25, 2014
By: Fougie
from Houston tx
"Excellent craftsmanship will last a lifetime. Timeless never out of style. Warm"
Review 15 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 14, 2014
By: Beaudin
from Haymarket, Va.
"This is a timeless jacket that is casual yet elegant. It is my 'uniform'"
Review 16 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 24, 2014
By: KatieP
"Purchased this as a Gift for an year old - if fit her perfectly without her trying the coat on so the sizes are pretty accurate. The coat is warm and classic."
Review 17 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
February 11, 2014
By: Tknash
"I would not ordinarily spend this kind of $$$ on anything for myself, but my husband got this jacket for me for my birthday and I LOVE it. It has figure flattering snaps that cinch at the waist, which also makes it look a little less masculine. I am normally a 4 (US) in jackets, but I got a 6 (US) in this and it is perfect. Take note that this cannot be dry cleaned."
Review 18 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Utility jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: winifred66
"Over all I love the Jacket but it is TOO expensive"
Review 19 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I thought it would be,
January 20, 2014
By: KT123
"I was looking for a classic oversized Barbor jacket and unfortunately this was not it. I ordered it a size larger than normal as many reviews said it ran small but it was very large (wide) on me and hung all wrong. It is almost like a tailored jacket so be sure that is what you are looking for!"
Review 20 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new coat!,
January 20, 2014
By: Mcrushin
from Birmingham, AL
"I had been looking to buy a Barbour coat for about two months and finally found the perfect style and price on Orvis! I wear it daily! My favorite!"