Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket

A streamlined version of the classic waxed cotton jacket, this brushed cotton design has a modern fit shaped by front and back princess seaming and adjustable side tabs. Styled with a funnel collar lined in soft fleece and a reinforced shoulder yoke to keep moisture from penetrating, it has a two-way zipper concealed under a snap placket. Finished with zippered cuffs, two chest and two bellowed hip pockets, and topstitching accents. Mediumweight 6oz Barbour Sylkoil® wax-treated cotton jacket with tartan plaid lining. 100% cotton jacket and lining. Sponge clean. Imported. Sizes: 4-16; about 26" long.Please note this is a slim fitting style. We suggest ordering a size up for a looser fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 42(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazing stylish fall coat,
October 7, 2014
By: LaurenFarawell
from Fair Haven, NJ
"I absolutely love this coat and have been eyeing it for quite awhile now. I think it's a bit pricey (and my husband wasn't a fan of the price) but I truly have been waiting to purchase it. I used Orvis because you get $10 off for signing up for emails. I love the color (hunter green) and I especially love the lining inside and how it looks all together. The zippers and buttons are super unique. I got the smallest size and it fits perfectly, except I probably can't fit a sweatshirt or heavy sweater underneath. I do not like that you can't even dry clean so I really hope that I don't get something on it and will try and take extra care of it. I also think the color green of my coat has gotten a little darker and I wish it didn't. Otherwise I would recommend and I really love this coat apart of my fall wardrobe!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome buy,
July 25, 2014
By: Fougie
from Houston tx
"Excellent craftsmanship will last a lifetime. Timeless never out of style. Warm"
Review 3 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 14, 2014
By: Beaudin
from Haymarket, Va.
"This is a timeless jacket that is casual yet elegant. It is my 'uniform'"
Review 4 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 24, 2014
By: KatieP
"Purchased this as a Gift for an year old - if fit her perfectly without her trying the coat on so the sizes are pretty accurate. The coat is warm and classic."
Review 5 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
February 11, 2014
By: Tknash
"I would not ordinarily spend this kind of $$$ on anything for myself, but my husband got this jacket for me for my birthday and I LOVE it. It has figure flattering snaps that cinch at the waist, which also makes it look a little less masculine. I am normally a 4 (US) in jackets, but I got a 6 (US) in this and it is perfect. Take note that this cannot be dry cleaned."
Review 6 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Utility jacket,
February 10, 2014
By: winifred66
"Over all I love the Jacket but it is TOO expensive"
Review 7 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not what I thought it would be,
January 20, 2014
By: KT123
"I was looking for a classic oversized Barbor jacket and unfortunately this was not it. I ordered it a size larger than normal as many reviews said it ran small but it was very large (wide) on me and hung all wrong. It is almost like a tailored jacket so be sure that is what you are looking for!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new coat!,
January 20, 2014
By: Mcrushin
from Birmingham, AL
"I had been looking to buy a Barbour coat for about two months and finally found the perfect style and price on Orvis! I wear it daily! My favorite!"
Review 9 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January 13, 2014
By: Barbour14
"Great jacket! Love that the silhouette can be adjusted as desired. I have enjoyed how well this coat blocks the wind, but wish it had zippers for the Barbour insert."
Review 10 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase and Experience Ever,
January 13, 2014
By: JG4591
from Dallas, TX
"I originally got this product in the wrong size as a gift. I went into one of the stores to exchange it and had a great experience from help from behind the register to on the phone to exchange for a new size. I love this product also and it is a great coat. I highly recommend Barbour's to anyone but ladies, this one is flattering and wonderful!"
Review 11 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
December 31, 2013
By: Nashvilletk
"I really needed a new, smart looking but still casual enough for jeans jacket. This was perfect, and although pricey, worth the investment. I will wear it for years! I did size up to a 6 (am normally a 4) and I am glad I did. The side buttons that cinch the waist give nice definition."
Review 12 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift for a Loving Daughter,
December 26, 2013
By: MBF125
from Seattle, WA
"Superb coat and quality is wonderful. She will have it for a lifetime. Made Christmas special."
Review 13 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
December 16, 2013
By: StJamesMom
"Great jacket for in between weather, runs a bit small so plan accordingly.
Make sure to wax yearly.
"
Review 14 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket,
December 7, 2013
By: Fishingsue
from Memphis, TN
"Bought my first Barbour jacket in England 25 years ago and still wear it. I have decided it is time for a different style and loved the selection I found at Orvis."
Review 15 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent all-around Jacket,
November 28, 2013
By: lesliebmd
from Mississippi
"Fantastic well constructed jacket. it is everything advertised and has a nice updated style.
I know I will wear it for years to come."
Review 16 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointment,
November 11, 2013
By: Azucar
"This jacket was not what I expected. A friend has a Barbour jacket that is supposedly of the same materials--waxed cotton--but hers is shiny and well tailored. I thought from the picture this one would be like that but it's not--the texture is dull and it fits more like a man's hunting jacket than a sleek city coat. It's reasonably warm and functions well as an autumn/spring jacket but I wish the appearance were more like my friend's Barbour jacket."
Review 17 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love it,
October 1, 2013
By: Els2014
"Such a good fit. Perfect pockets. Super warm for a coat of this weight."
Review 18 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Barbour Women's Utility Jacket,
September 11, 2013
By: mobymelville
"This is a nice stylish lightweight waxed cotton jacket that fit me nicely (size 8, 110 #). I returned it for two reasons: the price tag of $399 offended my sense of value for a product made in Moldova, and there were no side pockets, only patch pockets."
Review 19 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally worth it,
August 26, 2013
By: Blueberry6
from Sandestin, FL
"I recently bought a Women's barbour utility jacket in a US size 10. I was unsure about what size to order because all my friends said they ran really small. I'm 5'9" and have really long arms. I wear a 4 in clothes but since I'm so tall and have long arms I went with a size 10 and it was a perfect fit. The jacket is warm and comfortable! It was definitely worth it."
Review 20 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FABULOUS!,
August 6, 2013
By: bluberg
"The color was perfect! goes w/ everything. The fit was exactly as you mentioned - I wear a 0 so the smallest sz you have works w/ room for a sweater worn under. The length of jacket & sleeve are just where they should be. This jacket is one that will not only be in my closet forever - it will get worn forever! Great buy! A smart jacket that will transend all style changes."