Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket

A streamlined version of the classic waxed cotton jacket, this brushed cotton design has a modern fit shaped by front and back princess seaming and adjustable side tabs. Styled with a funnel collar lined in soft fleece and a reinforced shoulder yoke to keep moisture from penetrating, it has a two-way zipper concealed under a snap placket. Finished with zippered cuffs, two chest and two bellowed hip pockets, and topstitching accents. Mediumweight 6oz Barbour Sylkoil® wax-treated cotton jacket with tartan plaid lining. 100% cotton jacket and lining. Sponge clean. Imported. Sizes: 4-16; about 26" long.Please note this is a slim fitting style. We suggest ordering a size up for a looser fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
53 of 57(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Review 1 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket, great fit and durable,
July 17, 2015
By: Pitchy76
from Sydney, Australia
"I've always wanted a versatile jacket for the wet and cold Sydney winters and this jacket does the trick! It's cut well yet roomy enough to layer under and I love the pockets and the lining. Would definitely buy another Barbour jacket anytime!"
Review 2 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Birthday Gift!,
July 17, 2015
By: bergt
from San Francisco, CA
"Recently purchased the Ladies Barbour Utility Jacket for my girlfriend. The quality was outstanding and fit was as suggested. Barbour puts an emphasis on quality, which is why the jacket will likely last a lifetime. Waxed and brushed cotton are extremely durable and provide a rustic charm with age. Perfect jacket for SF as you can layer or wear stand alone."
Review 3 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool jacket,
May 9, 2015
By: MMay
from New York, NY
"I bought this for my college-age daughter. (I had a coupon.) It satisfies her cool quotient. Now her younger sister and I both want one. Waiting for another coupon! This is a rain and cool-weather jacket: It's not made for bitter cold."
Review 4 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great jacket!,
April 6, 2015
By: sleeth
"This is a terrific jacket. Well made and great details.
Many reviewers stated it ran very small, so I originally ordered up and needed to return for a smaller size. I wear a 6-8 in dresses/shirts and the 8 jacket fit me just fine even with a sweater."
Review 5 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality I Expect,
March 30, 2015
By: SportyLook
from Charlottesville, VA
"I bought the Barbour Ladies Utility Jacket because it has a classic look that I like and it is warm. I also like that Orvis clothes are sized for normal people and not stick thin 20 year olds. I wear this jacket all the time and love how slimming it is. I normally wear a petite size, but with Orvis I find I can wear a lot of their regular sizes. This coat will be with me for a long time. You just have to try it on to fall in love with it."
Review 6 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looks like quality,
March 24, 2015
By: Plaid
from Racine, Wisconsin
"This is not my first Barbour and it won't be my last as it looks good and feels good. It is a slim cut; I am 5'7" and 123 lbs so ordered a size 8 instead of a six and am glad I did so. Enough room for a wool or fleece sweater but fitted so I don't look bulky. Is great for Wisconsin's ever-changing weather and I have already worn it in temps from 30 to 60. Also, The sleeves, which when unzipped, show the Barbour plaid.yet another classy element."
Review 7 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My most favorite coat ever!!!!,
March 4, 2015
By: BacktotheBeach
"My Grandaughter, and grandson had Barbour jackets, and kept talking about how much they liked them. My grandson is a freshman in college, and said it was great for walking around campus . So this 72 year old grandmother ordered her one, and I truly love it. It is so comfortable, and is not bulky. The warmth you get from it is wonderful. I have enjoyed wearing it I ordered another one is a different style, and have even ordered me one for the spring. I highly recommend the Barbour jacket to young and old!!!"
Review 8 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy,
February 3, 2015
By: Heather12
"Great jacket. I would normally order a size 2 or 4 and ordered a six. I recommend ordering a size or two up. Very happy with my purchase."
Review 9 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is wonderful for everyday wear!,
January 9, 2015
By: Volleyballkatie9
from Charlotte, NC
"This coat is super lightweight and comfortable but still keeps you very warm. I have broad shoulders and am taller and was able to order 2 sizes up and it fits great! There is also a custom sleeve option, which I might explore down the road. I cannot wait to wear this all winter long!"
Review 10 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket,
January 4, 2015
By: SML2006
"Got this jacket for my wife for Christmas and was definitely a big hit. You can't go wrong with Barbour. Jacket does have a very tailored slimmer fit. She is usually size 0-2 and I got her a 4 which fits her perfect. If you are wanting to wear a good size sweater or layer with it, I would go 2 sizes up."
Review 11 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Gift,
January 2, 2015
By: twinsmom2
from South Carolina
"Great quality and fits true to size. This Barbour ladies Utility Jacket is well worth the purchase. I got this as a gift for my 23 year old daughter."
Review 12 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
December 31, 2014
By: smfranks
from Murrells Inlet, SC
"I bought this jacket for my wife as a Christmas present. She loves it! One thing to note is that she had to go up a size from her normal to find the perfect fit."
Review 13 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Jacket,
December 27, 2014
By: AntX
from Washington D.C., USA
"The overall jacket is a very nice product for spring. Unfortunately the lining is thin and is not proper for winter cold weather attire. I had to return it for a jacket that provides a liner zip in. This particular utilty jacket does not have an inner liner zipper. True to the fit, also another reason for the return. She needs a little more room for extra layer of clothing."
Review 14 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous,
December 15, 2014
By: MammaCat
from Pelham, NY
"Fabulous beautiful quality coat that I know my daughter will love!"
Review 15 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
November 10, 2014
By: MindyR
from Parshall, ND
"Love the jacket!! Perfect length and style! The only thing is I did order a size up and its still snug so def order one to two sizes up!! But I love the jacket!!"
Review 16 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amazing stylish fall coat,
October 7, 2014
By: LaurenFarawell
from Fair Haven, NJ
"I absolutely love this coat and have been eyeing it for quite awhile now. I think it's a bit pricey (and my husband wasn't a fan of the price) but I truly have been waiting to purchase it. I used Orvis because you get $10 off for signing up for emails. I love the color (hunter green) and I especially love the lining inside and how it looks all together. The zippers and buttons are super unique. I got the smallest size and it fits perfectly, except I probably can't fit a sweatshirt or heavy sweater underneath. I do not like that you can't even dry clean so I really hope that I don't get something on it and will try and take extra care of it. I also think the color green of my coat has gotten a little darker and I wish it didn't. Otherwise I would recommend and I really love this coat apart of my fall wardrobe!"
Review 17 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome buy,
July 25, 2014
By: Fougie
from Houston tx
"Excellent craftsmanship will last a lifetime. Timeless never out of style. Warm"
Review 18 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
March 14, 2014
By: Beaudin
from Haymarket, Va.
"This is a timeless jacket that is casual yet elegant. It is my 'uniform'"
Review 19 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
February 24, 2014
By: KatieP
"Purchased this as a Gift for an year old - if fit her perfectly without her trying the coat on so the sizes are pretty accurate. The coat is warm and classic."
Review 20 for Barbour® Ladies Utility Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
February 11, 2014
By: Tknash
"I would not ordinarily spend this kind of $$$ on anything for myself, but my husband got this jacket for me for my birthday and I LOVE it. It has figure flattering snaps that cinch at the waist, which also makes it look a little less masculine. I am normally a 4 (US) in jackets, but I got a 6 (US) in this and it is perfect. Take note that this cannot be dry cleaned."