Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Premium Moleskin Field Pants

The highest-quality premium English moleskin, heavily washed for a soft and pliable hand without compromising its durability. The 100% cotton fabric is, at 11 oz., 40% more robust than our Ratcatcher moleskin for rugged wear. Our men's casual pants feature a plain front with button closure. Mock-suede trim resists wear. Coin pocket. Double mock-leather center-back belt loop. Button-through rear pockets. Men's casual pants are made of pure cotton. Washable. Imported of English fabric.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
54 of 59(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Review 1 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
October 11, 2013
By: flintarrowhead
from West Tennessee deer country
"Good fit; strong, soft fabric; comfortable to wear. When my fitness plan yields necessary results, I will buy a set of Orvis moleskin pants. I would rather not have the fake leather trim though, since washable clothes are more convenient and eco-friendly."
Review 2 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Winter Trousers,
March 30, 2013
By: vsulov
"OK, these may not be the warmest and they are only cotton (no wool). Still I consider them one of the best winter trousers. So incredibly soft and comfortable and yet so warm. Did just fine even in freezing temperatures."
Review 3 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Best,
January 23, 2013
By: Daglish
from London
"I bought my first pair of Moleskins in the '70s, from a traditional mens outfitters in Bristol (UK). As you would expect at that time they were English made, and being in the heart of the Westcountry, of traditional style, and their quality was reflected in the price.
On and off over the years I have purchased others but none ever compared to that first pair, indeed some were quite disappointing. Until now.
Orvis's Premium Moleskins are as good as I recall that first pair being. The heavy fabric, the cut and the fit all make for an excellent pair of trousers.
In just one way, they clearly differ from the cherished original pair; the leather reinforced pocket edges, a wonderful enhancement. I am confident to say without reservation, these are simply the best Moleskins I have ever worn.
"
Review 4 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moleskins to end all moleskins,
January 21, 2013
By: highmileage
"I have owned two pairs of these field moleskins and just ordered a third pair. I've never come across better moleskin trousers - the softness, the weight and the fit are great. Like a lot of guys I come to Orvis for the quality and the fit. Many traditional English country wear retailers cut their clothes on the tight side and that doesn't work for some of us. The larger fit of Orvis is great for me."
Review 5 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All weather pants,
January 8, 2013
By: Pizzaandwings
from Buffalo NY
"I live in Buffalo NY so I see quite a variety of weather conditions as you can imagine. It is regularly colder here than certain towns in Alaska so trust me these are my "go to" pants for fall/winter/spring. They are the most comfortable I own and I would wear them everyday if possible. They are vitually wind-proof and I have worn them snow shoeing, snow blowing and hiking in 40+ MPH winds in comfort. Indoors they are also extremely comfortable as they dont get overly hot like wool can. I hope they last for may years."
Review 6 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PRODUCT!,
December 29, 2012
By: DESARK
from FREDERICK MD
"THERE IS NOTHING FINER THAN 'MOLESKIN'! SUPERIOR QUALITY! PURCHASED AS A GIFT FOR FATHER-IN-LAW, I KNOW HE WILL LOVE THEM! THESE WERE ALL THAT MY DAD USED TO WEAR."
Review 7 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
expensive but worth it,
December 29, 2012
By: nymeria
from ny
"not cut for men only, even a small woman appreciates the luxurious softness and long lasting durability. ruggedly elegant"
Review 8 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
work pants,
December 29, 2012
By: boatshop
"pants purchased with outdoor walking in cold weather and use as work pants in woodworking shop. pants have delivered beyond expectations. perfectly suited for both uses. close weave of cloth ideal to keep warm on windy days outside. fit of pants comfortable for crouching and bending doing shop work."
Review 9 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pants on Fire,
December 28, 2012
By: A1C3
from Pittsburgh, PA
"If you are looking for a very warm yet comfortable pair of cotton pants for colder weather, then the Orvis premium moleskin field pants are just the ticket! And they're not just for the field with their fine good looks they can be worn any where!"
Review 10 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
December 28, 2012
By: DrSteve
from Iowa
"Tough, good looking, and warm. The perfect cold weather pants. I get lots of compliments when I wear them."
Review 11 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Soft, Comfortable, Durable,
December 15, 2012
By: Ivantheterrible2
from Seattle WA
"Great cool weather trousers. Cut full and comfortable. Washable, unlike the dry cleaning recommendations for the lighter weight version. Liked them enough to buy a second color, and expect them to be a fall and winter staple. Recommended."
Review 12 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable and warm,
December 15, 2012
By: White
from Indiana
"Moleskin was created for work clothes, so it is not dressy. However, these pants are warm and comfortable. I don't think they are as heavy as they used to be, but some people may like that. Even with the leather trim, they wash fine. I iron with a steam iron. They feel like pajamas."
Review 13 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ohhhh My, I Had No Idea!,
December 11, 2012
By: Flatcoatmaster
from Goshen, NY
"I am a wool guy. I wear wool for work with suits, I wear wool as base layers , I wear wool pants for protection from the cold when hunting or simply being outdoors.
I have always wanted to give these moleskins a try as I have a moleskin vest which I absolutely love as it is comfortable as all get out, & is much tougher than it appears. So, I finally pulled the trigger & bought a pair of these in Slate. I am beyond impressed. The first second I put this on I knew they were special. Comfortable, warm, not too heavy at all & a great color that goes with everything. Much nicer than corduroys or chinos in my humble opinion, & incredibly versatile. This is my kind of clothing; the kind that can easily go from an upland briar patch to a nice restaurant. Not that I would do that with these...unless I had my chaps over them. They are just so darn nice. So casual, so formal. Truly whatever you want them to be. I will no doubt be coming back for a second helping.
Regarding sizing: It is so simple. Order one waist size smaller than you usually would. I am a 38" waist. I ordered a 36" waist & they are so perfect it is not to be believed. I am 5' 10" 175lbs.
These are trousers the way they were meant to be. These might very well be the nicest pair of pants I have ever owned. As for longevity...it's very apparent these will last a long, long time.
"
Review 14 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pipings gottta go,
December 9, 2012
By: milano
"Great fabric but the faux leather cheapens an otherwise top of the line product."
Review 15 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever!,
December 7, 2012
By: judge1
from Skeet shooter
"Vey6 pleased with pants. Comfortable and perfect fit. Highly recommended!"
Review 16 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
November 1, 2012
By: BigEd
from Knoxville, TN
"Material not nearly as heavy as I had hoped. Why did they discontinue the Rhino Hide pants? Those were heavy and tough."
Review 17 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pants,
October 15, 2012
By: TRoosevelt
"The cut and fabric are awesome. Very comfortable and a very nice feel. The only thing that I don't like is the stupid looking piping along the pockets and back belt loop. It seems like an easy fix to get rid of it."
Review 18 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moleskin slacks,
October 11, 2012
By: Seamusj
from Worcester MA.
"I have been a customer for the past 4 years now, I have enjoyed the customer relations I have recieved during this time period. However, these are most definitely the best pair of all purpose slacks I have purchased to date.
Would recommend them to anyone.
"
Review 19 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Would be great if...,
October 5, 2012
By: MoorlandWanderer
from Durham, UK
"The weight of these trousers is truly impressive when you pick them up, suggesting quality and durability, but at the same time the material is incredibly soft an potentially very comfortable.
I measure 33" at the waist and ordered the smallest size available: 32". However, they were simply huge and looked ridiculous on me, with the crotch half-way to my knees restricting my movement, so I had to send them back.
If only Orvis did them in 30" waist (which is really more like 34" in Orvis' generous sizing). I may not be fat, but my 33" waist is hardly unusually small!"
Review 20 for Premium Moleskin Field Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Superior pants for cool weather,
July 12, 2012
By: 1consumer
from Bangor, ME
"It's a pleasure to have a pair of pants that the cold Winter winds cannot penetrate. These also are so durable that the first pair I purchased, over a decade ago, still hang in my closet waiting for the weather to turn. I admit that I am not fond of the new faux-leather piping around the front pockets, but it's a small price to pay for such an excellent pair of pants."