Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tweed Cable Turtleneck

A special blend of merino wool and cashmere, with just a touch of nylon for durability, is hand turned to create a sweater with the heritage of a cable crew and the warmth of a turtleneck. Merino's fine long-staple fibers, the softest of all wool, and cashmere's luxurious hand and unmatched insulating properties combine for unrivaled softness, comfort, and warmth. Mock-suede elbow patches resist wear. In oatmeal. Wool/nylon/cashmere. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.212 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
41 of 52(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Review 1 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tent-like,
November 22, 2014
By: DKSJ
from Mountain West
"Good news - well constructed, good quality fabric, color true, good "heft"
Bad news - Fit like a tent, no tapering and in fact seemed broader at base than at top. "Roomy" would be an understatement.
Conclusion - Not suitable for a not overweight physique. Product description should have indicated excessive roominess"
Review 2 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bring it back!,
October 31, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I came back looking to get another color of this superb sweater and am very disappointed it has been discontinued..."
Review 3 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable and soft,
November 28, 2012
By: CountryGent
from Illinois
"Not scratchy at all! However, I m exchanging mine for a smaller size. The length on the XL was too long and very bulky as I was hoping for a little more form fitting so I am exchanging for a size L. Very dark blue."
Review 4 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Turtleneck,
October 23, 2012
By: Beatle
from internet purchase
"Love the sweater - since I have no neck the extra long turtle neck is a little tough for me to deal with - wish it was a little shorter considering how heavy the wool is. Everything else about this sweater is fantastic and the neck, I'm sure is very popular with your other customers."
Review 5 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to Find,
August 28, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Los Gatos Mountains
"I searched hard to find a thick looking, cable knit sweater. Not easy to find. So many mocks out there or more dressy turtlenecks. This one finally fits the bill. Great with jeans. Highly recommend it"
Review 6 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit for Purpose,
March 21, 2012
By: Barto2Boats
from Nantwich, Cheshire
"I required a sweater for my boating ventures on these chilly spring mornings, and this one is fantastic. It is exactly what it says on the tin, and keeps me as warm as toast as well as looking great. I purchased the Lambs skin leather waistcoat as well, to compliment it, and they blend very well together indeed, just as shown in the brochure. excellent value, and thank you, it's truly brilliant."
Review 7 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 9, 2012
By: KCee
from N W Texas
"With the purchase of the "New" navy blue turtleneck sweater I'v got all four colors offered now and in the past from Orvis. What can I say, they are all great, quality, apperance, utility. This is what products sold by Orvis should all be about. If there's another color offered I will probibly get that as well."
Review 8 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Need for better quality control,
February 6, 2012
By: minuteman
from Lincoln, Nebraska
"Last year, I ordered a cream-colored tweed cable turtleneck, and would rate it at 5 stars, a perfect fit!. Because of that positive experience, I ordered the same sweater in charcoal, in the SAME SIZE (L) as the cream colored one. Well, the charcoal one was much larger than my first one (more like an extra-large than a large). Customer service is helping me now and seem empathetic."
Review 9 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product too large,
January 30, 2012
By: Vista
from Brookhaven, PA
"Product was too large and was not aware of the patches on the sleeves of the arms. Not sure the next size would fit and wanted to avoid any future shipping charges. Product would never had been ordered if I was aware of the sleeve patches."
Review 10 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PURCHASE,
January 21, 2012
By: tdtodd
from WHITE PIGEON, MI
"FIRST, I JUST WANT TO SAY....WOW!!! AWESOME AWESOME SERVICE! 2ND THE SWEATER IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. HOWEVER, IS DOES RUN SMALL. IF YOUR GUY IS BROAD. HIGHLY RECOMMEND GOING UP A SIZE. OTHER THAN THAT. EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT!"
Review 11 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it, Great Purchase,
January 18, 2012
By: GOGGGGMMMEENN
from Rochester, NY
"This sweater fits and looks great on me if I do say so myself. With my Orvis leather vest, I look and feel like a million. All the ladies in my family can't get over how much they like it on me.
I wore it to Church last Sunday, being an usher, I can't count the number of compliments I received on my appearance in Orvis apparel. Thank you very much!!
"
Review 12 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 10, 2012
By: Silo
from Carmel, Indiana
"The full overnight portion, turtleneck, is too large and gaps open. In other words, the next size is much too large for the size of the sweater. This does not keep my neck warm and my T-shirt is exposed."
Review 13 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good and warm and stylish,
January 10, 2012
By: GSPEACE
from SHAVERTOWN PA
"An excellent value for a wonderfully warm and Handsome turtleneck sweater. Good value for the money.,"
Review 14 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm but not super heavy,
January 1, 2012
By: Deeerhound
from Northern Michigan
"I am 6'1" and 215 lbs and wear a 44 long sport jacket. I found this sweater"s fit to be just fine: good length in the body and sleeves just right. I wore it under the Barbour Sapper jacket on a cold Michigan night and felt completely comfortable. I ordered the charcoal version and it looks great with or without the suede munitions vest. The fact that my wife also really likes it makes this purchase a complete winner."
Review 15 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The warmest sweater you'll find.,
December 30, 2011
By: DWeg
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I am very pleased with the purchase. This sweater is good looking and VERY warm. Great style and function for fall sailing or winter skiing. I usually wear a medium and this sweater fits just fine. The neck fits a little loose and could be just a bit more snug."
Review 16 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice heavy sweater,
December 30, 2011
By: Pilgrim63
from chicago,il
"Enjoyed the look and feel of this sweater...I was surprised by the amount of shedding it produced on my first wear."
Review 17 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater Heaven,
December 30, 2011
By: CountryboyMike
from CT
"This is the warmest and nicest looking sweater in the outback world. It also pairs amazingly with the munitions vest!"
Review 18 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tweed Cble Turtleneck Sweater,
December 26, 2011
By: Jjames
"The sweater is very good looking and the workman ship is the best..
However the sizes run large.I am a medium and a small fits me fine
"
Review 19 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A beautiful sweater,
December 25, 2011
By: hobiecat
from Tucson, AZ
"Opened just today, on Christmas morning, and my husband loves it! It's GREAT QUALITY/WELL MADE and very comfy. He's happy, so I'm happy!!! And I think he look SO HANDSOME in it!"
Review 20 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater,
December 23, 2011
By: Scoopsax
from Sandy, Utah
"This is a great sweater; looks great, feels great, made of durable material. Perfect for those who live in 20 degree or lower weather- this sweater is WARM. Doesn't itch around your neck like I thought it might. Good stuff!"