Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tweed Cable Turtleneck

A special blend of merino wool and cashmere, with just a touch of nylon for durability, is hand turned to create a sweater with the heritage of a cable crew and the warmth of a turtleneck. Merino's fine long-staple fibers, the softest of all wool, and cashmere's luxurious hand and unmatched insulating properties combine for unrivaled softness, comfort, and warmth. Mock-suede elbow patches resist wear. In oatmeal. Wool/nylon/cashmere. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: XL(46-48).
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
2
47 of 59(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Review 1 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puts the S in Sweater,
August 24, 2015
By: MVizzle
from Indianapolis, IN
"Incredible feeling sweater. Tried it on and felt the hefty weight and roomy feel. Always wanted one but didn't know where to look before. Next is the Bomber Jacket!"
Review 2 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well OK,
August 24, 2015
By: Endevour
"I like the sweater. Well, I gave it a 4, though I thought about a 3. It's obviously well made and sturdy, and the (sale) price was rights. So what's the problem. It could use more than 15% cashmere, because it's a bit too wooly as is, and it could do with out the mixed in flecks of brown wool. It gives the sweater a funny look, like it was sick, maybe with the measles or the pox. Picky, picky, picky."
Review 3 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Sweater,
August 23, 2015
By: MikeinVA
from Chantilly, VA
"I love this sweater. Just opened it and it's extremely soft (including elbow pads) and warm. Should be perfect for winter. I ordered a Large, am 5'8" tall, 200 lbs. A great fit all around, and as others have mentioned, it's a loose fit at the bottom/waist, but not overly so and looks professional enough for the office. Very warm and cozy."
Review 4 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
loose cable,
February 5, 2015
By: Norbar29
from Manalapan,nj ,07726
"I absolutely love this sweater. color, warmth, and size, until you get to the bottom of things,lol. the bottom should have been a snugger fit, not a loose blouse. otherwise I would have given it a 5 star. so if you don't mind loose fitting bottoms, its fabulous"
Review 5 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Winter Turtleneck,
December 31, 2014
By: tommy852
from Nazareth, PA
"Great fit as usual from Orvis. Comfortable and wears well under a leather jacket or vest. Somewhat expensive, but well worth the money.
If you like turtlenecks and want to keep warm and comfortable, this is the sweater.
"
Review 6 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tent-like,
November 22, 2014
By: DKSJ
from Mountain West
"Good news - well constructed, good quality fabric, color true, good "heft"
Bad news - Fit like a tent, no tapering and in fact seemed broader at base than at top. "Roomy" would be an understatement.
Conclusion - Not suitable for a not overweight physique. Product description should have indicated excessive roominess"
Review 7 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bring it back!,
October 31, 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"I came back looking to get another color of this superb sweater and am very disappointed it has been discontinued..."
Review 8 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable and soft,
November 28, 2012
By: CountryGent
from Illinois
"Not scratchy at all! However, I m exchanging mine for a smaller size. The length on the XL was too long and very bulky as I was hoping for a little more form fitting so I am exchanging for a size L. Very dark blue."
Review 9 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Turtleneck,
October 23, 2012
By: Beatle
from internet purchase
"Love the sweater - since I have no neck the extra long turtle neck is a little tough for me to deal with - wish it was a little shorter considering how heavy the wool is. Everything else about this sweater is fantastic and the neck, I'm sure is very popular with your other customers."
Review 10 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to Find,
August 28, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Los Gatos Mountains
"I searched hard to find a thick looking, cable knit sweater. Not easy to find. So many mocks out there or more dressy turtlenecks. This one finally fits the bill. Great with jeans. Highly recommend it"
Review 11 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit for Purpose,
March 21, 2012
By: Barto2Boats
from Nantwich, Cheshire
"I required a sweater for my boating ventures on these chilly spring mornings, and this one is fantastic. It is exactly what it says on the tin, and keeps me as warm as toast as well as looking great. I purchased the Lambs skin leather waistcoat as well, to compliment it, and they blend very well together indeed, just as shown in the brochure. excellent value, and thank you, it's truly brilliant."
Review 12 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
February 9, 2012
By: KCee
from N W Texas
"With the purchase of the "New" navy blue turtleneck sweater I'v got all four colors offered now and in the past from Orvis. What can I say, they are all great, quality, apperance, utility. This is what products sold by Orvis should all be about. If there's another color offered I will probibly get that as well."
Review 13 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Need for better quality control,
February 6, 2012
By: minuteman
from Lincoln, Nebraska
"Last year, I ordered a cream-colored tweed cable turtleneck, and would rate it at 5 stars, a perfect fit!. Because of that positive experience, I ordered the same sweater in charcoal, in the SAME SIZE (L) as the cream colored one. Well, the charcoal one was much larger than my first one (more like an extra-large than a large). Customer service is helping me now and seem empathetic."
Review 14 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product too large,
January 30, 2012
By: Vista
from Brookhaven, PA
"Product was too large and was not aware of the patches on the sleeves of the arms. Not sure the next size would fit and wanted to avoid any future shipping charges. Product would never had been ordered if I was aware of the sleeve patches."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PURCHASE,
January 21, 2012
By: tdtodd
from WHITE PIGEON, MI
"FIRST, I JUST WANT TO SAY....WOW!!! AWESOME AWESOME SERVICE! 2ND THE SWEATER IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. HOWEVER, IS DOES RUN SMALL. IF YOUR GUY IS BROAD. HIGHLY RECOMMEND GOING UP A SIZE. OTHER THAN THAT. EVERYTHING WAS EXCELLENT!"
Review 16 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it, Great Purchase,
January 18, 2012
By: GOGGGGMMMEENN
from Rochester, NY
"This sweater fits and looks great on me if I do say so myself. With my Orvis leather vest, I look and feel like a million. All the ladies in my family can't get over how much they like it on me.
I wore it to Church last Sunday, being an usher, I can't count the number of compliments I received on my appearance in Orvis apparel. Thank you very much!!
"
Review 17 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
January 10, 2012
By: Silo
from Carmel, Indiana
"The full overnight portion, turtleneck, is too large and gaps open. In other words, the next size is much too large for the size of the sweater. This does not keep my neck warm and my T-shirt is exposed."
Review 18 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good and warm and stylish,
January 10, 2012
By: GSPEACE
from SHAVERTOWN PA
"An excellent value for a wonderfully warm and Handsome turtleneck sweater. Good value for the money.,"
Review 19 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm but not super heavy,
January 1, 2012
By: Deeerhound
from Northern Michigan
"I am 6'1" and 215 lbs and wear a 44 long sport jacket. I found this sweater"s fit to be just fine: good length in the body and sleeves just right. I wore it under the Barbour Sapper jacket on a cold Michigan night and felt completely comfortable. I ordered the charcoal version and it looks great with or without the suede munitions vest. The fact that my wife also really likes it makes this purchase a complete winner."
Review 20 for Tweed Cable Turtleneck
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The warmest sweater you'll find.,
December 30, 2011
By: DWeg
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I am very pleased with the purchase. This sweater is good looking and VERY warm. Great style and function for fall sailing or winter skiing. I usually wear a medium and this sweater fits just fine. The neck fits a little loose and could be just a bit more snug."