Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Red Hills Briar Pants

Constructed of 6-oz. pure cotton poplin and faced with rugged, 13-oz. KHP 100% cotton canvas to ward off briars and brush. KHP canvas is the same time-tested material inspired by briar pants worn by Orvis Chairman Leigh H. Perkins's parents. A gusseted crotch gives more room so you can negotiate blow-downs, rough terrain, and fences easier. And they place less stress on seams when you squat or bend. Features brass zippers, suspender buttons, and heavyweight twill pockets. In khaki. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.Leather Tab Suspenders go great with our Red Hills Briar Pants, and others. They don't pinch like a belt can and they add an air of tradition. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Hills Briar Pants
Review 1 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunting Pants,
November 19, 2014
By: Texsan
from Texas
"Ordered and used the Red Hills Briar Pants and they are really functional. Fits is perfect - used the online service and it worked flawlessly. While hunting pheasant the added layer proved most useful in keeping stubble from sticking through the pants. Actually the pants are nice looking and functional."
Review 2 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Comfortable Hunting Pants,
November 13, 2014
By: Lexi008
from NW Ohio
"Super comfortable. I'd wear them to the office if I could get away with it! Have hunted both grouse and pheasant in them this fall and performed wonderfully."
Review 3 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trouseres,
October 31, 2014
By: Rygann
"Perfect hunting trousers for tromping through CRP fields, heavy enough to protect you and light weight enough to keep you cool. When I wear them in the very cold I just put a pair of long johns underneath them for warmth. There's plenty of room."
Review 4 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants!!,
October 22, 2014
By: QB12
from Milwaukee, WI
"I have been upland bird hunting for 40 years. In the Midwest and South, I have hunted bobwhite quail, pheasant, sharptail and ruffed grouse, praire chickens, huns, woodcock, and chukkar over those years. I have been wearing the Red Hills Briar pant since they were first introduced and believe them to be the best value in the hunting pants arena. Just the right weight, crotch room, briar protection, and easily take on a pair of chaps if needed for more rugged terrain."
Review 5 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight pants,
October 7, 2014
By: Uplandguy
from Halifax, Nova Scotia
"These are really nice pants. Lightweight, and very easy to hunt in. Good movement but not too loose. They look nice also!"
Review 6 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best hunting pants available!,
December 16, 2013
By: Pittbirdhunter
from Greenville, NC
"These pants are durable and comfortable for bird hunting. Walking through briar thickets are easier because of the way these pants are made. The added material on the bottom of each leg prevents briar scratches. They wash and wear exceptionally well"
Review 7 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunting Pants!,
October 29, 2013
By: leanderag82
from Austin, Texas
"I just returned from 3 days of pheasant hunting in South Dakota. The pants performed better than expected. Conditions were wet & cold in the field but the pants shed water and I never got wet (or cold). I have 3 pair of these and use them everywhere from South Texas to South Dakota."
Review 8 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Red Hills Briar Pants,
October 9, 2013
By: CKD446
from Doylestown, PA.
"Light weight, comfortable, and tough. The pants look good and held up to 3 days of early season grouse hunting in the Adirondack's. There is no sign of wear and I feel they will hold up for many seasons to come."
Review 9 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these pants,
December 28, 2012
By: Audry
"My husband is a huge duck hunter. He loves these pants."
Review 10 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Right Pants...,
October 3, 2012
By: spitter
from Naperville, IL
"Warm weather upland hunting is just around the corner, with early pheasant season in Illinois, it can be downright uncomfortable.
I bought these RHBPs one size larger to allow for a bit of roominess for extra early season comfort, but expect that as temperatures drop, I'll add a layer between me and them...
Been a fan of the KHP jean for years and I expect the same kind of endurance from the KHP facing on these pants...
Bought at my local Orvis... they came unfinished and the store had them hemmed and turned around in no time... great service..."
Review 11 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This dog'll hunt,
July 19, 2012
By: BAYLORTRYC
from Texas
"I have 5 or 6 pairs of these I've collected in various waist sizes over the years. I've worn them quail hunting in South Texas and pheasant hunting in South Dakota. They provide good thigh protection in heavy brush and the fabric's a great weight for hot or cold climates. They're a little pricey but you won't wear them out."
Review 12 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super!,
March 2, 2012
By: jagg
"I've looked around a lot for a good pair of khaki hunting pants. These are really well made and hold up to washing. The fit is great, too. They do the job."
Review 13 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pants,
February 15, 2012
By: 3dognght
from Oakville, Ontario
"Just back from a trip Quail Hunting in Georgia. These pants were perfect for the South Georgia climate!"
Review 14 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great briar pants,
January 30, 2012
By: Squigley
from South Carolina
"Bought these just before a quail hunting trip and was very happy with the pants. Fit well and wear well. I bought them one size longer than normal to account for shrinking, and was happy I did."
Review 15 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Hunting Pants,
December 29, 2011
By: ClancyD
from Northfield, Minn
"I purchased these hunting pants because I was tired of hearing my hunting partner tell me how much he liked his. I purchased mine and wore them for a week straight on a recrent Montana Pheasant hunting trip. I see what he meant- have worn them every weeknd hunting since them- I live in Minnesota, been in grass, snow, 50 degrees above and 5 below, delightful- make sure you get the suspenders and bind the cuffs.
CWD
"
Review 16 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Upland Pants Available,
December 5, 2011
By: zane
from California
"These pants are perfect. They feel like you've had them forever. The Khaki is very comfortable and feels very worn in."
Review 17 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor Fit & Too Roomy,
October 26, 2011
By: BayArea
"The quality is great but the fit is poor. I bought a size 34 and the waist was correct but the overall sizing was far too big and ridiculously roomy. I returned them."
Review 18 for Red Hills Briar Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality briar pants,
September 21, 2011
By: Bonasa
from Michigan
"When looking for briar pants, I want four things:
1) comfort
2) briar protection
3) water resistance
4) nice looking pants
These pants get top marks for three out of four of these categories. The only issue would be that they are not waterproof, but the upside of not having a waterproof liner is that they are light and they do provide some water resistance. Additionally, they wash very nicely, are extremely comfortable and are a very good looking pant.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Red Hills Briar Pants
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 0 out of 1