Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod

Travel-ready, the Frequent Flyer™ fly rod packs right into your backpack, saddlebag, even your briefcase. This fly rod is so great to travel with. Carry the fly rod onto any plane to forever end any and all worry about your fly rod making it to your final fishing destination. Keep it right in your vehicle, out of the way, for quick fishing getaways at lunch, or pack it into the backcountry far easier than even a four-piece fly rod. Seven-piece rods for fresh and salt water, all in the most affordable, high-quality, high-performance travel rods on the market today. Built to our exact taper design, component, and production specifications, every step of the overseas production is supervised by Orvis. Take a Flyer!
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tough rod,
January 1, 2014
By: Cottus
from Hessen, Germany
"I own the 9-weight FF for almost ten years now (and the 8-weight, which I reviewed accordingly). Snake, tip and guide rings are of good dimensions and quality, and all of the hardware is saltwater suitable (with a little bit of care and maintenance). Unlike it's #8 brother this rod is more versatile: It is perfect with the designated 9-weight line of any type and it can handle a #8 and a short #10 as well. It was a perfect match for numerous hard-fighting bonito in La Gomera, and is very suitable for SWFF in high wind conditions and for pike here at home. This rod has guts, as a completely satisfying primary rod for heavy freshwater and light saltwater use or as the perfect backup rod for my ZG and Helios gear. I strongly recommend it. As a previous reviewer noted: It would be great if Orvis added a 10- and 12-weight to the line. I'll buy the 5-weight with the rest of my christmas budget anyway."
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great rod - bad tube,
December 29, 2013
By: Miketw
from UK
"The previous reviewer said " Plus you don't have the hassle of a separate sleeve, as the travel tube has dividers – which saves a heap of time when it comes to setting/packing up".
I utterly refute this. The first time I used my FF (several years ago) I couldn't get one section out of the tube as the stripping ring had lodged itself beyond the bottom of the dividers. I was forced to cut the stitching at the bottom of the tube to extract it. Orvis did immediately replace the tube, but obviously did not take on board the points I made at the time.
I have 3 further grouses regarding divided tubes. First if for space reasons I want to avoid the bulk of tube I have no separate sock, Secondly the dividers inevitably become impregnated with salt and cannot be washed. Finally with multiple sections it is much easier to check you have stowed all sections with a separate sock.
Death to divided tubes they are bad design and simply trivial cost cutting.
"
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pure workhorse,
November 26, 2013
By: thelongboot
from Dublin, Ireland
"Okay, so I've been using this rod for around 8 years now, and what can I say? I've caught double figure Scottish salmon, some cracking Spey sea trout, several mackerel and pollack and mullet, a few sea bass and dozens of pike (to 20lbs) with it.
It breaks down so neatly it's ridiculously easy to pack and take with you, be it on a hike into the hills or on the bike or in a backpack to the beach. Plus you don't have the hassle of a separate sleeve, as the travel tube has dividers – which saves a heap of time when it comes to setting/packing up.
The action is very fast. With some practice you can make good Spey and roll casts, especially if matched with 10wt lines (ie. go up a size). It probably isn't a rod for beginners, simply because your timing needs to be pretty spot on to load it properly, but otherwise I really can't think of a bad thing to say about it. I did in fact break the top section a few years ago (getting it out of a car fully set up – my own fault) and it cost a nominal fee (around £25 I think at the time) to replace that section. Easy.
I own a 4wt too, which I also bought around 8 years ago (I got a deal for the two together). It's a lovely little rod: not nearly as fast as the 9wt, so super user friendly, for beginners and old hands alike. I've used it to catch trout and chub and dace and roach all over the UK and Ireland, plus trout (cutthroats, browns, rainbows, brookies) and largemouth bass and bluegill in 8 US states. Heaven knows how many fish I've landed with that thing. Never had a single problem with it, and enjoyed every moment I've had it in my hand.
These are truly great rods. They're exceptional value for money, durable, and incredibly easy to travel with. I wish Orvis would make some switch rods to add to the range, as I'd buy one in a heartbeat."
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Rod,
October 4, 2013
By: Gammarus
from Mid-Sussex
"Having read reviews in the angling press & online I opted for a 9wt Frequent Flyer to cover both saltwater and trout fishing on holiday. In theory these requirements are a little bit different but yesterday I put the rod to the test with a 7wt line whilst chasing rainbows and was delighted with the result - rod & line did not seem mis-matched at all and good distance casts were achieved whilst retaining the sensitivity required when playing fish."
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Rod,
August 27, 2013
By: Travelbuff
from Old Bridge, NJ
"I travel a lot and needed a rod I could take with me for both freshwater and saltwater fishing. This rod meets all of my requirements, and absolutely exceeds my expectations. It casts easily and can handle large saltwater flies. It will be in my carry-on bag on every trip I take. A great travel rod."
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome rod!,
May 16, 2013
By: Dan2511
"I have the FF 9 weight as my saltwater rod. It casts like a rod three times the price and fits in my hand luggage. It can handle almost all fishing conditions. If you only buy one saltwater rod to use for everything from bass to small tarpon, this is it."
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely versatile,
December 18, 2011
By: lebbyac
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought a #5 FF tip flex about 3 year ago. I use it from delicate presentation a # 16 dry fly to long cast big flyes for Dorado, and it respond amazingly. I fly fish for the last 35 years, i have much other roods like a #3 Orvis Hydros, but I ensure you that FF is one of the best fly rod i ever use..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful rod,
August 1, 2011
By: goyotarpon
from CABA Argentina
"I do have not only the FF number 9 but also the number 8. My learners for fly casting (I´m a FFF certified fly casting instructor) having the number 5 and 6 feel the same I do. Wonderful rod!!!! Please I ask Orvis designers to include also the number 10 and number 12. I am a Tarpon fisherman and I would be very glad to have these rods for travelling!!! I know that many Tarpon and flats in general fly fishermen are eager to have these rods in the market.
I did tried the #8 and #9 on Bonefish and freshwater Dorado and performed beautifully. Thanks much to Orvis!!!
"
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good cast,
June 15, 2011
By: seapie
"I have my nine weight rod for over a year now and finally I had the change to try it out on a beautiful lake in the Lake District UK.
With a nine weight it casts very smooth and fighting the fish it has a very nice backbone.
after a day casting with it I even was not tired at the end of the day.
very good rod.
"
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bad quality,
March 15, 2010
By: CharlieK
"I got the frequent flyer rod 9wt about two years ago. I like the rod and the concept of the seven pieces making it super easy to pack and bring with you. However this fall I realized that the connections points (where one piece slides over the other) between the rod pieces had starting getting cracks, on several of the rod segments. I have always been very careful disassembling the rod. To be fair I’ve often used the rod cold weather casting big flies but this seems like something the rod should be able to handle. So I went and talked with the people at the Orvis store in central Boston, Quincy Market, to ask if they had any warranty for this. I was told that this was not the case and that they actually had no type of warranty for these rods. The guy in the store said he had a rod with a similar problem from another customer that he had tried to return to Orvis for replacement but that Orvis would not replace that either. This was another rod model that I would assume from this didn’t have such a great warranty either. The guy in the store said that other Orvis stores might be more generous with their warranties. So I can’t really say if this is the warranty policy of that store or Orvis, the store however is an official Orvis store. So the seven-piece concept just turned into extra weak points that could break in my experience, I’ve never seen this in any other rod that I have owned. So with this in mind I will give an otherwise nice rod a bad rating as a product in whole… Maybe the bad rating should just go to the Orvis store in Boston or the warranty policies of Orvis?
Karl
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 28, 2010
The Orvis Frequent Flyer Rod series is covered for life against defects in materials and workmanship. Any Frequent Flyer rod returned to our repair facility will be repaired or replaced free of charge if our repair specialists determine that the rod was defective.
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Airport Travel,
October 13, 2008
By: PBTraveler
from Salem, OR
"I purchase a 5 wt. Mid Flex 3 weeks ago. My work takes me to many places in CA, OR, WA, ID, MT, BC and AB CANADA. I never check my bags so I needed something small for trout on the Clark Fork or American River. The rod is very strong! I pulled in two steelhead on the North Umpqua outside of Glide, OR and the only thing I was worried about was my 5X tippet breaking. Great rod, if I had the money I would buy a 7 wt. or 9 wt. for the salmon fishing. Don't waste your money on any other rod if you are look for somthing small to put in your carry-on. I hate wasting money!!!!!!"
Review 12 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hidden Treasure by Orvis,
July 18, 2008
By: Abdullah
from Muscat, Oman
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I got the Orvis 9 weight Frequent Flyer Rod and an Orvis Battenkill Mid Arbor reel. I took casting lessons and my instructor thought the rod was a joke till he tried it then he went crazy over it. Then I flew to Belize and my guide laughed at my rod and reel when I told him I wanted a nice Tarpon, Permit and Jack. I ended up getting 2 Tarpons (about 80lbs and 30 lbs) and a good number of large Jacks. These are great products by Orvis. Did I also mention that I used the 9 weight Orvis redfish floating line. With this combination, we could all cast further than any other setup the guide and lodge had. My guide put aside all the heavy gear he was bringing as backup by the end of the week."
Review 13 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Small Package Big Backbone,
June 27, 2008
By: CorbinaBlu
from SoCalif
"I purchased this rod for its portability going through airports and jamming into little rental cars around central Mexico. However, I was leery of seven pieces standing up to big fish. Was I ever impressed. I effortlessly threw 6 and 8 inch sardina patterns with 10 wt shooting tapers to hot Dorado and when the time came (which was often) the rod could put the muscle on the 25-30 pounders when they bulldogged for the bottom as well as any conventional boat rod can. Other rods (not Orvis) up to 13 wt. on the boat broke - not this one. I also have a TLS 2 pc. 9 wt. for surf and bays in SoCal and this 7 pc. is just as smooth."
Review 14 for Frequent Flyer 9-weight 9' 7-piece Fly Rod
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Stealth Package,
October 4, 2007
By: hdfixer
from San Jose CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently took a family vacation (not an exclusive fishing vacation) to the Big Island of Hawaii. I have a 2 1/2 year old son, which means we would have our hands full at the aiports on our journey, so I purchased this combo, with the matching Mid Arbor reel. They easily packed into my suitcase, in fact they took up so little room that I took my 5wt Frequent Flier as well for smaller water.
The 9 weigh cast beautifully - you would never guess that it was 7 piece by feel. And the reel matched well. I could throw long casts all day for umulu, barracuda and bonefish.
This is the perfect setup to get in some fishing without hauling a ton of gear with you!"