Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Cable Sock

Seriously comfortable cable-knit SmartWool socks. A classic basic, this lightweight crew sock features rich cable detailing that offers a touch of sophistication to everyday dressing. The Cable offers lightweight micro cushioning that works with every look. SmartWool® uses only the softest and most durable materials to give you a crew sock that holds up—and stands up—to your active lifestyle. Smooth toe. Naturally odor-resistant. Wool/Nylon/Spandex. In black. Washable. Made in USA.Size: S(4-6½ ), M(7-9½ ), L(10-12½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cable Sock
Review 1 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
socks like no others!,
October 8, 2012
By: tills
from RI
"SMART WOOL socks are the best you can buy! With the temperature dropping, these socks will keep your feet warm and toasty. My fear was that they would be scratchy, but they aren't. Try a pair and I'm sure you too will love them."
Review 2 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most awesome socks made,
October 27, 2014
By: fishchick1
from reno nv
"These socks hold up well to wear and washing.even though they r wool they Re soft. Great colors too"
Review 3 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Socks!,
December 26, 2013
By: ritasgirl
from Cleveland, OH
"These socks are warm, comfortable, don't fall down or bunch up, launder well and don't wear out quickly."
Review 4 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
$16.95 socks,
October 8, 2013
By: chris4252
from Ogdensburg, NY
"I returned these socks. For the price I expected very good socks that would stay up."
Review 5 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST SOCKS EVER,
January 18, 2013
By: Susie2coldfeet
from Columbus,Ohio
"Love, Love,Love these socks!!!!!!!!
Warm, comfortable,durable, great!
Gave them as gifts, gave them to myself ! They are wonderful
"
Review 6 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable,
October 6, 2012
By: lovesflowers
from Derry, NH
"Very nice product and would like to see these socks made in black and slightly longer."
Review 7 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
September 20, 2012
By: Faithful
from Maxwell, Iowa
"These are the best. Wear them all the time. If my feet are good, I am good."
Review 8 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
May 1, 2012
By: hiker202
from NY
"I love this product! They can be worn comfortabley in either hot or cold weather. My feet stay dry even on days of long hikes. I have several pair in both black and heather blue and wear them under work clothes during the week as well as hiking gear on weekend adventures. I would highly recommend."
Review 9 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Terrible Fit,
February 14, 2011
By: mm11
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"These socks are oversized and do not fit correctly. Very disappointing."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamMarch 3, 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Cable Sock did not meet her expectations, offering a full refund or an exchange. Our goal is to make sure these socks are absolutely right and you can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 10 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Weird toe,
January 3, 2011
By: LovestoShop
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The toe "box" on this sock feels like it is cut in a rectangle, which makes it really hard to lay flat, especially when you put your shoes on. No amount of adjusting seems to help. Really weird fit. I own other styles of Smart Wool socks, and have not had this problem before."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Service TeamJanuary 11, 2011
Orvis Customer Care contacted this customer to apologize these socks did not fit properly. We gladly offered to exchange or refund this purchase for this customer. We want every purchase from Orvis to be completely satisfactory for our customers.
Review 11 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Socks,
December 31, 2010
By: Dolly55
from Allen Park, MI
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First bought these for hkiing but wear them often. They offee mild compression and warmth without being hot."
Review 12 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect, if the heel were reinforced,
March 5, 2010
By: Anonymous
from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I too have owned several pairs of these lighter-weight SmartWool socks and like them very much. The only improvement to suggest is that the heel be reinforced even on so-called dress socks to improve longevity. I find I can wear through the heels in much less than a season."
Review 13 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best socks all arounf,
January 28, 2010
By: packoffour
from Arlington, TX
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have several pairs of these socks in black and brown. They are light weight enough to wear year round. The heel stays in place for walking a couple miles. Keeps my feet warm and retains its shape wash after wash."
Review 14 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Feet,
October 22, 2009
By: LLVVT
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"All I can say is my feet are now truely happy! I wear no other brand socks and have recommended these socks to family members & friends. They are very soft and warm. The only thing I find on the cable style is the lettering on the foot can be felt until worn in. I too had one sock with a defect in the toe but have bought several dozen and assumed it was a factory defect also."
Review 15 for The Cable Sock
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hole in Sock After Second Wear,
October 12, 2009
By: hnbailey
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently purchased these socks at your Myrtle Beach store. I love the look of them, and they feel great on. However, a hole appeared along the stitching of the heel after wearing them just two times. As a result, I wouldn't recommend these socks. Maybe it was just a factory defect, but I would expect them to last much longer."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 19, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit. We also expressed our sincere regret that the socks failed to hold up as they should have. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Cable Sock
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3