Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Ultimate Upland Chaps

Solve the two biggest problems of conventional chaps—weight and water. The Ultimate Upland Chaps solve both using our rugged and highly breathable Endura™ wader fabric to offer waterproof protection with remarkably reduced weight. Nothing takes the joy from hunting like heavy, wet legs covered in waterlogged canvas. The cumulative walking effort and discomfort can suck the pleasure from any hunt. The Ultimate Upland Chaps seem weightless in comparison and repel not only briars, but water as well. They don't absorb an ounce. The result is all-day dry comfort and exponentially less expended effort. These chaps are to conventional chaps as breathable waders were to neoprenes. Two-strap fastening system and a heavy-duty cuff zipper for easy on-and-off over boots. In tan.Sizes: 29" inseam.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Review 1 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST,
February 25, 2013
By: dadio
"I maintain lawn sprinkler systems. These chaps are the BEST I have owned. Weightless, waterproof, and my knees do not get wet or muddy, while making repairs. I hate to get wet...THANKS ORVIS!"
Review 2 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not so Ultimate....,
January 21, 2013
By: Letdownagain
from Oregon
"So i purchase a pair of Ultimate Upland Chaps and had them shipped 3 day because the price wasn't that much different than standard. Total cost was $98.95.
Pulled them out of the package. Way to short. Belt loop straps not long enought to attach to my belt. Very limited adjustment. I'm 6'2". Every bird hunter must be shorter than that. I folded up the chaps and put them back in the package and attached the UPS Return lable to it. Sent it back. Just got my refund. Refunded $72.05. Cost me $26 to find out the Unltilmate's weren't too Ultimate.Had them in my possession for 3 hours. I don't think I will be ordering from Orvis any longer.
"
Review 3 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Chaps,
November 14, 2012
By: GlennB
from NW Florida Panhandle
"Just got these and already tried them out on a warm. wet morning chasing quail. Jeans stayed completely dry underneath and I did'nt overheat in them. Very comfortable in the brush. Tolerated heavy blackberry bushes with out any problems."
Review 4 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and tough,
October 26, 2011
By: Doverham
from Massachusetts
"I just came back from quail hunting in GA using these chaps and was very pleased with them. They held up to some tough cover, repelled water well and kept me cool in 70 and 80 degree weather. My friends all mentioned getting thorns through their cordura fronted pants, but these chaps seemed to turn everything back. Another good Orvis product!"
Review 5 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth having,
October 4, 2011
By: romer
from Miami, FL
"light and protective, very comfortable to wear, well worth the price."
Review 6 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lightweight, waterproof, and breathable,
September 30, 2011
By: Qball
from Shushan, NY
"These chaps provide oustanding protection from brush/briars and keep you dry in the processs. I've worn them in rain storms, snow, and they keep you very dry without absorbing and water and extra weight. I've also worn them in warm/hot conditions and was impressed with the breathability. These are way more comfortable and much lighter in weight than the filsons or and other wax cotton or nylon chap. Great product!"
Review 7 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love them,
November 29, 2010
By: vermonster
from Vermont
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These beat the pants off of my Filsons. Lightweight, durable. I use them in New England to go after grouse, and on the High Plains to chase pheasants. They are up to the task regardless of where I go, and are much more comfortable than the waxed canvas pants I used to were before I got these.
I will agree they can be a bit noisy (as a previous reviewer complained), but I'm not stalking anything with them, so I don't care. Great product, and if I know Orvis stands behind them if I were to ever have a problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it says,
November 26, 2010
By: Walkinhunter
from Georgia
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went through the toughest terrain in Kansas and eastern Montana without a problem. Most of all keeps you dry in the wet weather, and not too hot when it warms up. Just got them so I haven't had time to tell about how long they will last but so far so good."
Review 9 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Ultimate Chaps,
October 8, 2010
By: profche
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have used these chaps for two years and they have lived up to my hopes and expectations 100%. They keep me dry, are very lightweight and comfortable. I recommend them to everyone that may be looking for chaps. I checked out a lot of other products before I bought these and, consistent with Orvis products, these are the best."
Review 10 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good chaps just needs a little tweek.,
March 25, 2010
By: Codyman
from North Carolina
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"After looking all around for chaps I decided on these. I thought they were going to be a little heavier than they are, but they are just breathable wader material. They did work well for thorns and brush but I cannot attest to how long they well last in real heavy nasty cover, I think they will be ok but I would like to see a more rip stop face on the outside to prevent rips. They do keep water off very well (they should since they are just wader legs). They one thing I did not like about them was the belt loop/snaps. I needed the longer version because of my legs, but the snaps were not placed very well. There are too many snaps toward the top of the loop to be useful. You would have to have 38 inch long legs to to use the snaps. To me they just get in the way. I would like to see a few more lower on the loop so you can customise the fit better if your legs are not that long. The fit is good in the thigh and overall quality appears ok. Would like to see them in a darker color as they were very dingy after a couple times out."
Review 11 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dapper but Dinged,
November 29, 2009
By: LongWalks
from Milford, Ohio
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These seemed to be the perfect protection from briars. They are light, easy to don while wearing boots and in the field. Best of all they look and feel great. You forget that you have them on.
Perhaps I rough through some briars a bit more boldly than I should, but I didn't imagine that anything Southwestern Ohio could dish out in the fields would be more than these chaps could handle. My Barbour jacket, Gokey boots and Orvis Chaps gave me a sense of invincibility, but again, with briars not much harsher than a rose garden, I couldn't imagine these boys being bruised in the least.
I was a bit disappointed when I saw the two inch tear in these guys. I was hoping to don them for many years to come. I'm going to give the KHP's a chance and see if they can stand my walking through briars.
Perhaps I just had an unlucky tear.
They just seemed so perfect! They are so light and the water just repels off them like waxed cotton.
Unless Perk Perkins calls up and tells me this was the anomaly of anomalies I just can risk ruining a great and rare day in the field because of a failed piece of equipment. Thank goodness for the Orvis pledge of satisfaction or else. It gives you 100% confidence that there is no place better to get your tools for the hunt!"
Review 12 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three Generations of Orvis Chaps,
October 25, 2009
By: montanaoutfitter
from Nick Forrester Fort Smith Montana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Having worked as an Outfitter in Montana guiding upland birds since 1990, I thought it interesting to look at the past 3 generations of Orvis Chaps. The one on the left is pre 2000 I believe, getting old can’t remember anymore, is a heavy canvas waxed chap with lining and has held up excellent over the years. The tears did not go all the way through and was from going over barb wire fences. My fault!!
The one in the middle is the Hawthorne Chaps I got in 2000. Rugged and flexible canvas waxed chap with an inside lining. Seems not to tear so easily on barb wire, but maybe I was more careful. Both these two chaps are excellent for Montana hunting, but even in Montana it gets pretty hot in the early season.
That is why I purchase the one on the right the Ultimate Upland Chap this year. I have put a little over 15 days on this pair, but only because we had a very early cold spell in late September that lasted for 2 weeks. I found them to be excellent for keeping dry during those raining days and early morning dews. Extremely light weight and breathable for those real hot days, and on those misty wet days I was the only one at the end of the days hunt that had dry legs. So far they have held up in the brushy coulees, were there is allot of briar’s and plum thorns. Great product for the price and excellent for early fall hunting in Montana were the weather can be very unpredictable.
In my perfect world I would like to see Orvis next year go back to a 1 strap wide system, less time to put on and I have never had a problem with them. Then to snake proof the lower ½ of these chaps. Then you would have the Ultimate - Ultimate Upland Chap!! I still prefer the wax chaps for late season hunting when the temperatures get in the single digits out here, and wish they would bring back at least one of these canvas waxed chap, that are lined.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
May 27, 2009
By: hunterdog
from Shaftsbury, Vermont
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was among the first to get a pair of these chaps. As an employee, I guess I get that privilege. That was 4 years ago.
Over that time I have worn them a ton. Grouse season goes from October 1 to December 31 in Vermont, and I am out most days. I wear them everytime I hunt. They have shown slight wear at the fold on the bottom, but no rips at all.
This is a great product which you should have all the confidence in buying.
This product is one of my most favorite products in the hunting line and I recommend it to friends readily."
Review 14 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Noisy and Not Tough,
December 14, 2008
By: clor
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I bought my pair of chaps prior to hunting season. While it is light weight and waterproof, it is quite noisy. The noise comes from the legs rubbing against each other while walking. Also, I wore it hunting pheasants in cattail slough and after the third trip out, I noticed a 4-inch gash near the zipper on one of the legs. This product can use a canvas facing out material to protect the tailwater cloth."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamDecember 18, 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the chaps were too noisy as well as them being easily torn. Orvis also thanked the customer for providing such constructive and valuable feedback and offered an exchange or a full refund. Orvis will cheerfully exchange or refund a customer’s purchase at any time, for any reason; our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer’s concerns on to the manufacturer of this chaps so that improvements to it can be implemented.
Review 15 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Upland Chaps Available,
October 11, 2007
By: Rufus
from Racine, WI
"I bought a pair of the Ultimate Upland Chaps last fall for my son's 17th birthday. Early this fall while busting brush in northern Wisconsin for Grouse & Woodcock we we're caught in the woods in a thunder strom that soaked us to the bone but my son's pants were completely dry where covered by these great chaps. I think it's time I replace my old chaps with some of these. He loves them for there waterproofness, light weight and protection from briars. Thanks for another great product."
Review 16 for Ultimate Upland Chaps
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great in grouse cover,
October 4, 2007
By: alfisti
from Chicago, Illinois
"Just returned from a trip from Northern Wisconsin hunting for grouse with some buddies. Though normally not a "chaps" guy, these have changed my mind. Getting to the proper cover takes walking though brush that would normally rip my other pants into ribbons. The roughest alder thickets and briars could not penetrate these wonders. They kept my legs dry and comfortable in the rain, and at the end of the hunt, they come right off for the drive back. Simply wonderful! Only wish they could improve my shooting."