Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Outdoor Shower

The ultimate warm-weather luxury, an outdoor shower is a great place to rinse off after a dip in the lake, a swim in the pool, or a trip to the beach. Easily hooks up to an outdoor hose spigot and can be adapted for hot water. This outdoor shower is made of nyatoh, a water- and weather-resistant wood. Treat with teak oil to maintain finish, or allow to age naturally. 77½"H x 30"W x 30"D. Showerhead adjusts from 77½" to a maximum height of 83½". Simple assembly with a screwdriver.
Average Customer Rating:
4.217 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outdoor Shower
Review 1 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outdoor shower,
March 4, 2014
By: RReese
from NW Arkansas
"Great addition to pool area good looks quality easy to assemble A++++++"
Review 2 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Addition to Pool area,
February 22, 2014
By: RReese
from NW Arkansas
"A++++++++++++ that is all I can say!! Easy assembly and great looks. Works Great."
Review 3 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Shower,
January 13, 2014
By: Moosemo
from Summerland Key, FL
"Good quality parts. Need to review instructions carefully as pictures not all that clear and no words, just picts. Other than that, nice shower."
Review 4 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Outdoor Shower,
July 15, 2013
By: manbchfred
from Manhattan Bch, CA
"Easy assembly, took ~ 30-40min. However, quality is very disappointing. While this product looks great and does work well, I do not think it will last longer than a 1-2 years given the poor quality of materials. A great option if you don't have a lot of money to spend or don't want a permanent solution."
Review 5 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
inadequate assembly instructions,
July 10, 2013
By: gmail
"Instructions in broken English from supplier. No Orvis support.. Not that unusual these days, but not up to Orvis standard, and price.
It would have been easier to assemble with no instructions.
Advertised as easily adaptable to hot water, but no indication of how.to do so."
Review 6 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
outdoor shower,
July 8, 2013
By: Hubva
"product assembled easily and works great. However i purchased a Helios 2 rod and it snapped, very unhappy with its performance."
Review 7 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's Reigning!,
June 18, 2013
By: ponyTales
"I bought this as a gift to replace a cheap outdoor shower which my husband had adapted into a shabby chic working version. As he unpacked and assembled the gift, he was pleased by the quality, design and easy set-up despite the fact that the soap tray was missing the screw holes necessary to mount it to the unit. Now that he's been using it for a week, he's singing its praises in terms of shower head, convenience and quality. I am too, since the permanent setup means that he uses it every time he works in the yard and not just when he takes the time to set up the previous (and no longer needed) shower. No more leaves & yard debris coming into the house!"
Review 8 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great outdoor shower,
November 8, 2012
By: CJPJ
from Leicester, NC
"Shopped all over and never found such a great value. Quality, low price and everything we needed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good with some reservations,
September 6, 2012
By: DenverGuy
from Denver, CO
"This outdoor shower is a great idea. It has a pleasing design and the wood stain matches my jacuzzi enclosure perfectly. Time will tell how it holds up to the Colorado sun and snow.
Assembly took about two hours. I used plumber's tape (included) on all connections. Still, the connection at the garden hose drips a little. The wood frame and pipes are not what I'd call heavy duty. I think I'll have to treat it gently for it to last. The handle on the water valve is chromed plastic. Be careful when tightening the assembly. I unintentionally nicked the plastic with my wrench.
The clamp that holds the lower pipe to the frame was too easily broken upon arrival. It is a metal ring attached to a bracket which screws into the wood upright. The metal ring is prefitted onto the pipe so it won't be easy to remove now that the shower is assembled. It looks like the metal clamp was simply glued together instead of cast as one piece or welded. I will try to fix it. My call to customer service has not been returned.
Overall I'd recommend this shower for the aesthetics alone. But I'm a bit hesitant about the quality and long term durability. To me the wood frame and plumbing doesn't feel very sturdy. Time will tell. But all in all it's nice to look at and evokes that tropical feeling that I was looking for."
Review 10 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Gift Ever!,
August 3, 2012
By: 1dumpling
from Palm Springs, CA
"I was so surprised to receive an outdoor shower as a gift. A very unique and creative one I might add. It is a welcome addition to my back yard and swimming pool....and my guests, especially the kids, love it as well!"
Review 11 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this shower,
July 24, 2012
By: Ipreferoutdoors
from Davis IL
"I spend a lot of time caring for my lawn and plants. It has been great to rinse off in this shower!
It is well-made for the price and has a great shower head.
"
Review 12 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lovely Outdoor Experiance,
July 24, 2012
By: MapleMan
from Starksboro, VT
"Wonderful outdoor experience; the entire family is now converted. We would however, suggest two more floor boards on the base to make a slightly larger platform. Well worth the dollars spent."
Review 13 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We love our shower,
July 24, 2012
By: thewoodtick
"The shower is attractive, functional & so much fun on a sunny late afternoon or starry night after working outside all day. No need to drag your sweaty self into the house; wash it all off outdoors where it belongs and then air dry. The assembly instructions are a little vague but otherwise our purchase is great so far."
Review 14 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Product,
July 23, 2012
By: LPIII
from Charlevoix, Michigan
"This shower is a welcome addition to our lake front home, the beautiful wood finish says country with a sophisticated feel. I would recommend this product to anyone who cares to listen. Please note that a trip to the hardware store will be necessary to find a hose connector and I found that two wood screws were missing for the packing.
P.S. Order this product with plenty of lead time, expect to wait about eight weeks for delivery. Great gift too.
"
Review 15 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A delight!,
July 23, 2012
By: LakehouseHappy
from Texas
"This outdoor shower is just what we wanted. It is an attractive. Time will tell how it will hold up as this will be an outdoor shower.
Be sure to keep lots of teak wood oil on hand, the platform is dry and needs the moisture
"
Review 16 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great - love it!,
July 23, 2012
By: AEsco
from Miami, FL
"The shower is excellent. Works exactly as advertised and as you would want. Very happy with the quality.
Only problem is that it took almost six weeks to arrive. That's a long time for an online delivery.
"
Review 17 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful and well-constructed,
January 20, 2012
By: interiors
from Maryland
"I am an interior designer and after purchasing this for a client - I realized this is by far the best shower available for the money and the addition of classy well-made hardware and a soap dish - just beautiful and so easy to put together!"
Review 18 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He's Thrilled!,
December 22, 2011
By: Stoupa
from Falls Church, VA
"While it's not the right weather for him to try out the outdoor shower, we opened Christmas presents last night and it was a huge hit. My husband is a huge gardener who loves to "dig in the dirt" as his Mom said. So now he'll be able to wash off in the great outdoors. He can't wait!"
Review 19 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great temporary shower,
June 17, 2011
By: Slippaz
from MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We've been looking into outdoor shower options for over a year and knew this would work for us. We live near the beach and wanted something set up for the summer months, but something that we could take down in the off season. This shower is made out of great materials, but was annoying to put together. The diagrams weren't that helpful about what step to do first, so I ended up having to go back and undue some to finish properly. Also, I had to make my own screw holes to install the soap dish.
The website says you can use a hose splitter to get warm water, but you can get a Moer hot-water faucet installed and run a washer hose from that.
"
Review 20 for Outdoor Shower
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good but problems setting up,
July 30, 2010
By: blanco
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I got this as a father's day present. I had issues setting it up as the unit did not come with proper connections to a garden hose and I had to buy pipe to hose connections to get it to work. The set up instructions are not as clear as they should be. Once I got it set up, it is great and I have enjoyed several refreshing outdoor showers since."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamAugust 2, 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and thanked him for his honest feedback. Customer Service also forwarded these customer comments to the product developer so that she is aware of this feedback.