Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Strike Putty

Mold and position in any shape. Remove it, move it and reuse it. No residue. A tiny dot on leaders adds visibility to tiny dry flies. Use this indicator putty when the fish are hard to spot. Choose from three high-visibility colours: fluorescent yellow, fluorescent red, glow-in-the-dark. Biodegradable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Strike Putty
Review 1 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Strike Putty,
November 13, 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"This has the potential to be a really good product, but for some reason it seems to slip down my leader. This could very well be my fault though."
Review 2 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Versatile and Useful,
January 30, 2014
By: 8wtNate
from Delmont, PA
"I have used this product twice so far. It worked great about 6 inches above a small black ant pattern on Spring Creek in central PA. I also used it night fishing for smallmouth on Buffalo Creek in western PA. In the summer on Buffalo Creek there are huge numbers of crickets in some sections and the smallies love rising to them at dusk. The glow-in-the-dark strike putty worked great for this application."
Review 3 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Strike putty,
January 29, 2014
By: Hcrews
"very innovative idea and will be very useful. A little hard to mold but nevertheless it is very useful"
Review 4 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Disappointed,
September 29, 2012
By: JPort
from Maine
"I recently purchased this product in red. The first (and only) time I used it was last week on a cool September day in Maine. I wasn't sure how pliable the putty would be due to the cool temp but I warmed it up in my hands and it seem to loosen up. I noticed right away how sticky the putty was, it was left all over my hands and nearly impossible to get off. I put it on my leader and began fishing with a relatively small nymph. The strike putty would not float. I applied more and still it would not float. I became frustrated and took it off my leader and noticed it left a bright red stain all over my leader that would not come off. It ruined the brand new leader and I had to throw it away. Don't waste your time with this putty."
Review 5 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good stuff,
August 31, 2012
By: FryingPanT
"This is not a good replacement for a strike indicator, but a nice supplement for seeing dry flies."
Review 6 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Stuff,
April 13, 2012
By: PennAngler
from Erie PA
"This putty is better than other well known brands-- not as gooey and easy to see on the stream."
Review 7 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of Its Kind,
February 14, 2012
By: LMartin
from Pennsylvania
"I've used other strike putty and this is the only one I use now. It stays put and provides excellent strike detection when tight lining, czech nymphing, or long line nymphing with little weight."
Review 8 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice and Easy,
February 13, 2012
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"Strike putty is so easy even a caveman can use it. I like it can can you reuse unlike some other products. Don't forget you don't have eyes under the water so use it!"
Review 9 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No matter where, you will see it.,
August 26, 2011
By: Francisco
from Argentina
"I highly recommend this product. When you go fishing a river, there is nothing better than this to see the path of the fly, but even when the waters are fast!
Red is the best color, no matter the weather, you always see it.
Highly recommended.
"
Review 10 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good visibility,
July 21, 2011
By: NYFlyfisher
"This material is a bit tricky to apply to the leader, . . . but once you get it on the leader just right, it has good visibility, . . . epsecially in the evening as darkness approaches."
Review 11 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
best indicator out there,
July 9, 2011
By: DoUlikeFishsticks
"Love this thing... got the red one (more like fluorecent orange),
no matter out little you put on, you will see it.
as for floating, well then it obviously depends on the fly you have at the other end and current of the water, but it does a decent job.
I particularly enjoy this for small nymph, or even with very small dry fly (3-4 feet upstream on the tipet) to help finding them depending on the day and water condition.
I highly recommend it, particularly for the price.
be careful not eh get you clothing all colored up!"
Review 12 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Item,
August 29, 2008
By: Bilbo
"Wonderful item. Perfect for those days when the fish are indicator shy. Great for those tiny flys a nice addition to nymph fishing setup. Just a small pinch easy to adjust / remove / reuse. easy to see hi vis colors. Only suggestion keep it warm in cold weather."
Review 13 for Orvis Strike Putty
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
January 1, 2008
By: eastcoastfly
"Great product.
I used to use the pinch-on adhesive indicators, but if you needed to adjust their placement, you needed to use a new indicator. With this pinch putty, you simply take it off and move it exactly where you need it.
Pro:
- Easy on and off your leader.
- High visibility.
- Doesn't mess up your cast like yarn.
Con:
- Tough to get out of the container in cold weather.
For most situations that I use and indicator, this will be what I put on the line."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Orvis Strike Putty
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3