Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest

Inspired by a style first worn and popularized by Royal Air Force ground crews who needed a comfortable, rugged outer garment they could move in as they rearmed the Spitfires and Hurricanes that won the Battle of Britain. Longer than most vests, it won't ride up when you reach, and it's made of rugged lambskin leather with a smooth grain that is soft and supple. Lined with our 100% soft cotton moleskin for all-day comfort. Four exterior pockets. Two-way front zipper. In cognac. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 29" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (258 reviews)
5 stars
219
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
5
239 of 258(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Review 1 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LEATHER MUNITIONS VEST,
December 17, 2014
By: FIREFLYER
from HOOD RIVER, OREGON
"I received this vest from my sweetheart for my birthday. Yes, she is a keeper! So is the vest. I am 6' tall and weigh about 225. She got me the XL. It fits me perfectly. I had tried this vest on a few years ago when I was 20 pounds lighter. It did not fit well then. So that may be a guide for you.
The vest is very well made. The storm flap is nice and the zipper works well. I love the leather and the color. I think they call it cognac. Or at least it looks like other leather that is called cognac.
There are two things about it that I wish were different. The lining is not slippery, so that when you are wearing it over a heavy winter shirt it is difficult to get on and off. Other than that the only other thing I wish they could have done was to make handwarmer pockets behind the cargo pockets as most vests do. The high handwarmer pockets are a little awkward. Those are the two things that kept it from getting 5 stars. All that being said, I haven't taken it off since my birthday. One more thing. I can easily wear a heavy winter shirt and a wool vest under the leather one when it is really cold out.
"
Review 2 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing vest,
December 8, 2014
By: Brulerivergirl
from Brule River, Wisconsin
"I recently bought this vest for my husband as a birthday gift. He could not have been more surprised, or more happy! Orvis has been a good friend to us for decades. As usual, the workmanship was excellent with great attention to detail, the leather soft and supple, and the sizing predictably reliable.
Thank you Orvis!
"
Review 3 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic true leather gilet,
November 30, 2014
By: Pete1234
from Exeter
"A treat that I will treasure for a long time and smells great."
Review 4 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm,
November 8, 2014
By: wisboater
from Wms Bay Wi.
"nice fit I usually need a tall size but this is nice and long covering my back well. Goes great with a fisherman's sweater on cool days."
Review 5 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Pleased!,
November 7, 2014
By: CabanaJim
from Virginia
"Have been considering the purchase of this vest for a number of years. Decided to treat myself with an early Christmas present. Regular shipping brought this product to me in three days. I am very pleased with the vest. It fits well, looks great and received four compliments the first time wore it. Bravo to Orvis for this great product!"
Review 6 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quality vest....,
November 3, 2014
By: gildawg
"Very nice garment and the British influence is evident...very generous cut and excellent quality. Sill pondering whether the 3X might be a little too big for me? Perhaps could have gone with then 2X? Perhaps will be calling you to compare dimensions..."
Review 7 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality,
October 11, 2014
By: Swith
from Manchester UK
"I liven the Uk so took a while to get here, but worth the wait.
This item is of of the utmost quality, which will sure to get better with age."
Review 8 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderfully comfortable,
October 7, 2014
By: Modeler
"Great vest! Extremely soft leather. Fits well, true to size. Very comfortable. Would highly recommend it to anyone."
Review 9 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
September 12, 2014
By: ransong
from nashua, nh
"A well made, stylish, beautiful vest.
What more needs to be said!
"
Review 10 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 5, 2014
By: Cackypritchett
from North CRolina
"Tried to purchase this vest last year but sold out too quickly. The leather is beautiful, very supple, and the style is authentic. Great gift for my husband who is a hunter but will wear this casually. Worth the wait"
Review 11 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
September 2, 2014
By: Cork3351
from Princeton New Jersy
"The quality of the leather and the workmanship could not be better. The delivery program is first class. I ordered the wrong size and Orvis replaced it with the correct size before I had returned the wrong size. Now that's service !"
Review 12 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft and comfortable,
August 4, 2014
By: MissKathy12
from Chester, SC
"This vest is unbelieveably soft and comfortable! Perfect for Southern living. No sleeves, so it isn't hot."
Review 13 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Customer Service,
July 8, 2014
By: Petexyz
from Sedona, AZ
"This is a beautiful vest. The leather is fantastic and the fit was perfect. It should last a long time even with heavy outdoor use. The first one that arrived had some bad snaps. But I let them know, sent it back, and they overnighted me a new one. No hassle. The staff was very concerned that I had a problem, and really wanted to make it right."
Review 14 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the vest,
June 16, 2014
By: Rap19
from Fort Worth, Tx
"I always wanted a vest like this and to know that maybe my father-in-law might have worn one similar to this when he was stationed in England during WWII is the best present I could have. Thanks for having it available."
Review 15 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice vest!,
June 10, 2014
By: ThoroughbredBreeder
from Midway, KY
"The description and sizing of the vest were accurate. I wear a large and it fit me perfectly. The leather is very supple and after wearing a few times, it softens up nicely. I was a little surprised by the weight and didn't realize it was a heavy piece. However, once it is on, the weight isn't noticeable. A great vest and great looking as well."
Review 16 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit uptight.,
April 15, 2014
By: naka
"This is an extremely well made item. My disappointment is purely one of aesthetics. In the photos it has a very casual air about it. As soon as I opened the box and saw the glossy leather finish I had the feeling it was not going to work out for me. For some reason this vest in person, feels "stiff". I was very sorry to send it back."
Review 17 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was not disappointed !,
March 26, 2014
By: Bylee2951
from Klamath Falls, Oregon
"Excellent construction and look throughout. The Munitions Vest was exactly what I wanted.
Loaded with pockets and a heavy duty zipper. Great snap buttons wherever needed. Beautiful lambskin ! Fit perfectly !
"
Review 18 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favourite garment!,
March 9, 2014
By: DaiDant
from Dyfed, Wales.
"After several years, my first munitions leather vest is showing such a patina of age that I'm told I should not wear it in polite company - so I'm ordering a replacement for best. I like the original none the less and intend to keep it for outdoor wear!
I was in fact the third in our village to acquire one of these. The original was bought be a friend to replace a near identical garment he was issued with as an officer in the Royal Artillery. The original RAF versions as seen in "Battle of Britain" movie seem to have a less appealing orange hue. The moleskin lining is lovely and warm, not shared by your jacket version. The only change I'd request - a second, possibly zipped, inside pocket.
"
Review 19 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible quality,
March 7, 2014
By: UncleBuzz
from Fallsberg, Ohio
"Orvis munitions vest is without question the best vest of it's type on the market!! BAR NONE!"
Review 20 for Lambskin Munitions Leather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A satisying purchase,
March 5, 2014
By: MosesS
from SoCal
"Excellent Quality. Very Good Fit. Looks Great. I am a happy Man!"