Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frog's Fanny

This powdered dry-fly dressing and floatant is best for delicate dries and those with CDC. Won't mat hackle or hair. Keeps small dries floating longer. Also traps air bubbles on nymphs to simulate an emerging insect. Fly-tying accessory in 1 oz bottle. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.864 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frog's Fanny
Review 1 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great,
May 31, 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I love this stuff for use on CDC dry flies. After catching a fish CDC flies are usual water logged but after damping dry work Frog's Fanny into the feathers and it comes right back. Must have for all your dry flies."
Review 2 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
floatant frog,s fanny,
May 30, 2014
By: bbrooksarrowman
from Washingtonville NY
"follow directions on container. High floatation of dry fly means more strikes. no other product works this well. (that I know of) If you fish drys this is a must have product."
Review 3 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great For CDC Flies,
July 27, 2013
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"This floatant works great on flies tied with CDC. Even after they get soaking wet you can dry them off then work Frog's Fanny back into the CDC until it is nice and fluffy and put it back on the water. I've caught a dozen fish with one CDC fly just by renewing it with Frog's Fanny."
Review 4 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Floatant for CDC on the Market,
July 23, 2013
By: Backcountry
from UK
"This is without doubt the best treatment for CDC dry Flies on the market at the moment. Make flies float like cork. It is too expensive - but Orvis are one of the cheapest to buy it from in the UK."
Review 5 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tried and True,
February 26, 2013
By: WiscoSkip
from Milwaukee, WI
"This is hands down the best performing floatant I've ever used. I wish it came in larger quantities! There's simply no equal especially for CDC flies, with standard dries I like to rub in a tiny bit of liquid floatant before applying this, it's truly impressive how high and LONG my dries stay on the surface. However, don't just use this on your dries! Giving your small nymphs, especially small midges a dusting of this makes them look even better under the surface adding a realistic air pocket/bubble around them. I keep 2 bottles in my pack ALWAYS!"
Review 6 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An absolute necessity.,
December 29, 2012
By: JonathanC
"This is my go to floatant. I wouldn't dream of stepping into a stream without a bottle of Frog's Fanny."
Review 7 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A must have for fishing dries,
November 28, 2012
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"Frog's Fanny is an absolute must own for fishing dry flies. I guarantee if you fish one day with it, you'll never go back. I prefer to toss on some floatant at the beginning of a day or after tying on a new dry but then every now and then dust on some of the Frog's Fanny. When you notice your fly starts to go under the current or isn't riding high, dust on some of this stuff and watch your fly stay high and dry. If your fly gets taken by a fish or heavy current you'll want to re-apply."
Review 8 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Powder Floatant,
September 25, 2012
By: MPS42
from Atlanta, GA
"Works really well. I prefer this over any liquid out there. Pick up a bottle if dries are your thing. You won't be disappointed."
Review 9 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Job!!!!,
August 13, 2012
By: TNANGLER
from Caney Fork River, TN
"This is the first time I have used a powder like substance for a floatant, and I am pleased to report this product performed in an excellent manner. I believe it out performed any other liquid form floatant I have used. My flies were "lifted" of the water, and my woolly buggers seemed to glide through the depths of my choosing while looking absolutely flawless. I will recommend Frog's Fanny to all my angler friends."
Review 10 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best powder floatant...period,
July 27, 2012
By: ADKtrout
"I purchased this floatant on the advice of a great fly fishing guide in the Adirondacks. Provided you use it generously, it is sure to keep your flies floating longer, higher, and more realistically than you could hope for with any other floatant."
Review 11 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best. Floatant. Ever.,
May 2, 2012
By: JF518
"This is a must have. Excellent for keeping dry flies floating high, especially in tough visibility or faster water. Use the brush aggressively and you won't be disappointed!"
Review 12 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Product,
February 20, 2012
By: lespaul
from CT
"On the advice of one of the world's best fly fishing guides, I bought this for the first time. It;s just as good as he said...... Perfect in fact!!"
Review 13 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the best one I have ever used,
August 19, 2011
By: zelon
from Twyford, Berkshire, UK
"This powder is absolutely necessary when using cdc flies as it doesn't mat fibres. I have found best way to use once the fly has been presented a few times or a fish has inhaled it, is to put the fly between amadou or a micro-fibre cloth and then coat the fly with frog's fanny thoroughly getting into all the nooks and crannies to enable flotation once more.
Also great on nymphs as it gives it that emerging bubble.
"
Review 14 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This stuff is magic,
October 6, 2010
By: CharlieB
from Pittsburgh, PA
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This will revive just about any dry fly and restore it to good flotation no matter how wet it is. It will even deslime a fly that's been taken down deep in the fish's mouth. Just brush it on and blow off the excess. One warning - this stuff is really light and powdery so it's tough to use if it's windy."
Review 15 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works Great, Priced Right,
July 10, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great product. It really keeps the fly high on the water. And it is a very reasonable price."
Review 16 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great stuff,
September 5, 2008
By: HafCanadian
from Clackamas, OR
"You don't want to breath this stuff, so use it downwind (I think it is powdered silica), but it really works well, esp. if you take the time to use the brush to work it well into the fly body. Slimed flies dried with a chamois and then treated properly with Frog's Fanny are back to work floating high and long in less than a minute.
Now if they'd make a holder for it that could hang from an over-the-head lanyard, so I could keep my minimum gear system all together. Bottles like this get stuck in a shirt pocket, and if you wear a different shirt fishing the next day, the floatant bottle ends up not being with you when you need it. The bottle is too small in diameter for a crystal floatant holder, and too large for a liquid floatant holder. Great product, but the container is a problem.
"
Review 17 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy this Stuff!,
August 18, 2008
By: troutn
"This is by far the best desiccant I have ever used. It floats flies that have been slimed by fish like a pro.
The only draw back is that it is very hard to use in the wind (it blows off the brush).
A very good product."
Review 18 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must-Have,
July 2, 2008
By: RafT
from Los Angeles, CA
"Right when you think your favorite dry fly is dead for the day... just dab it with ample amounts of Frog's Fanny and you're good to go again. Make sure to use the brush that's provided and work it all over the fly."
Review 19 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
if you don't have it...buy it now!,
June 17, 2008
By: kgamble
from Morgantown, WV
"I don't know how i fished without this before. this stuff is great. i use it on indicators and flies. its indispensable."
Review 20 for Frog's Fanny
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keep a bottle handy,
October 20, 2007
By: Muskrat
from Oakville, ON
"While I use ORVIS' Shake-n-Float every day, I also carry a bottle of Frog's Fanny. It is particularly useful drying CDCs. The brush inside the bottle is quite handy for pushing the powder into the fly's nooks & crannies, which I encourage you to do. Warning: if there's any wind at all, hold your breathe when you open the bottle (especially if it's new), the stuff 'poofs' out all over the place."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.