Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins

You own different rods and reels for particular types of fishing, so why don't you own different sunglasses to go along with them? Sunglasses can mean the difference between a good day and a great day. That's why Tri-Spectrums come in three lens colours: brown for everyday and deep-water angling; rose for spring creek and flats fishing; and copper for freestone fishing and fast-changing light conditions. The rose lenses let you see bonefish on the flats or big brown trout on chalkstreams far better than any other colour because of the way they accent blue and green colours. You see more fish, sooner. That means more shots. Same holds true with copper lenses on freestone streams. They pick up trout better than do the rose glasses. But the reason the different colours make such a big difference is because Tri-Spectrums are the best angling sunglasses made, period. Unlike most sunglass lenses, Tri-Spectrum lenses are true de-centred lenses of prescription glass quality. Each lens is ground and polished from a solid block of minerals for consistency of quality and for far less distortion and greater peripheral vision than with other sunglass lenses. The lenses transmit more light at the three bands of primary colours so the contrasts between colours are sharper and clearer for the utmost definition at the edges of object and improved ability to distinguish fish from objects underwater. And the lenses are set into the Italian-made frames to all but eliminate lenses popping out. Not available in Rx. Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Review 1 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best glasses for sight fishing I have worn,
April 3, 2008
By: tarheeltrout
from North Carolina
"I was a bit of a skeptic when I purchased these in rose lens color for sight fishing for trout, but I figured with Orvis's guarantee, I could not go wrong. Now these are certainly heavier than polycarbonate lenses, but that is to be expected if you want the clarity of glass. My first experience wearing these on the water was on swollen, "blown-out" water. Despite the turbid conditions, I was able to see far deeper into the water than with other name-brand, rather expensive, polarized sunglasses, to the point of being able to see bottom structure several feet down. I was shocked by the difference. Moreover, I was also able to see more surface detail of the water, which I thought was counterintuitive considering the improved detail and depth perception underneath."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lens Do Not Stay In Frames,
July 25, 2011
By: nativefisher
"I have owned two pairs of these my self and bought a pair for my father. In all three pairs the lens have popped out of the frames and broken. these are cheaply made and i would not recommend these to anyone looking for a decent pair of glasses. I recently bought a pair of Native glasses and they have been amazing and cost half as much."
Review 3 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Image Quality,
March 24, 2011
By: DavesDen
from Northern Utah
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I now have all three lens colors of the Tri-Spectrum glass lenses in the Acklins frame and am impressed at how each lens accents certain colors yet at the same time being comfortable and pleasing for every day use. The rose color I just purchased makes blues and reds even more noticeable so the sky is always beautiful. It is too early to know how they will do in a fishing situation. It does appear that animals and objects are easier to pick up against drab backgrounds. I originally thought the brown lens was superb (which it is for everyday use and bright sun conditions and is more pleasing than my Maui Jim's) but the copper is even better for overcast days and accents the overall image somewhat and the rose is exceptional for the greatest contrast. These are simply a great product. I tried the blue mirror lens in the Midway frame but it layed on my cheek more than I like and was a bit larger than the Acklins. Also, the lens image appeared almost identical to the rose. The return process worked very smoothly."
Review 4 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great glasses,
September 9, 2010
By: Teflon
from Colorado
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought a pair of these for fishing and they're as good or better than any other glasses I've used over the years. They provide great clarity when looking for bonefish on the flats, or sight casting to trout in a mountain stream. Can't point to any negatives!"
Review 5 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
poorly made,
July 26, 2010
By: mtsnowrider
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"The lenses and fit are fine, but no better than other brands I have used. The problem is that the coating on the frames is peeling off and getting in my eyes. One of the lenses keeps popping out, which is what happens on the much cheaper Orvis Superlight sunglasses. These are definitely not worth the money because of the low quality of the frames."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service TeamOctober 26, 2010
We appreciate our customer's feedback and are reviewing these quality concerns. Our goal is to make sure it is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 6 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Glasses,
July 10, 2010
By: Otch
from Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The glasses are fantastic. They really cut the glare and make it easier to see the fish and under water structure. For Michigan rivers - go with the copper color."
Review 7 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Hmmm... not so fast.,
August 11, 2009
By: lensign
from South Lake Tahoe, CA
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought into the marketing on the tri-spectrums and got the ones with amber lenses for freestone streams. They are great fishing glasses, but comparing them side-by-side to my Smiths I really can't tell enough of a difference to justify the additional $75 that they cost. Also, the frames hold so tightly to my head that I get a headache after about 4 hours in them."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer CareSeptember 21, 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that these sunglasses did not meet expectations. We gladly offered this customer an exchange or refund, whichever was preferred!
Review 8 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best!,
August 6, 2009
By: BobW
from Mountain Green, UT
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've owned numerous highline polarized glasses over the years but these Tri-Spectrum lenses top them all. I immediately noticed the added clarity and depth perception--to the point that I kept removing them and putting them back on to compare. They visibly sharpen up the world around you. My wife has a pair of very good polarized glasses, and though she doesn't fish much, she has tried my glasses and could easily see the increased clarity compared to hers.
The next thing is the ability to see fish and streambottom features, they are simply without peer in my experience. In New Zealand I actually spotted a couple fish before the guide (probably dumb luck to have looked in the right spot--but the glasses enabled me to clearly see the fish). The guide commented on my "sharp eyes" to quickly see the fish he spotted for me. I attribute much of it to the Tri-Spectrums.
Pricey, but worth it. Highly recommended.
BW
"
Review 9 for Tri-Spectrum HVO Glasses Ackins
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sunglasses Available,
November 28, 2008
By: tarponbum
"Since I own sunglasses from every prominent manufacturer, I reluctantly purchased my Tri Spectrum glasses before Tarpon season 2008. In what was regarded as relatively unproductive year, I jumped 14 fish in 6 days. I saw fish much sooner with these glasses and had more time to set up and cast. The polarization is exceptional and the clarity of vision outsatnding. Absolutely the best sunglasses for the flats in both copper and brown. If you are a serious sight fisherman these are a must have."