Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo

The traveling angler will be glad to own this combo to keep him ready to fish any conditions, anywhere, anytime. The 7', 5-wt., 4-piece Mid-Flex rod with chrome guides and A-grade cork handles comes with interchangeable butt sections—one with a corrosion-proof anodized aluminum fly reel seat, one with a graphite composite spin reel seat—to give great castability in both fly-casting and spin-casting formations, a rare feat. Includes Access Mid Arbor III Reel loaded with Clearwater® WF Floating line and Dacron® backing. Quality spin reel with 5 ball bearings for smooth operation, loaded with 60 yds. of 6-lb. mono. Packs to just 23½". Keep it in your car or your luggage and always be ready. Protective Safe Passage® travel case included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Review 1 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Combo Ever,
December 6, 2013
By: Fishrmn123
from June Lak, CA
"This rod is a great rod for trout. I used this rod while backpacking through Yosemite and it was spot on perfect for the fish i was catching. Not to mention great reels too. Smooth, durable, and powerful. Definitely recommend this for use."
Review 2 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
July 23, 2013
By: Goofy
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
"Not having had the opportunity to use this product yet, as it only arrived yesterday, only preliminary impressions are pertinent.
The outfit seems well packaged and presented, and small and complete enough to take on most trips as only leaders and lures/flies are required for fishing to commence.
"
Review 3 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Dissappointing,
June 12, 2012
By: Mantra
"I have had this combo kit for over two years now and have frankly been struggling with it. The spinner reel and the line that came with the package has been awful. Constantly twisted and knotting up. The reel itself is flimsy and difficult to work. The fly reel is standard and works fine on my Orvis bamboo rod. Yesterday, I took my son fishing and the tip of the rod just ejected itself into the lake when my lure was slighly caught on a reed. My view is that I purchased this combo to have the ability to stop at anytime and fish with the expectation that the last thing I would need to worry about is the durability abn reliablity of the product. I have an 70s Orvis bamboo rod that they refinished and it is truly a work of art in terms of their restoration work but my expectations did not translate into this combo set.. I want a product to work flawlessly so I can concentrate on the important aspects of presentation and enjoying the moment. Instead, I ended up spending unnecessary time hassling with the equipment and wishing I had my Sage XP rod and Able reel."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Tackle,
June 12, 2012
By: kammo
from hampshire
"What a kit ,it has all you need for a lightweight holiday or just a day out.
you could drop the wife off shopping and enjoy a good quality fishing
rod and reels [good stuff]
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traveler,
October 17, 2011
By: dexter01
"Nice to have available when an opportunity to go fishing comes up while traveling. Good action for fly and light spinning."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
July 19, 2011
By: JohnHS
"Have only had this for a few weeks but it is exactly as advertised. Completely satisfied!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beware,
June 27, 2011
By: Norcalbrowncatcher
from Bridgeport, California
"I received the Frequent Flyer Fly/Spinning Combo as a graduation gift from my grandfather. I was very excited because I had been asking for one for a long time. So you can imagine how disappointed I was when the 7th attachment snapped when I set the hook on a good fish. What's worse, when I called to see if I could send it in, I was told that it was not possible and that I would have to buy the package again if I wanted the 7th attachment. I work in a tackle shop in northern California and I've always backed Orvis gear. Needless to say I do not endorse their gear anymore. Very disappointing."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best present ever!,
October 13, 2010
By: wyoboy
from upton, Wy
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My old man got me this kit for christmas last year best present iv ever recived i spend lots of time on the water and this is by far my favorite set up for the streams and rivers i fish. its easy to pack up and doesn't take up much room at all. If you travel alot and dont like to be without ur fishing gear its the perfect set up to have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Form and Function,
September 26, 2010
By: CapnJack
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Just received the package....I used the fly rod and reel last week and it performed fabulously on tough rainbows and browns. The 7' length on the rod is perfect for streams with low overhanging trees, yet powerful and great touch....a rod that is compact yet packs a punch. The Mid Arbor III? Great all around reel. This package is incredibly light weight, easy to carry on and stow in the overheads for us mass transit flyers. Thanks Orvis...the frequent flyer package is a home-run."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Rod,
July 13, 2010
By: CFish
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I travel for a living, and luckily most of the places I visit offer so sort of fishing. At first I was worried that due to the limited length of the rod it would not perform as advertised. Was I ever wrong, I have used the spinning rod and fly rod on waters from Montana to Virginia. The rod has performed exceptionally and been able to stand up to some large fish. My only advice would be is that the fly rod due to the short length is designed for small waters and small delicate flys. When used as designed it performs flawslessly. As well the travel package stands up to the rigors of airline travel. A must for people who travel and need to wet a line when not working!"
Review 11 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No More Compromise,
July 5, 2009
By: bsmcash001
from Lake Tahoe, California
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a ‘High End, Rare and Historic Angling Gear Collector, I find myself in a quandary when it comes to taking gear into the back country. There has always been a Trade Off” between Convenience, Function and Quality. Risking muffing-up a Fine Collectible or worse yet breaking it has been the concern and ultimate trade off. The Orvis Frequent Traveler with Dedicated butt ends; Fly or Spin is the Perfect compromise. The Quality is “Orvis” and the Function is not Compromised by trying to address two totally different angling venues with One butt section. I can now leave my fine Vintage or High End Fly and Spinning rods home where they belong without that ‘feeling’ I’m cutting corners or missing out."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must Buy,
March 11, 2009
By: ZBronco
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished all my life and i find it to be the most enjoyable and relaxing thing to do. If you are like me, or just the casual fisherman I highly recomend buying this set up. besides apperance, the fly and spinning combo is very smooth and handles like a charm. I am very happy and you will be too. The only thing i would change about this set up is to allow for there to be more options on the rod and reel size. This is a very good rod for trout, bass and othe moderate sized fish but cannot handle pinks silvers and other salmon."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikers fish to,
May 27, 2008
By: tarponhunter
from Northern Virginia
"As the temperatures in Northern Virginia began to approach their summer norms, hot and humid I decided it was time to head my Harley South.
Space on a bike is at a premium and you learn to travel light but since this was to be a camping trip a weight loss program was tricky. Two man flyweight tent, Yup, inflatable air mattress, Yup, lightweight camp stove, certainly. I intended to fish along the Atlantic seaboard down to the Keys but by the time I had stowed all the "essential stuff" there was barely room for socks let alone fishing gear.
Orvis to the rescue. I put a call in and told them of my dillema, how to fly and spin fish without overloading my HOG. They suggested I take a look at their new fly/spin combo. After getting measurements on line and carrying a tape to my bike I bought the gear and have never regretted it.
When the wind was calm I threw weight forward floating or sinking line and light saltwater streamers. When the wind came up I switched to the spin outfit. Rod action was excellent and while tarpon and bone were beyond its ability many other species were manageable. Two fishing outfits which bungied to the top of my saddlebag and feather light to boot.
Thanks Orvis for developing an ideal outfit for us bikers.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Frequent Flyer Fly/Spin Rod Combo
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3